Michelin Restaurant in Malaysia.

TSBeachkid
post Mar 19 2012, 12:13 PM, updated 14y ago

258 posts

Are there any restaurants with michelin stars to their name in Malaysia?
simsim
post Mar 19 2012, 12:45 PM

197 posts

i dont think so... only michelin tires. LOL i kid i kid... you can go to the michelin website and there should be a list of restaurants there with michelin stars.

i think there is a malaysian restaurant with a michelin star, but not in malaysia. if im not mistaken.

SUSUpCar
post Mar 19 2012, 12:48 PM

1,612 posts

michelin star tarrak in m'sia. we still not geng enuf. our chcken rice and tin kai chuk not yet to that level.

TSBeachkid
post Mar 19 2012, 12:52 PM

258 posts

haha, yeah, someone should bring in a michelin chef over..it would be huge in Malaysia.
deodorant
post Mar 19 2012, 01:43 PM

Surfing LYN instead of Working.
5,691 posts

There are no restaurants with Michelin stars here because the Michelin guide simply doesn't cover this part of the world. The best we have is the Miele Guide, of which KL's Cilantro occupies 6th spot.
TSBeachkid
post Mar 19 2012, 01:53 PM

258 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Mar 19 2012, 02:43 PM)
There are no restaurants with Michelin stars here because the Michelin guide simply doesn't cover this part of the world. The best we have is the Miele Guide, of which KL's Cilantro occupies 6th spot.
What really? Why is that? I know Singapore has some michelin-star chefs like Wolfgang Puck at Marina Bay Sands
deodorant
post Mar 19 2012, 02:04 PM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(Beachkid @ Mar 19 2012, 01:53 PM)
What really? Why is that? I know Singapore has some michelin-star chefs like Wolfgang Puck at Marina Bay Sands

There are quite a few michelin-starred chefs who have opened outlets in SG. Wolfgang Puck, Joël Robuchon, Kunio Tokuoka, bla bla bla. But the restaurants themselves do not have any stars. It's simply just that the Michelin guides only cover Europe, US, Japan and HK/Macau.
SUSUpCar
post Mar 19 2012, 02:09 PM

1,612 posts

QUOTE(Beachkid @ Mar 19 2012, 12:52 PM)
haha, yeah, someone should bring in a michelin chef over..it would be huge in Malaysia.
asian culinary does not give a hoot about michelin stars.
astahiem
post Mar 19 2012, 02:50 PM

you see southeast Asia food are just too great for Michelin food guide or else they have to adjust their rating system because our food are above three star LOL....smile.gif
TSBeachkid
post Mar 19 2012, 03:29 PM

258 posts

QUOTE(astahiem @ Mar 19 2012, 03:50 PM)
you see southeast Asia food are just too great for Michelin food guide or else they have to adjust their rating system because our food are above three star LOL....smile.gif
haha yeah that could be true,

however hong kong dumplings are the best i ever tasted. Never tasted anything even close to similar in Malaysia or Singapore. But Malaysia's wanton noodles beats HK though.
SUSUpCar
post Mar 19 2012, 06:34 PM

1,612 posts

i always prefered hong kong's wan tan. not the noodle, but the wantan. coz their wan tan big prawns, and ours here is like small kucirat prawns with no feel 1.
wiggleman888
post Mar 20 2012, 06:49 PM

50 posts

dont think so... if got, sure got a lot of hype d
TSBeachkid
post Mar 20 2012, 10:15 PM

258 posts

QUOTE(UpCar @ Mar 19 2012, 07:34 PM)
i always prefered hong kong's wan tan. not the noodle, but the wantan. coz their wan tan big prawns, and ours here is like small kucirat prawns with no feel 1.
oh yeah,that's correct. I was talking more about the noodles I guess,not used to the texture over there.
SUSUpCar
post Mar 21 2012, 03:06 PM

1,612 posts

their noodles texture ok la, but its the smell that gets to me. they smell really "kan sui" to me.
TommyTan
post Mar 21 2012, 04:37 PM

You can call me Mr. Tan or Tommy
1,777 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Mar 19 2012, 01:43 PM)
wow it seems there is some interesting place in singapore and hong kong.

time to make a passport.
Mr.Muffin
post Mar 21 2012, 05:00 PM

40 posts

michelin stars restaurant will be here in MY when we reach SG/HK status...
yen223
post Mar 22 2012, 09:36 AM

777 posts

Din Tai Fung's HK branches have a Michelin star each.
C-Note
post Mar 23 2012, 12:51 AM

starry starry night
3,037 posts

go to Japan. Japan has the most michelin-rated restaurants in Asia
XtraSpicy
post Mar 23 2012, 04:32 AM

22 posts

the only michelin star malaysian restaurant that I know of is is Laut in NYC. Good comfort food at the other end of the world but nothing compared to food back here.
luvimp
post Mar 23 2012, 11:04 AM

