Credit Cards Balance Transfer (BT) Plans V2 - Banks Offer List

tbheng
post Apr 30 2014, 12:32 AM

1,188 posts

Just to share my first BT experience: BT from OCBC to AEON. Thanks for guidance/info from all the sifu here! notworthy.gif

19Apr (Sat) BT Application via email (9 working days left from my due date sweat.gif)
21Apr (Mon) Email receipt acknowledgement
22Apr (Tue) Verification Call
23Apr (Wed) Unbilled transaction posted in AEON
24Apr (Thu) Approved SMS received
28Apr (Mon) Cheque sent out
29Apr (Tue) Payment posted in OCBC (Completed 3 days before my due date rclxm9.gif)

It took 7 working days. Not bad considering AEON uses cheque instead of Giro.
Kudos to AEON team that really rush out the cheque as I told my due date is near. (Though they keep saying the process will take 15 working days...)
They even gave the courier service tracking no. I tracked the cheque delivery online. thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by tbheng: Apr 30 2014, 02:03 AM
tbheng
post Apr 30 2014, 11:58 PM

1,188 posts

Forgot to share another thing on my first BT...
I received no less than 6 calls to offer BT within the first 3 days after I sent in the BT application. sweat.gif
Coincidence? How does our PDPA holds? Wonder such thing only happen in bolehland hmm.gif
Even if it is related, with the benefits I gain from my BT, no big deal lah, just annoying only. yawn.gif
I normally cut the conversation after knowing their intention.
But was once itchy and asked "You got 0%, no charge one ar?" She replied straight with sarcasm "If got we won't need to call lah..." laugh.gif laugh.gif
tbheng
post May 15 2014, 01:43 PM

1,188 posts

Hi guys, another tips to share on BT for AEON...
If you want to BT including your supp card swipes, please make sure the statement submitted show the principal card number with total amount (principal+supp) side by side.
Last month, I used the ocbc paper statement, both principal and supp card siwpes were BT-ed.
This month, I used the ocbc e-statement (to save time by not waiting for paper statement), end up only the principal card swipes were considered. doh.gif If you have ocbc e-statement, you will know what I meant.
E-Statement from HLB and MBB are fine.
That's why I hate those banks which still do not have the e-statement with exact layout like the actual/paper statement. mad.gif

tbheng
post May 16 2014, 12:08 AM

1,188 posts

QUOTE(lamode @ May 15 2014, 02:26 PM)
huh? i just checked and HLB still no pdf estatement.  hmm.gif
You are right that HLB does not have pdf e-statement yet.
But the online e-statement serve the purpose and AEON accepted my BT based on that format (print-to-pdf).
tbheng
post May 16 2014, 12:12 AM

1,188 posts

QUOTE(ronnie @ May 15 2014, 04:03 PM)
If we want to BT more than 3 banks..., we should use another form, right ?
I would think so. So far mine are still within 3.
Anyway, there is no limit of BT application except the CL available limit.
tbheng
post May 16 2014, 01:26 AM

1,188 posts

QUOTE(ronnie @ May 16 2014, 12:40 AM)
Still 80% of current available CL, right ? not based on assigned CL
Ya, 80% as per TnC. Mine still below 80%.
Wonder during the verification call, will they inform if exceeded 80%? hmm.gif
IINM, read in this thread, if exceeded, the BT will just failed without notification. Advice is to monitor closely on cheque clearance.
Unless someone can re-confirm this.
tbheng
post May 16 2014, 01:37 AM

1,188 posts

QUOTE(guy3288 @ May 15 2014, 02:44 PM)
Yeah, if you are careful you make money, if not  the bank will make money out of you.

Thanks to the format contributed by btheng
Besides keeping track of the gains (interest from putting the money in FD, reward points), I also keeping track of 2 other things:
1. The current available CL - to ensure the next BT request can go through without problem (< 80%)
2. The accumulated outstanding BT - to ensure the FD is enough to cover this at any point in time.

This post has been edited by tbheng: May 16 2014, 01:40 AM
tbheng
post May 16 2014, 02:10 AM

1,188 posts

With a rough simple calculation...
1. Combined CL of 50k - assuming from 2 or 3 cc that provide 0% BT
2. Max accumulated BT is 40k - assuming 80% of CL
3. Monthly interest gains is RM100 - assuming 3%p.a. FD
That is free money like the CB that flow in every month. Nice?
There is no capital outlay (but only the effort in BT/monitoring/FD), dunno how to calculate ROI dy.. tongue.gif
tbheng
post May 17 2014, 10:10 AM

1,188 posts

QUOTE(guy3288 @ May 17 2014, 09:27 AM)
You wont believe it the total BT i have accumulated is >100k,  i owe credit card so much! interest free...who cares.

The total gain as per your calculation is RM1134 for 6 months,  that is assuming I am using my own money to pay the 6 monthly installments to all of them right? But I am not, i am looping them back and forth. My gain is more that what your table showed?
Whoa... >100k shocking.gif
Another simpler way to calculate your gains is just based on your FD interest, assuming:
- you put the total BT amount into FD
- all BT done are 0% and no charge incur
Hence, you just reap the FD interest every month. If need be, add in the reward points redemption value.

With the rough simple calculation I posted earlier. Assuming maintaining accumulated BT amount and FD interest of 3%p.a.
BT 40k ==> FD interest of RM100/mth.
BT 100k ==> FD interest of RM250/mth.

Caution: serious attention/timing needed in handling this procedure.
Disclaimer: calculation above are for reference only.

