Business ACCA V8, Global Body for Professional Accountants

shirley_andy
post Apr 18 2012, 11:38 PM

VR Hardware Solution Provider
2,631 posts

can anyone provide me contacts of several mentor for OBU? preferably in Malacca, but in KL also no problem.

Urgent, thanks
shirley_andy
post May 14 2012, 12:30 PM

2,631 posts

are there any additional stuff to study on P4 other than what's in the syllabus?
shirley_andy
post Jun 12 2012, 11:27 PM

2,631 posts

it'll definitely make me feel better if indeed majority thinks P4 this sitting very tricky and harder than all the sittings that I tried... There goes another 6 months, I'm getting old...
shirley_andy
post Jun 12 2012, 11:39 PM

2,631 posts

QUOTE(tzxsean @ Jun 12 2012, 11:31 PM)
why dont try another paper?  unsure.gif
1. it means I gave up
2. it means I have to attend class to learn up new paper, not sure I got time for that, perhaps weekend classes. Furthermore the other 2 papers are by no means lighter to handle.

but will consider your suggestion tho.. nod.gif
shirley_andy
post Jun 13 2012, 11:15 AM

2,631 posts

QUOTE(tzxsean @ Jun 12 2012, 11:45 PM)
you already attempted 3 times incl this 1 right? if im not mistaken

sometimes, it takes greater courage to give up and start anew rather than not knowing when to give up  wink.gif

i noe it's hard to choose between ur interest and faster way to pass ACCA
nope this is my 2nd attempt.. I think I will try one more time..

QUOTE(ComingBackSoon @ Jun 12 2012, 11:53 PM)
To be honest me and my friend thinks this time is easier than the past few sittings. But question 1 is really a killer... Hopefully the rest of the paper can cover up the deficiency in question 1 for me...
the feedback at opentuition really described how I felt... really different from the past papers that I did, and the absence of int or currency hedging really killed me..
shirley_andy
post Aug 8 2012, 05:23 PM

2,631 posts

any recommended p7 lecturer for part time class around KL/PJ?
elitejaya dont have pt p7 class

This post has been edited by shirley_andy: Aug 8 2012, 05:25 PM
shirley_andy
post Aug 8 2012, 06:41 PM

2,631 posts

QUOTE(muppet @ Mar 23 2012, 10:44 PM)

Jackson (Kolej Gemilang)

May I know, is this up to date?
shirley_andy
post Aug 9 2012, 07:30 PM

2,631 posts

requesting advice on studying methods to pass P7 on 1st attempt with only less than 4 months studying time. thanks

This post has been edited by shirley_andy: Aug 9 2012, 07:30 PM
shirley_andy
post Aug 22 2012, 11:51 PM

2,631 posts

QUOTE(nick67 @ Aug 19 2012, 11:21 PM)
Working seniors, can I know your opinion if I only can achieve 2nd lower class for OBU is it still worth doing it?

From what I heard from a friend in 1 of the big 4s, they only accept 2nd upper and above.
in my case I'm glad I took it altho I know I can only get 3rd class..

cuz I don't know whether I can successfully pass the optionals without resit, with the OBU atleast I'm gaining working experience while in the process of completing the optionals cuz I think working experience really help (eg working in audit line compliments the studying of P7)

but ya if u have full confidence u can pass it, then don't need to waste time on OBU..
shirley_andy
post Aug 23 2012, 12:41 PM

2,631 posts

QUOTE(nick67 @ Aug 23 2012, 09:38 AM)
With that obu did you manage to get a job at the big 4?
nope, at medium firm... but atleast I'm gaining the experience rather than still jobless just bcuz wanna enter big4 straight away.

i can still enter the big4 after I gain enuf experience in med
shirley_andy
post Aug 26 2012, 10:22 AM

2,631 posts

^ +1

but then again, during the optional stage, would u choose something that u more interested to widen ur knowledge about or choose something that provide u with higher chances of passing?
shirley_andy
post Sep 2 2012, 10:15 PM

2,631 posts

just a reminder, register ur Dec 2012 exam asap, predicting high traffic for myACCA in the next few days b4 dateline for early bird closes..
shirley_andy
post Nov 12 2012, 12:48 AM

2,631 posts

QUOTE(enkeys @ Nov 11 2012, 10:31 PM)
yep.you can do it anytime you can after u pass all the F level.You can even do it when you're taking your last 2 optional papers.I'm not sure if you can still do it after you finished all the P papers though.
yes its possible even after passing ACCA
shirley_andy
post Nov 14 2012, 12:23 AM

2,631 posts

QUOTE(tzxsean @ Nov 14 2012, 12:15 AM)
like tat no point cos ACCA > OBU

p/s: good luck
not sure but I get a snr who took it.. he say want extra qualification... hmm.gif
shirley_andy
post Nov 19 2012, 09:51 PM

2,631 posts

QUOTE(vin99 @ Nov 19 2012, 10:08 AM)
Anyone taking p7? I am third attempt for coming sitting...  might to share how you guys pass ur p7? Any tips can share?  Thanks: )
copied from previous posts

The way to pass P7 is to first and foremost, know ALL your standards. all those IAS and IFRS and ISA because they will definitely test you on those. I took the time to even memorize all their designations becoz its worth 1/2 marks for that.

and then, APPLY them. Which is already a requirement for question 1, where they ask for risk identification. Try to put yourself in a real amateur auditors shoe and find even the most trivial of difficulties. Any kind of answer still counts as long as its logic! (just note that IAS 37 is the most famous standard IMHO, but now standards all revised i think?)