375 posts

No, Malaysia definitely do not have any Michelin star restaurant.
Malaysia as a country not included in their review.
In Asia not many under their review, Japan and HK is a few of them only.
Japan have the most amount of restaurant with Michelin stars.
Even though a Michelin star restaurant chef came to Malaysia, it doesn't mean that the restaurant in Malaysia can be counted to have Michelin star.
Their review is very thorough which include other factors beside the cooking.
MrBuBu
post Mar 23 2012, 11:08 AM

203 posts

We Malaysia got Michelin star on Nasi Lemak and Roti Canai with TT
SUSUpCar
post Mar 23 2012, 12:44 PM

1,612 posts

mana ada
meteoraniac
post Mar 28 2012, 01:35 PM

1,099 posts

Michelin star awarded chef open restaurant in Malaysia not counted as Michelin star

the restaurant itself must be rewarded...
vey99
post Mar 28 2012, 08:58 PM

Manyzer
2,851 posts

i think it not matter here.

we have superb food with Sime Star, Continental Star, Falken star also.
Kiloweya
post Mar 29 2012, 05:14 PM

37 posts

in kota bharu have 1... the shop sells nasi kukus beside a tire shop...
tishaban
post Mar 30 2012, 10:38 AM

3,615 posts

Unfortunately there isn't one.

Michelin rankings tend to favor western European food, in particular French, but has some tolerance for Japanese and maybe Chinese food. This is a known issue and many people have brought this up against the Michelin ranking.

I was at a Michelin star restaurant last summer. The food was good but the service was also top notch. We have fantastic food here but service in most places is still not up to par I'd say.

This post has been edited by tishaban: Mar 30 2012, 10:39 AM
samlee860407
post Mar 30 2012, 12:51 PM

4,631 posts

i tried a 1star restaurant in HK harbour city....don't feel any awesome with the food
NaMyzarC
post Mar 30 2012, 01:02 PM

1,140 posts

if there is one, government will force it to be renamed "1 malaysia restaurant"
skystrike
post Mar 30 2012, 06:57 PM

back to normal
1,279 posts

QUOTE(vey99 @ Mar 28 2012, 08:58 PM)
i think it not matter here.

we have superb food with Sime Star, Continental Star, Falken star also.
QUOTE(Kiloweya @ Mar 29 2012, 05:14 PM)
in kota bharu have 1... the shop sells nasi kukus beside a tire shop...
lol laugh.gif
30katz
post Apr 6 2012, 02:22 PM

29 posts

QUOTE(astahiem @ Mar 19 2012, 02:50 PM)
agree ! agree! proud of Malaysia
deodorant
post Apr 6 2012, 05:56 PM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(tishaban @ Mar 30 2012, 10:38 AM)
The food was good but the service was also top notch. We have fantastic food here but service in most places is still not up to par I'd say.

Even Cilantro KL's wait staff still just only "so-so" when compared to the "average" fine dining place in Western countries.
tishaban
post Apr 8 2012, 07:41 PM

3,615 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Apr 6 2012, 05:56 PM)
Even Cilantro KL's wait staff still just only "so-so" when compared to the "average" fine dining place in Western countries.
Agreed. Funny thing is I usually get better service and more attentive staff at places like Chili's compared to say Zipangu biggrin.gif

Anyone been to L'apprenti at UPM? I wonder how they train the staff there in general.

RegentCid
post Apr 9 2012, 12:39 PM

グローバル防衛構想
4,060 posts

When to Japan Try a 3 Star Honor Sushi Chef. 3 Star are the highest.

Restaurant Name was Sukiyabashi Jiro. Chef name Was Jiro Ono and His Shop was open at Ginza underground level of Ginza Station exit. Opposite the Sony Ginza Building

His Shop abit different......No Menu...You come in Sit down pay him 30,000 Yen // RM 1,116. He will Made 18 His most famous Sushi for you. Only 18 sushi. 18 Sushi he will made one by one for you. Each sushi will made in each temperature to get most freshness for you.

All the sushi made by him cannot dip into soya sauce or add Wasabi Or you will GTFO from his shop.

Drinks are Beer or Sake only. No other option.

This post has been edited by RegentCid: Apr 10 2012, 02:07 PM
XtraSpicy
post Apr 9 2012, 09:07 PM

22 posts

QUOTE(RegentCid @ Apr 9 2012, 12:39 PM)
When to Japan Try a 3 Star Honor Sushi Chef.  3 Star are the highest.

His Name was Sukiyabashi Jiro.  His Shop open at Ginza underground level of Ginza Station exit.  Opposite the Sony Ginza Building

His Shop abit different......No Menu...You come in Sit down pay him 30,000 Yen // RM 1,116.  He will Made 18 His most famous Sushi for you. Only 18 sushi. 18 Sushi he will made one by one for you. Each sushi will made in each temperature to get most freshness for you.

