32" vs 40" TV - Legibility of Text as PC Monitor, Both are Full HD

TSmarquis
post Mar 23 2012, 04:42 PM, updated 14y ago

Flower Power!
2,479 posts

Hello all smile.gif

First of all, thanks to all those that helped me with the very useful and informative post during my rig-planning. notworthy.gif

I am now stuck in a bit of dilemma. Initially, I was going for a 32" Full HD LCD TV for my output, but going around the forums, I see old 40" Full HD models priced quite competitively. I've been reading around saying that the bigger the screen, the lower your DPI/PPI which would effectively make the text jagged or worse, unreadable. Conversely, I've also read some users claiming that they haven't had a problem using the TV as a monitor replacement with no issues reading text or what not. These group of people claim that as long as a 1-to-1 pixel mapping is done, the display on the tv would be the same as any monitor.

So, now I"m confused. There are two school of thoughts:

1) Even at Full HD (1080p), due to the bigger screen size, the amount of PPI is reduced, making for text-intensive usage difficult.
2) If pixel mapping (1-to-1 or it's equivalent) is done, the display would appear exactly as it would on a smaller monitor provided that the viewing distance is right.

I've read user-input saying it's ok to do this for a 32 incher. Can't really find conclusive ones for a 40" though. Can someone help me out?

TL;DR Version

32" vs 40" FULL HD LCD TV as monitor to read word documents, browse etc.

Will 40" be worse than 32" or better because of bigger space?

Thanks ever so much!!
edministrator
post Mar 23 2012, 04:55 PM

1,940 posts

QUOTE(marquis @ Mar 23 2012, 04:42 PM)
32" vs 40" FULL HD LCD TV as monitor to read word documents, browse etc.

Will 40" be worse than 32" or better because of bigger space? - No, because the resolution is the same 1920x1080. You'll have the same desktop space on both screen size.

Thanks ever so much!!
Pixel pitch of an LCD monitor is better since they have a lot more pixels at a much smaller screen size, meaning the general sharpness/clarity will be lesser on a 32 or 40" full HD LCD TV.

This post has been edited by edministrator: Mar 23 2012, 04:55 PM
TSmarquis
post Mar 23 2012, 04:59 PM

Flower Power!
2,479 posts

QUOTE(edministrator @ Mar 23 2012, 04:55 PM)
Pixel pitch of an LCD monitor is better since they have a lot more pixels at a much smaller screen size, meaning the general sharpness/clarity will be lesser on a 32 or 40" full HD LCD TV.
Yeah, that's what I've read after googling around for info. I'm still adamant on a TV setup though, since it makes my life easier in the long run. Will probably consider a smaller monitor solely for typing/browsing.

The more immediate worry for now is a 40 incher against a 32 incher. Will the 40" be worse at displaying text?

Would really appreciate user with this setup commenting here smile.gif
goldfries
post Mar 23 2012, 05:41 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(marquis @ Mar 23 2012, 04:42 PM)
1) Even at Full HD (1080p), due to the bigger screen size, the amount of PPI is reduced, making for text-intensive usage difficult.
2) If pixel mapping (1-to-1 or it's equivalent) is done, the display would appear exactly as it would on a smaller monitor provided that the viewing distance is right.
Point #1 is correct.

Point #2 is partially correct. If we go by screen size vs sitting distance, then all screens work the same............. .BUT due to the reduced PPI, it's harder for you to make out the small text on a 40" LCD with 1920x1080 than on a 23" LCD with 1920x1080.

I have 40" LCD for HTPC - I sit on the couch can read text but really depends on size. I haven't try browse LYN on it though. biggrin.gif Certainly won't use that as a monitor replacement.

40" LCD right smack in front of you at Full HD is just really ugly.
TSmarquis
post Mar 23 2012, 06:00 PM

Flower Power!
2,479 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Mar 23 2012, 05:41 PM)
Point #1 is correct.

Point #2 is partially correct. If we go by screen size vs sitting distance, then all screens work the same............. .BUT due to the reduced PPI, it's harder for you to make out the small text on a 40" LCD with 1920x1080 than on a 23" LCD with 1920x1080.

I have 40" LCD for HTPC - I sit on the couch can read text but really depends on size. I haven't try browse LYN on it though. biggrin.gif Certainly won't use that as a monitor replacement.

40" LCD right smack in front of you at Full HD is just really ugly.
Uik? You're admin now! Congrats! biggrin.gif

Going back on topic, say I'm comparing reading text on a 32" and a 40", going on the theory that the PPI for the 32">40", this would make reading text on the 32" better. Is that correct to assume so?

I don't think I'd want to have a 32", let alone a 42" lesser than 3 feet away. I'd go blind laugh.gif

Could you do me a huge, HUGE favour and try browsing LYN on your 40 incher?

I like the idea of a 40" due to the sheer size of it, but wouldn't want to regret paying more for something that I'd be less than happy with.

