Credit Cards Balance Transfer (BT) Plans V2 - Banks Offer List

onnying88
post May 22 2014, 12:40 AM

2,663 posts

QUOTE(tanuk @ May 21 2014, 06:44 PM)
Last time yes good payment history but stop when things started to get from bad to worse.
And with only 1 cc on hand. Is it still possible to do BT?
Don't think you can do BT as you need to apply a new CC or use existing CC to do the BT. With no others CC and can't get another new CC, it's impossible to do BT.

There is also another way which is re-structure the balance of the current CC into 0% installment plan. I know there is ppl out there doing it where they charge you around 10% pa to convert it to 0% installment plan back to your CC. You can pay some minimal amount back to the bank to active bank the card status and proceed the 0% installment plan. By doing so, you can stop the 18% pa charge by the bank.

If things really getting worse, try to visit your bank and request for re-structure your cc debt to cut/stop being charge for interest/late payment/ legal payment and etc which will be a nightmate. Just open up and tell the bank your situation. If the bank don't cooperation, visit AKPK to ask for advise, AKPK will help you to restructure the debt FOC.

Good luck to u.
onnying88
post May 22 2014, 01:15 PM

2,663 posts

QUOTE(tanuk @ May 22 2014, 10:20 AM)
Sigh ... tried before BT to other banks but rejected. Maybe i need to try out the 3rd party with 10% interest pa. But i have been told to check the late charges. They might charge high interest. Anyone have any contact which is reputable?
And also, your case will be hard to BT as your CCRIS record, what you need to do is go to your credit card's bank and look for the credit collector department or related department. Sit down and talk to them about your situation and let them know if they not willing to restructure your debt, you going to AKPK to seek for advise which still will come back to them to do the same things, ask them to stop all the charges and restructure your debt into 24/36/48/60 mth repayment. Talk nicely and normally they willing to help. Dont just call the CS, it's useless with no outcome.

If you don't mind, you may pm me your current card credit limit, bank and the balance. Maybe i can ask for you if above suggestion not work. I have friends who doing this 3rd partly restructure service. It's not Ah Long so don't worry, you will pay back your current bank after restructure it. Of cause there is some charge doing it but it can stop the bank charge you further unnecessary interest.

onnying88
post May 22 2014, 04:48 PM

2,663 posts

QUOTE(tanuk @ May 22 2014, 03:31 PM)
Ok thanks alot ... maybe i shall visit the bank and see what they say ... will pm u later.
Thank you.
Remember you just tell the bank straight to the point that you having problem to repay the CC now, ask them to stop the card, stop the interest charge and give some discount for the interest charged,then make it into installment for X month/years. If normal staff say cannot, try talk to the manager (if have).

Good luck and all the best to you.

onnying88
post May 26 2014, 09:09 PM

2,663 posts

QUOTE(hanaby @ May 26 2014, 08:54 PM)
So it is not possible to do a balance transfer basing on these figures?
I actually don't really get this balance transfer thing.
It's not merely transferring the outstanding amount of your current credit cards to a instalment plan?
Yes, BT mean transfer your current balance to another CC as an installment plan, but all your available cc also out of credit limit, so you can't do BT in this case. And with your current commitment, i don't think you can get another new CC approved to do the BT.

onnying88
post May 26 2014, 10:06 PM

2,663 posts

QUOTE(hanaby @ May 26 2014, 09:37 PM)
Thanks for some of the information.
Anyway, anyone knows how do banks define bad payment record?
what if I repay slightly more than the minimum every month?
As long as you pay the min in time before due date is consider good payment record.

If really can't do bt, I'll recommend you to do Epp plan by third party merchant. Althought there charge you advance interest. But it's still way better then just pay min payment.

For example of your HSBC cc with 20k balance. They will charge you 27% interest upfront for 24 month plan. So after change to the EPP plan, your payment will be rm20k + rm5400 (27%) = rm25400. Then your repayment will be rm25400/24 mth = rm1058.33 per mth. By doing this you will guaranteed settle this HSBC cc after 24mth.

If you didn't do anythings and just pay the min 5% which is rm1000 per mth. It will take around 7.2 years to settle.
onnying88
post May 27 2014, 02:31 PM

2,663 posts

QUOTE(vincentwmh @ May 27 2014, 01:15 PM)
sweat.gif  at 40K cc outstanding!!! with 5% min payment = 2K per month to sustain and finance charges at 18%pa is around rm600 per month.  shocking.gif 

have u work-out the math!! the compounded repayment if you just pay 5% min??
This is why i suggest him to do EPP (Easy payment plan) if he can't do BT. EPP at least can stop further finance charge, fixed repayment amount and shorter the repayment tenure.
onnying88
post May 27 2014, 04:10 PM

2,663 posts

QUOTE(Devil4life @ May 27 2014, 02:49 PM)
I think should go for AKPK already. That debt amount is too high
If still can afford repayment around rm2500 per month, it's still manageable and can settle it in 2 years time. Once go AKPK, your credit record will be very bad already.
onnying88
post May 27 2014, 05:07 PM

2,663 posts

QUOTE(hanaby @ May 26 2014, 08:29 PM)
Hey guys, I am quite new to this.

My current outstanding

PB 4.9k/5k
HL 4.9k/5k
CIMB 9.8k/10k
HSBC 20k/21k

What is the best balance transfer that I can do and what happens to the credit limit after I do a balance transfer?

