183 Pages « < 8 9 10 11 12 > » Bottom

Business ACCA V8, Global Body for Professional Accountants

nothingz
post May 3 2012, 10:14 PM

6 Stars General
2,757 posts

QUOTE(Doreamon10 @ May 3 2012, 09:56 PM)
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. You have done very well, only utilising about a month to prepare for exams, even though it is only 1 paper.

I think individual studying pattern makes a difference, some can clamp in a lot of info in a short period of time (e.g. yourself) while some need more time to absorb & digest (e.g. myself).

I am really happy for you that you have completed your ACCA journey. Enjoy your convocation!  rclxms.gif 

I will be taking my P2 this June, last paper. Hope to clear it. : )
thanks.

actually i have wasted a lot of time, by right i could have graduated much earlier if i took more papers (at least 2) each semester. in the end i noticed that i am too slow, therefore i made up my mind to take P5 and P7 together.

I could only absorb around 20% to 30% during lecture class, i absorbed most of the knowledge during my study leave. as for p2, i did not know how to do conso during lecture, not even calculating the goodwill. i only have the motivation to study when exam is near, always last minute laugh.gif

P2 needs a lot of practice, practise on the revision kit for few rounds, put extra attention on new accounting standards and effective time management. you should be able to pass rclxms.gif rclxms.gif Good luck!

This post has been edited by nothingz: May 3 2012, 10:19 PM
nick67
post May 3 2012, 10:28 PM

What?
1,501 posts

QUOTE(nothingz @ May 3 2012, 10:14 PM)
thanks.

actually i have wasted a lot of time, by right i could have graduated much earlier if i took more papers (at least 2) each semester.  in the end i noticed that i am too slow, therefore i made up my mind to take P5 and P7 together.

I could only absorb around 20% to 30% during lecture class, i absorbed most of the knowledge during my study leave. as for p2, i did not know how to do conso during lecture, not even calculating the goodwill. i only have the motivation to study when exam is near, always last minute  laugh.gif

P2 needs a lot of practice, practise on the revision kit for few rounds, put extra attention on new accounting standards and effective time management. you should be able to pass  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif  Good luck!
Wow, and you still passed p2? Damn hero man you. I'm taking P2 this sem and I'm in the same position as you were sweat.gif
oOoproz
post May 4 2012, 04:13 AM

1,352 posts

QUOTE(terryble @ May 3 2012, 06:37 PM)
Just try to focus heavily on one or 2 papers and forget bout the other 1~~
again..plan your time..set a target~~~
for example...everyday practice a 2 (main) Questions~~
try ur best to write and answer, look for answer in textbook if you have to..then lastly refer to the model answers...
identify your weakness and make sure you dun make similar mistakes in similar situations~~
F level papers are not that tough~~so i think u can still manage to do it for 2 papers..
provided that u actually learn something during the classes~

My advice is...if u plan to continue attitude like this~~
dun waste ur time in ACCA~~u will have a very hard time trying to past ur papers~and ultimately completing it~~
Thanks for ur advice bro.. Well, what I do now is I just wanna practise all the pass year papers only.. I'm not planning to drop any papers of it... I know I can do it.. Just that I've to manage my schedule properly and put extra hard work only...

Btw guys, do u think doing the pass year is enough as I only left 1 month ++ to prepare for my finals?? hmm.gif

Added on May 4, 2012, 4:15 am
QUOTE(junggle @ May 3 2012, 06:08 PM)
Same here doing F4 F5 F6. It's left 1 month so i guess practicing past year question like other 'sifu' advice would be better gua.
I hope it works la.. Just practise and refer back the notes or ask friends/ lecturer if got anymore enquiries..

This post has been edited by oOoproz: May 4 2012, 04:15 AM
caillech
post May 4 2012, 09:03 AM

247 posts

so any tips for p2 or not? especially the conso part.. it's very time consuming vmad.gif

QUOTE(oOoproz @ May 4 2012, 04:13 AM)
do u think doing the pass year is enough as I only left 1 month ++ to prepare for my finals??  hmm.gif
nothingz oso can, y u kenot..
nothingz
post May 4 2012, 09:35 AM

6 Stars General
2,757 posts

QUOTE(nick67 @ May 3 2012, 10:28 PM)
Wow, and you still passed p2? Damn hero man you. I'm taking P2 this sem and I'm in the same position as you were  sweat.gif
hahaha, don't always last minute. in case of any accident happens, you are done!

