Business ACCA V8, Global Body for Professional Accountants

nothingz
post May 2 2012, 11:26 AM

6 Stars General
2,757 posts

QUOTE(ikki9394 @ May 2 2012, 11:00 AM)
Hi all,

Just a quick question, this is a bit of a confusion for me...
The "account balance" shown above the fees section in myACCA is actually the balance that to be paid or available fund for us to use in future?

cheers,

Nef
if it is positive amount means you still have outstanding amount. if you have overpaid, it should show a negative amount or credit balance
flying_torso
post May 2 2012, 02:31 PM

hello sifus, i have a question

i've passed f1, f2 and f3 and im thinking to apply for a job. Will i be under-qualified if i apply for an auditing role straight?

If yes..what subject must i pass, or up to what level in acca i must achieve to apply for an auditor

nothingz
post May 2 2012, 03:21 PM

6 Stars General
2,757 posts

QUOTE(flying_torso @ May 2 2012, 02:31 PM)
hello sifus, i have a question

i've passed f1, f2 and f3 and im thinking to apply for a job. Will i be under-qualified if i apply for an auditing role straight?

If yes..what subject must i pass, or up to what level in acca i must achieve to apply for an auditor
you can apply for junior position, some small/medium firms will consider you. i think the chance of getting into Big4 will be quite slim since they usually go for professional level students onwards
noonies_naruto
post May 2 2012, 03:22 PM

736 posts

anyone taking P5 and P7?

has any examiner articles been published by ACCA with regards to that?

like last time got about P5 EVA, talk whole thing about EVA but never come out sweat.gif

but still, for P7 did come out for a certain ISA (forgot wat already) So maybe its a good thing to read up on it.

plus, got any tips from lecturers? any syllabus change aa in 2012?
nothingz
post May 2 2012, 04:32 PM

6 Stars General
2,757 posts

QUOTE(noonies_naruto @ May 2 2012, 03:22 PM)
anyone taking P5 and P7?

has any examiner articles been published by ACCA with regards to that?

like last time got about P5 EVA, talk whole thing about EVA but never come out sweat.gif

but still, for P7 did come out for a certain ISA (forgot wat already) So maybe its a good thing to read up on it.

plus, got any tips from lecturers? any syllabus change aa in 2012?
The P5 EVA article was not written by P5's examiner, Alex Watt. It was someone else, since it did not come out in the last round, it may come out this time since most of the models have been examined quite regularly

Seriously i did not quote a single ISA in the last P7 sitting since i never memorised them. If you understand those theories, accounting standards, procedures, able to answer those questions according to the requirements, you can pass without having to quote those ISAs

noonies_naruto
post May 2 2012, 04:35 PM

736 posts

QUOTE(nothingz @ May 2 2012, 05:32 PM)
The P5 EVA article was not written by P5's examiner, Alex Watt. It was someone else, since it did not come out in the last round, it may come out this time since most of the models have been examined quite regularly

Seriously i did not quote a single ISA in the last P7 sitting since i never memorised them. If you understand those theories, accounting standards, procedures, able to answer those questions according to the requirements, you can pass without having to quote those ISAs
no wonderrr laaaaa sweat.gif I study dat one like crazy.. but I do have a big hunch it will come out dis time.

waaa you so amazing la.. no quote also can pass P7.. respect thumbup.gif

on P7, what kind of exercise have u been doing aside from reading the textbook? I did everything, from text, exam kit, past years.. but still cry.gif got 45.. i tot at least I cud pass P7.. P5 was a killer no argument there, but P7.. rclxub.gif
terryble
post May 2 2012, 05:24 PM

527 posts

QUOTE(nothingz @ May 2 2012, 04:32 PM)

I disagree with that...
u may not need to quote the exact ISA NUMBER or TITLE but u MUST be fully aware of what the ISA is talking about and u MUST answer it with reference to the content....

ISA include the EXACT action/requirements that you need to do as an auditor....failing to relate it to ur answer will definitely cost u some important marks and decide if u can pass or not~~i cannot stress how important is the ISA in P7~~

So if you are not aware of it....make sure u start reading~~~

nothingz
post May 2 2012, 05:32 PM

6 Stars General
2,757 posts

QUOTE(noonies_naruto @ May 2 2012, 04:35 PM)
no wonderrr laaaaa  sweat.gif I study dat one like crazy.. but I do have a big hunch it will come out dis time.

waaa you so amazing la.. no quote also can pass P7.. respect  thumbup.gif

on P7, what kind of exercise have u been doing aside from reading the textbook? I did everything, from text, exam kit, past years.. but still cry.gif got 45.. i tot at least I cud pass P7.. P5 was a killer no argument there, but P7..  rclxub.gif
i did not read p7 text book at all since i work full time, i only studied notes then practise on bpp revision kit.