All the sushi made by him cannot dip into soya sauce or add Wasabi Or you will GTFO from his shop.

Drinks are Greentea and Sake only.  No other option.
wow. I heard about this and planned to do it one day. Isnt the waiting list like really long... (1-2 years)
vivienne85
post Apr 9 2012, 10:39 PM

360 posts

i dun think we have any michelin rated chefs in malaysia.
RegentCid
post Apr 10 2012, 02:00 PM

グローバル防衛構想
4,060 posts

QUOTE(XtraSpicy @ Apr 9 2012, 08:07 PM)
wow. I heard about this and planned to do it one day. Isnt the waiting list like really long... (1-2 years)
I go without any Reservation....Maybe Lucky got space.

If Reservation:
Please make a reservation 1 months prior to the date you would like to visit.
Confirmation for your reservation is required on the day before your visit.
Please be aware that your reservation will automatically be cancelled unless the confirmation is made.

Another one was his Son Takashi 2 star Michilin at Roponggi Hill
The Shop name also same: Sukiyabashi Jiro.

Roppongi Hills Residence B Tower, 2F, Roppongi 6-12-2, Minato-ku, Tokyo Prefecture, Japan.

This post has been edited by RegentCid: Apr 10 2012, 02:11 PM
XtraSpicy
post Apr 10 2012, 06:39 PM

22 posts

QUOTE(RegentCid @ Apr 10 2012, 02:00 PM)
I go without any Reservation....Maybe Lucky got space. 

If Reservation:
Please make a reservation 1 months prior to the date you would like to visit.
Confirmation for your reservation is required on the day before your visit.
Please be aware that your reservation will automatically be cancelled unless the confirmation is made.
Another one was his Son Takashi 2 star Michilin at Roponggi Hill
The Shop name also same: Sukiyabashi Jiro.

Roppongi Hills Residence B Tower, 2F, Roppongi 6-12-2, Minato-ku, Tokyo Prefecture, Japan.
nice.... any pictures? I really want to go 1 day. haha..
RegentCid
post Apr 10 2012, 08:32 PM

グローバル防衛構想
4,060 posts

QUOTE(XtraSpicy @ Apr 10 2012, 05:39 PM)
nice.... any pictures? I really want to go 1 day. haha..
One of the Rulez and Regulation....no photo are allow.
deodorant
post Apr 11 2012, 11:44 AM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(tralala0716 @ Apr 10 2012, 04:14 PM)
DING TAI FUNG! Taiwanese cuisine. They serve the best Xiao Long Bao! And their service is superb. Definitely worth a try guys. Located at Pavilion KL, The Garden, The Curve and Empire Shopping Gallery.  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif

the din tai fung outlets in msia got no michelin star lar.
chanti-sama
post Apr 11 2012, 11:53 PM

710 posts

Din tai fung siao lung bao drop standard adi... Dragon i .... Nuh uh... Crystal jade siao ling bao better.

Ur right who gives a hoot about michelin star in this part of the region. They say the best ampang yong tau fu is in bishan... Now thats coming out from ang moh chefs
nVidiaFX
post Apr 12 2012, 05:44 AM

you can't handle the truth.
4,880 posts

The problem with the society in Malaysia is. Where Where Why Why Where Michilen Star Chef? Restaurant. I'm not trying to say i am knowledgable but for someone to actually ask a question regarding about Michelin status one must first understand the rating system of the Michelin star.

It is actually awarded to the restaurant and not the chef and lastly The star is given not only on the taste of the food, how big the prawn is and etc it also based on the overall "eating" experience which starts from the first moment you step into the restaurant. i.e.. ambiance, service, food taste, presentation.
deodorant
post Apr 12 2012, 08:06 AM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(nVidiaFX @ Apr 12 2012, 05:44 AM)
The problem with the society in Malaysia is. Where Where Why Why Where Michilen Star Chef? Restaurant. I'm not trying to say i am knowledgable but for someone to actually ask a question regarding about Michelin status one must first understand the rating system of the Michelin star.

It is actually awarded to the restaurant and not the chef and lastly The star is given not only on the taste of the food, how big the prawn is and etc it also based on the overall "eating" experience which starts from the first moment you step into the restaurant. i.e.. ambiance, service, food taste, presentation.

The point is moot because michelin guide simply doesn't cover this region. We may have a couple of joints worthy of a star or two, but we'll never know until and unless they decide to start covering our neck of the woods.
SUSWintersuN
post Apr 12 2012, 08:34 AM

3,173 posts

Wats the big deal about wat mechelin stars or crap like dis..

Food are not rated by a guy call michelin and the price is like a million bucks.

