Business ACCA V8, Global Body for Professional Accountants

frodo baggin
post Jun 11 2013, 06:23 PM

381 posts

QUOTE(Grevade @ Jun 11 2013, 04:52 PM)
Any idea when they will start this new exam scheme? Are they also going to change it to exam four times a year?

Just asking your opinion, do you think this change make acca inferior to icaew because the acca exam is made "easier"?
Expected in Dec 2014 or June 2015 examination. They will move F4 to complete CBE first.

Nah, all professional qualifications has to meet the requirements of IAESB http://www.ifac.org/education, which means that ACCA and ICEAW follow the same standard of examination and requirements. In this I would say that value of ACCA is the same as value of ICEAW - get's you to the door, after that it depends on the individual.

You know that AIA is much easier than all the others and is fully recognised in Hong Kong but ACCA is not since that place is dominated by AIA. In Malaysia AIA is not recognised at all. So is AIA inferior? Yes in Malaysia, No in HK.

Technical competence of ACCA examinations would be higher all the time, whereas business competence of ICEAW is higher. ICEAW is still using old standards for accounting until today (they are still studying IAS 39), whereas ACCA has already moved on the test latest IFRS.

You still need to display knowledge, confidence, critical thinking to get the big jobs out there.

Yes the idea is to move towards 4 exams, since MCQ would speed up the process of marking the papers and cuts the cost down. It would also allow for CBE based examinations to be developed slowly.

The reason why ICAEW seems to be better off is that most of the students are forced to do their "contracts" before graduating - which means that when they grad, they have a strong experience ~ study and work culture.

The reason why ACCA grads seems to be lower off is that - they have no experience when they grad, they like to study first and work later. If you have the same formula that ICEAW uses for ACCA, you get the same results.

If you compare apple and apple - those that have equal experience / ACCA / ICEAW applying for a job. It would either boil down to the person interviewing you and what they think about your ability OR existence of cables

Obviously my answers will not be very objective since I am skewed towards ACCA, plus I am suspicious of any organisation that offer fellowship for branded CEO with ACCA just to get them in their member profile ~ TF shakehead.gif

This post has been edited by frodo baggin: Jun 11 2013, 06:29 PM
frodo baggin
post Jun 11 2013, 10:27 PM

381 posts

QUOTE(kennt0312 @ Jun 11 2013, 08:36 PM)
I'm glad that they come out SOFP again, many says that it will come out SOFP again, so I focus on SOFP, SOCI & CF just run through.

But then for the Q4 I totally don't know what is it about, so I do Q2 & 3. Missed 12 marks question didn't do, and another roughly 25 marks just simply bla bla bla. I don't know whether I can pass that tho. sad.gif
Was Q4 the article that was recently prepared by the examiner. Yes the strategy of doing all 3 is safe bet as usual. 12 marks not so bad. If your q1 scores, chances of passing is high
frodo baggin
post Jun 11 2013, 10:39 PM

381 posts

QUOTE(tokdukun @ Jun 11 2013, 07:53 PM)
Oh dear, wasn't expecting csofp to come out for the 5th time in a row sad.gif

I feel so wasted, it wasn't that hard, but as i was underprepared, i can't nail it, took a gamble only looking at p&l and cf, and selected standards, i can't pass it.

But at the very least, I'm glad i didn't give up, still went in anyway, learnt more, and will be very pumped up to do it again this dec, far more prepared than this time smile.gif slowly but surely, i will get that affiliate status smile.gif
Well you took risk, it prepares you for the next trial better icon_rolleyes.gif
frodo baggin
post Jun 13 2013, 12:34 AM

381 posts

QUOTE(yclim2 @ Jun 12 2013, 01:36 AM)
Is it confirmed that F4 will start with CBE from Dec 2014? Will other F papers (40-60) also start from Dec 2014 or June 2015? What are the sources of the news regarding the change that i can read?
Sorry this news was made available at the recent meeting by acca for tuition providers and also the papers that were sent out for trials by the lecturers. Read about it when ACCA formally announce it. You can always review PQ magazine about updates.

