Guys, whats the point of getting of OBU since I'll getting my ACCA cert also??
Business ACCA V8, Global Body for Professional Accountants
Apr 4 2012, 06:08 AM
1,352 posts Joined: Dec 2008 From: Tatooine |
Guys, whats the point of getting of OBU since I'll getting my ACCA cert also??
Apr 4 2012, 07:43 AM
606 posts Joined: Sep 2008 |
Having an OBU might help you if you plan to go for your Masters later on in life, or if you don't plan to pay your ACCA membership anymore.
It's more of a back up plan if you don't plan to enter the accountancy field at all. |
Apr 4 2012, 10:55 AM
176 posts Joined: Mar 2009 |
guys...im pursuing for acca.....should i do start acca papers straight away or gor for a degree and continue acca...which is better...please help me guys
Apr 4 2012, 02:30 PM
5,608 posts Joined: Jan 2010 |
^ if you wan to have a more relax study life and insurance in case you can't pass ACCA
>>>>degree if you wan to save money and time, but don't mind the pressure and stress ACCa<<<<< |
Apr 4 2012, 02:33 PM
5 posts Joined: Jul 2008 |
Hi everyone, I have ACCA BPP P5 Study Text and P5 BPP Practice and Revision Kit 2012 BRAND NEW for sale. Price negotiable. Pls pm me or email jasminensy@hotmail.com
Apr 4 2012, 05:07 PM
117 posts Joined: Nov 2004 |
QUOTE(~ATI4LIFE~ @ Apr 4 2012, 10:55 AM) guys...im pursuing for acca.....should i do start acca papers straight away or gor for a degree and continue acca...which is better...please help me guys I was struggling with this 5 years ago.lastly i chose to go for a degree first and NOW i am doing ACCA professional level (last 5 pprs). I never regret what i did previously because ACCA is realllllllly HARD!!! |
Apr 4 2012, 05:37 PM
8 posts Joined: Mar 2011 |
hi guys. I've completed the first 3 FIA papers, which is FFA, FMA, FAB. Originally it used to be, F3, F2 and F1 respectively. Im applying for a job soon. Just a thought, can i apply for an auditing role considering i've no working exprience. Furthermore i'm studying part time right now, which the subjects i'm taking are F4, F6 and F8. To all sifus, ur assistance is much appreciated..tq
Apr 4 2012, 06:11 PM
43 posts Joined: Jun 2010 |
hey guys, jz wanna seek for opinions here. I got book vouchers from 1 college aldy n i also checked there is my name in the list of another college whr im studying at too, shd i get tat another Rm 200 voucher or not?
There is notice of warning there pasted outside of the collection counter, "if collected aldy at another coll, shdnt collect anymore as the list of names will be submitted to ministry of higher education after the deadline of the distribution." Im wondering what can Ministry do to those acca students who claim vouchers at 2 colleges, phone call/issue letter to claim back rm200 fr me or blacklist me at somewhr... This post has been edited by yclim2: Apr 4 2012, 06:13 PM |
Apr 4 2012, 07:09 PM
in Sentral, ACCA student - professional course
is not entitled for book voucher if u already got one....be grateful...dun be greedy |
Apr 4 2012, 08:01 PM
11 posts Joined: Jul 2010 |
Hi , where to study ACCA course better?
UCSI near my place sounds OK but hardly find any feedback on that Others quite far =( |
Apr 4 2012, 09:37 PM
hi guys, I want to ask smtg bout the relevance of my understanding of "related company" under s2 of Promotion of Investment Act(PIA)
"related company"means a company a) operations of which are or can be controlled directly or indirectly by the first mentioned company - (A)----50%------>(B) b) which controls or can control either directly or indirectly the operations of first mentioned company - (A)<----50%-------(B) this means A is related company of B and vice versa right? below is the part where I couldn't understand clearly what they're trying to express: c) the operations of which are or can be controlled, either directly or indirectly, by a person or persons who control or can control, either directly or indirectly, the operations of the first mentioned company. Provided that a company shall be deemed to be related company of another company if- aa) at least 20% of its issued share capital is beneficially owned, either directly or indirectly, by that other company;or bb) at least 20% of the issued share capital of that company is beneficially owned, either directly or indirectly by the first mentioned company - (B)<----50%-----C------50%--->(A) at the same time (B)-----20%---->C (aa) or (A)----20%---->C (bb) which means A , B and C are 3 related companies? This post has been edited by tzxsean: Apr 4 2012, 10:07 PM |
Apr 4 2012, 11:21 PM
88 posts Joined: Sep 2011 |
QUOTE(yclim2 @ Apr 4 2012, 07:11 PM) hey guys, jz wanna seek for opinions here. I got book vouchers from 1 college aldy n i also checked there is my name in the list of another college whr im studying at too, shd i get tat another Rm 200 voucher or not? Hi there, the virtue of an accountant is integrity! There is notice of warning there pasted outside of the collection counter, "if collected aldy at another coll, shdnt collect anymore as the list of names will be submitted to ministry of higher education after the deadline of the distribution." Im wondering what can Ministry do to those acca students who claim vouchers at 2 colleges, phone call/issue letter to claim back rm200 fr me or blacklist me at somewhr... |
Apr 5 2012, 11:30 AM
2,757 posts Joined: Jan 2007 |
