Samsung Galaxy S II Official Thread V30, A milestone for a great phone!

cllee86
post Mar 22 2012, 01:12 AM

540 posts

Hi guys, any decent file manager that can access hidden folders?
I tried using Astro but it can't view/access hidden folders, or i just don't know how to do it tongue.gif

Thanks notworthy.gif
cllee86
post Mar 23 2012, 05:14 PM

540 posts

Hi Guys, just wanna ask. How many times have your S2 hang?

I recently bought a used set and its still within warranty.
The first thing I do when I bought it is to factory reset it.

So now I'm running everything on stock.
Stock rom, stock widget and I've only downloaded a few apps from Google Play.

But in just 5 days, my S2 hang twice. The first time it hangs is when I accidently

pressed the Home Button just when I hang up a call.

The second time is this morning, when I tried to turn on the phone it just load until

the lock screen and hangs there.
cllee86
post Mar 23 2012, 05:28 PM

540 posts

QUOTE(KannaSai1 @ Mar 23 2012, 05:18 PM)
G version ?

u need to get to used it. shooting camera also will hang. biggrin.gif from my colleague experience.

i using korean s2 non G, 9 mths. never hang.
i still using 2.3.3 . biggrin.gif
Yea..i'm using the G version..almost impossible to get sme non-g here...

QUOTE(iwant2 @ Mar 23 2012, 05:18 PM)
Mine hangs sometimes.. coz i expect my phone to be fast,so if it didnt come out,i pressure it..lol  tongue.gif
G-version here
Yea..maybe that's what happen to me..

cllee86
post Mar 23 2012, 05:47 PM

540 posts

[quote=KannaSai1,Mar 23 2012, 05:43 PM]
SME never offer non G .

Added on March 23, 2012, 5:44 pm

The I shall correct myself to impossible then.
Damn, my friend bought the first batch when of I9100 of S2 when it just launched.
Got 2 years warranty sumore back then...
cllee86
post Mar 23 2012, 05:53 PM

540 posts

QUOTE(KannaSai1 @ Mar 23 2012, 05:52 PM)
1st batch? non G ?
ahhh..... i bought it before it's launch in malaysia. tongue.gif
so i manage to get a korean s2 than china made.
Yea..1st batch, non-g..but I'm donno whether it's made in korea or not??
cllee86
post Mar 23 2012, 06:08 PM

540 posts

QUOTE(creative zn @ Mar 23 2012, 05:53 PM)
No worries bro. G user here as well. And my baby just reach 24hours old.  laugh.gif
Yeah. Miss the 2 years warranty when they doing promo last year. Now dunno when. Maybe when SIII launch? Huhu..

Anyway, does the amoled make our eye strain? My eye feel bit strain after playing for a while. Maybe not used to it. Now had to tone down the brightness to 60%. Before this use max-80%.  sweat.gif
Wow..i actually set the brightness to 40%. Looks OK for me..
Haiz..been a bit disappointed cause the phone hang twice in just 5 days..
My friend's S2, non-G has never hang before...looks like its true, non-g is better..

Maybe I'm putting too much expectation into the phone, or maybe I'm just too skeptical cause its 2nd unit and not new..
cllee86
post Mar 23 2012, 06:50 PM

540 posts

QUOTE(KannaSai1 @ Mar 23 2012, 06:23 PM)
yup. once telco get involve. all thing mess up. juz like gnex.

before sme provide 2 years warranty . after telco complaint. sme give 1 yr only. fak all the telco
Har..it was the telco's fault we don get 2 years warranty..WTF mad.gif
cllee86
post Mar 23 2012, 10:41 PM

540 posts

Guys...does the Samsung service center in PJ opens tomorrow?
Haiz...need to send my S2 there. It can't load pass the home screen and it hangs there. No widget, no apps and I can't open application menu.

I face the same problem this morning but manage to load everything fine after I restart the phone.
But now no matter how many time I restart my phone it just loads until the empty home screen.

I have no idea what my niece do to make the phone like that but by the time she shows me the phone its already hang with no response.