Thanks for the input! biggrin.gif

goldfries
post Mar 23 2012, 06:15 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(marquis @ Mar 23 2012, 06:00 PM)
Uik? You're admin now! Congrats! biggrin.gif

quite a while already. thanks. smile.gif

Going back on topic, say I'm comparing reading text on a 32" and a 40", going on the theory that the PPI for the 32">40", this would make reading text on the 32" better. Is that correct to assume so?

correct.

Could you do me a huge, HUGE favour and try browsing LYN on your 40 incher?

no need la. I load other sites before, and I use the desktop.

It's really not a pleasant experience using Full HD on a 40" sitting 3ft away. so big have to swing head around just to look here and there.

anyway 6ft away I can still read text la. default desktop text size.

black text on white background harder to read than white text on black background.

text are not pin sharp already.

and bear in mind that also I have good eye-sight (not wearing specs) so those with less optimal eye-sights, your sitting distance vs visibility will be different.

TSmarquis
post Mar 23 2012, 06:25 PM

Flower Power!
2,479 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Mar 23 2012, 06:15 PM)

I haven't been around for quite sometime laugh.gif

Nice to see a good member of the community being made admin smile.gif

Anyways, I won't be stting 3 ft away...more like 6 - 8 ft depending if I'm on my sofa or bed. Hmmm...You have good eyesight and reading text can be a pain when it's white on black. Doesn't bode well for me. I wear glasses, very high power, and my astig is sky high. I think the astig bit would kill me when trying to read text.

Thanks a lot for the input. It seems that I'm leaning even more towards a 32" for now. The icing on the cake would be to have an input from someone who upgraded from a 32"to a 40" biggrin.gif

On a side note, when reading text on your desktop (icons, standard stuff on the desktop) do you find yourself attempting to squint? Or is it just normal for you?

Thanks again! wub.gif
figure8
post Mar 23 2012, 08:36 PM

...dear future, come get me
3,174 posts

i wonder how we can use 40" screen to read a script and typing a word documents sweat.gif
as other ppl said, 32" or 40" lcd suit better in casual task, usually playing games, window media center and music. using large screen (with low ppi) in word processing or designing is a big NO. try it and u will see what i mean.
TSmarquis
post Mar 23 2012, 08:41 PM

Flower Power!
2,479 posts

I'm not a programmer btw laugh.gif

So figure8, you using a 32" or a 42"? The TV will be used mostly for gaming, but it will still be used for surfing every now and then. I just need users input on text legibility for a 32" now, since goldfries have already helped me out on the 40" experience.

It would be really nice to get an opinion from someone who migrated from a 32" to a 42" though.
adbacc
post Mar 23 2012, 09:17 PM

Still Here
1,948 posts

A side note, if you are going for 1 tv + 1 monitor, make sure there native resolution is the same if you plan to use it in duplicate/clone mode.
Also, you need to swap audio outputs when swapping form tv -> speakers/headphones on pc if you use HDMI cable for your tv by changing default audio device.
TSmarquis
post Mar 23 2012, 09:34 PM

Flower Power!
2,479 posts

QUOTE(adbacc @ Mar 23 2012, 09:17 PM)
A side note, if you are going for 1 tv + 1 monitor, make sure there native resolution is the same if you plan to use it in duplicate/clone mode.
Also, you need to swap audio outputs when swapping form tv -> speakers/headphones on pc if you use HDMI cable for your tv by changing default audio device.
Ah. Yep. Thanks for the reminder about the display. Else it'd mess everything up would it not?

Regarding the audio output...is there a way to rig it all up so I have one unified output? Like maybe, I use a line out from my monitor (provided it has one) which is also connected to my tv which is then plugged to my headphones/speaker. Sort of like an inverse splitter.
sulfuriq
post Mar 23 2012, 11:02 PM

1,183 posts

I'm using 1 of my Plasma 50" on my notebook. If u r using reso 1920 X 1080, the text are quite hard to read but on reso 1280 X 768 it's readable.

This post has been edited by sulfuriq: Mar 24 2012, 11:27 AM
TSmarquis
post Mar 23 2012, 11:15 PM

Flower Power!
2,479 posts

QUOTE(sulfuriq @ Mar 23 2012, 11:02 PM)
I'm using 1 of my Plasma 50" on my notebook. If u r using reso 1920 X 1080, the text are quite hard to read but on reso 1280 X 960 it's readable.
Aha! Interesting input. One question: Does this make everything else ugly though? As in, since the reso is lowered, would things appear "block"?
sulfuriq
post Mar 23 2012, 11:28 PM

1,183 posts

QUOTE(marquis @ Mar 23 2012, 11:15 PM)
Aha! Interesting input. One question: Does this make everything else ugly though? As in, since the reso is lowered, would things appear "block"?
Quite sharp for images but a little blurry for the text, plasma is not the best for text but no block. Great if you are watching youtube on fullscreen. What you see on your lcd notebook is almost similiar

This post has been edited by sulfuriq: Mar 23 2012, 11:29 PM
goldfries
post Mar 24 2012, 12:49 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(marquis @ Mar 23 2012, 06:25 PM)
On a side note, when reading text on your desktop (icons, standard stuff on the desktop) do you find yourself attempting to squint? Or is it just normal for you?
er, on 40" ah? at 6ft?

can read ok. no need to squint. 8ft - 10ft then more squinting.

depends on text color vs background color.