Acca P5
There is of course me (Jay @ J pro) but that is only after the results are out and limited to 20 pax only, and also Arshad @ Ftms. Chan Siew Leng @ Kasturi, Akhbar @ Sunway other than those that is listed above.

Acca P4
Micheal @ Sunway Pj.

Obviously this list is biased by bounded rationality!

Who is good / bad - depends on your needs. Each person has their own approach which may or may not suit you. hmm.gif

Don't waste money - do the degree properly, get 1st class and then update to acca.
If you want to do another course - do law if you have free time (great combo if you enter into liquidation or tax) thumbup.gif

Agreed - degree is not safe. Fail 4 times, you get kicked out, rclxub.gif

F4 & F6 take Malaysian forget about UK. More relevant!

Acca is always higher than uni. Since it is professional - you need it to get promoted in the audit field. If you are in corporate it is still higher since many jobs ask for professional shocking.gif

This post has been edited by frodo baggin: Jun 13 2013, 12:45 AM
frodo baggin
post Jun 13 2013, 11:43 PM

381 posts

QUOTE(emin1253 @ Jun 13 2013, 10:22 PM)
Hi, any P7 lecturer (part time) recommend as Sheila (Elitejaya) only conduct full time class for coming semester
There is Joey who does it at KDU, Goh in Sunway College, CK Fung in FTMS, Marcus in KSA (PJ)

P7 you can wait till exam results are out. Normally I will be having a class catering for students from the audit firms the last sitting out of 18 students that did it, 6 are from Big 4, the balance are working with other mid - firms / corporate (only 4 are full time students) - class is usually on Sunday's.

Drop by this Saturday 15 June 2013 11.00 am to 1.00pm @ J Pro to check out the place http://jprotraining.blogspot.com/ and discuss the options.

About the options for the degree

If not mistaken, a clear cost and benefit analysis would be good.

If you are paying for 1/2 and the balance is scholarship
Financial cost = RM45,000 for Sunway and RM30,000 for Help
Financial returns = RM2,800 starting salary in Big 4 (for both)

I suppose the financial sense indicates a payback of 11 months for Help and 16 months for Sunway.

Companies prefer anyone who knows what they have studied - good English and some technical skills which both Uni can provide.

Review of Sunway Uni by some of the students (feedback from 5 students that I know, who are doing their degree)- HARD since the standards by Lancaster is higher, but the end outcome is still a degree. I only have one student from Help - I don't see any issues. All of them have the same comment - nothing they do prepares them for professional well, since most of the programs are internally assessed and not geared towards professional.
I suppose this will always be an issue with degree entering into ACCA, but most of those that has passed their degree with 2nd upper, usually pass without too much problems.

UK lecturers are usually quite good (not all, it is the same as Malaysian) - I studied under many during my time. The biggest issue about using them is their slang. If you can overcome that issue - they would be a good try out. Obviously we have to wait for locals to comment on them.

Parmandir and Marcus have many years of experience teaching this paper. Their styles are consistent in that both will use lots of practical examples during the class. The variation occurs in the level of in class question practice that will be done.

Lecturers for P3
Parminder (KSA)
Marcus (KSA)
Joey (KDU)
Jay (J Pro)
Laurence (Inti)
Wong (Sunway)
Dinesh (Sunway)
Martin (FTMS)

If you ask me, all have their own styles and maybe fine, but at the end of the day, it will still depend on your own work too.

This post has been edited by frodo baggin: Jun 13 2013, 11:57 PM
frodo baggin
post Jun 14 2013, 12:35 AM

381 posts

QUOTE(jloydjay @ Jun 13 2013, 11:51 PM)
Can i study F4 using Global version and F6 UK taxation first before studying for the variant? Will it be a lot of difference? Appreciate if someone can enlighten a junior!:)
You can study any variant and option you want, this flexibility is given to you by ACCA. The only issue for you to know - whether there is a lecturer to support you and whether you will be impacted later - in your work knowledge and maybe your optionals.

Work knowledge - if you did Malaysian law, your knowledge of Malaysia law would be something compared to nothing when you enter the workforce.

