10 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

> My Condo's Reno Diary, Sharing My Little Eden - 1067sq ft.

TSXccess
post Mar 21 2012, 01:15 PM, updated 3y ago

Twinkle lil Stars
2,695 posts

After spending time browsing through this forum, I'm impressed by some of the work you guys put in. This reno work of mine was done 3 years ago, please pardon me for sharing my late little reno journey here.

Me and my wife purchased this unit for its convenience as my office is only 5 mins away while she travel using monorail which is 5 mins walk from our place. After purchasing then only we noticed the unit was infested with termites...damn! As we were inexperienced, we did not spot this problem when viewing the unit. Gonna learn with every steps we take, new lesson for newbie...sigh. Due to infestation we had to stripped entire house down (Previous owner had a lot of wood work done), these includes door frames, doors, tiles...almost everything except existing bedrooms windows.

We came out with the design ourselves, no ID firm was appointed. Took quite a bit of effort and research to plan everything out. Below are our work.

Ground zero, everything have to start from scratch... cry.gif money money

Requested contractor to raise the dining area. Window demolished too.

Kitchen area with tiles layed.

washing area.

Master room pix.

Thanks for termites, have to remove and put in new door frames.

Timber flooring up, since both wall in kitchen had been hacked, a timber support beam is needed for my partition door, later you will see what i'm talking about.

Rest of the pix on next update.

This post has been edited by Xccess: Jan 12 2016, 01:16 PM
northface
post Mar 21 2012, 01:21 PM

359 posts

Looks like lots of work done, bravo!

I've seen a lot of houses affected by termites, this is the 1st time I read about condo getting termites, is yours a lower floor unit?

May I know the area where your condo is located at, don't need to name it though if you want privacy biggrin.gif
cky80
post Mar 21 2012, 01:25 PM

DOMO DOMO DOMO DOMO
760 posts

nice...how did u ensure the termites wont return? smile.gif
TSXccess
post Mar 21 2012, 01:29 PM

Twinkle lil Stars
2,695 posts

Continue....gonna fast forward a little bit.

Windows up.

Took us awhile to find this type of window.

Glass panel for kitchen.

Frosted glass divider between kitchen and washing area. Previous owner extended their kitchen all the way to washing area, we were quite surprise when we can't find a washing area, wonder where they do their washing.

Kitchen cabinet up.

Folding doors up.

Partition door fully close.

Common washroom bowl and basin installed.

My mini bar top.

Rest of it coming next, will put everything up.
hianz86
post Mar 21 2012, 01:30 PM

643 posts

U like folding a lot geh? lolz
TSXccess
post Mar 21 2012, 01:31 PM

Twinkle lil Stars
2,695 posts

QUOTE(northface @ Mar 21 2012, 01:21 PM)
Looks like lots of work done, bravo!

I've seen a lot of houses affected by termites, this is the 1st time I read about condo getting termites, is yours a lower floor unit?

May I know the area where your condo is located at, don't need to name it though if you want privacy biggrin.gif
Bro, my place is near Maharajalela monorail, I'm sure by this you already know where this place it, old condo lah. Due to termites, no choice but to reno, the place was nicely done up, we thought as can save some money but sadly this happened.
paogiv3r
post Mar 21 2012, 01:33 PM

394 posts

QUOTE(hianz86 @ Mar 21 2012, 01:30 PM)
U like folding a lot geh? lolz
yeah why so many folding,
TSXccess
post Mar 21 2012, 01:33 PM

Twinkle lil Stars
2,695 posts

QUOTE(cky80 @ Mar 21 2012, 01:25 PM)
nice...how did u ensure the termites wont return? smile.gif
Can't fully guarantee on that but I got my contractor to do some preventive measures before he tiles up. Keeping my finger cross.

Added on March 21, 2012, 1:34 pm
QUOTE(paogiv3r @ Mar 21 2012, 01:33 PM)
yeah why so many folding,
My place only around 1100 sq ft, space constraint so have to come up with this. smile.gif

This post has been edited by Xccess: Mar 21 2012, 01:34 PM
hianz86
post Mar 21 2012, 01:34 PM

643 posts

with the reno like this...i belip it cost you almost half of the price you pay for the condo...
paogiv3r
post Mar 21 2012, 01:35 PM

394 posts

QUOTE(Xccess @ Mar 21 2012, 01:33 PM)
Can't fully guarantee on that but I got my contractor to do some preventive measures before he tiles up. Keeping my finger cross.