I hope to hear from you all. Thanks.
With EPP plan. convert to 24month EPP.

PB 4.9k/5k 22% upfront interest = Rm1078
HL 4.9k/5k 26% upfront interest = Rm1274
CIMB 9.8k/10k 27% upfront interest = Rm2646
HSBC 20k/21k 27% upfront interest = Rm5400

Since all your card is out of credit limit, the upfront interest you will need to settle by cash in order to convert to EPP. (upfront interest can be add into CC if there is enough limit)

If let say you afford to pay the upfront interest, thereafter installment will be
Rm4900 + Rm4900 + Rm9800 + Rm20,000 = Rm39,600 / 24 mth = Rm1650 per month.

So you just need to pay Rm1650 for 24month and your debt will be cleared.

If can't afford to come out too much upfront, you can just do it one by one. This will still save up a lot compare with just paying the min amount of 5%.
onnying88
post May 27 2014, 05:52 PM

2,663 posts

QUOTE(vincentwmh @ May 27 2014, 05:25 PM)
actually didn't know about this EPP upfront interest. who in the sane mind can agree to it? just too steeeeep. correct me if i am wrong!!!

if i pay fix rm1650/mth with reducing 18%pa interest, i need 30mths to clear debt with total interest incurred at rm10,093.

EPP upfront cost rm10,398 (for 24mth). Why commit to this kind of "upfront interest under this kind of EPP???

its LPPL, pay interest to bank first before you start anything, then bank HOPE  thumbup.gif you cannot fulfill your 24mth repayment, thereafter charge penalty or convert back to 18% etc etc (u name it, bank will give u a beautiful term to impose the additional cost) - deeper shit right!! rclxub.gif
There are pros and cons for both way.

With EPP, you can fix the repayment amount for 24mth and if really have some hard time, the min payment is 5% of Rm1650.

Without EPP, your min amount will be 5% of total balance. If you have hard time and just keep on pay 5% min every month, the repayment tenure and interest will drag you further more.

So it's depend on personal financial planning and the repayment attitude.
onnying88
post May 27 2014, 06:43 PM

2,663 posts

QUOTE(vincentwmh @ May 27 2014, 05:56 PM)
6pm, time to knock off. if have time tomolo, reply you.
Lol, no hurry. We all just sharing and trying to help QS only
onnying88
post Jun 26 2014, 12:07 AM

2,663 posts

QUOTE(ronnie @ Jun 25 2014, 11:58 PM)
What's the point to settle early ???
Put the RM5000 in 1-month FD lah doh.gif doh.gif
Poor financial planning. Lol
onnying88
post Aug 15 2014, 04:03 PM

2,663 posts

Yesterday collect my watami card 6pm at ioi mall, on the spot active it and fill in the bt form.

This morning 11am receive call for verification, now 4pm just received SMS inform me that BT has been approved.

By the way, because of late approval of the watami card, my HSBC cc due date ady reach and I've paid the balance already. Can i request the bt money to transfer straight to my HSBC current account?

Or need to wait the bt money reach my credit card account then only call HSBC to transfer the extra balance to current account? Can we do that?

This post has been edited by onnying88: Aug 15 2014, 04:20 PM
onnying88
post Aug 16 2014, 09:14 PM

2,663 posts

QUOTE(victorywp @ Aug 16 2014, 05:13 PM)
once the payment of your bt from your aeon to hsbc success, just call hsbc and said that you have double paid it (once from hsbc and another bt to aeon). then call hsbc cs and ask them to refund back either of the payment back to your hsbc current account. i have done this with mbb and i believe it's the same with hsbc.
Will try it put once payment from aeon in. Better put at my HSBC flexi loan current account to save my mortgage interest.
onnying88
post Aug 16 2014, 11:31 PM

2,663 posts

QUOTE(David900924 @ Aug 16 2014, 11:25 PM)
Guys, which bank offer 0 upfront n 0 interest rate? Mininum 1k n mininum 6 months. With points that can offset rm50 or cb.

Will this harm our ccris or ctos record?
Aeon bt. Best will be aeon watami with free rm50 with 2 swipe in 60days and 3% quarterly cash rebate.

Bt will not affect criss record as long you pay in time. But bt will affect your commitment calculation if you plan to get a mortgage loan.

This post has been edited by onnying88: Aug 16 2014, 11:33 PM
onnying88
post Aug 17 2014, 01:43 AM

2,663 posts

QUOTE(David900924 @ Aug 17 2014, 01:24 AM)
thanks, another question, because im using maybank2card. can I bt both cards or only choose either 1? What question should I need to ask when I go for bt? I will visit aeon tomolo smile.gif
You can bt 2 or 3 card's total balance with no problem as long it's under 80% of your Aeon credit limit.

Just apply the Aeon card first. Then just fill in the Aeon BT form and email to them along with your others card statement. As you can see in the form you may fill up up to 3 card's for BT.
onnying88
post Aug 17 2014, 02:07 AM

2,663 posts

QUOTE(David900924 @ Aug 17 2014, 02:02 AM)
I see an amount filing. I only understand bt mean aeon will pay on behalf of us n we pay aeon in terms.. Does it mean we can put higher amount so we can have excess credit in our cc.?
I did fill up higher amount as the staff that help me fill say can do so. But when verification call the staff say cannot so i just follow back the statement amount. Maybe it will depend on the staff wan to proceed or not.

0.0514sec    0.69    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 12:00 PM