before you start answering the questions, you should read the question requirement, plan your answer (get ready main points), structure it, decide how much to write based on marks allocation (your answer should not be too vague/brief), time management is essential.

last round P5 i bullshit a lot on Q2 bout KPI, i did not know how to write since there are 2 parts quite similar, i wrote almost the same thing, i feel that i should get marks in either part. lol. even if you don't really understand the question/don't know what to write, at least bullshit something there. the way i explained Performance Pyramid also bullshit only, i did not know how to apply PP into an organisation
noonies_naruto
post May 2 2012, 05:36 PM

736 posts

QUOTE(nothingz @ May 2 2012, 06:32 PM)
i did not read p7 text book at all since i work full time, i only studied notes then practise on bpp revision kit. 

before you start answering the questions, you should read the question requirement, plan your answer (get ready main points), structure it, decide how much to write based on marks allocation (your answer should not be too vague/brief), time management is essential.

last round P5 i bullshit a lot on Q2 bout KPI, i did not know how to write since there are 2 parts quite similar, i wrote almost the same thing, i feel that i should get marks in either part. lol.  even if you don't really understand the question/don't know what to write, at least bullshit something there. the way i explained Performance Pyramid also bullshit only, i did not know how to apply PP into an organisation
oohh so u're saying u've got some audit knowledge before hand la is it..

great la notworthy.gif

alaaa... P5.. pyramid i until draw the stupid diagram.. read up on it already, answered according wat i remember but... cry.gif

dis time around dunno la how.. how nice if i cud pass already last seating..

nyway, thanks for the tips! appreciate it braah

nothingz
post May 2 2012, 07:03 PM

6 Stars General
2,757 posts

QUOTE(noonies_naruto @ May 2 2012, 05:36 PM)
oohh so u're saying u've got some audit knowledge before hand la is it..

great la  notworthy.gif

alaaa... P5.. pyramid i until draw the stupid diagram.. read up on it already, answered according wat i remember but...  cry.gif

dis time around dunno la how.. how nice if i cud pass already last seating..

nyway, thanks for the tips! appreciate it braah
yes, i had some practical experience, therefore easier to understand those accounting standards, audit theories and procedures. Do better this round in june, sure can pass
junggle
post May 2 2012, 10:35 PM

220 posts

Do past papers better for revision or read textbook??
I'm kind of sick of textbooks already because it goes into too much detail.
nothingz
post May 2 2012, 11:07 PM

6 Stars General
2,757 posts

Exam is near, dont read text books anymore if you are running out of time, practise more questions will help you pass instead
oOoproz
post May 3 2012, 04:11 AM

1,352 posts

Guys, I'm currently doing F4 F5 and F6... I've no idea how to start my revision... Any advice for last minute people and slackers like me?? I feel like i've to work against the time icon_question.gif

This post has been edited by oOoproz: May 3 2012, 04:11 AM
terryble
post May 3 2012, 11:32 AM

527 posts

QUOTE(junggle @ May 2 2012, 10:35 PM)
Do past papers better for revision or read textbook??
I'm kind of sick of textbooks already because it goes into too much detail.
Definitely practice past year...
what for u read textbook? wanna read also read past year Q&A~~~
junggle
post May 3 2012, 05:08 PM

220 posts

QUOTE(oOoproz @ May 3 2012, 04:11 AM)
Guys, I'm currently doing F4 F5 and F6... I've no idea how to start my revision... Any advice for last minute people and slackers like me?? I feel like i've to work against the time  icon_question.gif
Same here doing F4 F5 F6. It's left 1 month so i guess practicing past year question like other 'sifu' advice would be better gua.
terryble
post May 3 2012, 05:37 PM

527 posts

Guys, I'm currently doing F4 F5 and F6... I've no idea how to start my revision... Any advice for last minute people and slackers like me?? I feel like i've to work against the timeĀ  icon_question.gif
Just try to focus heavily on one or 2 papers and forget bout the other 1~~
again..plan your time..set a target~~~
for example...everyday practice a 2 (main) Questions~~
try ur best to write and answer, look for answer in textbook if you have to..then lastly refer to the model answers...
identify your weakness and make sure you dun make similar mistakes in similar situations~~

F level papers are not that tough~~so i think u can still manage to do it for 2 papers..
provided that u actually learn something during the classes~

My advice is...if u plan to continue attitude like this~~
dun waste ur time in ACCA~~u will have a very hard time trying to past ur papers~and ultimately completing it~~

This post has been edited by terryble: May 3 2012, 05:38 PM
nothingz
post May 3 2012, 08:45 PM