Good food is known by eveyrone and dont need some stupid rating. U can rate your crap food super michelin and if ppl think it sucks, it still sucks
RegentCid
post Apr 12 2012, 09:05 AM

グローバル防衛構想
4,060 posts

QUOTE(WintersuN @ Apr 12 2012, 07:34 AM)

Food are not rated by a guy call michelin and the price is like a million bucks.

Good food is known by eveyrone and dont need some stupid rating. U can rate your crap food super michelin and if ppl think it sucks, it still sucks
This mean you dunno about Michelin star . To get 1 star of Michelin ...one of the request are comment from customers and food critics who eat your food and rated it.

There will be no suck food in Michelin star restaurant or chef.

The Best sushi in my life still the Restaurant Sukiyabashi Jiro at Ginza. Rated 3 star. The Chef Jiro Ono also rated 3 star . This Chef also rated by Japan Emperor as Living Treasure of Japan. SO you think to get Michelin Star are so easy?
SUSWintersuN
post Apr 12 2012, 10:47 AM

3,173 posts

This Michelin thing is game for the rich. The critics and shit only look at nice big restoran.

The guy seling mee goreng at the roadside might be able to cook way better than watever michelin mee goreng guy in big restoran. But bcos the roadside guy doesnt own a big restoran he doesnt get a stupid michelin star.

So the michelin thing is all crap if u wanna find real food
dvng
post Apr 12 2012, 11:52 AM

218 posts

I can't believe how a roadside mee sellingmamak can be compared to a real 'chef' food let alone a Michelin rated restaurant. That mee selling guy can only cook one type of food, he doesn't even know how to use other ingredients to create differrent taste etc. etc. Some people here is either on weed or something, trying to pass off mediocrity for self glorification..just like your degree and says it is equivalent to the ivy league ones and just because you may be successful in life but your degree still sucks..
SUSWintersuN
post Apr 12 2012, 12:43 PM

3,173 posts

No la i dun mean mee goreng better than michelin.

Im just givin example. I mean Michelin crap is just for the rich ppl open resotran and shit. There maybe got small restoran out there which doesnt get michelin shit cos its not up to the standard as in the investment made in the interior design and shit
samlee860407
post Apr 12 2012, 12:56 PM

4,631 posts

QUOTE(WintersuN @ Apr 12 2012, 12:43 PM)
No la i dun mean mee goreng better than michelin.

Im just givin example. I mean Michelin crap is just for the rich ppl open resotran and shit. There maybe got small restoran out there which doesnt get michelin shit cos its not up to the standard as in the investment made in the interior design and shit
Tim ho wan dim sum in HK got really normal interior, and it's rated 1 star

That restaurant can only fit around 35 customers at once and everyone have to share table and sit closely to each other

I don't see this restaurant is big, and they spend a lot in interior design and whatever shit you say too.

(Pink shirt on the left is me, that aunty beside me is someone i don't know, my gf who is sitting in front of me is taking the picture)

20111016 Hong Kong, Zhuhai, Macau (2011)-18 by samlee860407, on Flickr

This post has been edited by samlee860407: Apr 12 2012, 01:20 PM
SUSWintersuN
post Apr 12 2012, 01:13 PM

3,173 posts

Oh that 1 got michelin? hmm.gif sounds good smile.gif
samlee860407
post Apr 12 2012, 01:21 PM

4,631 posts

QUOTE(WintersuN @ Apr 12 2012, 01:13 PM)
yes, and paiseh, they become 1 star liao

http://www.discoverhongkong.com/eng/dining...helin-list.html
RegentCid
post Apr 12 2012, 02:38 PM

グローバル防衛構想
4,060 posts

Michelin Star are the Pride of All Chef Dream.

Some Chef used 25 Years to gain 1 star.

Once you get the Star...whole world people will came over to try your food. And all your Food can increase price due to the Star.

The Sukiyabashi Jiro I mention. The Price are 30,000 Yen // RM1,100 just for his 18 piece sushi + one free Sake.

RM1100 just for 18 piece sushi...why so expensive? because he is 3 star. And his still always get full house .

This post has been edited by RegentCid: Apr 12 2012, 02:39 PM
XtraSpicy
post Apr 15 2012, 05:30 AM

22 posts

as I have mentioned, theres a malaysian restaurant in NYC that got a michelin 1 star. Not necessary as good as any malaysian restaurant here. In fact I will only rate the food there 6-7/10 at most. It really depends on where the restaurant location is as someone mentioned above.

But then again, malaysian food dont need any michelin stars. The best malaysian food is always on the street...