If you did UK tax - you have limited usage in Malaysia. So why do it? - unless you plan to work in UK.

If you plan to work in UK, best to take UK variant P7, since it is recognised for getting you the audit license in UK.

Final answer - as long as ACCA system allows you to take the paper - you can do it>
frodo baggin
post Jun 14 2013, 02:44 AM

381 posts

QUOTE(jloydjay @ Jun 14 2013, 12:47 AM)
Thank you so much for your help!:) I see... the thing is, I am doing self-study for the papers and is currently working on the Global and UK taxation study texts by BPP, but I will be taking MYR variant for both f4 and f6. As such, am I kinda wasting my time using these texts, or they will help me understand the principles before I move on to the MYR variant study texts by Kaplan?
Taking MYR and using global and UK text is suicide! rclxub.gif . Nothing much there for tax . Not very sure about law, but there is significant difference!

This post has been edited by frodo baggin: Jun 14 2013, 02:45 AM
frodo baggin
post Jun 15 2013, 12:29 AM

381 posts

QUOTE(nick67 @ Jun 14 2013, 11:57 PM)
Actually I wanted to comment on that also, but decided not to. BTW, I have never heard of his name before so I can't say he's the best in the world. Michael on the other hand, very famous and I'm sure most student and seniors has heard of his name before.  thumbup.gif
Agreed - I studied under that Gwailo (Micheal) back in 1996. He is good since he makes up his own questions and has some pretty good spots. Not sure how his spots turned out this time though? His answering technique is very short and straight (just the way I like). Back then the classes were in Sunway, and it was huge 250 - 350 students (just like how it is now - things never change!) and half the students did not like his continuous screaming and shouting - but it was fun.

Windle is new to Malaysia, hence there is no feedback - cannot comment on his approach and style - wait for students to go in and come out. FTMS is trying a formula that was tried by Sunway in 1994 - 1997 (the early years, when almost all the classes were taught by UK Lecturers). It did not work out since most Malaysian's had a problem with Language used by Gwailo.

Guys there is a rumour that the giant is planning to enter the market - LSBF - that will really put pressure on Sunway I suppose.
frodo baggin
post Jun 15 2013, 05:09 AM

381 posts

QUOTE(nick67 @ Jun 15 2013, 12:54 AM)
Actually I have not studied under Michael before. I have only heard good things about him from so many people.  thumbup.gif

Speaking of huge classes Sunway, I don't know why they charge so much yet for certain classes students are facing trouble getting a place to sit. From my own experience, P2 and P6 was horrible. Both classes were so packed that there wasn't any place to sit. I even seen students sitting on the small space on the window behind the class and some were sitting on the stairs. Even the normal bench sit was so uncomfortable and tight. I always only have an a4 sized space to put my stack of notes while the rest of my stuffs has to go on the floor.
First day of P6 was when I had enough. I walked out and went to another institution instead  flex.gif .
I think that there is a kiasu syndrome in Sunway - most of the students are informed by the management into believing that if they study there, only then they can get a job in Big 5 doh.gif . They are also conned into paying RM4,000 doh.gif for the OBU when the fair value is about RM2000 - RM3000 - sad story. In Inti, the students are given a bonus if they studied there - RM1,000 discount on their OBU fee of RM3,500 - so they only pay RM2,500. I made sure that students get a benefit for studying there. icon_rolleyes.gif

Also the resource fee is mad - ACCA students use very little resources, so their fee should not be hit by high resource fee rclxub.gif . I also made sure that resource fee for the students was based on ABC principle - take more subject pay more resource fee ~ so it was Rm100/paper icon_rolleyes.gif .

I have done quite a bit for setting a good value deal for the ACCA students, but unfortunately not many are aware of it - well that depends on the marketing (which Sunway spends a lot rclxms.gif )

Obviously you cannot compare resource fee with KSA - they don't have resources!.