6 Stars General
2,757 posts

Guys, I'm currently doing F4 F5 and F6... I've no idea how to start my revision... Any advice for last minute people and slackers like me?? I feel like i've to work against the time  icon_question.gif
3 papers still slacking? rclxms.gif

i usually only take 1 or 2 papers each semester. i also start study around 1 month before exam, usually 2 weeks study leave for each subject. i will first read through the notes provided by my lecturer then start practising on revision kit/PYQ. each day do around 7-10 question, cannot do also try first then read answers, try to write out again after looking at the answer. few days before exam i will read my lecturer notes again on few important topics, exam articles and read PYQ answers. It helped me passed most of the time

QUOTE(terryble @ May 3 2012, 05:37 PM)
Just try to focus heavily on one or 2 papers and forget bout the other 1~~
again..plan your time..set a target~~~
for example...everyday practice a 2 (main) Questions~~
try ur best to write and answer, look for answer in textbook if you have to..then lastly refer to the model answers...
identify your weakness and make sure you dun make similar mistakes in similar situations~~
F level papers are not that tough~~so i think u can still manage to do it for 2 papers..
provided that u actually learn something during the classes~

My advice is...if u plan to continue attitude like this~~
dun waste ur time in ACCA~~u will have a very hard time trying to past ur papers~and ultimately completing it~~
rclxms.gif rclxms.gif

it's true, if you cannot study 3 subjects then you have to sacrifice at least one. i did that too
noonies_naruto
post May 3 2012, 08:55 PM

736 posts

QUOTE(nothingz @ May 3 2012, 09:45 PM)
3 papers still slacking?  rclxms.gif

i usually only take 1 or 2 papers each semester.  i also start study around 1 month before exam, usually 2 weeks study leave for each subject.  i will first read through the notes provided by my lecturer then start practising on revision kit/PYQ.  each day do around 7-10 question, cannot do also try first then read answers, try to write out again after looking at the answer. few days before exam i will read my lecturer notes again on few important topics, exam articles and read PYQ answers.  It helped me passed most of the time
rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif

it's true, if you cannot study 3 subjects then you have to sacrifice at least one. i did that too
ohh u also start 1 month is it?? this is a huge motivation for me thumbup.gif becoz I'm always thinking its almost too late liao sweat.gif

but during the last 2 seatings it wasn't possible for me to take 2 only cry.gif all must take 3 in order to finish in time.. which I failed to do so.

so tell me, u sacrificed one paper before and u still pass all 1 seating?
nothingz
post May 3 2012, 09:14 PM

6 Stars General
2,757 posts

QUOTE(noonies_naruto @ May 3 2012, 08:55 PM)
ohh u also start 1 month is it?? this is a huge motivation for me thumbup.gif becoz I'm always thinking its almost too late liao sweat.gif

but during the last 2 seatings it wasn't possible for me to take 2 only cry.gif all must take 3 in order to finish in time.. which I failed to do so.

so tell me, u sacrificed one paper before and u still pass all 1 seating?
that time i took F5 and F9 at the same time, i got 3 weeks study leave (work full time) to prepare for exam but i had little knowledge bout F9, i knew i could not pass both, therefore i sacrificed F9. i passed F5 in that sitting, failed F9 with 31 marks, passed F9 in the following sitting.

i always start 1 month before exam because most of the time i only take 1 paper. slow but steady because everytime also pass laugh.gif so far i have only failed twice in ACCA exams and once in CAT exams

Passing P5 and P7 in the last sitting was a surprise for me since i did not take 2 papers at once for a long time already. i took 5 weeks leave just to study these 2 papers, at least my effort was not wasted.

Add on.
During that 5 weeks, i studied from noon till around 7-10pm at night (with some slacking in between)

This post has been edited by nothingz: May 3 2012, 09:18 PM
Doreamon10
post May 3 2012, 09:56 PM

88 posts

QUOTE(nothingz @ May 3 2012, 10:14 PM)
that time i took F5 and F9 at the same time, i got 3 weeks study leave (work full time) to prepare for exam but i had little knowledge bout F9, i knew i could not pass both, therefore i sacrificed F9. i passed F5 in that sitting, failed F9 with 31 marks, passed F9 in the following sitting. 

i always start 1 month before exam because most of the time i only take 1 paper. slow but steady because everytime also pass  laugh.gif so far i have only failed twice in ACCA exams and once in CAT exams

Passing P5 and P7 in the last sitting was a surprise for me since i did not take 2 papers at once for a long time already. i took 5 weeks leave just to study these 2 papers, at least my effort was not wasted.

Add on.
During that 5 weeks, i studied from noon till around 7-10pm at night (with some slacking in between)
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. You have done very well, only utilising about a month to prepare for exams, even though it is only 1 paper.

I think individual studying pattern makes a difference, some can clamp in a lot of info in a short period of time (e.g. yourself) while some need more time to absorb & digest (e.g. myself).

I am really happy for you that you have completed your ACCA journey. Enjoy your convocation! rclxms.gif

I will be taking my P2 this June, last paper. Hope to clear it. : )

183 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 > » Top

0.0206sec    0.89    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 01:19 PM