Haiz...Android are not meant for 5 year old sweat.gif
cllee86
post Mar 23 2012, 10:55 PM

540 posts

QUOTE(mtxx @ Mar 23 2012, 10:38 PM)
Haiya, normal la for g version.

Mine non g never hang before.
That's why I rather buy 2nd hand non g than new g version.

Just bought a non g used set for my gf. She is so happy with it:-)
If I buy her g version, I can't sleep well cos she will bug me all the time why her phone hang.
Really that bad huh sweat.gif
Damn...I really wonder why. The only difference I can tell is the chipset and GPU. But how come G version is like that sweat.gif

QUOTE(waveweaver @ Mar 23 2012, 10:47 PM)
Yes..PJ service centre open on Saturday.
Your phone is a G or non-G version..rooted or stock.?
Mine is G version. Totally stock, just got it 5 days ago.
Bought 2nd hand. Have factory reset before I start using.
Oh yea, the center opens from what time till what time?
cllee86
post Mar 23 2012, 11:07 PM

540 posts

QUOTE(waveweaver @ Mar 23 2012, 11:01 PM)
I'm not sure about PJ but at Low Yatt it open from 10am - 9.30pm even on Saturday.
Try take out your sdcard then do factory reset.
Wow..I've taken out the SD card and I can turn on the phone edi.
Any idea what's wrong?

Is it the SD card or the phone?

Should I reformatted the SD card?

Anyway, thanks a lot for the tip notworthy.gif
cllee86
post Mar 23 2012, 11:57 PM

540 posts

QUOTE(waveweaver @ Mar 23 2012, 11:14 PM)
Try not to use sdcard for G version as a lot of problem happen when using sdcard. Hope 12GB internal storage is enough for all your stuff until Samsung patch the problem.  ~~LOL~~
What...c'mon..seriously...this sucks man..any updates besides ics comin soon?

My god i hope g version gets ics as well..it'll really really such if ics only available for the non g version...

back to the sd card problem, really no solution meh? maybe different card?
cllee86
post Mar 24 2012, 12:43 AM

540 posts

QUOTE(creative zn @ Mar 24 2012, 12:02 AM)
Maybe you can try send to the center for them to diagnose.
And ICS has been confirm coming end of April for G. For non-G should be earlier.
Hmm...I think I'll listen to u and send it back to Samsung for diagnostic. Hopefully it'll be able to solve the issue.
Haiz...after reading so many comments only now I know the G version got so much problem compared to the Non G.
I'm very disappointed now.

Haiz...maybe I should sell this one and get an AP set Non-G sad.gif
cllee86
post Mar 24 2012, 01:06 AM

540 posts

QUOTE(nicregi @ Mar 24 2012, 12:53 AM)
IMO, not worth selling the phone right now as you will lose. I mean, unless you want to buy a GNote or something then is fine but to sell your set now is pretty, wasting smile.gif

You will be fine after you wake up tomorrow.

G is not bad at all. Just that it is not that good as non G.
Hmm..I think ur rite. Maybe I'm just over thinking things blush.gif
This S2 is my only phone change in 6 years. Before S2 I was using Nokia 6233, for 6 years man thumbup.gif

Probably my expectation for S2 is unreasonable high..
Will go to service center tomorrow and ask them to diagnose the phone and maybe help format it.
Hopefully it'll help smile.gif

Thanks bro notworthy.gif
cllee86
post Mar 24 2012, 11:47 AM

540 posts

QUOTE(Positron @ Mar 24 2012, 10:54 AM)
Actually I was in the same boat as you, back then, actually I sold my G to buy a non-G. But don't forget, losing money is not an issue, just lose about RM350 after 3 months of usage. That person is so lucky, as I took care of my phone like its a new set, not a single scratch. Anyway, I was disappointed like you are now, but for me I just couldn't hold my grief and frustration any more, so I decided to kiss it goodbye. But nevertheless I still miss it though. G is good, but non-G is better. But at the end of the day, no one can confirm that statement, it's all relative to one another. To one g is better to another non-G is better. So don't worry too much, they are both the same in most aspects, but other than that, it's still a S2 family...