Nick - did you sit for P2/P6 this time?

frodo baggin
post Jun 16 2013, 02:06 AM

381 posts

QUOTE(nick67 @ Jun 15 2013, 12:43 PM)
I don't blame them for having so many students, but at least provide for them. From what I see those huge classes could easily be broken into 2 separate classes which would still be quite huge. When I told the lecturer about the lack of seats, she said that there's no other available class slots. Paying such a premium to study there I would expect at least a more comfortable environment. The lectures are good, but the environment not so.

Regarding resource fees, I can't speak for everyone but for me, I hardly ever set foot in the computer lab and the library. I used to study in the library, but when nearing exams it's difficult getting a place to sit. Plus it could get noisy in there.

Another issue I think worth mentioning is the intimidation tactics they use. Some say that the barring system is to encourage students to study, but in my opinion its used to keep their pass rates up. Also during the introduction of the compulsory "Business Research Module", Mr Teo himself actually came in during the lecture and threaten us that if we do not sign up for the BRM, Sunway-TES will not vouch for us when applying a job in the Big 4. Even if we do not opt for OBU, we would still be required to pay for the "Power Point class".

I sat for P6 this round smile.gif.
Heard the P6 paper was easier?
The college has to vouch for the student - does not guarantee the job. I had students that got a job with the big 4 without any vouching by the college (Sunway). If you can speak good english and are reasonably confident, you can get the job. The vouching by the college only gives you 10% possible chance. The results and your personality is 90%

Honestly I have talked to the partners before and they are not influenced by the so called recommendation.

Threaten (intimidation) - that is really not professional - are you sure???? Paying RM1,200 for powerpoint classes is a real rip off.

The reason why they are not breaking up the class - profit whistling.gif

QUOTE(syler89 @ Jun 15 2013, 04:19 PM)
not really sure..i've been lurking around and found out that the bahasa kebangsaan if only they didn't get credit in BM during SPM and as for Islamic/moral is compulsory. but the thing is i cannot grad if i still didn't take the subject right?
QUOTE(supermandatory @ Jun 15 2013, 06:00 PM)
Hi! I was wondering... Will the exam marks make any difference during job application? Let say I pass all my ACCA papers but they are all 50-60 marks?   hmm.gif
Obviously it does - pass first time is better than failed. Passed with high scores would indicate higher technical knowledge compared to those that passed with lower score. Put yourself in the interviewer shoe - which would you pick?

[quote=ang1222,Jun 16 2013, 01:11 AM]
Hi everyone, I am thinking of study P paper in UK.
Completed degree and get exemption of all F papers.

Anyone can share the knowledge or experience about studying ACCA at UK ?

Like which school is good for ACCA or what kind of thing should be take note.

The schools there are about the same - the specialist in the market for UK is BPP. Kaplan and LSBF. Most are operating after the exam results are released.

Some of the universities offer a spliced program (Masters + P level) which would be a good deal if the prices are reasonable, but their lecturers may not be that good. Cannot recommend 100%.

Regarding MQA subjects - there is some changes being made by our local MOE - they need the students to take the paper one more time - something about credits being fulfilled or something...... rclxub.gif

This post has been edited by frodo baggin: Jun 16 2013, 02:29 AM
frodo baggin
post Jun 16 2013, 02:30 AM

381 posts

QUOTE(ang1222 @ Jun 16 2013, 02:15 AM)
Ermm, Can I know what do u mean by most of them are operating after the exam results are released ?

What do you mean the MQA in this case ?

Initially I just want to study P paper @UK. I think this is nothing to deal with the MQA.
Sorry the MQA is for the previous question - not yours. If you are going to UK, there is no need for MQA. Actually most of the students I know go to UK for the holiday and exposure - not so much about the place where you study - the risk is the same as studying in Malaysia - you can get some good lecturers and some bad lecturers. Depends on luck.

Why are you going there? Job, Exposure, Got money to spend?

This post has been edited by frodo baggin: Jun 16 2013, 02:34 AM
frodo baggin
post Jun 18 2013, 05:32 PM

381 posts

QUOTE(donizback @ Jun 17 2013, 12:55 PM)
Anyways the conclusion is, it all depends on the students as they need the teacher or not and the language as well and I guess we both are quite different from each other so chill now  thumbup.gif
Wow that was a highly motivated debate about the topic. Excellent mannerism showed by both of you - congrats on keeping professional tone.