I have tried a few michelin restaurant before, and although 3 star restaurants have really good services. I dont find them friendly enough.
C-Note
post Apr 15 2012, 01:58 PM

starry starry night
3,037 posts

malaysians don't have the mentality yet for michelin..who needs good michelin-worthy experience when people eating rojak under trees and beside cockroaches are happy?
luvimp
post Apr 16 2012, 05:31 PM

375 posts

I think Malaysia will be one of the last places they want to come to rate.
We will be the last with Indonesia, North Korea, Philippines, Vietnam, Cambodia and etc.
We are consider like 3rd world for them.
Mr_47
post Apr 16 2012, 05:33 PM

***NOT MODERATOR *** Post : +10,000,000,00 Warn: 100%
4,341 posts

lol tire at restaurant
RegentCid
post Apr 16 2012, 05:43 PM

グローバル防衛構想
4,060 posts

CNN already give penang asam laksa that at Air Itam world rank 7. If they got own restraurant with clean nice enviroment. Sure michelin 1 star.
vey99
post Apr 16 2012, 07:39 PM

Manyzer
2,851 posts

QUOTE(C-Note @ Apr 15 2012, 01:58 PM)
malaysians don't have the mentality yet for michelin..who needs good michelin-worthy experience when people eating rojak under trees and beside cockroaches are happy?
very true, and buffet seem to be the only thing on the mind.

no one cares for great service or rather cannot afford the great price.
XtraSpicy
post Apr 17 2012, 07:58 PM

22 posts

QUOTE(vey99 @ Apr 16 2012, 07:39 PM)
very true, and buffet seem to be the only thing on the mind.

no one cares for great service or rather cannot afford the great price.
hahaha. speaking of which.. When me and my friend went to Milan. There was this bar, as long as you ordered a drink (about 6euro), the buffet there is free.. Me and my friend went for rounds after rounds. And italians there just stared at us like we did not eat before.. I felt really embarrassed.
mercury8400
post Apr 18 2012, 09:28 PM

2,703 posts

QUOTE(WintersuN @ Apr 12 2012, 10:47 AM)
This Michelin thing is game for the rich. The critics and shit only look at nice big restoran.

The guy seling mee goreng at the roadside might be able to cook way better than watever michelin mee goreng guy in big restoran. But bcos the roadside guy doesnt own a big restoran he doesnt get a stupid michelin star.

So the michelin thing is all crap if u wanna find real food
You are absolutely wrong!
Michelin star is what every chef of every good restuarants are aiming for.
It's the industry recognition of the hardwork that matters.
Think of it as getting a first class honours after years of hardwork and study. You can argue all you want about the uselessness of a first class honours in the real working world, but fact is others have it while you don't.

FYI there are also a few 1 michelin star rated cha chan teng restaurants in Hong Kong. So it does not mean that the michelin guys only go to high end fine dining restuarant.

Those that complain about the michelin star and it's insignificance are usually sour grapes or who does not understand what's it like being a chef of a sucessful restuarant
SUSWintersuN
post Apr 18 2012, 09:31 PM

3,173 posts

QUOTE(mercury8400 @ Apr 18 2012, 09:28 PM)
You are absolutely wrong!
Michelin star is what every chef of every good restuarants are aiming for.
It's the industry recognition of the hardwork that matters.
Think of it as getting a first class honours after years of hardwork and study. You can argue all you want about the uselessness of a first class honours in the real working world, but fact is others have it while you don't.

FYI there are also a few 1 michelin star rated cha chan teng restaurants in Hong Kong. So it does not mean that the michelin guys only go to high end fine dining restuarant.

Those that complain about the michelin star and it's insignificance are usually sour grapes or who does not understand what's it like being a chef of a sucessful restuarant
michelin star or not, good food is good food. It cannot be rated by someone and say its the best or weatever crap... An uncle sell rojak by the road side who can beat any michelin star dessert or shit still make better rojak compare wat ever michelin crap the restoran got
mercury8400
post Apr 18 2012, 09:36 PM

2,703 posts

QUOTE(WintersuN @ Apr 18 2012, 09:31 PM)
michelin star or not, good food is good food. It cannot be rated by someone and say its the best or weatever crap... An uncle sell rojak by the road side who can beat any michelin star dessert or shit still make better rojak compare wat ever michelin crap the restoran got
Good or not depends on individual taste.
It may be good to you, but it's crap to me.
One man's meat is another man's poison.

