Samsung Galaxy S II Official Thread V30, A milestone for a great phone!

mtxx
post Mar 30 2012, 11:58 PM

5,011 posts

QUOTE(LittleGhost @ Mar 30 2012, 11:55 PM)
It's not that much worse. I don't think the camera is that much of a problem. Even for the processor, I suspect Google chose them because of TI's open platform. I absolutely prefer open platform to the likes of Nvidia NDAs.

I use the phone for software purposes. The ICS from Samsung is apparently shit and unstable for use. I believe at the end of the day, as long as the hardware is sufficient, software is what's going to decide the winning hand.

Seriously tempted to switch back to Checkrom V6 sad.gif
there are lots of custom ics.
i only tried one, which is litening, add with apex launcher, it looks 100% like galaxy nexus.
so far based on one day usage, its very stable, never hang or force close. you can try it. :-)
before you buy galaxy nexus.

Added on March 31, 2012, 12:05 amah....damn....tried so many methods still cant get rid of the camera focus beep sound :-(

all the below fail
1. use Root Explorer to open /system/build.prop file , add " ro.camera.sound.forced=0 "
2. delete all camera sound from /system/media/audio/ui
3. Create a file called “local.prop” in /data/, then add ro.camera.sound.forced=0

please help...all these not working on ics....sad sad

This post has been edited by mtxx: Mar 31 2012, 12:05 AM
mtxx
post Mar 31 2012, 12:07 PM

5,011 posts

hm....google whole morning to look for ways to shut the focus beep sound for camera.

all previous methods that works in gingerbread does not work on ics.
check xda too. but no known working solution.

someone mention try this app in a blog.
https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?...blynx.cameraics

well, it doesn look classy, but it gets the job done.
mtxx
post Mar 31 2012, 12:28 PM

5,011 posts

QUOTE(mtxx @ Mar 31 2012, 12:07 PM)
hm....google whole morning to look for ways to shut the focus beep sound for camera.

all previous methods that works in gingerbread does not work on ics.
check xda too. but no known working solution.

someone mention try this app in a blog.
https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?...blynx.cameraics

well, it doesn look classy, but it gets the job done.
The above mentioned app has some cool features.
can set volume buttons to focus, or focus & snap.

also, the shutter speed is a tad faster than the stock one.
image naming convention is abit different than stock, but quality seems same.
image also stored at same location as stock one.

not bad :-)

but still, prefer to use stock camera if there is a way to shut the focus beeping sound.
mtxx
post Mar 31 2012, 05:48 PM

5,011 posts

nobody seems interested in the ics camera sound issue. :-(

anyway, dear sifus, want to ask another thing.

do you guys know what is "android logger"?
i'm using litening rom now, it has a "ExTweaks" that lets me customize some really techqie stuff.

one of the thing is android logger.
its enabled by default.

i think this might be causing battery drain, so i want to off it.
is it dangerous?

i google android logger and it mention something about log cat.
make me even more confuse.
mtxx
post Apr 1 2012, 10:11 AM

5,011 posts

QUOTE(TheLaptopDudeGuy @ Mar 31 2012, 06:27 PM)
If u disable android logger, apps that password protect apps wont work
?? what do you mean?
you mean those apps that make certain apps hidden?
i dont use any such apps, so i should be fine right?

just tested, the pattern lock screen still works. :-)
mtxx
post Apr 1 2012, 02:01 PM

5,011 posts

QUOTE(TheLaptopDudeGuy @ Apr 1 2012, 11:12 AM)
So far so good,  its a good rom, good performance and battery. So far no bugs yet, previous version had occasional apex launcher FC, but thats cuz i didnt wipe after coming from aokp bezke, this time upgrading to 31.03 i wiped.
Lets say u dont want screen lock, yet u dont want anyone snooping around in ur messages/email/facebook, so you can just download a password protect app from play store to lock the app so once someone clicks the app, they need to enter a passcode/pattern.

Other than app password protecting apps not working,i dont think will affect anything else
thanks for explaining about android logger.
i have turned it off since i dont need this feature at all.

you're using the hydrogenics ics?
i saw it in xda too. but since i'm a noobie, i try the ics rom that has the most views.
turned out litening rom is the top one with 4000000 views.
so i download and try it lo.

so far its stable and fine, no hang or fc. battery is great too.
the battery on my first day with it was terrible, because i forgot to tone down the brightness.
it was 90% all day long, silly me, haha...now reduce it to 30%, can last same duration as i was in gb. not bad :-)
mtxx
post Apr 1 2012, 02:13 PM

5,011 posts

QUOTE(TheLaptopDudeGuy @ Apr 1 2012, 02:04 PM)
Difference is that litening is based of sammy ics, while hydrogenics is based of aokp, so hydrogenics is pretty much 99% pure ics, other than some nice customizations. If u want 100% ICS experience, go for CM9  wink.gif
i dont know the full meaning of aokp, but i think i know what you mean.
i am using CM9 on my tab. the interface is very simplistic, i suppose this is the 100% ICS.

CM9 is great on my tab, but for a phone, i gotten too used to some TW features.
such as task manager, clock, calender, and the notification bar brightness control.
so this litening rom is a real blessing for me :-)

strange, i remember last time i ask about cyanogen mod,
you guys told me its not good for S2, since its too simplistic, and lack of features.
mainly for lausy hardware.
now suddenly in ics, its good again?

