Fitness The Runners Thread V4, Everything about running...

vin_ann
post Mar 15 2012, 10:14 AM

10,912 posts

reporting in....

Congra on new thread!
vin_ann
post Mar 16 2012, 04:51 PM

10,912 posts

QUOTE(Sky.Live @ Mar 16 2012, 03:57 PM)
Trail run categorised under here? I need tons of trail training right now so that I would not DNF too badly in Tioman Eco Challenge, I did not expect it to be that difficult...
there's many runners doing trail run @ Frim and bukit kiara...

and there's a group doing night trail run at Bukit Kiara...
vin_ann
post Mar 21 2012, 10:22 AM

10,912 posts

QUOTE(leanman @ Mar 21 2012, 08:56 AM)
I just shipped in a pair of VFF Treksport and cost me less than RM300
ship in from US?

how much shipping u paid for shipping to Msia?
vin_ann
post Mar 21 2012, 04:47 PM

10,912 posts

QUOTE(tenno @ Mar 21 2012, 12:02 PM)
Sir, I've been TS for this topic for 4 versions edi, that means 10,000 posts, at least. I've already put some articles in the 1st page about how to choose a shoe & there are some very comprehensive articles about it at Running Warehouse. I dun mind sharing but sometimes when U keep answering the same thing it can get tiring. For a shoe freak to get tired answering questions about shoes, well...

The basic things about choosing a shoe will remain the same, now & forever. Shoe brands, models, technology, of course will change over time.

Newbies, just run 1st la. Some of U dun even know how much U love the sport yet. Run 1st, enjoy the simplicity of the sport & dun burden Urself with gadgets, shoes, etc.
Well said bro!

Bro, this statement should put in the 1st post. One of the MUST read statement before posting any questions.

Anyway, my situation is opposite. I know, I'm determined to take up running no matter what, thus i invested my 1st ever good running shoe which happened i got it from Choi, Saucony Triumph 5. smile.gif
vin_ann
post Mar 22 2012, 09:46 AM

10,912 posts

QUOTE(dude1218 @ Mar 22 2012, 09:01 AM)
4.45am run to hoki stadium then turn back amam 5.45 n got time rest awhile then can run again... biggrin.gif  tat what i plan.
dam! *salute* you! i trained ultra also not that early...

anyways, pls becareful when you run to Hoki Stadium. it's way too early, less people and there's robbing happened before.

last time, we loop bird park 3-4 loops before go Hartamas at 6am.
vin_ann
post Mar 22 2012, 10:01 AM

10,912 posts

QUOTE(leanman @ Mar 22 2012, 09:58 AM)
Thanks Vin_ann. We are doing as what you mentioned, birdpark loop for 10k and only continue to Hartamas. Wanna join? Plan to start at 5am
i'm now no more morning person... 5:30am wake up is so hard for me now...

Thanks for invite.
vin_ann
post Mar 22 2012, 02:35 PM

10,912 posts

QUOTE(KenYoung @ Mar 22 2012, 12:25 AM)
just sharing:

adiNation LSD 1/6

Date : 25th March 2012, Sunday

Start Time : 6.15am
Route : Bkt Aman - Sri Hartamas - Bkt Aman
Distance : 9.66km X 2 = 19.32km
Water Station : 5km at Stadium Hoki and 10km at Petronas Hartamas.

How to Register?
Registration is FOC! Just come to bkt aman on sunday morning run wit the adiNation group, after completed your run. Get a stamp on your adiNation passport. New member are welcome to join too.

Those who attend 6/6 will get adiNation vest from adidas Malaysia.
*will be my first LSD. any1 interested to join me? smile.gif
I remember, when adiNation was 1st formed and there's Lake Garden session, i was told to wear adidas vest...
feel not so comfortable with this advise... but sooner, either me busy or the hype went off or rather due to mati orang incident in KOTR, the adiNation went into sleeping mode.

now it's coming back...

LYN RUNNERS, it's TIME to wear OUR LYN sparkling GREEN VEST to show up in adiNation group!!!

Pls take note also, adiNation mainly are fast runners (u know i know), slow runners got to survive by urself. not sure there's will be sweeper at the back to pace and motivate new comers or not...

All the best!
vin_ann
post Mar 23 2012, 10:20 AM

10,912 posts

QUOTE(upled @ Mar 23 2012, 09:35 AM)
Hi all, I wish to get a running watch. Anyone can advice on that? Wish to get an affordable one at around RM 100- 150
Er.. can you define "running watch" ? when im 1st started, i'm using my old casio stop watch.
start time and end time, are enough to keep track of my timing.