HOWEVER, with a michelin star, at least people know that the food it DECENT. i.e. most people think it DOES NOT SUK.
That's the main use of a michelin star and guide.
samlee860407
post Apr 19 2012, 08:09 AM

4,631 posts

lol, like what C-Note says, the mentality of most people here is just not there biggrin.gif
Loto
post Apr 24 2012, 03:58 PM

114 posts

For a second there, I thought you're talking about tires!
entinggi
post Jul 13 2012, 03:02 PM

326 posts

Here's the video about sukiyabashi Jiro during one of Bourdain travels

icemanfx
post Jul 13 2012, 03:23 PM

21,458 posts

In poor community, spices are used to mask poor quality food and for them to take more staple food. In general, the poorer the community, the food (especially meat) is spicier and saltier. Those people who are accustomed to spicy food will find non-spicy food not tasty regardless of quality of ingredients and have difficulty to accept new flavour.
Historically, mamak come from poor community, quality of food or cooking is not a priority and is not in the league to compare with quality food or cooking.

deodorant
post Jul 13 2012, 04:37 PM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(entinggi @ Jul 13 2012, 03:02 PM)
Here's the video about sukiyabashi Jiro during one of Bourdain travels

what on earth does this have to do with the topic i.e. Michelin Restaurant in Malaysia? doh.gif
entinggi
post Jul 13 2012, 07:39 PM

326 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Jul 13 2012, 04:37 PM)
what on earth does this have to do with the topic i.e. Michelin Restaurant in Malaysia? doh.gif
Just sharing since someone mention about it smile.gif
appleorangeplum
post Jul 13 2012, 10:45 PM

2 cents; michelin rating just a perception of the founder and his followers.
good food or not, it's a matter of personal taste...
some like durian like god of fruits, some hate durian bcos its stinks!
if u asked, whether i would dine at 5 or 1 michelin rating. Yes of course! Not bcos of the rating, but the food!
mum's cooking is the best in the world (my opinion)- 5 michelin star for her!! hahahah

accetera
post Jan 16 2013, 05:48 PM

Ambassador of ChatHouz AI
10,777 posts

Michelin resto coming to Mid Valley already???
calebc
post Jun 30 2014, 03:02 PM

78 posts

QUOTE(yen223 @ Mar 22 2012, 09:36 AM)
Din Tai Fung's HK branches have a Michelin star each.
They only have two branches with ONE michelin star and both are in Hong Kong. The promotional flyers from Din Tai Fung, Pavilion is only for marketing purpose. blush.gif
SUSSWIZZ
post Jun 30 2014, 03:05 PM

121 posts

QUOTE(simsim @ Mar 19 2012, 12:45 PM)
i dont think so... only michelin tires. LOL i kid i kid... you can go to the michelin website and there should be a list of restaurants there with michelin stars.

i think there is a malaysian restaurant with a michelin star, but not in malaysia. if im not mistaken.
It does have the difference right? between a michelin star restaurant and a michelin star chef?

This post has been edited by SWIZZ: Jun 30 2014, 03:05 PM
calebc
post Jun 30 2014, 03:06 PM

78 posts

QUOTE(appleorangeplum @ Jul 13 2012, 10:45 PM)
if u asked, whether i would dine at 5 or 1 michelin rating. Yes of course! Not bcos of the rating, but the food!
mum's cooking is the best in the world (my opinion)- 5 michelin star for her!! hahahah
Unfortunately, the most of the rich and powerful in the west (the world) are follower of Michelin star...
SUSSWIZZ
post Jun 30 2014, 03:08 PM

121 posts

QUOTE(WintersuN @ Apr 12 2012, 08:34 AM)

By creating a standard, only they can fool ppls to make themselves to get rich ma.
icemanfx
post Jun 30 2014, 05:18 PM

21,458 posts

QUOTE(WintersuN @ Apr 18 2012, 09:31 PM)
QUOTE(appleorangeplum @ Jul 13 2012, 10:45 PM)
QUOTE(calebc @ Jun 30 2014, 03:06 PM)
Unfortunately, the most of the rich and powerful in the west (the world) are follower of Michelin star...
QUOTE(SWIZZ @ Jun 30 2014, 03:08 PM)
By creating a standard, only they can fool ppls to make themselves to get rich ma.
People who need spices (e.g. curry and chili) on every meals are unable to appreciate fine food.

This post has been edited by icemanfx: Jun 30 2014, 05:18 PM
calebc
post Jun 30 2014, 05:20 PM

78 posts

QUOTE(SWIZZ @ Jun 30 2014, 03:05 PM)
It does have the difference right? between a michelin star restaurant and a michelin star chef?
Apparently, Michelin stars awarded to restaurants and Michelin tyres are related. They were from the Michelin brothers who founded Michelin tyres.

http://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Michelin_Guide

This post has been edited by calebc: Jun 30 2014, 05:21 PM
calebc
post Jun 30 2014, 05:24 PM

78 posts

QUOTE(icemanfx @ Jun 30 2014, 05:18 PM)
People who need spices (e.g. curry and chili) on every meals are unable to appreciate fine food.
I couldn't agree with you more bro, my previous remark is supposed to have a sarcastic undertone, i somehow unable to make it so with merely texts...lol
icemanfx
post Jun 30 2014, 05:54 PM

21,458 posts

QUOTE(calebc @ Jun 30 2014, 05:24 PM)
I couldn't agree with you more bro, my previous remark is supposed to have a sarcastic undertone, i somehow unable to make it so with merely texts...lol
You can take a person out from his village but can't take the village out from him. It seems caste system remain in place subliminally.