Other forum members should take note - professional's must maintain a certain image, even in the forum.

Honestly the lecturer would only contribute say 20% - 30% unless the spots are perfect replica of what comes out in the exam. I used to spot quite accurately for old CAT T5 in the past - one time 97% of the questions was actually spotted out - but it was a range spot (not narrow spot). I would give say 30 areas out of 100 for spots. Students that studied all 30 were successful, but then again there were students that decided to spot within the 30 - they failed.

So in the end, it depends on the students. Lecturers can only lead to horse to the water, they cannot make the horse drink the water!

About accent - it depends, if they come from UK without Asian exposure, high chance their slang could be a problem - which is what I faced. Windle and Clendon have been around Asia, indicating that they may have adjusted for Asian requirements. thumbup.gif

So, those who want to try it out - do go for it. After all Sunway classes is always full and there is no place for sitting.
frodo baggin
post Jun 18 2013, 06:11 PM

381 posts

QUOTE(hrevijay @ Jun 18 2013, 05:50 PM)
Anybody getting annoyed of having a lecturer on here ?
Better that having a secret account and trying to win students direct - like CK Fatt or the others.
When did you get back from UK Kaplan? Which papers were you trying out there? How was the experience there? Did you get a car and bring it down using the AP? Do share your expertise since it would be very enlightening for those that want to go there. I had many people ask me the same question - to go or not to go?

This post has been edited by frodo baggin: Jun 18 2013, 06:41 PM
frodo baggin
post Jun 18 2013, 06:59 PM

381 posts

QUOTE(fourseasonguo @ Jun 16 2013, 06:44 PM)
Hi I am planning to take F9 and P1 next semester. Any recommendation how to pass these papers or which lecturer to recommend
P1 can be self studied but if you are lazy - go for class. It requires a lot of memory work, reading the technical articles. In terms of technical difficulty - I would rate is as easiest among the P papers. F9 on the other hand is harder and considered to be technically challenging.

Now the question is - are you working? Do you have any budget limits or time limits? Do you want to do full time or part-time?

frodo baggin
post Jun 19 2013, 01:39 PM

381 posts

QUOTE(ngph988 @ Jun 19 2013, 01:28 PM)
I'm diploma student from Business administration and would like to enroll ACCA courses. Diploma students are advisable to enroll this course at Distinction level, is 3.5 or above consider Distinction level?
Diploma students are usually given 1 paper exemption from ACCA (paper F1), so you will be taking F2 Management Accounting and F3 Financial Accounting. I have never heard about the requirement that a diploma student must get distinction to join - where did that rule come from? If you have passed all the papers properly in your Diploma, you should have no problems joining ACCA. Number of exemptions available for your particular diploma can be checked in the ACCA database.

Hope that helps

This post has been edited by frodo baggin: Jun 19 2013, 01:41 PM
frodo baggin
post Jun 19 2013, 03:03 PM

381 posts

QUOTE(Judecat @ Jun 19 2013, 02:46 PM)
Hi guys I would just like to ask,

1) Who are the recommended lecturers for F8 & F9?
2) Between P1 to P3, which two papers should I best tackle together?

Thank you biggrin.gif
Between P1 and P3 - if you are doing F8, I would belief it would be to do F8, F9 and P1 since F8 has some relationship with P1.

frodo baggin
post Jul 1 2013, 01:40 PM

381 posts

QUOTE(justamember @ Jun 30 2013, 10:22 PM)
Hey guys, wanna ask about exemption. I've gotten my degree and are supposedly entitled to 9 exemptions but I have not applied for it yet. Question is..

For example I have done Auditing in degree and can be exempted from it but do I need to score above 50 or just a pass in the degree is enough to gain the exemption (F8)?
From what I have seen so for for degree student
No.1 Make sure you have no compensated passes for your papers that are listed within the exemption database for your degree. If there is compensated passes - this will be void exemptions
No.2 Referral passes could be a problem if the transcript does not stipulate properly the way it is awarded.
No.3 Make sure you use the correct transcripts - partner university transcript could be used by accident when you should be using the college which awarded (this is tricky and has happened to few students before)

Make sure you really want to do ACCA - since there is an entry cost involved - exemption fees. This can be very expensive.

