Business ACCA V8, Global Body for Professional Accountants
hurly
Apr 7 2012, 11:48 PM

Hi, anyone of you ever attended Spencer Cheah IRC P2 Classes at FTMS? Is the class crowded like in KSA? I am thinking of going for IRC but somehow I always got demotivated when class is overcrowded.
hurly
Jun 10 2012, 10:28 AM

All the best everyone!
hurly
Jun 12 2012, 09:27 PM

died a little in p4 today. some can do some cannot. so sad.
hurly
Jun 13 2012, 09:14 AM

QUOTE(SereneAshley @ Jun 12 2012, 10:08 PM) Hey nick, do u still remember how much u wrote for f4? Do we need to write averagely 2 pages for each question to really score? Because so far my answers are about 1 page to 1 1/2 only.... I hate the second question because I really don't know what to discuss actually and don't know how long to write. pass probability 50-50. can go either way.
hurly
Jun 21 2012, 01:38 PM

QUOTE(blablabla89 @ Jun 21 2012, 01:50 AM) sre u at the kl or pj branch? any feedback from past students on dr parmindar? I took PS class last year(2011) for p1 and p3. The good thing is he will cover all. Sometimes the class is boring but both paper are theory paper. He will sometimes mention things repetitively , which is good for me. Since I tend to forget stuff. Jokes are here and there, laugh here and there. Fun times. The good thing is he sometimes check student works. He is an interesting lecturer and have great stories. The bad thing is his class is always full one. Very stress to wake up in the morning for the sake to get a good seat. P3 syllabus is big or huge so there might be an added class at the end of the term just before the revision. Some people find the lecture boring but I find the lecture quite good la depending on the money I paid. It's just the ambience isn't good, too many people cramping into one class. P1 ethics chapters is also quite boring. Luckily, I pass both papers under him. I don't know how but I did.
hurly
Jun 21 2012, 01:54 PM

As far as I know Kaplan- KSA, study text only.
hurly
Jun 21 2012, 02:01 PM

QUOTE(blablabla89 @ Jun 21 2012, 01:57 PM) thanks for the info... ur in full time class? coz im going to only study part time.. so very stress lah if wanna rush from work to class for the sake of a good seat.. any comment on mr phillip woo at taylor's instead? I think if separate class is ok one. Problem arise when class combined on weekends. LOL. Plus this is a year ago. Someone told me they have upgraded their facilities already. QUOTE(EverLearner @ Jun 21 2012, 01:58 PM) any good lecturer for F8 around masjid jamek area for part time student, currently i know only Sheila. please advise and thanks! Sheila EJ!! This post has been edited by hurly: Jun 21 2012, 02:01 PM
hurly
Jun 21 2012, 05:07 PM

QUOTE(EverLearner @ Jun 21 2012, 03:07 PM) I like her lecture a lot. Quite clear on what she's trying to communicate. Though her notes a little bulky, you need to read her notes. Sometimes she will do tests, around my time, she didn't tell. So you need to study. Haha. The good thing is she really mark your answer scripts. You will get a mark. At least you know where you need to study. And she is very approachable if you have some problems about f8. A lot of exam techniques.
hurly
Jun 22 2012, 02:52 PM

I have a question, to those who are working and studying ACCA. When do you find time to study? How many papers is ok to take per term? Any experience will do.
hurly
Jun 22 2012, 07:36 PM

QUOTE(nothingz @ Jun 22 2012, 03:00 PM) i used to attend part time class every week, each subject once per week. the most i took was 2 only. i only attend classes without studying at home until a month/few weeks before exam only start doing revision. usually each subject i need 2 weeks to prepare for exam. therefore you need to apply for study + exam leave from your employer to prepare for exam. the number of days granted will usually based on how many subjects you are taking, how many days other colleagues are taking, organisation culture etc if it is possible may I know how many days are you working per week? I got an offer for work but 6 days per week, 1pm to 10pm. I don't know if I should take it.
hurly
Jun 25 2012, 06:32 PM

QUOTE(jepertine90 @ Jun 25 2012, 06:15 PM) I have a question, previously I have claimed my exemption for F1-F5, then now I want to claim exemption for F6-F9, where should I sent my document to? normally you claimed everything in one shot. why is there a two part stage? contact ACCA Malaysia if possible.
hurly
Jun 27 2012, 09:48 AM