QUOTE(marquis @ Mar 23 2012, 11:15 PM)
it's easier to read because the text are not enlarged.

i sit about 8ft - 10ft away for my 40" LCD. my Windows Explorer set to bigger text size for browsing.

TSmarquis
post Mar 24 2012, 12:55 PM

Flower Power!
2,479 posts

QUOTE(sulfuriq @ Mar 23 2012, 11:28 PM)
Quite sharp for images but a little blurry for the text, plasma is not the best for text but no block. Great if you are watching youtube on fullscreen. What you see on your lcd notebook is almost similiar
50" and no blocky images at that resolution. Sounds acceptable. How far away do you sit from your 50 incher?

QUOTE(goldfries @ Mar 24 2012, 12:49 AM)
er, on 40" ah? at 6ft?

can read ok. no need to squint. 8ft - 10ft then more squinting.

depends on text color vs background color.
40"at 6f no squinting. Seems alright.

QUOTE(goldfries @ Mar 24 2012, 12:49 AM)
it's easier to read because the text are not enlarged.

i sit about 8ft - 10ft away for my 40" LCD. my Windows Explorer set to bigger text size for browsing.
So if it's between 8 to 6 ft, with the windows explorer's text size set to a bigger value, browsing is doable?

Thanks for all the info guys! Now I'm not so inclined on a 32" anymore laugh.gif

Still waiting for someone who has jumped from a 32 --> 40.

PS: curi your style of replying lah goldfries laugh.gif
sulfuriq
post Mar 24 2012, 01:54 PM

1,183 posts

As the plasma in my bedroom, the bed is king size, from the headboard to the Plasma approximately more than 8 ft. Using wireless mouse and keyboard for web browsing. My wife like to online shop while I can keep tab on the expenses hehehe. Blocky picture usually due to low resolution, for example if you are using youtube video 360p going fullscreen for sure got blocky, but from 480p and above (the best is 720p) very sharp and clear. Web browser for I like to read news online like TheStar and BERNAMA, no problemo even in Lowyatt I still can read comfortably. But plasma have a ghosting image compare with LCD or LED, which when you read something too long it will leave a ghosting image of the previous site.
TSmarquis
post Mar 24 2012, 02:18 PM

Flower Power!
2,479 posts

QUOTE(sulfuriq @ Mar 24 2012, 01:54 PM)
As the plasma in my bedroom, the bed is king size, from the headboard to the Plasma approximately more than 8 ft. Using wireless mouse and keyboard for web browsing. My wife like to online shop while I can keep tab on the expenses hehehe. Blocky picture usually due to low resolution, for example if you are using youtube video 360p going fullscreen for sure got blocky, but from 480p and above (the best is 720p) very sharp and clear. Web browser for I like to read news online like TheStar and BERNAMA, no problemo even in Lowyatt I still can read comfortably. But plasma have a ghosting image compare with LCD or LED, which when you read something too long it will leave a ghosting image of the previous site.
I don't think I'll be going with a plasma screen - the heat output would just turn my room into an oven. Not too sure about newer generations though. So I guess ghosting won't be a problem for me biggrin.gif

I guess a bigger screen is doable as long as I keep the distance right, and for added help, increase the text size on my explorer right?

Any more input guys?
sulfuriq
post Mar 24 2012, 02:29 PM

1,183 posts

Or do what I do. Bring your notebook to the shop and test it on each individually tv sets. I would suggest to go with SenHeng or other with reputable image with 5 years warranty. LED is still the best for text and HD contents but it will cost a bump.
TSmarquis
post Mar 24 2012, 03:06 PM

Flower Power!
2,479 posts

QUOTE(sulfuriq @ Mar 24 2012, 02:29 PM)
Or do what I do. Bring your notebook to the shop and test it on each individually tv sets. I would suggest to go with SenHeng or other with reputable image with 5 years warranty. LED is still the best for text and HD contents but it will cost a bump.
Hmm...Interesting thought. Would have to wait for my netbook to come back from the clutches of the evil queen (sister) laugh.gif

Thanks for the input! I don't think I'll be going with LED. It's too pricey plus I'll be watching in semi-dark environment and combined with my high astig, I don't think I want the something that's too bright.

Guess this concludes it for now.

I'll leave the thread open in the event there's opinion from those that went from 32 to 40.

Special thanks to:

goldfries
sulfuriq

for pointing me in the right direction notworthy.gif

0.0222sec    0.47    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 03:19 AM