Credit Cards Balance Transfer (BT) Plans V2 - Banks Offer List

ronnie
post Dec 5 2012, 07:49 AM

Not enough stars
21,308 posts

QUOTE(feralee @ Dec 5 2012, 12:55 AM)
Received call from UOB, offering me BT for 0% for 6 months. He mention no processing fees.

Any UOB holder received the call b4?>?
That's good... previously it was for New-To-Bank customer... are you a new UOB Cardholder ?
Any details ?
ronnie
post Dec 7 2012, 05:08 PM

Not enough stars
21,308 posts

To selected Citibank customers only
0.17% per month for 3-month Balance Transfer
0.33% per month for 9-month Balance Transfer

- reducing balance method
- can pay minimum 5%
- early settlement without penalty
- no documents required, over phone application
- payment within 3 working days
ronnie
post Dec 13 2012, 10:17 AM

Not enough stars
21,308 posts

QUOTE(rayfoo @ Dec 13 2012, 09:42 AM)
no fee but 0% for 12 months only , refer here http://www.maybank2u.com.my/mbb_info/m2u/p...sonal/CRD-Cards
4. One Time up-front fee at 3% from the approved amount will be charged for each approved application and billed into the card credit statement on the posting date.Maybank will notify you of the status of your application in writing.

ronnie
post Dec 13 2012, 11:05 AM

Not enough stars
21,308 posts

QUOTE(Alvin89 @ Dec 13 2012, 10:43 AM)
Citi got 0.99 for 12 month bt. Be it new to bank or existing customer.
For existing u will need to apply a 2nd card to entitle this promo so the only processing fees is the rm50 gst for 2nd card.
0.99% per annum or per month ?
You mean I need to get another Citibank card just o use this BT program ?
Any early settlement ?
ronnie
post Dec 13 2012, 02:58 PM

Not enough stars
21,308 posts

I called up Citibank.... no such BT offer of the 0.99% per annum, they have 9.9% per annum (12-month installment)
ronnie
post Dec 18 2012, 01:02 PM

Not enough stars
21,308 posts

My AEON CC approved in 4 working days... but not enough Credit Limit doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif
ronnie
post Dec 18 2012, 02:28 PM

Not enough stars
21,308 posts

QUOTE(brotan @ Dec 18 2012, 02:28 PM)
hi all

how many post then need to go to next version?
when it reaches 2500 posts

Added on December 18, 2012, 2:29 pm
QUOTE(MGM @ Dec 18 2012, 01:24 PM)
According to the CS my BT was approved the next day after submission, but until now(after 7 days) the transfered amount hasn't appeared in the other bank's account.
Most cheques will be cleared max two days.

Added on December 18, 2012, 1:27 pm

Yeah I think AEON is very stingy with CL, but then it is only a gold card.
By next month I would have use up 80% of my CL for BT.
Will try to call them to raise the CL.
I agree... let us know how you go with CL increase.

This post has been edited by ronnie: Dec 18 2012, 02:29 PM
ronnie
post Dec 20 2012, 09:22 AM

Not enough stars
21,308 posts

QUOTE(MGM @ Dec 20 2012, 08:25 AM)
10/12/12 morning submitted BT @ AEON for CITI and MBB2Amex
10/12/12 evening received call from AEON to verify the BT application
17/12/12 AEON send cheques to CITI and MBB
19/12/12 payment reflected in CITI account
20/12/12 morning, no payment to MBB yet.
CL can only be raised after 6 months of usage.
Great update.... Will be useful for those AEON CC holders wishing to use the 0% 6-month (equal Installment) Balance Transfer.
At least can estimate to Due Date..
ronnie
post Dec 20 2012, 10:08 AM

Not enough stars
21,308 posts

QUOTE(brotan @ Dec 20 2012, 10:00 AM)
Hi all,

A bit embarassed here cuz my question going to be basic question. haha

i am more familiar with the normal fix installment type of BT where the BT amount is chopped into fix amount and you pay evenly in all your BT months. And the banks normally will lump your retail spending + BT due for that month and you need to pay that full amount or else normal interest will be charged on the balance amount you settle

for the reducing interest method, i understand the more you settle earlier, the lower the interest you pay

my question is, i read through that for this reducing interest method, you have to be careful if they have separate account for BT and retail spending vs combine both as 1 account

can someone elaborate with examples how both type works?

thx
Separate BT account is the best for Reducing Balance similar to CIMB.
As long as you settle the minimum 5% every month before the Due Date, you pay no additional interest.
Your retail spending is not affected as there will not have ADDITIONAL entries.