rolleyes.gif
I think ur right..thanks a lot for the encouragement blush.gif
I just hope that..even a tiny hope the phone will be better once I send it to the center for a diagnose.
I heard from my friend who is a phone seller, he said there are a lot of problems with S2 that he sold to his customers. But almost all can be solved by sending the phone to center for service or reformat.
I really hope that's true though..(fingers crossed)

QUOTE(gin&tonic @ Mar 24 2012, 11:00 AM)
Samsung really screw up big time. SGS2 G & Non G.  doh.gif  doh.gif  doh.gif
Hiaz...I can understand if they change some hardware due to shortage but..but...why until like this cry.gif
cllee86
post Mar 24 2012, 09:09 PM

540 posts

I brought my S2 to the service center today.
I purposely leave the SD card inside the phone to show the CS how it looks like when I turn on the phone.
Haha, her reaction is so funny..she's like "eh, betul betul tak boleh load laa. i rasaa firmware problem ni. u tunggu kejap, i check dengan technician." tongue.gif

Then she say "kita tolong cuci dulu, kasi clean semua then u try lagi. kalau tak boleh jugak then kena stay lor u punya phone"

Now I've reformatted my S2 now and hopefully it be more stable than before. i know the chance might be slim but I've heard a lot of my friends who are using S2 G version and they do not have the SD card issue. So I hope mine will be ok after service smile.gif

cllee86
post Mar 25 2012, 03:59 AM

540 posts

Hi guys, I've just formatted my S2 today at service center and I sync my google account again.
But when I sign into google play, it says "You don't have a device" when I tried to install it from my PC.
Previously I can click download from my PC and the app will be automatically sent to my phone.
Did I do anything wrong? Can I get make google play recognize my phone again?
Thanks notworthy.gif

cllee86
post Mar 26 2012, 07:07 PM

540 posts

Hi guys I wanna ask a question.
If I bought an app from Google Play, and for some reason I need to factory reset or format my phone again.
What will happen to my paid app cause it'll definitely get erased as well.

Can I download it again from the apps store without having to pay for it?
Or the paid app is already saved in my apps list and I can download it back from there without paying??

Thanks notworthy.gif
cllee86
post Mar 26 2012, 07:09 PM

540 posts

QUOTE(snigapoe @ Mar 26 2012, 07:08 PM)
after you format
just sign in to your playstore with the same email you use to purchase for the app
can redownload from market
if you have lot of app recommand use titanium backup
But to use titanium backup u need to root rite.
I just got my phone and I'm not confident enough to root it yet tongue.gif
cllee86
post Mar 26 2012, 07:59 PM

540 posts

QUOTE(ndragon @ Mar 26 2012, 07:09 PM)
the apps that u bought will be linked to the google account that u used for ur google play, once u bought it will be urs.. so if u use the same account after u reset.. u will be able to dl it again..
Orite..thank you so much notworthy.gif

QUOTE(snigapoe @ Mar 26 2012, 07:12 PM)
haha if not yet rooted need to use back the old way
can redownload back provided you use back the same email which you used to purchase apps earlier
you will feel needed for titanium backup after you rooted and become flash addict especially when there are tonnes of app need to reinstall back
Yes Captain..I understand. Will look into rooting once I'm comfortable enough thumbup.gif
cllee86
post Mar 26 2012, 08:16 PM

540 posts

QUOTE(ndragon @ Mar 26 2012, 08:03 PM)
finger crossed for ur SP.. =P

i somehow thinks that my super amoled+ is not giving me deep black.. i think i mention this before here sometime ago.. but at last i wanted to bring to service centre n have it fixed...

by right deep black should means that no light emits in black screen ma.. under normal condition cannot see.. but if viewed in a dark room.. i can c there are white patches.. its not evenly distributed.. 90% of the screen has white light like background light.. and some parts with no/lesser lights being emitted.. i dunno how to describe it perfectly la.. lol

maybe this also reduce my battery life.. cuz i uses black wallpaper.. but still cannot be on par with some of the forumer who posted their stats... den takes y now i decided to bring it to service lo.. ask them change my screen.. but dunno if they understand my problem.. if not wasted 1 week putting there... sad.gif
Hey..same thing with my phone as well. I tot this is the characteristic of Super Amoled??

0.0463sec    0.37    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 12:42 PM