Send me a private message if you wanna add your name. icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by chiahau: Mar 15 2012, 08:22 PM
chiahau
post Mar 15 2012, 11:20 PM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(popfish @ Mar 15 2012, 11:02 PM)
i need some guide ..  when you purchase lens is just cash n carry, credit card full pay or fully installment ? blush.gif
currently i plan for Sony Distagon 24mm F2  nod.gif
please advice. thanks  notworthy.gif
If more than 2k, I prefer use card swipe and clear 2morrow. Dislike carrying too much cash.

But, overall, prefer buy with cash/CC as long as settle on the spot.

QUOTE(8tvt @ Mar 15 2012, 11:11 PM)
if got 0 interest why not installment?
If you buy something with installment, it usually mean you are not ready to afford it.

So, if can cash, might as well pay full and settle it asap.

But if REALLY can get 0% no charge, street priced item, same price with CC or cash, then maybe....
chiahau
post Mar 15 2012, 11:39 PM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(popfish @ Mar 15 2012, 11:36 PM)
"can get 0% no charge, street priced item, same price with CC or cash, then maybe..."  <<<<<< i wish this kind of purchase matter will be happen. brows.gif
''If you buy something with installment, it usually mean you are not ready to afford it.''  <<<<<< i'm agree too, but it cause extra extend warranty 2+1 or extra gift i' ll will  be consider/
Err, explain extra warranty and free gift?

I buy cash can't get extra warranty or free gift? I think if i pay cash, the seller will be more happy and give me more freebies LOL.
chiahau
post Mar 16 2012, 12:09 PM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(shootkk @ Mar 16 2012, 12:02 PM)
Why would you want the Tamron? If you can't answer this question then it's likely you do not need the lens...
I buy because I got $$, easiest answer of all.
chiahau
post Mar 16 2012, 12:33 PM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(shootkk @ Mar 16 2012, 12:18 PM)
For wedding/indoor event, the requirement is a flash rather than any lens... If you wanted my opinion, then it's best you get the 16-35mm Zeiss f2.8 lens for wedding/indoors and travel...

If and when you upgrade to FF, then you will be set with an UWA lens and just need to get a 50mm to complement.. I'm not into telephoto but then you most probably will get a 70-200mm f2.8 which will work fine on APS-C & FF.

The Tamron is a APS-C only lens so that's the limitation.

chiahau : If I had money... the above is what I will do if I am in Bloodlust position... haha.
1635 kinda overkill eh? Well, for his purposes, I do prefer the tamron 1750 and perhaps the extra for a flash like F58am..

But to each of its own.

QUOTE(lwliam @ Mar 16 2012, 12:23 PM)
That's a rich man talking *ignored*

Popfish, bloodlust. It's not a tough question actually. You just need to know what are you going to use the lens for. Does the lens specifications be able to allow you to get the shot you are looking for? Do I need something brighter? If the lens will suit your needs that you will be using for, by all means go get it if it's within your budget.

Let's say I give an example. I want a macro lens. I will be shooting bugs but also need it for normal usage. I can't get a 30mm 2.8 macro, why? The MFD of a few cm will scare away any bugs whenever I want to do 1:1 magnification. So, I looks at other choices. 50mm? 90mm? 100mm? 180mm? I finally picked something in the middle of those range while giving me enough distance to work with. At the same time, I can use it as a tele lens and portrait lens.

Since u have already chosen the Tamron, I'm pretty sure you also read about it somewhere else before deciding to get it. If you have already made up your mind, just go for it. It's you who is shooting, not others.

Added on March 16, 2012, 12:25 pmAlbnok, wahey! Looks like my initial guess was correct then..
I was merely jesting, the answer to the question is already nicely written in your statement anyways.

@Albnok - Can we now have a TT? Since Syam got it right liao tongue.gif
chiahau
post Mar 16 2012, 01:38 PM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(jimlim007 @ Mar 16 2012, 01:29 PM)
anyone have extended warranty experience on alpha product.

I had informed by seller that warranty extend +2yrs is ONLY valid from SONY centre and NOT SONY Service centre, etc. So, if I read it right mean if my gear got issue, only can return to Sony Centre for warranty, betul kah?

and where I can find the warranty term and condition page from Sony? like want to know what type of defect is cover, what not cover in warranty...

btw, any new aipo owner here, is the legacy power adaptor easily spoil problem have overcome by manufacturer in new batch/design...?

notworthy.gif
Sadly no..