Used it for 1 year plus... and then upgraded to Timex 100 laps stop watch...
Used it for 1 year plus too... it's accompany to run 100KM Sundown Ultra!

QUOTE(dude1218 @ Mar 23 2012, 09:53 AM)
running watch around rm100-150,  think u can follow my step tat i start run last time. im just a old casio digital watch user tat can get around RM20-25, then i only change when newton run promotion watch just rm 65 smile.gif
yeah bro!
vin_ann
post Mar 23 2012, 02:21 PM

10,912 posts

QUOTE(upled @ Mar 23 2012, 11:54 AM)
Thanks. But I wish to get a GPS running watch which can keep track of the running distance. There's no need for heart beat rate measurement. Just want to check out with this budget, what I can get. Won't consider myself as beginners nor a serious runner as I have been running for years on weekends.
GPS ah? this is tough. you cant get it with RM200 budget.

if you want only distance, cheapest option would be Nike Sport Band! It's gives you distance you run!

If i'm not wrong, its selling around RM229, if my memory serve me well. Last year i purchased Nike SportBand with discount when register Nike We Run KL 10KM race. If you can wait, wait for 2012 Nike Run then...
vin_ann
post Mar 23 2012, 03:52 PM

10,912 posts

QUOTE(Sky.Live @ Mar 23 2012, 02:40 PM)
haha.. guys

Run LSD real slow like it should..
QUOTE(dude1218 @ Mar 23 2012, 03:20 PM)
yeah...LSD like a man flex.gif
nah... u know i know, they wont care for your real slow pace.

5mins pace is slow to them. haha...
vin_ann
post Mar 26 2012, 04:00 PM

10,912 posts

QUOTE(ballsytennis @ Mar 26 2012, 03:29 PM)
hello, anyone here dream of participating in 4 deserts ultimate test of human endurance? sound silly but it's one of my vision to fulfill:)
hi, before you can dream about this desserts race, you need to join 10k, 21k, 42k, 100k and 100 miles races and put all these in your pocket.

you probably can start off with Malaysia Ultra, The Most Beautiful THing 100km ultra trail race which held in Sabah.

It's good to have vision, but you need to be down to earth to know what to expect and how to achieve your vision.
vin_ann
post Mar 26 2012, 04:28 PM

10,912 posts

QUOTE(seng12345 @ Mar 26 2012, 04:02 PM)
we r on  the same boat..,my final goal is cross the sahara dessert..and i'm aiming for tat for another 15 years..CHEERS!!!!!

Added on March 26, 2012, 4:04 pm
there are another event u can go is the most extreme run in m'sia.,200km in sabah..i forgot the name but the distance is 200km and tis event is for memorial for ww2 in sabah.
it's by the same organizer. Special Force 200KM. initially were 240km, and its being finalised with 200km.

anyway, if you're running enough Ultra races, you will automatically get connected with runners who done dessert races.

hope you know who i'm talking about... hehe...

on another note, your pocket need to be bottomless too. the entrance fees in USD.

vin_ann
post Mar 27 2012, 11:21 AM

10,912 posts

QUOTE(seng12345 @ Mar 27 2012, 08:28 AM)
i guess if walk hardly can finish the distance within 5 days (unless 24/7 walking i believe can be achieved) , some more the 1st day is already 55km............
i think is marching kinda speed...

Added on March 27, 2012, 8:30 am
ya..,1st time saw it...i was like *shock*..
RM at least 2k and above, plus need to bring alot of stuff...

hahaha..,there are only few ultras dare to run dessert..knew few of them...
hope can break my ultra virgin tis year..,since i've break my FM last year....hahahaha
any website can see the full list of ultras..?asia to be specific..
Follow TNF ultra races would be good enough.

good luck on ur ultra.
vin_ann
post Mar 28 2012, 04:27 PM

10,912 posts

QUOTE(carjack18 @ Mar 27 2012, 04:48 PM)
Vin_ann,

Can i ask abt TheNorthFace Series? Do u need to have some sort of map reading knowledge to enter those TNF Races or even TMBT?

TMBT yes. just learn the map reading knowlegde just in case you're lost. The trail is marked, but the marker is not reflective. Some get lost. I'm lucky as i have another local guy to run together...

TheNorthFace series, i dont know as i never join before. you can try read the rules and regulations, see if its mentions about the route is marked.

