6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

Business ACCA V8, Global Body for Professional Accountants

nothingz
post May 16 2012, 09:44 PM

6 Stars General
2,757 posts

QUOTE(Chelsea1490 @ May 16 2012, 09:30 PM)
P4 is it difficult? Because i not very good in finance.  how about P6, can add more value ? if taking p6 will it be more practical when enter tax consultation firm?
i got 63 for F9 but i dare not take P4 because of previous comments here, some seniors said P4 is very difficult. I got 2 friends retake in December 2011 (they passed), i know it is not easy therefore i chose P5. I thought P5 is easy but never thought after change of examiner, it has become more theoretical, a lot of analysis/application, less calculation. i managed to pass at first attempt too.

the P6 you study has covered most of the Income Tax Act 1967 but certain practical matters still not covered inside and case laws are not included. Chartered Tax Institute of Malaysia (CTIM) tax papers have 2 parts, 1 of it is specifically test on tax law cases, that really makes you specialise in tax. one more disadvantage of taking P6 is it is not applicable when you work overseas since different country has different tax laws. this is also a reason why i did not take P6. overall if you like tax, you can take P6

out of the 4, my first choice will definitely be P7

nothingz
post May 16 2012, 10:13 PM

6 Stars General
2,757 posts

QUOTE(Chelsea1490 @ May 16 2012, 09:59 PM)
I see. CTIM is like ACCA ? If want to be tax specialist must take the paper? Where can we take the paper? Btw, thanks alot for your advice biggrin.gif
CTIM is a professional body in Malaysia specialises in Malaysia tax, i am unsure how to enroll to their course, you may google for more information. as i know, their exam is only 1 year once in December. If you really want to be a tax specialist then you can consider taking those papers after passing ACCA
nothingz
post May 17 2012, 04:27 PM

6 Stars General
2,757 posts

QUOTE(Janping @ May 16 2012, 10:50 PM)
Never tought of taking P7 because I don't have much confidence to study audit again, I heard P7 is combination of IASs and ISAs, I don't think I can manage both of those standards sad.gif Like my friend, she feels audit is ok for her, so she can easily decided to take P6&7..
You got a living example here who does not memorise isa standards but can pass p7

QUOTE(Chelsea1490 @ May 16 2012, 10:59 PM)
P7 is studying abt the standards? Not like procedure to audit ? blink.gif
p7 trains you to be an audit manager/partner, what you studied at f8 are just basic audit procedures. P7 has a lot of new stuff to study

QUOTE(Janping @ May 16 2012, 11:04 PM)
You got quite good mark but you didn't give P4 a try tongue.gif Refer to your previous comment, does that means P4 is more useful than P5 in real life?

PS: thanks for the advice
p4 should earn better if you get into investment banking line just like wall street. P5 will get you to be a management accountant while p2 will get you to be a financial accountant, my lecturer said a management accountant can earn better than a financial accountant because your boss does not value how strong is your IFRS standards
nothingz
post May 18 2012, 10:09 AM

6 Stars General
2,757 posts

QUOTE(noonies_naruto @ May 17 2012, 11:30 PM)
this caught my attention. so you're saying that the examiner has changed since last seating? that means even for this coming seating is this examiner who loves to test theories??

thats a good signal to me!! coz i hate calculations like hell  shakehead.gif

but seriously? so thats why last seating calculation all so damn little?? (and yet i dun pass sweat.gif)

I also got 63 for F9  icon_rolleyes.gif
you read the questions of past few sittings, this Alex Watt tests us more on theories, unlike previous examiner Shane Johnson who gave us some easymarks. I chose p5 because i thought it was the easiest among the 4. In the end i felt that p7 is easier to pass

QUOTE(caillech @ May 18 2012, 12:10 AM)
no risk no gain  tongue.gif
what he said is true, you can only pay extra attention on those tipped topics, you cant be spotting questions
nothingz
post May 21 2012, 04:35 PM

6 Stars General
2,757 posts

QUOTE(Doreamon10 @ May 21 2012, 03:22 PM)
Aiyoh! I don't know this so called black magic will work or not! But for sure his books have all turned as black as charcoal!