Added on March 21, 2012, 1:34 pm
My place only around 1100 sq ft, space constraint so have to come up with this. smile.gif
sliding is safer for kids in future, they wont snap their finger tho.
sovietmah
post Mar 21 2012, 01:39 PM

2,241 posts

very nice renovation!
hianz86
post Mar 21 2012, 01:40 PM

643 posts

QUOTE(paogiv3r @ Mar 21 2012, 01:35 PM)
sliding is safer for kids in future, they wont snap their finger tho.
i was about to say that....folding seems not suitable for kids...and the glass...reminds me on my relatives...the glass wall nearly cut her daughter neck off.... doh.gif better becarefull
TSXccess
post Mar 21 2012, 01:55 PM

Twinkle lil Stars
2,695 posts

continue...

Wardrobe for 2nd bedroom.

My bar stool.

Living room.

View from living to dining area.

Outdoor concept dining table.

Final product.

We were both happy with the reno. At least after all the money spent, we got a little cosy home. Thank you all for viewing.

Added on March 21, 2012, 1:58 pm
QUOTE(hianz86 @ Mar 21 2012, 01:40 PM)
i was about to say that....folding seems not suitable for kids...and the glass...reminds me on my relatives...the glass wall nearly cut her daughter neck off.... doh.gif  better becarefull
Ermm...I understand your point, we don't have kids so far. 3 years later another unit coming, will take that into consideration. Thanks tongue.gif

This post has been edited by Xccess: Jul 28 2013, 02:32 AM
hianz86
post Mar 21 2012, 02:04 PM

643 posts

QUOTE(Xccess @ Mar 21 2012, 01:55 PM)
continue...

Finishing touch.

We were both happy with the reno. At least after all the money spent, we got a little cosy home. Thank you all for viewing.

Added on March 21, 2012, 1:58 pm

Ermm...I understand your point, we don't have kids so far. 3 years later another unit coming, will take that into consideration. Thanks tongue.gif
Bless you. Hope your termite friend won't come back....i saw a lot of wood work yo sweat.gif
TSXccess
post Mar 21 2012, 02:07 PM

Twinkle lil Stars
2,695 posts

Some pix I might have missed out.

Common washroom pix 1

Common washroom pix 2

passage way from bedrooms.

Kitchen

Master washroom.

Guess that's about it. Thanks for viewing and I look forward to learn more from this forum. I'm sure many of you here are expert in reno works, thanks for sharing too. wink.gif

Added on March 21, 2012, 2:09 pmThanks Hianz, have to keep my eyes wide open around any corners but I'm sure we have exterminate every one for now. So far there's no more reports of termite in any unit here...touchwood. wink.gif

Added on March 21, 2012, 2:11 pm
QUOTE(sovietmah @ Mar 21 2012, 01:39 PM)
very nice renovation!
Thanks soviet and thanks to the termites too.

This post has been edited by Xccess: Jul 28 2013, 02:41 AM
leeyung
post Mar 21 2012, 03:23 PM

1st LYN Pioneer Genuine Marimo Seller
885 posts

Pretty huge transformation! I love ur superb big folding window, it looks unique, how much does it bomb u?
TSXccess
post Mar 21 2012, 03:36 PM

Twinkle lil Stars
2,695 posts

QUOTE(leeyung @ Mar 21 2012, 03:23 PM)
Pretty huge transformation! I love ur superb big folding window, it looks unique, how much does it bomb u?
Still have the invoice with me, information is right below as stated;

* Dimension : 156" x 78"
* Material : Aluminum. Expocy with woodgrain
* Price - RM7800.00.

The window is pretty hardy as compared to those regular window frame.

This post has been edited by Xccess: Mar 21 2012, 03:38 PM
sovietmah
post Mar 21 2012, 03:39 PM

2,241 posts

how much total renovation + furniture + electric appliance?
wrb7878
post Mar 21 2012, 03:42 PM

843 posts

What is your TV size? 40 or 46?
and the TV height from the floor?
TSXccess
post Mar 21 2012, 03:42 PM

Twinkle lil Stars
2,695 posts

QUOTE(sovietmah @ Mar 21 2012, 03:39 PM)
how much total renovation + furniture + electric appliance?
Reno set me back at about 120K, furniture + electric appliance + bathroom fittings about 40 to 50K. First reno experience, threw all focus and money. Need plenty of time to recover. sweat.gif

Added on March 21, 2012, 3:46 pm
QUOTE(wrb7878 @ Mar 21 2012, 03:42 PM)
What is your TV size? 40 or 46?
and the TV height from the floor?
TV size is 40", height from floor is 34". blush.gif

This post has been edited by Xccess: Oct 23 2013, 11:31 AM

10 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0175sec    0.16    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th March 2024 - 02:12 AM