This post has been edited by icemanfx: Jul 1 2014, 10:42 AM
SUSSWIZZ
post Jul 3 2014, 03:40 PM

121 posts

QUOTE(icemanfx @ Jun 30 2014, 05:18 PM)
Zzzzz... bro michelin star isnt the only gourmet rating in this world.
To appreciate FINE food doesnt necessarily must pay heavily FINE... bill.
May be you're lack of resources to find FINE food besides refer to Michelin Star Guidebook for FINE food doh.gif
icemanfx
post Jul 3 2014, 07:46 PM

21,458 posts

QUOTE(SWIZZ @ Jul 3 2014, 03:40 PM)
Zzzzz... bro michelin star isnt the only gourmet rating in this world.
To appreciate FINE food doesnt necessarily must pay heavily FINE... bill.
May be you're lack of resources to find FINE food besides refer to Michelin Star Guidebook for FINE food  doh.gif
Fine food start with quality raw materials e.g frozen salmon vs chilled salmon, indian beef vs angus, dory vs cod, factory chicken vs bresse, chicken liver vs goose liver, etc, which is more expensive. Without paying for quality raw materials, don't see how a chef could prepare an exceptional meal.

On menu price, if the chef is talented, shouldn't be s/he be paid more like in other profession?

Most popular food blogs are not impartial and not worth reading. http://www.theworlds50best.com is an alternative to Michelin Guide.

This post has been edited by icemanfx: Jul 3 2014, 07:47 PM
SUSSWIZZ
post Jul 3 2014, 09:00 PM

121 posts

QUOTE(icemanfx @ Jul 3 2014, 07:46 PM)
Fine food start with quality raw materials e.g frozen salmon vs chilled salmon, indian beef vs angus, dory vs cod, factory chicken vs bresse, chicken liver vs goose liver, etc, which is more expensive. Without paying for quality raw materials, don't see how a chef could prepare an exceptional meal.

On menu price, if the chef is talented, shouldn't be s/he be paid more like in other profession?

Most popular food blogs are not impartial and not worth reading. http://www.theworlds50best.com is an alternative to Michelin Guide.
Those chef that strive after the michie recognition is obviously looking for money & fame. yes they are talented too.

Let me ask you, is it possible out there exists talented chef that cooks fine food and doesnt compete for world's recognition?
If your answer above is yes then it is end of our debate. which means you agree there is fine food that doesnt costs heavy paycheck.
if you did read all the michie guidebooks every single published issues, i am sure there michie star restaurant that doesnt look fancy and it is inexpensive.

icemanfx
post Jul 3 2014, 11:28 PM

21,458 posts

QUOTE(SWIZZ @ Jul 3 2014, 09:00 PM)
Those chef that strive after the michie recognition is obviously looking for money & fame. yes they are talented too.

Let me ask you, is it possible out there exists talented chef that cooks fine food and doesnt compete for world's recognition?
If your answer above is yes then it is end of our debate. which means you agree there is fine food that doesnt costs heavy paycheck.
if you did read all the michie guidebooks every single published issues, i am sure there michie star restaurant that doesnt look fancy and it is inexpensive.
Michelin star is not won from competition and many of Michelin star chefs have never enter in any cooking competition.

Fine food start from quality ingredients, quality ingredients cost more. One just can't cook excellent meal from poor quality ingredients. Hence, it is not possible to have fine food on the cheap.

Restaurant need not serve expensive food to qualified for Michelin star. Many of one or two Michelin star is not fancy in decoration and inexpensive but the ingredients used and cooking are top notch.

Suggest you to visit Michelin star or fine dining restaurant to realise the difference.

This post has been edited by icemanfx: Jul 4 2014, 12:37 PM
calebc
post Jul 4 2014, 05:22 PM

78 posts

QUOTE(SWIZZ @ Jul 3 2014, 09:00 PM)

The key thing that defines fine food is the use of top notch ingredients, and preparation method, instead of using of chili and spices to make it flavorful...With the use of high quality ingredients, prices goes up naturally, but not always the case. It's unfortunate that some people thinks that certain nasi briyanni from their favourite mamak shop is fine food, their world is so small.
icemanfx
post Jul 4 2014, 09:23 PM

21,458 posts

QUOTE(calebc @ Jul 4 2014, 05:22 PM)
The key thing that defines fine food is the use of top notch ingredients, and preparation method, instead of using of chili and spices to make it flavorful...With the use of high quality ingredients, prices goes up naturally, but not always the case. It's unfortunate that some people thinks that certain nasi briyanni from their favourite mamak shop is fine food, their world is so small.
Most local briyani don't use proper basmati rice and stock to cook, is substandard if compared to those in middle east, Bangladesh, india and Pakistan.