This post has been edited by mtxx: Apr 1 2012, 02:24 PM
mtxx
post Apr 1 2012, 02:20 PM

5,011 posts

QUOTE(desmondk @ Apr 1 2012, 02:16 PM)
task manager is not included in CM9?
cm9 task manager is the swipe away kind.
not really useful and effective, since there is no "exit all" button,
and the task maneger display both recent apps and running apps.
there's no telling which is which.
mtxx
post Apr 1 2012, 04:14 PM

5,011 posts

Hi all,

can i use titanium backup to backup a game from another device to s2?

for example, i'm playing a game called "ceramics destroyer" on my tab10.1, i already play until quite many levels. but feel that its more suitable to play on my phone.

is it compatible to make a backup from the tab, and restore it on my phone? will cause brick, hang or fc?
mtxx
post Apr 1 2012, 04:30 PM

5,011 posts

QUOTE(TheLaptopDudeGuy @ Apr 1 2012, 04:15 PM)
Since now with ICS, CM9 is smoother and better. Reason why no one uses CM7 was cuz sammy GB is better than AOSP GB.
rclxub.gif you're starting to confuse me abit.
sammy ICS and GB is not much different, just added swipe notification and browser.

obviously CM9 > CM7 in many ways.
but is CM9 > sammy ICS?
seems like sammy ICS got more features wor...
(task manager, statusbar brightness control, tw widgets, etc...)

what is present in CM9 that sammy ics dont have?
the launcher doesn count since apex launcher can be installed.
CM9 using stock ics camera that has zero shutter lag?

Added on April 1, 2012, 4:32 pm
QUOTE(antt00 @ Apr 1 2012, 04:25 PM)
Should work. When i got my sgs2, i restore all my backup from my hd2 to sgs2 using tb. No harm trying.
yeah, glad to know that. i can backup angry birds space too.
rclxm9.gif tab is big and nice to play game, but its not with me all the time, my phone is.

This post has been edited by mtxx: Apr 1 2012, 04:32 PM
mtxx
post Apr 2 2012, 07:45 AM

5,011 posts

Wah antoo wake so early.

I made a titanium back up of the game I wanted from my tab, transfer the 3 generated files in tb folder to s2.

Then when I wan to restore from s2, there is 0 apps to be restored. So sad. But strangely under delete backup, got show the app.

How did you transfer an app wit its data ?
mtxx
post Apr 2 2012, 05:55 PM

5,011 posts

i have big trouble transfering a game from a tablet to this phone.
but finally i manage to solve it. want to share it with everyone here :-)

the method is to use titanium backup.
but the problem is when you transfer the backup file by copying it to your pc, the file will be 0kb in size. Big mystery. maybe is google way of preventing priracy. or maybe its the nature of MTP. (since tablet, either honeycomb or ics, only supports MTP)

so if you transfer the 0kb file to s2 and try to restore, obviously will fail.

even if you use usb otg cable and send those backup files via pendrive, also will appear to be 0kb.

so finally i thought of using air droid, and it manage to get the files out, transfer to s2, and manage to restory.

yeah....feel so happy.

mtxx
post Apr 2 2012, 08:05 PM

5,011 posts

QUOTE(miyazaki @ Apr 2 2012, 07:48 PM)
I see. Sorry for the noob question. Is it normal for a fully stocked phone to act like is a dying fish? I having having mini freeze occasionally when surfing the net or even typing a message. I wonder if the android system is so unstable?
you sure you using s2?
this phone is fast and smooth. never encounter lag or any slow down.

mtxx
post Apr 2 2012, 08:58 PM

5,011 posts

QUOTE(1wildcat1 @ Apr 2 2012, 08:47 PM)
Question : should I remove my matte screen protector on my s2 and trust the gorilla glass?

Just removed my screen protector from my iPod touch yesterday and was amazed once again at the retina display, should I take it off my s2?
Put a clear screen protector. Its same as no screen protector,
You enjoy the full beauty of amoled, and you'll be able to sleep better without worrying it get scratch. Sp is cheap. Rm8 to 10 only.
mtxx
post Apr 2 2012, 09:00 PM

5,011 posts

QUOTE(erymanthus @ Apr 2 2012, 06:52 PM)
Okay, successfully flashed CF Root kernel over my Turkbey ROM V3 via CWM manager.

Easy and straight forward...no yellow trangle versus normal Odin method  thumbup.gif

When I was on Beta Siyah kernel, sometimes I experience no Wifi when I click on Wifi toggle....but with CF Root kernel now, everything is working good....Turkbey V3 + CF Root Kernel .....nice  rclxms.gif
Which cf root u use?
I using litening rom. I also experience the wifi on but sometimes no wifi.
After check, my kernal is also siyah. It must be the culprit.
I also wana change to cf root. But which to choose?
mtxx
post Apr 2 2012, 10:12 PM

5,011 posts

in apex and nova launcher.
seems cant long press menu button to activate search. :-(
so silly, why disable this? haiz...
mtxx
post Apr 3 2012, 05:13 PM

5,011 posts

QUOTE(ravager877 @ Apr 3 2012, 04:39 PM)
Sorry if I'm asking a stupid question. I have been using Litening rom for 2.3.5 for some time now and I saw that there is a new Litening 2.5 for ICS. Does flashing this to my phone automatically upgrade the phone to ICS? Or do I need to flash that first? Sorry for my confusion.
yeah, got kaki using litening rom also.
litening rom is no wipe kind. its written in the download page.
flash with odin.

but do a cwm backup just in case. :-)

0.0453sec    0.81    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 10:56 AM