Cat5e for gigabit network?, Is it possible?

weikee
post Mar 21 2012, 07:07 PM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(phoenix69 @ Mar 21 2012, 06:02 PM)
Hou much does CAT 5e keystone jack cost per unit.?
Face place price ???
Can give rough estimate ah???
I got charged RM 10 w/o flap amd RM 20 w flap for keystone jack
You did not buy when you buy the switch? I brought together with the switches. Forgot how much but sure more expensive than what your contractor quote. At least got brand.
xerox1234
post Mar 22 2012, 01:57 PM

334 posts

QUOTE(weikee @ Mar 21 2012, 07:07 PM)
You did not buy when you buy the switch? I brought together with the switches. Forgot how much but sure more expensive than what your contractor quote. At least got brand.
Prolink 305M for RM195 for CAt5 and RM330 for Cat6. Worth it? Anyone use Prolink before ?
http://images.lowyat.net/pricelist/cycom.pdf
weikee
post Mar 22 2012, 02:09 PM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(xerox1234 @ Mar 22 2012, 01:57 PM)
Prolink 305M for RM195 for CAt5 and RM330 for Cat6. Worth it? Anyone use Prolink before ?
http://images.lowyat.net/pricelist/cycom.pdf
Never use this before so no comment, but price is sure cheap. I just remember, mine is Dintek.

xerox1234
post Mar 22 2012, 03:17 PM

334 posts

QUOTE(weikee @ Mar 22 2012, 02:09 PM)
Never use this before so no comment, but price is sure cheap. I just remember, mine is Dintek.
Yup, my friend also recommended to use Dintek, wisely use in the market. RM265 for 300m. if top up rm65 can get Cat6 Prolink smile.gif

weikee
post Mar 22 2012, 03:20 PM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(xerox1234 @ Mar 22 2012, 03:17 PM)
Yup, my friend also recommended to use Dintek, wisely use in the market. RM265 for 300m. if top up rm65 can get Cat6 Prolink smile.gif
If you feel prolink is good than is ok. Personally, i will use things that have been proven. Dintek is use by many cable guys I know. They usually use Dintek if client don't want AMP.
phoenix69
post Mar 22 2012, 06:54 PM

1,836 posts

QUOTE(weikee @ Mar 22 2012, 03:20 PM)
If you feel prolink is good than is ok. Personally, i will use things that have been proven. Dintek is use by many cable guys I know. They usually use Dintek if client don't want AMP.
Yup my company use Dintek and my computer engineer friend from another company also recommend Dintek.
nitromx
post Sep 10 2012, 10:36 AM

532 posts

anyone uses D-link or Bezo network cable before?
btw how much cable do you use for your double story house?

This post has been edited by nitromx: Sep 10 2012, 10:47 AM
Gnomeo
post Jan 20 2013, 12:15 PM

82 posts

QUOTE(weikee @ Mar 21 2012, 08:52 AM)
You can't pull fiber, you can only prepare empty conduit, and try not to have 90deg bending in the conduit. Put in cable puller in the empty conduit, so when the installer come over they will tap from the cable puller and pull out from another end.

This is how I did, and all the way to my "server room"
I wonder why you say that you can't pull fiber ?

weikee
post Jan 20 2013, 04:25 PM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(Gnomeo @ Jan 20 2013, 12:15 PM)
I wonder why you say that you can't pull fiber ?
Sure you can pull no one stopping. you know is the fiber used a multi mode?or single mode? Will the authorised Contractor use the fiber you lay? Same spec?

When I apply, I ask the authorised Contractor to come over, but they only want to do it after Renovation complete. I ask them if I pull will they use the fiber I prepare. Their reply only if the fiber is endorsed by unifi.

Furthermore is free installation why waste the money to pull it first? My conceal conduit are free from Contractor.

This post has been edited by weikee: Jan 20 2013, 04:26 PM
Gnomeo
post Jan 21 2013, 08:51 PM

82 posts

QUOTE(weikee @ Jan 20 2013, 03:25 PM)
Sure you can pull no one stopping. you know is the fiber used a  multi mode?or single mode?  Will the authorised Contractor use the fiber you lay?  Same spec?