My guess TNF series have markers along the route.
vin_ann
post Apr 2 2012, 03:43 PM

10,912 posts

QUOTE(killjill @ Apr 1 2012, 09:46 PM)
Like to register as LYNR093. Thanks smile.gif

Details:
Name - Zijill
welcome. welcome.
vin_ann
post Apr 3 2012, 04:24 PM

10,912 posts

QUOTE(wct @ Apr 3 2012, 04:13 PM)
Im running with the Newton for 250km+ and still going strong the only part that wear off is the "lugs" at the sole but I think it doesn't affect much of the natural running feel. For now Im eyeing the New Balance Minimus Zero due to the overly-hyped zero drop sole.
its selling in SG for SGD165......

wonder when will NB Malaysia will bring it in...
vin_ann
post Apr 4 2012, 10:35 AM

10,912 posts

QUOTE(leanman @ Apr 3 2012, 04:30 PM)
Quoted in NB FB page "Minimus Zero. Coming to Malaysia soon."

Don't know how soon? Am eyeing for the red color
sien....

all models are coming but no MT101... nor MT110 !
vin_ann
post Apr 4 2012, 11:39 AM

10,912 posts

QUOTE(tenno @ Apr 4 2012, 11:17 AM)
Finally yesterday I managed to get myself into ISN (Institut Sukan Negara) to get a 2nd opinion on the injury on my left foot. To get to see a real sports doc to treat my injury is quite an experience. After examining the xrays & scans from my visit to Sports & Backcare Specialist August last year, he concluded that my muscle tear has probably healed, but now I'm having problems with my biomechanics. He recommended that I get a sole insert for my flat feet, but he also said that my flat feet isn't THAT flat, there's actually a low arch & he's seen worse. He also asked me to go for physio sessions. So I booked my session for the afternoon... bumping into Khairul Fahmi Che Mat in the process.

During the physio session is where the intimidation factor was at the highest. I mean, Ur at the ISN, where all the nation's top athlete train & to bump into several familar faces is....  drool.gif My last visit there was in 2000 & a lot have changed since then. One of my ex teammates is also a physio there but he was on overseas assignment. The facility was top notch... the physio assigned to me took his time to inspect my foot, asked me to go thru some simple drills to see how I walk, how I jump, etc... He actually spend a good 20 mins on my foot, every part except for the injured part. Only after he was certain that there was no other injuries & no other things that could've contributed to my injury, he was ready to go to work on my actual injury.

I had to go thru some machines... the 1st one was .. I dunno what it was called, but my foot was hammered repeatedly by a high frequency hammer... then there was a raygun-like machine, I didn't see what was happening becoz I was lying facedown all the time... After that we went to the adjacent physio gym... he wanted to work on my balance... I had to jump on a trampoline, balance myself on one foot while the injured foot was on a long foam platform... balance with one leg..on a wobble board !! Man, with both feet that would've been hard...imagine doing it on a single leg..my injured leg summore... Then he explained the process, why I had to do those things...

I'ma have another session 2moro... can't wait to go... !!  biggrin.gif
HAIH... HAIH... it's good to share your experience with us. But we public cant even get to use the service, only can tengok sini your experience in word and taste the sour grape in front of monitor....

Sour grape statement:
Just be myself. Be natural. Be own doctor to my own feets.
Be ordinary person who trying his own way to be extra-ordinary without helps of these services.
Proven via Ultra marathon completed. haha...

End of sour grape statement. Feel syok sendiri.

While, i thinks this kind of service are found in SG, as long as you willing to pay for it. like VO2 Max test is available in SG....

vin_ann
post Apr 6 2012, 02:05 PM

10,912 posts

QUOTE(elgato @ Apr 6 2012, 12:33 PM)
just want to check... how many of u run at night? to escape heat..
aiduh bro... you are wrong!

running at night is like running in steam room!

the ground been whole day grilled by hot sun, the heat is releasing from ground...
if u join Putrajaya Night run or Energizer night race, u can feel it!
vin_ann
post Apr 9 2012, 11:40 AM

10,912 posts

QUOTE(laumaggie @ Apr 9 2012, 09:33 AM)
Can pls add me to the member list, requested 2 times, but no reply? Thanks.
welcome 100th LYN runner ! rclxms.gif

QUOTE(tenno @ Apr 9 2012, 11:03 AM)
Folks, pls be advised, those who wish to get a LYNR number pls PM me, if U just post then I'm scared I might overlook some of them. So pls, PM me. I will assign based on running number, if there's any specific number U want I'll see what I can do. But the numbers assignment is totally up to my discretion. Thank you. Welcome to all new members & Maggie Lau is our 100th member. Congrats.
=.=''

bro, number assignment no need discretion, but suggested to follow the list... safe your hassle to thinks...

Suggest to new member to copy the last 5 LYN runners and add himself/herself with new LYN number and post it here to book it, and then PM you to updates at 1st page.

0.0455sec    0.51    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th March 2024 - 10:36 PM