QUOTE(caillech @ May 4 2012, 09:03 AM)
so any tips for p2 or not? especially the conso part.. it's very time consuming  vmad.gif
nothingz oso can, y u kenot..
the only formula is keep on practising, be clear on the conso method you use since different lecturer taught different conso method, make it understandable for the marker. of course i never balanced my SOFP/SOCI/SOCF before in ACCA exams biggrin.gif biggrin.gif

conso question will have some notes asking you to make adjustment to the financial statements, if you don't know that part then just ignore it since your SOFP/SOCF will still balance. don't waste time on thinking how to do if you really have no idea.

time management is essential because in every question, the first 10-15 marks can be picked up easily. if you wasted too much time on Q1, you will end up not enough time on other questions. if you can pick up more than half of the marks of each question, your chance of passing is increased
nick67
post May 4 2012, 01:17 PM

What?
1,501 posts

QUOTE(nothingz @ May 4 2012, 09:35 AM)
hahaha, don't always last minute. in case of any accident happens, you are done!
the only formula is keep on practising, be clear on the conso method you use since different lecturer taught different conso method, make it understandable for the marker.  of course i never balanced my SOFP/SOCI/SOCF before in ACCA exams  biggrin.gif  biggrin.gif

conso question will have some notes asking you to make adjustment to the financial statements, if you don't know that part then just ignore it since your SOFP/SOCF will still balance.  don't waste time on thinking how to do if you really have no idea.

time management is essential because in every question, the first 10-15 marks can be picked up easily. if you wasted too much time on Q1, you will end up not enough time on other questions. if you can pick up more than half of the marks of each question, your chance of passing is increased
When you study your P2 did you memorize all the ias (definition etc)? Or just learn how to do the adjustments only?
Doreamon10
post May 4 2012, 02:28 PM

88 posts

QUOTE(nothingz @ May 3 2012, 11:14 PM)
thanks.

actually i have wasted a lot of time, by right i could have graduated much earlier if i took more papers (at least 2) each semester.  in the end i noticed that i am too slow, therefore i made up my mind to take P5 and P7 together.

I could only absorb around 20% to 30% during lecture class, i absorbed most of the knowledge during my study leave. as for p2, i did not know how to do conso during lecture, not even calculating the goodwill. i only have the motivation to study when exam is near, always last minute  laugh.gif

P2 needs a lot of practice, practise on the revision kit for few rounds, put extra attention on new accounting standards and effective time management. you should be able to pass  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif   Good luck!
Thank you for your valuable tips! Honestly, I don't like to do the same questions more than once although last year my P3 lecturer told us to do that, I went agst his advice.... actually... I tried but i gave up simply because i find it quite a chore having to do the same question again when there are so many more questions not attempted.

However, I will heed your advice and try to do it for my P2 since it is going to be my last paper, I will force myself to do it. flex.gif

Thank you once again! really want to get it done and over with.

Added on May 4, 2012, 2:29 pm
QUOTE(nick67 @ May 4 2012, 02:17 PM)
When you study your P2 did you memorize all the ias (definition etc)? Or just learn how to do the adjustments only?
Yes, good question asked, I want to know too. icon_question.gif

This post has been edited by Doreamon10: May 4 2012, 02:29 PM
nothingz
post May 4 2012, 03:36 PM

6 Stars General
2,757 posts

QUOTE(nick67 @ May 4 2012, 01:17 PM)
my accounting standards were quite poor before P2 since i took my F7 in Dec'07 (self study), quite long time ago. even my p2 notes does not cover all the accounting standards because some were learned in F7.

my lecturer would remind us on some accounting standards when he discuss on the Q & A. i also practised on BPP revision kit, from there i learned a lot. you really need to know those accounting standards quite well otherwise you don't know what is wrong with the scenario, you don't know what to write also. these accounting standards will be relevant to P7 as well, memorise it well then can use on P7 again

for example, IAS 37, you must know how to differentiate provision and contingent liabilities (probable vs possible), IAS 38, what are the criterias to be recognised as development costs. These are must know lor

QUOTE(Doreamon10 @ May 4 2012, 02:28 PM)
Thank you for your valuable tips! Honestly, I don't like to do the same questions more than once although last year my P3 lecturer told us to do that, I went agst his advice.... actually... I tried but i gave up simply because i find it quite a chore having to do the same question again when there are so many more questions not attempted.

However, I will heed your advice and try to do it for my P2 since it is going to be my last paper, I will force myself to do it.  flex.gif

Thank you once again! really want to get it done and over with.