Spend time doing something constructive lah - practise PYQs - the only way to pass ACCA.
PYQ and revision kit are generally the same, just that the model answers may be slightly different. anyway, the most important step to pass exam is to practise questions
nothingz
post May 22 2012, 05:28 PM

6 Stars General
2,757 posts

QUOTE(chiahau @ May 22 2012, 10:09 AM)
To be honest, I find it amusing how you missed out Tzxsean's sarcasm.

There's 3 more weeks to exam, if you give up so easily, then sad to say, it will take a very long time for the person to even pass ACCA with such attitude.

When you are taking such tough examination papers, if you prepare for it but in the end fail, at least you showed effort to try, rather than excuses to just drop 1 paper due to insecurity. You already paid for the paper, might as well just try it out.

I find it funny that this thread is actually so full of pessimistic people that even resorting to dropping papers or quitting ACCA when things get tough..
you will feel his/her pain when exam is 3 weeks away and your preparation is only at beginning level. taking 3 or 4 papers each semester is not easy, you really need to put in a lot of effort to ensure yourself can pass all of them at one go. or else, you just need to give up on certain paper/s instead of resitting all of them

QUOTE(Lil'omni @ May 22 2012, 01:54 PM)
Thanks for sharing the tips..may I ask any1 got f4 tips here?
there is no specific website will have F4 MYS tips since it is Malaysia Variant. there may be some local lecturers will provide tips before exam. anyway, you can analyse the trend of F4, nothing much to spot
nothingz
post May 23 2012, 12:18 PM

6 Stars General
2,757 posts

for F6 and P6, put some concentration on those latest amendments in budget 2011. such as rental income under 4(d) is now 1 source of income regardless of how many properties as per the public ruling 2011, the criterias to determine whether the rental income should be assessed under 4(a) or 4(d) have been amended too

This post has been edited by nothingz: May 23 2012, 12:21 PM
nothingz
post May 23 2012, 11:05 PM

6 Stars General
2,757 posts

QUOTE(noonies_naruto @ May 23 2012, 10:39 PM)
hey.. ya think... if got no P5 text book.. can pass aa?

i got exam kit only.. die lorh
I also dont have text book for all p level papers, no problem also
nothingz
post May 24 2012, 07:16 PM

6 Stars General
2,757 posts

QUOTE(Happy*Go*Lucky @ May 24 2012, 05:46 PM)
Hey guys, do anybody know which technical article in p5 need to study? as it seem a lot n a lot. my lecturer never teach or mention any article in class. He summore skip quite some topic in p5. I am down wif the p5
P5 examiner has not written any article so far, those articles at ACCA website are written by other lecturers/professionals. read questions carefully, practise your writing skills, it is not too difficult to pass
nothingz
post May 25 2012, 10:19 AM

6 Stars General
2,757 posts

Discount allowed only involves Journal & Sales Day Book. no cash transaction involved.

Debit Revenue adjustment - Discount allowed
Credit Accounts receivables
nothingz
post May 25 2012, 12:49 PM

6 Stars General
2,757 posts

QUOTE(caillech @ May 25 2012, 12:00 PM)
i tot there is a discount column in cash book??  rclxub.gif
when your customer purchase on credit from you for RM100 goods

Debit AR 100
Credit Revenue 100

when you give discount RM 10 on settlement

Debit Cash 90
Debit Discount allowed 10
Credit AR 100

if you are looking at the whole settlement transaction, cash book is included

Else, the transaction can be separated

Debit Cash 90
Credit AR 90

Debit Discount allowed 10
Credit AR 10

the discount allowed transaction alone does not involve cash book

This post has been edited by nothingz: May 25 2012, 12:55 PM
nothingz
post May 25 2012, 02:15 PM

6 Stars General
2,757 posts

QUOTE(caillech @ May 25 2012, 01:15 PM)
he is asking whether should entered cash book ma..

wat i mean is this...

