GENNEVA MALAYSIA, some facts.., READ and UNDERSTAND

Dan01
post Oct 9 2012, 10:45 AM

186 posts

QUOTE(sHsIkuA @ Oct 9 2012, 10:31 AM)
It always bother me why they choose such a location to be the HQ instead of better places like KLCC. Even Lampeberger also picked a better place than them  laugh.gif
haha.. Lampeberger name is still said after so many years.. even those lampuburger investors brainwashed for their so called new model busines model dump RM 30k for lamps.. imagine same mentality buying a real gold product.
Dan01
post Oct 9 2012, 10:59 AM

186 posts

QUOTE(mctrader @ Oct 9 2012, 10:39 AM)
As a sociologist, I am amazed by the degree/level of denial a human can reach!.

500kg in a Harrier?, maybe can, imagine 5 man each 100kg in weight -> logic

but,...

RM 90 mil in 1 harrier or 2 Fortuner without super duper security -> epic "big file"
mini cooper can fit also.. remember the movie Italian Job..
Dan01
post Oct 9 2012, 11:15 AM

186 posts

QUOTE(silent_stalker @ Oct 9 2012, 11:11 AM)
got a new interesting info 2day, thought i'd share it with u guys. About BNM raiding genneva, and 3 other gold traders bcoz of suspected ponzi scheme is only their 2nd reason. The main reason is illegal depositing n transferring illegal funds .
This is what i am told, as genneva is a sdn bhd, it is only required to present their companies account, and where they acquired their profit in 'general' only. What BNM and the police are interested in is who are the gold buyers.
let's say im a drug kingpin, have 5 million in cash from selling drugs. Where should I keep my money? in the bank? of coz it will raise the alarm at BNM. So, I buy gold from genneva. When I buy 5 million gold from there, genneva does not inform BNM that I have 5 million worth of gold with me. I get the hibah for 3 month and then I wont sell back the gold. So, I just keep my gold somewhere safe and no authorities will know I have them.
2nd scenario- I am an overseas vip who have 'certain' interest in the politics in Malaysia, and want to give funds to a certain VVIP here. I just send some1, buy 1 million worth of gold at genneva, and give it to the VVIP. And the M.O is the same as above. Keep the gold somewhere safe, and no authorities have a clue. ( some just keep it at genneva )
So, the reason for the raid, take of the files and confiscate the gold, is to know what's the names of these high 'investors', and taking their assets from them.
info source?
Dan01
post Oct 9 2012, 04:28 PM

186 posts

Hi. Just wish to discuss more on the mechanism of how the money flows and give my opinion. Welcome comments from forumers who did the earlier calculation of 25 percent mark up from spot, and the difference is used to pay back the buyers (investors).

My view is from a view which I think Genneva Malaysia in the long run it not sustainable.

However I think the comparison of 25percent above spot price is not a fair comparison. Meaning the spot price or the per gram price sold by maybank or uob bank for the gold passbook savings rate is not a fair comparison. This is because for the gold passbook savings by local banks, if wish to have delivery of physical gold you have to pay some additional fees, so that fees needs to be added for the comparison.

I think the fair comparison is to compare the price of the international gold bullion sold by uob bank or maybank for their kijang emas local bullion coins.

So for an example. Genneva 1 Oct 2012 rates per gram. RM 218 per gram.

I use todays (I dont have the local banks bullion rates for 1 Oct 2012) rate of gold of 9 Oct 2012 . Assuming very small difference in 8 days.
8 Oct 2012 gold bullion rates.
1 ounce kijang emas local bullion sold by maybank RM 5805, RM 204 per gram. 1 ounce= 28.35grams
1 ounce aussie nugget, maple leaf or singapore lion sold uob bank RM 5711, RM 201 per gram.
10gram pamp by uob bank, RM 2025, RM 202.5 per gram,
20 gram pamp gold sold by uob bank, RM 3840, RM 192 per gram
100 gram pamp gold by uob bank, RM 19054, RM 190.5 per gram.

Gold passbook savings account by uob bank RM 176.4 per gram.
Gold passbook savings account by maybank RM 179.41 per gram.

As mentioned above, I am comparing the gold bullion physical gold rates instead of the gold passbook rates or spot price since there are additional fees if wish to take physical gold delivery.

For the genneva buyers they have to compare with the closest size since difference size has difference price for the gold sold by banks.

As a comparison i would take the 20gram pamp gold bullion at Rm 192 per gram. Genneva gold bullion is at RM 218 per gram.
A difference of RM 26 per gram. 13.5 percent more that the pamp gold bullion.

So how does genneva as a company make money? or should i say come up with the money to pay the buyers the hibah, with only 13.5 % difference.
It is not a pure ponzi, where for example 2 buyers buy the same gold and only 1 gold bullion available for the 2 buyers. There are some cash net in terms of more cash than gold, since there are 3-4 weeks waiting time before delivery, but it is enough to pay the 2 percent.
As mention this from a point of view of reason, I am excluding any vaque explanation or profit invested to get the 2 percent. Do not believe they are hedging, have some oil contracts bla bla. If really so good those contracts, can pledge the contract to banks and get cheaper loans, no need to get capital from public and giving them 2 percent per mont. Hedging has an additional fees to it also.