I still have alot of return cases for the Aipo adapter.

In fact, the drybox outlast the adapter by 10 years @.@
chiahau
post Mar 16 2012, 02:04 PM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(jimlim007 @ Mar 16 2012, 01:52 PM)
Chiahau thank for the info. cannot imaging they are not going to improve it. the issue is not new. even though they have TE invention. I as the potential new buyer have affected by their product problem. Will try look for Sundry then.
Well, Aipo's good. Don't worry bout the adapter, if rosak can 1 to 1 exchange one....

So, just use it XD

QUOTE(shootkk @ Mar 16 2012, 02:02 PM)
I am wondering... should I buy the Zeiss 24mm f2.0 or a second hand Minolta 85mm f1.4G?

The difference in price is not so much but the difference in usage is like heaven & earth. I love the 24mm for it's minimal distortion plus the fact that it's a Zeiss... but then I have fallen in love with my 20mm f2.8 lens. I do not think that I will be letting the 20mm go even if I get the 24mm

The 85mm is a focal length that I will use more than the 20mm or 24mm because it's not that often I go travelling...

So.. any suggestions?
Get the one you use more often. Likely the Minolta 85.

chiahau
post Mar 16 2012, 02:38 PM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(shootkk @ Mar 16 2012, 02:30 PM)
Those points that you all brought up, I have also considered. But then... if I wanna get the 85mm f1.4G then my whole body itchy wanna get the 85mm f1.4 Zeiss... only thing is the price increase is substantial...

Anyone wanna sponsor me the difference ar? Hahaha

Then if I over-think it some more... I come to the conclusion that I might as well get the 24-70mm f2.8 Zeiss and be done with it... If I have that, then I still have the 20mm prime and can still use my 85mm f2.8... and the 24-70mm can be my walk-around and quench my Zeiss lust. Only thing holding me back is the weight of the 24-70mm!! Arghhh...!!!!!
If i sponsor you 1st, can you sponsor my MBP 15" back later? I no need use money now, so can pm me to diskusi brows.gif

Added on March 16, 2012, 2:39 pm
QUOTE(jimlim007 @ Mar 16 2012, 02:36 PM)
Samyang 85 1.4 G  unsure.gif
Epic sharp lens, problem is MF all the way..

Since KK old dy, eyes maybe not so sharp liao laugh.gif

This post has been edited by chiahau: Mar 16 2012, 02:39 PM
chiahau
post Mar 16 2012, 02:41 PM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(Zicron @ Mar 16 2012, 02:40 PM)
Pakai a77 or change focusing screen can liao
I used to MF already, since getting poisoned with RF.. No issue for me actually. But not all people like MF.... That's all.

chiahau
post Mar 16 2012, 03:36 PM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(kysham @ Mar 16 2012, 03:32 PM)
shootkk: I would go with the idea of buying the 24-70Z instead. You already have the 20mm end & 85mm end covered with 2 excellent lenses. Why duplicate the 85mm focal length? The 24-70Z will proof to be more versatile and useful as a walkabout and a landscape & portraiture lens. The weight is rather unforgiving, true, but for the output, you will be pleased you lugged it around.
He said he old liao, carry such heavy lens might lead to backbone problem in future. laugh.gif

But I kinda agree with syam though.

Since you already got wide in 20, and 85 end, why not get something in between?
chiahau
post Mar 16 2012, 03:48 PM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(shootkk @ Mar 16 2012, 03:43 PM)
So... the 24-70mm Zeiss ends back up onto my list to be considered...

Decisions, decisions!!

It's a pain to lug the 24-70mm around... and it will add quite a lot of weight to my bag... I can only throw out the 50mm prime which does not weigh all that much to begin with...

How much is the 24-70mm again?
The 50mm you throw 2 me, I willing 2 accept it.
chiahau
post Mar 16 2012, 04:04 PM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(shootkk @ Mar 16 2012, 03:56 PM)
chiahau : Haha! Keep dreaming.. I'm not gonna sell the 50mm. Most is I will not bring it out when not absolutely necessary.