lol, i never come across this kind of cash book in real life or in books, maybe it did exist. laugh.gif laugh.gif
nothingz
post May 25 2012, 04:05 PM

6 Stars General
2,757 posts

QUOTE(sukun @ May 25 2012, 02:17 PM)
Which following books are settlement discount allowed entered?
Cash book? Journal? Sales Day Book? or Purchase Day Book?

only one answer.. i guess, Journal should be the most appropriate?
thanks for the answers guys!
yes, journal
nothingz
post May 26 2012, 10:51 AM

6 Stars General
2,757 posts

QUOTE(junggle @ May 26 2012, 12:21 AM)
Being first time for me to sit for written based exams, I have some questions regarding the exam:
During the first 15 minute reading & planning time can we write on the question paper?
Must we answer the question in order?
Can I use correction fluid/tape??
If I really can't answer the question, should I leave the answer blank  or simply bullshit??
i still used correction fluid but it is not advisable because it will waste your time to apply it and you have to wait for it to dry to write on it. it is quite time wasting. it is better that you just cross it

QUOTE(gush @ May 26 2012, 12:32 AM)
im taking p3 part time..

I DIDNT ATTEND ANY CLASSES AT ALL!!!

please share with us how to answer p3...

what is the exam technique? i heard2 dinesh's is good.. anyone got his tips & techniques??

im dying here... haish......
at least understand all those examinable models such as 5 forces, diamond, value chain analysis etc. answer your questions with business mind. still got more than 2 weeks, more than enough to study if you are not working
nothingz
post May 26 2012, 08:39 PM

6 Stars General
2,757 posts

QUOTE(Happy*Go*Lucky @ May 26 2012, 07:17 PM)
Thanks for the info. p5 is the most struggling paper among the P level paper for me.
for study wise, yes, it is difficult because even my answers are usually different from the sample answer in the past year questions. just practise more, write something logical, you can pass
nothingz
post May 27 2012, 07:53 PM

6 Stars General
2,757 posts

QUOTE(vin99 @ May 27 2012, 01:32 PM)
Hi all..  anyone has the p6 past year question December 2003 answer...?  Please send to me can?  A million of thanks...: )
that's too old school, even if you have it, it may not be relevant anymore since the tax laws change every year
nothingz
post May 28 2012, 09:29 AM

6 Stars General
2,757 posts

QUOTE(junggle @ May 27 2012, 11:38 PM)
Nothingz, do you think i can use 2011 F6 textbook for Dec 2012 sitting??
you must know the latest changes in order to answer dec 2012 questions. IRB issued a lot of public rulings in 2011, not sure it will be examinable for you. even your 2011 text book may not have reflected them
nothingz
post May 31 2012, 09:13 AM

6 Stars General
2,757 posts

QUOTE(jen_mei @ May 31 2012, 12:27 AM)
hey, anyone selling revision kits for p7? i'm finding it at book store, but all sold off. anyone can please tell me where can i get it? or anyone selling 2nd hand?

thanks.
i have a used one (i think it is for 2011, need to check), not much writing inside, still very new. PM me with your offer if you are interested
nothingz
post Jun 5 2012, 02:09 PM

6 Stars General
2,757 posts

QUOTE(caillech @ Jun 5 2012, 12:27 PM)
anyone here receive your f level or p level cert?
ACCA is going paperless, cert also print on your own. that's the response i get from them
nothingz
post Jun 5 2012, 02:38 PM

6 Stars General
2,757 posts

QUOTE(junggle @ Jun 5 2012, 02:20 PM)
Me too. just hope for pass...
never thought ACCA would be so difficult as it is.
But their fees are increasing... lol

Added on June 5, 2012, 2:27 pmRegarding F4, do i really have to write exactly like the suggested solutions??
you don't need to write exactly like the suggested answers but at least have those points there

if you want to pass please don't aim 50, aim at least 60 since it is quite difficult to pass with 50 when you only aim 50.

same theory if you want to get 100 marks, you must aim 200 marks

6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0631sec    0.35    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 03:49 PM