Any audit student should know EVERYTHING related to professional ethics so you must read up on that! study ethics to the point that whenever you just set your eyes on the first few sentences of a question, you already know what they want! I'd say ethics are always a bonus question.

P7 papers ALWAYS follow a pattern. Provided you have done a lot of exercises (i myself finished my exam kit SEVEN times) you will definitely be comfortable with whatever they throw at you. To tell you the truth, the question on Prospective Financial Information ISAE 3400 on question 2 I think, was the exact imitation of a pilot question in the exam kit! so i answered that question like a photostat machine because I've gone through it 7 times.

Textbook is your best friend. I used BPP and it was to me, complete. Everything i needed to know is in the book. so read. read. and read until you cannot tahan already. My fren said i was ridiculous for still holding onto my textbook even on the last few days before p7, but i still needed it even on the the last hour.

whatever it is, you must always do a lot of questions, get yourself an exam kit and do it until you are familiar with it. my methods might not be what they call work smart, but im more of a work hard person.

P7 Advanced Audit & Assurance (Int)
Sharing some tips to handle this paper:

1. The examiner Ms Lisa has emphasized the practicality of the paper in the context of actual practice in audit firm. Hence, students must take the audit manager / partner perspectives when analysing P7 questions.

2.It is good to re-look and be familiar with all the ISA, IAS and IFRS. Get a copy of standards and look at the requirement of each standards.

3. Apply the accounting standards that you have learnt in P2. Commonly, you need to apply, how to recognise, how to measure and how to disclose.

4. Be familiar with the audit work ie.the phases of audit from planning until finalization.

5. Common questions in P7 are:
-Matters to consider.
-Ethical and professional consideration
-Principal audit risk
-Principal audit procedures
-Business risk and Financial Statement Risk.
-Overall audit strategy
-Nature, timing and extent of audit procedures.
-Audit opinion and report.

6. Common application of IAS are: 2,12, 16, 18, 24, 37 & 38.
7. Common application of ISA are: 220, 315, 330, 420, 520, 560, 570, 580, 600,700.
8. New IFRS to be tested in near future are: IFRS10, 11, 12, 13.

I'm taking P7 1st time, switched here after failing P4 twice...

Currently using the guide above as guidance.. many thanks to the original posters.
shirley_andy
post Nov 21 2012, 04:02 PM

2,631 posts

I'd like to ask, If I join an investment firm/bank, how will it affect my 3yrs exp required by ACCA?

Added on November 21, 2012, 4:08 pm
QUOTE(Clarine06 @ Nov 19 2012, 09:57 PM)
can anyone share some tips on P5? what should i focus on in the last 2 wk before exam?  this is my first time attempt p5.....any useful  guidance on how to passing it??
passed p5 last year, what I remember most abt it is u have to answer in a way that gives value.. its a management paper so give answer that enhance value to the business, have a business mind, use the business models to recommend business improvements.

This post has been edited by shirley_andy: Nov 21 2012, 04:08 PM
shirley_andy
post Nov 27 2012, 12:31 PM

2,631 posts

any p7 student of Sheila here? mind sharing highlighted areas?
shirley_andy
post Nov 29 2012, 10:06 PM

2,631 posts

hi, taking p7. wanna clear up something, I only get the marks if I state the auditing/acctg stds in full or I will also get the marks if I just state the number, eg ISA 570 instead of ISA 570 Going Concern.
shirley_andy
post Nov 29 2012, 11:52 PM

2,631 posts

QUOTE(vin99 @ Nov 29 2012, 11:10 PM)
Last sitting I attended Sheila revision class, she said state ISA 570 only will do...
How was ya preparation? Getting nervous like can't finish the syllabus on time @@
thanks, cuz what I heard from my friend, who attended Mr Goh class couple sem ago was I need to write the full version of the auditing(ISA) or accounting(IAS/IFRS), eg IAS 20 Accounting for Government Grants and Disclosure of Government Assistance instead of just IAS 20 in order to get the marks for stating the correct Auditing/Accounting standards. I was like, OMAI! its hard enough to remember all the numbers relating to each standard, now I have to memorise each word too?

as for my preparation, I never really read the syllabus in detail, just roughly glance through seeing some familiar stuff from F8, spent most of my time on revision kit questions which mainly consist of PYQ... so now really unsure preparation sufficient or not, not sure how much my audit working experience can help..

This post has been edited by shirley_andy: Nov 29 2012, 11:53 PM
shirley_andy
post Dec 18 2012, 10:26 PM

2,631 posts

QUOTE(~sky~ @ Dec 18 2012, 10:25 PM)
may i knw lecturers in mcorange are better or kasturi?
u mean mcorange or elitejaya?

0.0498sec    0.55    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 05:27 AM