Added on May 4, 2012, 2:29 pm

Yes, good question asked, I want to know too.  icon_question.gif
theory questions you may find it bored if you keep on repeating but for calculation question, it should be ok

This post has been edited by nothingz: May 4 2012, 03:47 PM
noonies_naruto
post May 4 2012, 04:47 PM

736 posts

QUOTE(nothingz @ May 3 2012, 10:14 PM)
that time i took F5 and F9 at the same time, i got 3 weeks study leave (work full time) to prepare for exam but i had little knowledge bout F9, i knew i could not pass both, therefore i sacrificed F9. i passed F5 in that sitting, failed F9 with 31 marks, passed F9 in the following sitting. 

i always start 1 month before exam because most of the time i only take 1 paper. slow but steady because everytime also pass  laugh.gif so far i have only failed twice in ACCA exams and once in CAT exams

Passing P5 and P7 in the last sitting was a surprise for me since i did not take 2 papers at once for a long time already. i took 5 weeks leave just to study these 2 papers, at least my effort was not wasted.

Add on.
During that 5 weeks, i studied from noon till around 7-10pm at night (with some slacking in between)
woowww you're story really unique mang! rclxms.gif from the very start i tot u were more or less straight seater, with at most 1 paper fail sweat.gif

but still, its very motivational tho. Liked to hear about your story. from 1 paper straight, and then 2 papers Pro level pass one shot thumbup.gif

mann... I just wanna get over with this quickly.. feels like life hasn't been moving since I failed cry.gif

5 weeks leave ya? I start yesterday, so kira2 all got 5 plus 3 days.. hopefully i can hit your benchmark icon_rolleyes.gif
nothingz
post May 4 2012, 04:50 PM

6 Stars General
2,757 posts

QUOTE(noonies_naruto @ May 4 2012, 04:47 PM)
woowww you're story really unique mang!  rclxms.gif from the very start i tot u were more or less straight seater, with at most 1 paper fail  sweat.gif

but still, its very motivational tho. Liked to hear about your story. from 1 paper straight, and then 2 papers Pro level pass one shot  thumbup.gif

mann... I just wanna get over with this quickly.. feels like life hasn't been moving since I failed  cry.gif

5 weeks leave ya? I start yesterday, so kira2 all got 5 plus 3 days.. hopefully i can hit your benchmark  icon_rolleyes.gif
just put in enough effort, sure can la. read the examiner's article and feedback, maybe you can see your weakness there. BTW my marks for ACCA never hit more than 66 laugh.gif laugh.gif
caillech
post May 4 2012, 06:23 PM

247 posts

QUOTE(nothingz @ May 4 2012, 04:50 PM)
my marks for ACCA never hit more than 66  laugh.gif  laugh.gif
i never hit more than 57 doh.gif
noonies_naruto
post May 4 2012, 06:26 PM

736 posts

QUOTE(caillech @ May 4 2012, 07:23 PM)
i never hit more than 57  doh.gif
I... ummm.. depends aa level F or P sweat.gif
caillech
post May 4 2012, 06:35 PM

247 posts

i dunno how my p level result would be since all my f level papers marks are so low sweat.gif

but i pass all in 1st attempt icon_idea.gif
noonies_naruto
post May 4 2012, 06:36 PM

736 posts

QUOTE(caillech @ May 4 2012, 07:35 PM)
i dunno how my p level result would be since all my f level papers marks are so low  sweat.gif

but i pass all in 1st attempt  icon_idea.gif
good for you braah rclxms.gif

but seriously P gonna be another level mang..

prepare la urself~ cry.gif
notmycupoftea
post May 4 2012, 07:42 PM

444 posts

wah!! the exam docket surprised me!!! my cute photo is on the exam docket leh XD

anyone is taking P6 this sitting? i'm gonna resit it this coming sitting ._.
noonies_naruto
post May 4 2012, 08:01 PM

736 posts

QUOTE(notmycupoftea @ May 4 2012, 08:42 PM)
wah!! the exam docket surprised me!!! my cute photo is on the exam docket leh XD

ya lorh so funny see very old picture lol

u receive by mail or you dload?

nick67
post May 4 2012, 08:08 PM

What?
1,501 posts

QUOTE(notmycupoftea @ May 4 2012, 07:42 PM)

I thought no more hard copy of the docket?
Doreamon10
post May 4 2012, 08:16 PM

88 posts

QUOTE(notmycupoftea @ May 4 2012, 08:42 PM)

same here! ha ha...except for...my photo isn't cute leh.. tongue.gif
nothingz
post May 4 2012, 09:40 PM

6 Stars General
2,757 posts

QUOTE(caillech @ May 4 2012, 06:23 PM)
i never hit more than 57  doh.gif
laugh.gif laugh.gif do better this time, my average marks fell from 60 in F level to 58.6 in P level. P level is definitely harder
bradshaw6861
post May 5 2012, 01:14 PM

47 posts

wondering if anyone has the pdf file for a book called Business Accounting 1 & 2 by Frank Woods& Alan Sangster 12/E

Mind to share?

Thank you so much

183 Pages « < 8 9 10 11 12 > » Top

0.0174sec    0.50    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 07:22 PM