This post has been edited by tbheng: May 17 2014, 10:14 AM
tbheng
post May 20 2014, 08:00 AM

1,188 posts

QUOTE(vincentwmh @ May 19 2014, 01:32 PM)
sorry, can clarify>>> u mean cash advance frm CC to dump all in fd and then BT the amount ??
Yes, exactly as per bearbear explanation below.
QUOTE(bearbear @ May 19 2014, 01:46 PM)
cash advance from CC is another animal lo, i believe what we do here is

1. swipe x amount
2. we have x amount in cash, put in FD
3. BT x amount to another bank and pay in installment with 0 interest.

Problem is are you discipline enough to save the X amount, most people would just continue to use for other stuff as it appear as extra cash on hand.
QUOTE(bearbear @ May 19 2014, 02:22 PM)
Well lately sifu here has teach us about double BT as most bank accept looping of BT regardless of the nature of your outstanding. I am in manufacturing line and this is like the breaking your big problem down to small problems approach in financial term. biggrin.gif
Nice production line u got there. rclxms.gif
tbheng
post May 24 2014, 02:22 AM

1,188 posts

QUOTE(RokXIII @ May 23 2014, 04:03 PM)
BT to PBB, doesn't require CC statement.
Done mine last month.
QUOTE(leo_kiatez @ May 23 2014, 05:30 PM)
No need. You are free to go with just BT form!! icon_idea.gif
I want to BT from AEON Watami to PBB also.
Anyone experienced how many working days it took? notworthy.gif
PBB CS told they will pay AEON via internet and not cheque... hmm.gif
And also which email id you guys sent your forms to? It is not stated on the form.. icon_question.gif

This post has been edited by tbheng: May 24 2014, 09:29 AM
tbheng
post May 24 2014, 10:56 AM

1,188 posts

QUOTE(ronnie @ May 24 2014, 10:31 AM)
Basically you can put any amount then ?
My understanding is anything between the min amount and 80% of your available CL.
But one would not over pay the cc too much to cause extra credit in the BT-from cc.

This post has been edited by tbheng: May 24 2014, 11:07 AM
tbheng
post May 28 2014, 01:52 AM

1,188 posts

OCBC statements have been late these days.
I have already got the BT completed (by using ocbc e-statement), credited to ocbc 5 days ago, now only the hardcopy statement come. doh.gif
tbheng
post May 28 2014, 10:16 PM

1,188 posts

Something to share on BT to PB.
I submitted last Saturday via email, until today no call...due date next Monday. sweat.gif
I called and CS told already approved and installment posted yesterday.
I asked why no call to verify one? CS said they will call only when there is a need. blink.gif
Asked will PB pay my AEON Watami by cheque or IBG?
CS said will pay AEON by IBG except 2 series of cc number : 5470-71xx-xxxx-xxxx or 4726-98xx-xxxx-xxxx.
My Watami strike lottery, they sent out cheque today, should still meet my due date on next Monday, hopefully. sweat.gif
tbheng
post May 28 2014, 11:35 PM

1,188 posts

QUOTE(victorywp @ May 28 2014, 10:24 PM)
my watami bt to uob also uob paid with cheque.
Ya, I guess all watami fall under the same range and cannot be paid via IBG.

QUOTE(brotan @ May 28 2014, 10:39 PM)
pbb normally don't call to verify BT
Oh really? Thanks for confirming.
tbheng
post May 29 2014, 07:17 AM

1,188 posts

QUOTE(bearbear @ May 29 2014, 12:07 AM)
lol PB really like machine working in the back sweat.gif
Yeah, rather "quietly" done at the back. There was no sms to notify BT approved either... blink.gif
tbheng
post Jun 3 2014, 10:53 PM

1,188 posts

QUOTE(ArthurMickey @ Jun 3 2014, 05:59 PM)
My citiB BT approved today..When the bank usually will send the money to other bank?
Haven't tried Citi BT. It is best for you to call the CS to get those dates and follow through closely.
tbheng
post Jun 6 2014, 07:10 AM

1,188 posts

QUOTE(bee993 @ Jun 6 2014, 12:39 AM)
thx....do u know the aeon 15 working day for BT is include the cheque issuance too? hmm.gif
According to the CS, not just include issuance, also include cheque clearance, i.e. credited/posted in the target cc account.
You can read back this thread, there are no less than 10 cases shared by all members here on AEON BT timelines for your reference.
tbheng
post Jun 12 2014, 07:03 AM

1,188 posts

QUOTE(sj0217 @ Jun 11 2014, 04:59 PM)
10/6 - Submitted BT form to Aeon yesterday morning.
10/6 - Received an email about forwarding my request to the department concerned on late evening.
11/6 - Received the verification call this morning and SMS has send for approval.

Credit to Bank A should be taking 1 week time I guess...

Get to know that the amount we BT cannot come with cent at the back

Example:
BT amount = RM 1000.22
Correction amount = RM 1000.30
AEON roundup mine to the next Ringgit instead.
tbheng
post Jul 5 2014, 02:06 AM

1,188 posts

QUOTE(yusiang @ Jul 4 2014, 12:13 PM)
They have renewed it to 31 December 2014, refer to https://www.pbebank.com/pdf/Promotions/form_bt.aspx
Great news! thumbup.gif rclxms.gif Thanks.
More BT... drool.gif

This post has been edited by tbheng: Jul 5 2014, 02:06 AM

0.0597sec    0.32    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 01:27 PM