Financial Theft / robbery in apartment unit, Filing a claim against JMB's insurance

TStantung
post Mar 24 2012, 11:51 AM, updated 14y ago

30 posts

My apartment unit was broken into late last year. The JMB has a "tidak apa" attitude and until now there hasn't been any steps taken to ensure that the security has been beefed up. As I don't have theft insurance on my unit, I heard that one can file an insurance claim for their losses against the JMB's insurance under their Professional Negligence Insurance/Protection.

Does anyone have any knowledge on this? Or if anyone has done one before?

Help and advise is much appreciated.

airline
post Mar 24 2012, 01:02 PM

7 stars
7,923 posts

i dont think is possible
everyone also start claim

This post has been edited by airline: Mar 24 2012, 01:03 PM
SUSjalsrix
post Mar 24 2012, 01:40 PM

1,927 posts

i heard can claim against security company insurance. however, no experience.
MugenK20A
post Mar 24 2012, 02:10 PM

1,244 posts

Cannot do anything? That means if future got break ins again, just leave it like that?
SKfolk
post Mar 24 2012, 04:16 PM

928 posts

QUOTE(MugenK20A @ Mar 24 2012, 02:10 PM)
Cannot do anything? That means if future got break ins again, just leave it like that?
The security just minimise the chances of break in. They don guarantee u for the incident happened.
realcyma
post Mar 24 2012, 04:49 PM

641 posts

QUOTE(tantung @ Mar 24 2012, 11:51 AM)
My apartment unit was broken into late last year. The JMB has a "tidak apa" attitude and until now there hasn't been any steps taken to ensure that the security has been beefed up. As I don't have theft insurance on my unit, I heard that one can file an insurance claim for their losses against the JMB's insurance under their Professional Negligence Insurance/Protection.

move to a condo with better management and security.

afag
post Mar 24 2012, 05:24 PM

211 posts

install grill..

This post has been edited by afag: Mar 24 2012, 05:25 PM
TStantung
post Mar 24 2012, 06:03 PM

30 posts

QUOTE(SKfolk @ Mar 24 2012, 04:16 PM)
The security just minimise the chances of break in. They don guarantee u for the incident happened.
Doesn't make sense, right? So no matter what happens, they can't be held responsible? There were 3 break-ins within that 2 mth period, and the security buat tak tau only.

QUOTE(afag @ Mar 24 2012, 05:24 PM)
install grill..
Got grill. They pry it open. I think inside job (security company, handy man, cleaners) coz they know exactly when the house is empty as I leave for a few days a week. You can have the best security, but ultimately, your property's safety is in the hands of the security company.

Added on March 24, 2012, 6:05 pm
QUOTE(realcyma @ Mar 24 2012, 04:49 PM)
move to a condo with better management and security.
Unfortunately, cannot lor. Buy already, not renting.

Installed super duper grill and locks already, but the losses were hard to bear la. Both priced and priceless things.

This post has been edited by tantung: Mar 24 2012, 06:05 PM
optimus28
post Mar 24 2012, 06:17 PM

On my way to??
681 posts

in the long term can't u change the security company or management company itself as long as the majority of the residents feel the same way?
AVFAN
post Mar 24 2012, 06:29 PM

24,471 posts

QUOTE(tantung @ Mar 24 2012, 06:03 PM)
Doesn't make sense, right? So no matter what happens, they can't be held responsible? There were 3 break-ins within that 2 mth period, and the security buat tak tau only.
Got grill. They pry it open. I think inside job (security company, handy man, cleaners) coz they know exactly when the house is empty as I leave for a few days a week. You can have the best security, but ultimately, your property's safety is in the hands of the security company.

think you got it wrong...

security co. service for condos, gng houses, offices, factories, warehouses are all the same - they are not liable for loss of things inside your property. you will need insurance for that. chances are in the dmc you signed, you missed reading the para where you agree to indemnify the jmb which engages the security service for such losses.

think about it - if security co. can be liable, insurance cos. will go out of biz and neighbors can steal from each other and then claim from secu co.!

the only thing you can is to tighten up yr own locks and grills. and/or spend time and effort to sack to the jmb, get elected yrself into the commitee to appoint a new sec service.

well managed apts/condos with great security are not easy to find and they are priced higher. more so when many residents and owners don't cooperate. there are also cases where burglars rent a unit for a few months, do all homework, burglar a few units and then disappear. remember, bolehland has many smart crooks, so one can't rely on the "system", only yourself.

This post has been edited by AVFAN: Mar 24 2012, 06:33 PM
SUSjalsrix
post Mar 24 2012, 07:49 PM

1,927 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Mar 24 2012, 06:29 PM)
think you got it wrong...

security co. service for condos, gng houses, offices, factories, warehouses are all the same - they are not liable for loss of things inside your property. you will need insurance for that. chances are in the dmc you signed, you missed reading the para where you agree to indemnify the jmb which engages the security service for such losses.

think about it - if security co. can be liable, insurance cos. will go out of biz and neighbors can steal from each other and then claim from secu co.!

the only thing you can is to tighten up yr own locks and grills. and/or spend time and effort to sack to the jmb, get elected yrself into the commitee to appoint a new sec service.

well managed apts/condos with great security are not easy to find and they are priced higher. more so when many residents and owners don't cooperate. there are also cases where burglars rent a unit for a few months, do all homework, burglar a few units and then disappear. remember, bolehland has many smart crooks, so one can't rely on the "system", only yourself.
what's the point for security if they don't do their work ? doh.gif might as well save money for security.
MugenK20A
post Mar 24 2012, 10:10 PM

1,244 posts

Then does the mgmt fees includes the security? if its included, y need to pay them?
michaellee
post Mar 25 2012, 12:12 AM

1,096 posts

QUOTE(tantung @ Mar 24 2012, 11:51 AM)

You are supposed to insure your own property. There is no way you can claim against management or security company.
clanzkiller
post Mar 25 2012, 12:19 AM

493 posts

Security guard of a particular property has it limitation as well. Don't ever expect they will 100% look after your property, even for super high end condo. Is just a measurement to minimize criminal activities. Is true that TS said why should we pay for security fee while they do nothing, but come to think about this part. If management/security dept are liable for the loss of break-in, then they will definitely has more cases of break-ins cause I can hire my friend to break in and steal my thing then claim from management. And if everyone is doing that, then is time u can see security post thread in lowyat saying there are in a bad shape.
Is your own measurement to keep your property off from criminal. Don't rely on anyone and start pointing finger when things happen. Sorry for your losses TS. Unfortunately It happen anyway in Malaysia.

ccslink
post Mar 25 2012, 01:13 PM

401 posts

tantung, if u were a JMC member, will hold responsibility for theft in your condo/apt? Imho, I doubt if any JMC has written in their terms of reference of duty to be liable for theft, perhaps a chk wiith ur JMB, just what exactly u r paying for maybe more helpful?
Far as I know, losses from theft/ break-ins are the sole responsibility of the individual owners of their respective units, not anybody else.
It may be wise to approach an insurance broker to shop for householder content insurance. For this policy, u may claim if a break-in has evidence of forcible entry & if u want cover for losses without evidence of forcible entry u may support your claim with a police report if u bot a cover under an all-risk policy. Obviously all -risk cover will cost u more.
Also chk with your JMC to c if your building's fire cover is current & has already relevant cover or has included for lightning, sink holes, land subsidence, quake, storm & wind damage or even flood as the case may be.
Hope this help, dude.

0.0176sec    1.00    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 04:29 PM