SUSSWIZZ
post Jul 5 2014, 10:30 AM

121 posts

QUOTE(icemanfx @ Jul 3 2014, 11:28 PM)
Michelin star is not won from competition and many of Michelin star chefs have never enter in any cooking competition.

Fine food start from quality ingredients, quality ingredients cost more. One just can't cook excellent meal from poor quality ingredients. Hence, it is not possible to have fine food on the cheap.

Restaurant need not serve expensive food to qualified for Michelin star. Many of one or two Michelin star is not fancy in decoration and inexpensive but the ingredients used and cooking are top notch.

Suggest you to visit Michelin star or fine dining restaurant to realise the difference.
I didnt mention michie recognition is earned from competition bro, u've assumed doh.gif
trust me i do know what is michie star restaurant. i fly to singapore & HK alot and do occasionally visited michie star restaurants or restaurant that consists of michie star chefs.

do trust me, there are michie star restaurants that doesnt need to use expensive or the HIGHEST GRADE food ingredient to cook n earn the star. biggrin.gif

icemanfx
post Jul 5 2014, 12:26 PM

21,458 posts

QUOTE(SWIZZ @ Jul 5 2014, 10:30 AM)
I didnt mention michie recognition is earned from competition bro, u've assumed  doh.gif 
trust me i do know what is michie star restaurant. i fly to singapore & HK alot and do occasionally visited michie star restaurants or restaurant that consists of michie star chefs.

do trust me, there are michie star restaurants that doesnt need to use expensive or the HIGHEST GRADE food ingredient to cook n earn the star.  biggrin.gif
Restaurant could earn one or at most two Michelin star without using highest grade ingredients, but ingredients they used are still higher grade than run of the mill.

SUSSWIZZ
post Jul 5 2014, 01:39 PM

121 posts

QUOTE(icemanfx @ Jul 5 2014, 12:26 PM)
Restaurant could earn one or at most two Michelin star without using highest grade ingredients, but ingredients they used are still higher grade than run of the mill.
so that concludes they're still a michie star restaurant and aint need using top notch ingredient la. tq for your acknowledgement.
now only only i get it. rclxm9.gif
it is easier if u say u prefer michie 5stars restaurant, u r totally in ur zone no wonder keep pounding on me ler. sigh. doh.gif
icemanfx
post Jul 5 2014, 03:37 PM

21,458 posts

QUOTE(SWIZZ @ Jul 5 2014, 01:39 PM)
so that concludes they're still a michie star restaurant and aint need using top notch ingredient la. tq for your acknowledgement.
now only only i get it.  rclxm9.gif
it is easier if u say u prefer michie 5stars restaurant, u r totally in ur zone no wonder keep pounding on me ler. sigh.  doh.gif
Btw, there isn't any Michelin 5 star rating.

simsim
post Jul 8 2014, 01:35 AM

197 posts

QUOTE(SWIZZ @ Jun 30 2014, 03:05 PM)
the restaurant gets a star, not the chef. when people say a chef is a michelin star chef, it means they have/work in a michelin star restaurant.
SUSSWIZZ
post Jul 8 2014, 11:21 AM

121 posts

QUOTE(icemanfx @ Jul 5 2014, 03:37 PM)
Btw, there isn't any Michelin 5 star rating.
laugh.gif that 1 is specifically to tease u ler bro, its okay u din get it the 1st time rclxms.gif

Michelin Star 1 - Restaurant
Michelin Star 2 - Chef
Michelin Star 3 - Top Notch Food ingredient
Michelin Star 4 - Presentation
Michelin Star 5 - High Class Environment

calebc
post Jul 8 2014, 12:56 PM

78 posts

QUOTE(SWIZZ @ Jul 8 2014, 11:21 AM)
laugh.gif  that 1 is specifically to tease u ler bro, its okay u din get it the 1st time  rclxms.gif

Michelin Star 1 - Restaurant
Michelin Star 2 - Chef
Michelin Star 3 - Top Notch Food ingredient
Michelin Star 4 - Presentation
Michelin Star 5 - High Class Environment
Zzzzz, just drop it.
SUSSWIZZ
post Jul 8 2014, 01:39 PM

121 posts

QUOTE(calebc @ Jul 8 2014, 12:56 PM)
Zzzzz, just drop it.
Good idea, thank you very much for employing such act for me.
khajoe58
post Dec 10 2014, 06:39 AM

190 posts

QUOTE(WintersuN @ Apr 12 2012, 01:13 PM)
please read more a bout michelin star awards. these awards does not care about the interior of the restaurants or the service the restaurants have. it is given to the restaurants that has top notch food served.

0.0492sec    0.37    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 07:13 AM