When I apply,  I ask the authorised Contractor to come over,  but they only want to do it after Renovation complete. I ask them if I pull will they use the fiber I prepare.  Their reply only if the fiber is endorsed by unifi.

Furthermore is free installation why waste the money to pull it first?  My conceal  conduit are free from Contractor.
Today, I spent some time to check and I believe you are right, pulling empty conduits seems to be the best way to go. At least up to the fiber modem/routeur (I believe it is a fiber modem with built-in Wifi Router ?).
Basically you have a 1st conduit from your access point (ONT) up to the fiber-Modem wifi/router. Since there is a Wifi network, it is better to choose a central location if you have a large house/condo. In this conduit, Astro will pull a fiber cable.
Then you need X (1 per TV with a max 2/modem) other conduits between Modem and STB (which connect to TV). Astro should pull CAT5 cables in those conduits.
Then you can also add X (1 per PC/MAC with wired connection) conduits with/without Cat5 or Cat6 in it from Modem to RJ45 plug in each room where U want a wired access. Astro offer a certain allowance of Cat5 & Fiber cables so if you have too many conduits, you may have to pay extra.
Do you know how much connections this modem support ? I suppose that the phone is wireless directly from modem (or is it wired ?) ?
Am I correct ?
weikee
post Jan 21 2013, 10:56 PM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(Gnomeo @ Jan 21 2013, 08:51 PM)
Today, I spent some time to check and I believe you are right, pulling empty conduits seems to be the best way to go.  At least up to the fiber modem/routeur (I believe it is a fiber modem with built-in Wifi Router ?).
Basically you have a 1st conduit from your access point (ONT) up to the fiber-Modem wifi/router. Since there is a Wifi network, it is better to choose a central location if you have a large house/condo. In this conduit, Astro will pull a fiber cable.
Then you need X (1 per TV with a max 2/modem) other conduits between Modem and STB (which connect to TV). Astro should pull CAT5 cables in those conduits.
Then you can also add X (1 per PC/MAC with wired connection) conduits with/without Cat5 or Cat6 in it from Modem to RJ45 plug in each room where U want a wired access. Astro offer a certain allowance of Cat5 & Fiber cables so if you have too many conduits, you may have to pay extra.
Do you know how much connections this modem support ? I suppose that the phone is wireless directly from modem (or is it wired ?) ?
Am I correct ?
For landed property the unifi are as follow "based on my knowledge"

01) (External Cable) -> (Small white Box 'usually just outside the house') -> (NTU)

02) From (NTU) split into two devices. (via Cat3 - Phone) and (Via Cat-5e D-Link modem)

03) (Phone) is analog signal need cable

04) (D-Link modem) will have (wifi), Lan, and another connection to (unifi TV Decoder 'via Cat 5e')

05) (unifi TV Decoder) -> TV

So you TV area is best to have 2 LAN points (minimal) one for your unifi, another for your tv / media player.

Gnomeo
post Jan 22 2013, 09:11 AM

82 posts

Thanks, actually I was referring to an Astro IPTV installation for condos but I see there are a few differences... I need to double check for the phone wired or wireless.
weikee
post Jan 22 2013, 06:00 PM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(Gnomeo @ Jan 22 2013, 09:11 AM)
Thanks, actually I was referring to an Astro IPTV installation for condos but I see there are a few differences... I need to double check for the phone wired or wireless.
Yes, even for uniFi for highrise, they may use VDSL (aka VHDSL), and is copper not fiber.
advTech
post Jun 4 2022, 07:03 AM

198 posts

Hi, sorry I'm asking an indirectly related question. I'm not sure what are my cables, but my Unifi speed as tested in early morning by https://www.speedtest.net/ is:

DL - 520 Mbps
UL - 103 Mbps
(Seri Kembangan, Selangor)

Is this acceptable? What are the speed of all other sifus?

0.0211sec    0.47    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 02:55 AM