Credit Cards Balance Transfer (BT) Plans V2 - Banks Offer List

saksoba
post Jun 15 2012, 09:40 AM

478 posts

I've gone through this thread but I'm not sure if I fully understand. So..

1.what does it mean by valid until june 2012 or sept 12? is it BT promotion valid until that date or u must finish pay ur BT?

2.i only have cc with MBB. if i want to do BT with another bank, and purely for BT (no more swipe), does it good to do that? and i need to have another cc with respective bank?

3. current CC limit is 12k. if i sign up for another CC for BT, how much my credit limit will be for new cc, is it still 12k?

my debt now ~7k. please advice biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by saksoba: Jun 15 2012, 09:41 AM
saksoba
post Jun 15 2012, 11:20 AM

478 posts

QUOTE(brotan @ Jun 15 2012, 10:40 AM)
Hi bro,

let me answer you according to your question sequence

1) It means the special rate only valid upon successful application at that time. It is not that you must clear your BT by then

2) yes, you need another bank cc to do BT

3) each bank has different credit limit requirement but as i know, most of the time, they will follow at least your current credit card limit or give you higher but again, it really depends on the bank
Thanks brotan..

Now I understood. Next question.. I think this is more related to credit card rather than balance transfer..

1. I have maybank2 card.. on my statement, there 2 item.. Retail interest rate 8.88 and Finance charges. is this the same or different thing?

2. I have made a excel sheet for my schedule hopefully i'm stick with it.. is my calculation correct?

3. if i stick with mbb cc and fixed my payment over 12 months include all the mbb interest, which is one is better? to do BT or just stick with my MBB? Its not wise to BT if there is annual card fee and hassle to transfer.. still need to do giro transfer from mbb to other bank.. rm2/transfer * 12 which more than total interest from MBB alone.

Please advice. So far my gut says, stick with MBB and fixed the payment.

This post has been edited by saksoba: Jun 15 2012, 11:21 AM
saksoba
post Jun 17 2012, 10:24 AM

478 posts

@ ronnie and brotan :

Thanks for your advice. I'll start to find a good bank for BT. smile.gif
saksoba
post Jun 18 2012, 04:39 PM

478 posts

I've applied Clear Visa.. and asked BT when one Citibank guy called..

he said that new applicant for BT will be 9.9%.. meanwhile, for different rate that he told me is to selected customer only..

http://www.citibank.com.my/english/existin...ce-transfer.htm

and http://www.citibank.com.my/english/existin...installment.htm

So between these two plan, what is the best? On Installment, link above, 12 months 5.4%.. can anyone explain? I'm getting confused -.-
saksoba
post Jun 18 2012, 04:48 PM

478 posts

brotan : Sorry. Citibank Clear Card

Any idea on the rate they offered and my question above?

This post has been edited by saksoba: Jun 18 2012, 04:49 PM
saksoba
post Jun 18 2012, 10:21 PM

478 posts

Called Citibank and spoke to CS.

He mention the new customer will rated at 9.9%.. However, for advertised rate ( I asked about installment) , ie 5.54 %pa, is for selected members.

I asked him how I can get 5.54, he said it will depends on the bank and purchasing trend etc.

But why I so attracted to Citibank? -.- Maybe due to their promotion TGV/GSC.
saksoba
post Jun 20 2012, 06:39 AM

478 posts

QUOTE(feralee @ Jun 19 2012, 10:27 PM)
mine is 3.9% pa

TGV/GSC on friday rite?
Bro, existing members? How do you get that rate?
saksoba
post Jun 28 2012, 09:39 PM

478 posts

QUOTE(bearboss_85 @ Jun 28 2012, 07:55 PM)
I had few questions in mind regarding BT...

1) Do I have to own the CC for the bank that I want to make BT or not? Or when all approved I will get BT together with the new CC from the bank that I applied?
2) If I already had 2 CC from different bank, then I make BT with other bank, do I have to cancelled one of my existing CC? If I need to cancel, is there any fee that I had to pay?
1) Yes, you need to have your own CC for the respective bank. When approved with CC application, they will do BT. Depends on your approved credit limit.
2) No need to cancel if you want to keep. But, no more outstanding value lah on your existing CC.

Correct or not brotan? biggrin.gif

Every day lurking in this thread so far learn so many things. brows.gif
saksoba
post May 26 2014, 10:39 AM

478 posts

Guys, I am considering BT from MBB to: (i) BSN (ii) PBB
My plan is to opt for 9-12 months plan. However, based on my estimation, I might be able to pay off in month 3 or 4.

Therefore, I'm considering the early termination clause... which I do not understand very well.

BSN
In the event of early termination of the BT Program, the whole balance of the instalment amount which includes the outstanding principal and interest/facility fees will be charged to the Cardholder’s account.

0.3%/month

PBB
Early Settlement Fee of RM100 will be charged if the Cardmember terminates or discontinues the programme by making full payment for the Approved Balance or such outstanding thereof prior to the expiry date of the credit scheme duration.

2% up front interest

---

For my exit plan, I think PBB offer better settlement than BSN? Am I correct?

saksoba
post May 27 2014, 10:48 AM

478 posts

QUOTE(Jason @ May 26 2014, 10:42 AM)
Why don't you just go with PBB 6 months 0% plan?

And settle it in 6 months rather than settle early... so no need pay early settlement fee.
Also, I doubt you need to pay early settlement if you just pay the money to you card account so your card balance is +balance.
You need to swipe about 12 times in over 12 months to qualify for fee waive on PBB card.

Meantime, no annual fee, no minimum swipe required for BSN basic Gold credit card.

--

Is this bad judgement?

The CC will purely for BT and I dont want to swipe it over and over (try to self contain)

0.0478sec    0.83    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 05:14 PM