Obviously F8 exemption is awarded on the basis of you passing the audit component - not only passing the degree, which can be done using compensated passes.

Hope that helps
frodo baggin
post Jul 2 2013, 12:37 AM

381 posts

QUOTE(justamember @ Jul 1 2013, 10:01 PM)
I don't think there's such thing as compensated passes in my uni and thus I'm not sure what compensated passes means but I did google it but don't really understood it fully. I passed all my subjects in the first sitting (so, no issue of referral pass here) and the degree I am doing is eligible for the maximum exemption.

What I am afraid is that I did poorly on my audit paper in degree scoring slightly below 50 (passing in my degree is 40, so I passed the paper in degree), so I am wondering whether I can get the exemption for F8 because passing score is 50 in ACCA.

Btw, I have started on P1, P2 and P3 papers in Sunway but have yet to do the online application with acca to apply for exemption which I am going to do it tomorrow. Let's say the worst case scenario happen and I failed to get exemption for F8, is it possible for me to take F8 together with P1-P3? (I know it's hectic)

Anyway, thanks for your reply!  icon_rolleyes.gif
Not to worry - you would still get an exemption.

QUOTE(martinkakashi @ Jul 1 2013, 11:59 PM)
Greetings,

Need to know whether is it true that if the ACCA candidates are unable to answer all the questions in ACCA P1 (wholly or half section of few parts) within the given time will be deliberately FAILED by the marker???

Need to confirm about that as I could not complete my ACCA P1 Question 1 part d (answered last part of question 1 half way) and loss 4 professional marks of it albeit I answered all the 3 questions....

Thank you !!
Never heard of this - so far one student told me he passed by doing q1 and q2 only in p1, ran out of time for the last question.

I am sure ACCA does not have a deliberate fail just for minor technical non-compliance. They would have notified the students and lecturers formally.

Don't worry too much
frodo baggin
post Jul 5 2013, 12:05 PM

381 posts

QUOTE(donizback @ Jul 5 2013, 08:48 AM)
Yup that is what I am saying. P2 is the toughest paper of all so take it with the easiest one P1, it will save your time since you are thinking to just take 1 paper in the next sitting then you would be taking 2  laugh.gif
Yes that is one way of looking at it. P1 is perceived to be the easiest of the 3 papers but if you take the two papers together - the exams are too close together rclxub.gif . Taking 1 and 3 provides some room for recovery thumbup.gif after the 1st exam.
Which I think is more important.

I would suggest doing P1 and P3 and then do P2 and P7. That combo works well the synergy between P2 and P7 is healthy.

In the end - it depends on what type of person you are - if you are the type that can prepare earlier and the last few days is relaxed go for all 3.

P2 difficulty is still overrated - Yes there is standards and there is consolidation which just require technique and understanding, but among the 3 examiners - he is the most stable person around and does not want to rock the boat too much. The paper has been almost the same for the past few sittings.

The reason why everyone says P2 is hard or complex is because 1 or 2 lecturer made that statements to a class of 300+ for the past 10-12 sittings. Imagine 3000 students being given the impression it is hard + then given tons of notes the size of Mount Olympus to digest. Obviously it would be a herculean task - hence the perception that it is hard - which is perpetually amplified by the students that did the herculean task.

If you asked the students that passed the exam - some would say that they focused on a few major areas and passed the paper - the same as other papers in ACCA.

So is P2 harder than P1 and P3 - not really since it does not have the pass rates that is enjoyed by the optionals 30 - 40% for the claim it is hard.

This post has been edited by frodo baggin: Jul 5 2013, 12:07 PM
frodo baggin
post Jul 7 2013, 10:15 PM

381 posts

QUOTE(donizback @ Jul 7 2013, 07:30 PM)
is it mapit accounting courses you are talking about? hmm.gif
Yes - mapit accountancy materials.

8 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top