If the BT owed amount is together with retail spends similar to UOB (hate these type), you will "forever" owe RMxxx BT amount + Retail Spends.
Basically you can't use the CC for retail anymore or risk getting charge interest as there's always OUTSTANDING balance (from the BT amount)
ronnie
post Dec 20 2012, 10:54 AM

Not enough stars
21,308 posts

QUOTE(brotan @ Dec 20 2012, 10:23 AM)
Hi Ronnie

Thx for the explanation

just to clarify with some examples

Separate Account

Retail Spending
- will be charged like normal cc for outstanding balance (as if no BT)

BT Balance
- if you pay min 5%, you will be charged whatever interest charged for BT?
- so eg. if i owe BT 10k with BT interest of 0.5% per month, so as long as I pay RM 500, i will only be charged 0.5% on the balance 9.5k. Is this correct? if yes, if i don't pay the min 5% (RM 500), what will happen?
Yes for the Retail Spending.
Yes, if you don't pay the minimum you pay Late Charges Fee + Interest outstanding balance.

QUOTE(brotan @ Dec 20 2012, 10:23 AM)
Combined Account

let's say you have Retail spending rm 2k + BT 3k and BT charges is 0.5% per month. Given below scenario, how does the bank charge?

- You pay RM 1k
- You pay RM 3k

thx
Some banks have payment hierachy to follow... payment will be used to offset the amount which has the highest interest due like Retail Spending.
If you pay RM1k, 18% Interest on Retail amount(RM1k) + 0.5% Interest on BT amount (RM3k)
If you pay RM3k, No Interest on Retail amount(RM0) + 0.5% Interest on BT amount (RM1k)
ronnie
post Dec 20 2012, 11:14 AM

Not enough stars
21,308 posts

QUOTE(brotan @ Dec 20 2012, 11:09 AM)
thx Roonie. Clear now  notworthy.gif
it's ronnie. not Roonie ... I wish I earned Wayne Rooney's salary
ronnie
post Dec 21 2012, 11:27 AM

Not enough stars
21,308 posts

QUOTE(yong417 @ Dec 21 2012, 11:21 AM)
payment shown on your other bank's statement?
doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif what else ?
ronnie
post Dec 22 2012, 11:33 AM

Not enough stars
21,308 posts

Process for CIMB Balance Transfer Plus (by invitation only)

18 Dec 2012 : Invited to BT program (by Retention Dept)
19 Dec 2012 : Submitted BT application form via email
21 Dec 2012 : BT account created
24 Dec 2012 : BT transaction to other CC posted
26 Dec 2012 : Payment to other CC

Kudos to CIMB for quick process on my BT application.

This post has been edited by ronnie: Dec 26 2012, 09:10 PM
ronnie
post Dec 23 2012, 12:53 AM

Not enough stars
21,308 posts

QUOTE(JamesPond @ Dec 22 2012, 03:58 PM)
Can you share how you get them invited?
By cancelling the Card lah !!!! Part of their "retention program"
I received the retention call 3 weeks after I've asked them to cancel my Direct Access.
ronnie
post Dec 24 2012, 01:44 AM

Not enough stars
21,308 posts

QUOTE(cenkudu @ Dec 23 2012, 06:00 PM)
yours quite fast, I submitted on 17 Dec still no news. They have requirement to pay min RM 1000 per bank.

by the way can we balance transfer to a charge card like AMEX?
You also was invited to the BT Plus program under same conditions ?

Just call them up on Monday as a follow-up
I don't see why not cannot BT amount from Charge Cards ...
ronnie
post Dec 24 2012, 12:40 PM

Not enough stars
21,308 posts

QUOTE(JamesPond @ Dec 24 2012, 12:28 PM)
do you guys need to pay GST while getting retention.
Given RM50 credit to offset GST of course.... drool.gif rclxms.gif Else won't bother much
ronnie
post Dec 24 2012, 01:33 PM

Not enough stars
21,308 posts

QUOTE(JamesPond @ Dec 24 2012, 01:28 PM)
so just pressure them that you dont want to pay gst and ask for termination.
thats it right?
do you have those retention mobile? pls pm me . tq
Direct call from Direct Access main line.
ronnie
post Dec 24 2012, 11:30 PM

Not enough stars
21,308 posts

QUOTE(JamesPond @ Dec 24 2012, 02:49 PM)
thanks. I am trying this tonight.
Will let you know the positive result
Any result : positive or negative to share ?
ronnie
post Dec 25 2012, 01:52 PM

Not enough stars
21,308 posts

QUOTE(JamesPond @ Dec 25 2012, 01:11 PM)
yes, I contacted them for 2 of my cards termination.
they told me that both cards are blocked and my request for retention is subject to management approval.

let see how, would there be someone call me...?
My "retention call came only after approx 3 weeks from the cancellation call.
ronnie
post Dec 26 2012, 02:00 AM

Not enough stars
21,308 posts

QUOTE(JamesPond @ Dec 25 2012, 02:33 PM)
3 weeks time is very long. I actually paid the GST for 2013. Hopefully they call me and refund.

are they issue you new card or you can still use the old card?
My call in to cnacel was doen on 4 Dec. At this point, the card is blocked only (not totally cancelled, even after 1 week)
The call from Retention Dept was on 18 Dec.
Re-activate my existing card ....

You should always CANCEL before paying GST doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif

10 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.3759sec    1.19    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 06:22 AM