QUOTE(noonies_naruto @ Jun 26 2012, 09:35 PM) ACCA is only for the strong-willed. I'd be lenient if it was F papers, but P papers is a whole different level. In my opinion, F8 is tougher than P1 or P3. But each to their own. Some people find F7 really tough too. But I agree P papers are of a different level, especially the optional ones. This post has been edited by hurly: Jun 27 2012, 12:51 PM
hurly
Jun 27 2012, 12:54 PM

QUOTE(nothingz @ Jun 27 2012, 12:31 PM) those moral philosophies and ethics models in P1 are far more difficult than F8's audit procedures. in 1 sem, AAA came out in Q1 of P1 28 marks, if you did not study this model, marks are totally gone. P3 is easier to pass, no doubt bout it Didn't know about that. But damn I hated that chapter. This post has been edited by hurly: Jun 27 2012, 12:57 PM
hurly
Jun 27 2012, 03:41 PM

QUOTE(TenNix @ Jun 27 2012, 03:24 PM) Read last night, didn't help. The picture below shows the entire process. Just a note, maybe you need to call Maybank and confirm with them that you want to make an overseas payment. I think someone asked about this too earlier this year. She found out that she wasn't authorized to make overseas payment. And she asked the bank to clear it up and it went smoothly. I am just not sure which bank was it.
hurly
Jun 27 2012, 08:20 PM

QUOTE(YH90 @ Jun 27 2012, 06:05 PM) And for P2, it is quite a norm to not be covering everything in class. The lecturer is doing you a favour to reduce your workload by eliminating topics that most probably won't be examined in exams. Of course there is a risk, but these are mostly calculated risks. Most of the topics are just touch and go, with more emphasis on more popular and complicated topics. Again, not talking Spencer here (never been a student of his), but all lecturers in general. I fully agree with you. P2 syllabus is huge. A lecturer must have at least 6hours class per week to cover all the stuff.
hurly
Jul 17 2012, 06:07 PM

QUOTE(nick67 @ Jul 17 2012, 05:59 PM) Guys, what's the difference between Foundation in ethics module and Professional Ethics Module in myACCA? Do I have to complete them both or only PEM? You mean Foundation in Professionalism and Professional Ethics Module, right? FiP is for CAT and new Foundation in Accountancy students. I think it's compulsory to do the Professional Ethics Module.
hurly
Jul 17 2012, 09:26 PM

QUOTE(nick67 @ Jul 17 2012, 08:00 PM) Ahhh yea sorry for my mistake Oh cih, wasted my time doing FiP halfway through Thanks man. don't worry me too.
hurly
Jul 31 2012, 07:10 AM

Some people cannot comprehend Joe Fang method. Some people can. I met these 2 different groups of people prior taking my f7 paper. I gave Joe a chance. So I am pretty comfortable with the method.
Some people reject his method because they studied the T accounts method before. I pretty sure T accounts method is correct.
At the end of the day, which method makes a student pass his or her exam?
ps: hrevijay, which lecturer would you suggests?
hurly
Jul 31 2012, 01:04 PM

QUOTE(hrevijay @ Jul 31 2012, 11:02 AM) if all you want to do is pass your exam, then it doesn't really matter which lecturer you go to as every lecturer has his or her own unique method that enables student's to pass. But if you realize the importance of understanding what you're studying and being able I apply the knowledge in work and business in the future, I strongly urge students to look for a lecturer who focusses on fundamentals and not shortcuts. You have to understand some lecturers even skips out the consolidation part in F7. The lecturer says it's enough to pass with IAS. So not all lecturer teach to make a student pass. One thing I saw in your post, I like to highlight, you said "I strongly urge students to look for a lecturer who focusses on fundamentals and not shortcuts". Joe Fang method promotes shortcuts in applying (to save time in exam) but not understanding. Students who focus in class could relate his method with the T accounts. Anyway, that's my opinion. Different people, different opinion I guess.
hurly
Aug 13 2012, 02:34 PM

Can anyone tell me where this centre is? Possibly condition also?
I940 Seremban I978 Federal Territory(Other)
Hope it is near to the LRT.
This post has been edited by hurly: Aug 13 2012, 02:35 PM