BTW.. just asking.. what price can you offer me on the SAL2470Z? PM me.
Wait, I go worm the cheapest for you 1st.

Since you going to sponsor my MBP later also tongue.gif

You dun 1 sell, you lease to me 1st since you are not using....

chiahau
post Mar 16 2012, 11:31 PM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(jimlim007 @ Mar 16 2012, 11:27 PM)
[WTS] Sony A900 & CZ1635
for sale
SONY a900 condition 9/10 for sale - RM5400 ...
CZ1635(sony Mount) condition 9.5/10 - RM4600
Tempting..

Alphanatics?
chiahau
post Mar 17 2012, 12:19 PM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

Wonka, your MBP is 15 inch one? tongue.gif
chiahau
post Mar 19 2012, 12:03 PM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(Blooddust @ Mar 19 2012, 11:54 AM)
not very sure ~~~ maybe chiahau can help
Retail price = RRP

RRP Dpreview got state already..

But so far no news yet, should be around April got news.
chiahau
post Mar 19 2012, 10:46 PM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

Heads-up

Sony releasing their own UHS-1 Series.

https://www.sony.com.hk/press/pdf/2012022001_e.pdf

Tempted to try this and compare with my current SanDisk
chiahau
post Mar 20 2012, 10:00 AM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(zstan @ Mar 20 2012, 07:42 AM)
Estimated price for 16gb?
The price there, multiply the HKD exchange rate lo?

Approx 100+ for 8gb, 200+ for 16gb

Should be similar with the price of our current 16gb UHS-1 cards.

@Albert - Abit disappointing. High read speed ( 94mb/s ) but write speed is halved, not as ideal as the SanDisk.
chiahau
post Mar 20 2012, 02:33 PM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(Zicron @ Mar 20 2012, 10:49 AM)
Not to forget Sony has this XQD memory drool.gif
Which so far only D4 seemed to be able to use....

QUOTE(albnok @ Mar 20 2012, 12:32 PM)
ieR: There is a Sandisk 95MB/s read, 45MB/s write?

The one I am talking about is the Sandisk 95MB/s read, 90MB/s write.

jimlim007: Indeed, not worth it for the A77, since it really needs fast write speeds to use 12 FPS.
I thought there is the

45mb/s write and 45mb/s read

And

90mb/s write and 95mb/s read

The 45mb/s is already discontinued, giving way for the new UHS-1 series.

QUOTE(zstan @ Mar 20 2012, 12:46 PM)
LOL then might as well buy from Sandisk if the price is the same. What was Sony thinking? doh.gif

Or maybe they are bundling this memory card for the a77 package then i have no complaints drool.gif
You see the exchange rate and agak2 dy?

When I bought my 77, they gimme the Memory Stick that is 30mb/s write and read? Lol.

This post has been edited by chiahau: Mar 20 2012, 02:34 PM
chiahau
post Mar 20 2012, 06:06 PM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(popfish @ Mar 20 2012, 06:00 PM)
albnok
it should under group SanDisk Extreme SDHC UHS-I , if you said 45M/s write ?  nod.gif
http://shop.sandisk.com/DRHM/store?Action=...goryID=51956100
What Albert is trying to say is, the 45mb/s one exist.

But the Sandisk Extreme UHS-1 45mb/s has the write and read speed of 45mb/s ONLY.

*Up to 45MB/s read/write speeds. Based on SanDisk internal testing; performance may be lower depending upon host device. 1 megabyte (MB) = 1 million bytes. X = 150KB/s. *

Compared to the ones that I and Albert is using, which is the Sandisk Extreme Pro UHS-1 that has a write speed of 90mb/s and read of 95mb/s

**Up to 95 MB/sec (633X) read speed. Write speed up to 90 MB/s (600X). Based on SanDisk internal testing; performance may be lower depending upon host device. 1 megabyte (MB) = 1 million bytes. X = 150KB/sec. **

He's asking iER where is the Sandisk Extreme/Extreme Pro/Etc which has the write speed of 45mb/s and the READ SPEED of 95mb/s

This post has been edited by chiahau: Mar 20 2012, 06:19 PM
chiahau
post Mar 20 2012, 11:36 PM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

Summer Ash?

That gamer chick? Lol....

6 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top