QUOTE(flying_torso @ Apr 4 2012, 05:37 PM) hi guys. I've completed the first 3 FIA papers, which is FFA, FMA, FAB. Originally it used to be, F3, F2 and F1 respectively. Im applying for a job soon. Just a thought, can i apply for an auditing role considering i've no working exprience. Furthermore i'm studying part time right now, which the subjects i'm taking are F4, F6 and F8. To all sifus, ur assistance is much appreciated..tq most firms will hire entry level staff, working for small firms will give you flexibility to go for exam. do not pass any of F7, 8 or 9 before F4, this will result in you being opted out of OBU degree programmeQUOTE(tzxsean @ Apr 4 2012, 09:37 PM) hi guys, I want to ask smtg bout the relevance of my understanding of "related company" under s2 of Promotion of Investment Act(PIA) i think it means "related company"means a company a) operations of which are or can be controlled directly or indirectly by the first mentioned company - (A)----50%------>(B) b) which controls or can control either directly or indirectly the operations of first mentioned company - (A)<----50%-------(B) this means A is related company of B and vice versa right? below is the part where I couldn't understand clearly what they're trying to express: c) the operations of which are or can be controlled, either directly or indirectly, by a person or persons who control or can control, either directly or indirectly, the operations of the first mentioned company. Provided that a company shall be deemed to be related company of another company if- aa) at least 20% of its issued share capital is beneficially owned, either directly or indirectly, by that other company;or bb) at least 20% of the issued share capital of that company is beneficially owned, either directly or indirectly by the first mentioned company - (B)<----50%-----C------50%--->(A) at the same time (B)-----20%---->C (aa) or (A)----20%---->C (bb) which means A , B and C are 3 related companies? in a, b & c, the word 'control' means top management (usually directors) and nothing relevant to voting shares. a & b means A Co. controls B Co. through appointment of directors by A Co. and vice versa. c means A Co. controls B Co. through same directors aa & bb means A holds B at least 20% voting rights either directly or through medium such as executives and complex group structure. vice versa any of the above 5 scenarios happens will result in related party relationship |
Apr 5 2012, 01:31 PM
QUOTE(nothingz @ Apr 5 2012, 11:30 AM) most firms will hire entry level staff, working for small firms will give you flexibility to go for exam. do not pass any of F7, 8 or 9 before F4, this will result in you being opted out of OBU degree programme in c), the existence of 3 parties doesn't make life easier. The use of "another company, the other company and first mentioned company" is not clear to readers that which company is what. It's so hard to grasp i think it means in a, b & c, the word 'control' means top management (usually directors) and nothing relevant to voting shares. a & b means A Co. controls B Co. through appointment of directors by A Co. and vice versa. c means A Co. controls B Co. through same directors aa & bb means A holds B at least 20% voting rights either directly or through medium such as executives and complex group structure. vice versa any of the above 5 scenarios happens will result in related party relationship |
Apr 5 2012, 02:16 PM
QUOTE(tzxsean @ Apr 5 2012, 01:31 PM) in c), the existence of 3 parties doesn't make life easier. The use of "another company, the other company and first mentioned company" is not clear to readers that which company is what. It's so hard to grasp this is how they drafted the laws, it's like that. just get the simple meaning is enough |
Apr 5 2012, 05:06 PM
247 posts Joined: Aug 2010 |
QUOTE(yclim2 @ Apr 4 2012, 06:11 PM) hey guys, jz wanna seek for opinions here. I got book vouchers from 1 college aldy n i also checked there is my name in the list of another college whr im studying at too, shd i get tat another Rm 200 voucher or not? just do it..There is notice of warning there pasted outside of the collection counter, "if collected aldy at another coll, shdnt collect anymore as the list of names will be submitted to ministry of higher education after the deadline of the distribution." Im wondering what can Ministry do to those acca students who claim vouchers at 2 colleges, phone call/issue letter to claim back rm200 fr me or blacklist me at somewhr... if they did something to u, don't vote them in the next election..HAHA |
Apr 5 2012, 05:13 PM
1,352 posts Joined: Dec 2008 From: Tatooine |
QUOTE(YH90 @ Apr 4 2012, 08:43 AM) Having an OBU might help you if you plan to go for your Masters later on in life, or if you don't plan to pay your ACCA membership anymore. Hmm, wat about in working field or anything?? I might plan to study or work in overseas...It's more of a back up plan if you don't plan to enter the accountancy field at all. |
Apr 5 2012, 11:00 PM
8 posts Joined: Mar 2011 |
QUOTE(nothingz @ Apr 5 2012, 11:30 AM) most firms will hire entry level staff, working for small firms will give you flexibility to go for exam. do not pass any of F7, 8 or 9 before F4, this will result in you being opted out of OBU degree programme thank u! Didn't know that. Does that mean i have to pass F7, F8 and F9 in order? Or i have to attempt it all in one go? Another thing..how do i get this 'ACCA Diploma in Accounting and Business'? How is it related to 'Foundations in Professionalism'?This post has been edited by flying_torso: Apr 5 2012, 11:00 PM |
Apr 5 2012, 11:16 PM
QUOTE(flying_torso @ Apr 5 2012, 11:00 PM) thank u! Didn't know that. Does that mean i have to pass F7, F8 and F9 in order? Or i have to attempt it all in one go? Another thing..how do i get this 'ACCA Diploma in Accounting and Business'? How is it related to 'Foundations in Professionalism'? it is better that you passed F4 then only take either one of F7, 8 & 9 then you will not be opted out. i think you may also pass F4 with F7, 8 & 9 in the same sitting without any issue. it is not necessarily that you need to take F7, 8 & 9 following the sequence but it is advisable that you follow it because it existed for a reason.for the other questions, you can read acca website, i got no idea |
Apr 5 2012, 11:36 PM
606 posts Joined: Sep 2008 |
QUOTE(oOoproz @ Apr 5 2012, 05:13 PM) Can you be a little bit more specific on the term "working field"?I believe working overseas as a fresh grad depends more on your connection that your qualification, unless you are top of your class or you come from an elite school. |
| Change to: | 0.0163sec
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 06:47 PM |