But i do think they are making a 25-30 percent from the gold bullion. Thats because they are producing their own wafers. Example you sell gold to goldsmiths, there are taking scrap gold price, below 25-30 percent from the current gold bullion rate. Below 25-30 percent so that the gold can be melted and reproduce as a gold bar or jewellery. So lets say, it take 10 percent of the gold cost to melt and produce back the bullion. So thats 10 percent profit for the goldsmiths or gold manufacturer at the gold market price of gold bullion sold banks as comparison. So genneva 13.5 difference to the banks sold gold bullion plus the 10 percent profit from taking scrap gold to produce own gold (as a comparison), still a 23 percent mark up profit (for 1st time sale of genneva bullion).

So if you as the genneva company how do u make money? is my question. You are not investing in some great investment returns, because no need of public money la. If a buyer keeps on buying n selling the gold from genneva he would make the 2 percent, and genneva would be at a loss when the 2 percent per month exceed the initial mark up.

What i think is, from genneva website or contract, it does not guarantee the buy back or the 2 percent hibah. Even the website does not guarantee the buy back, at some point in time genneva would stick to its original statement, where no buy back and no hibah, once it has grown large enough and public are buying gold in large quantities, with longer contract expiry.

If a buyer keeps buying more gold each contract ends or just keep increasing his gold purchase, or a rise in the gold price is enough to buy time for genneva gold. Example. I buy 10 grams, 2 percent hibah, buy 20 grams, 2 percent hibah, 50 grams, 2 percent hibah. 100 grams, then at some point in time, no more hibah and buy back, Genneva makes money from selling a huge amount of gold from between contracts starts and ends, say 6 months.
Assuming the directors wish to stick to the contracts and not break any agreement and still make money, instead of close shop and the later investors lose all their gold.

What do you think?

Dan01
post Oct 9 2012, 05:14 PM

186 posts

QUOTE(garagesell @ Oct 9 2012, 05:05 PM)
There are different types of people :
1. People watching things happen
2. People waiting for things to happen
3. People making things happen
4. worst – some people wondering what has happened.
Investors or buyers lose money go into which category?
Dan01
post Oct 9 2012, 05:28 PM

186 posts

QUOTE(cstan61 @ Oct 9 2012, 05:12 PM)
Ahem... Kijang emas 1 troy ounce = 31.105grams.

http://www.maybank2u.com.my/mbb_info/m2u/p.../INV-Investment
hehe.. thanks for the correction.
Dan01
post Oct 9 2012, 05:39 PM

186 posts

QUOTE(cstan61 @ Oct 9 2012, 05:12 PM)
Ahem... Kijang emas 1 troy ounce = 31.105grams.

http://www.maybank2u.com.my/mbb_info/m2u/p.../INV-Investment
thanks for the correction for the grams for troy ounce.

at 31.105 grams per troy ounce, best to compare the 1 ounce gold bullion at RM 5711 for aussie gold nugget.

That would make it at RM 183 per gram for the aussie gold, and compare with 218 per gram of genneva gold would be a difference of RM 35 per gram, or 19 percent above the price of the gold bullion aussie nugget 1 troy ounce sold by uob.

So if buying gold from uob better buy the 1 ounce coins, rather than the 20g or the 100gram bar.

Dan01
post Oct 9 2012, 06:04 PM

186 posts

QUOTE(KentPhan @ Oct 9 2012, 05:40 PM)
Thanks for your feedback. I don't mind sharing with you my shame investment experience.

In the past 20 years, my investments are really diversified, which including properties, shares in Bursa and SGX, unit trusts, insurance saving, foreign FDs, FDs, saving, gold saving from MBB and Singapore UOB, AS1M, newly acquiring perpertual bonds of Genting Singapore and also, Forex via FXCM.

I have made some big money and also, losing some big money. Overall, plus and minus, as per my excel records,  the past 20 years returns me with around 6% average annuity. This is as good as the EPF dividend declared in last year.

Why not, put all the money into EPF or AS1M, rather works so hard for all kinds of investments.  cry.gif

That why my eye is so RED when knowing Genneva investors were earning 25% annuity. They make me look so stupid!!!
Did you lose money from the forex trade? I dare not go into forex, one thing got to compete with all the hotshots or the big fund managers at new york and london who are privy to or at least gets information much faster that us in malaysia.
Dan01
post Oct 9 2012, 07:45 PM

186 posts

QUOTE(tandukperak @ Oct 9 2012, 05:57 PM)

gold purchase with 25% premium but came with monthly "gift" of 2% ( 24% annum)...which part of that the customers claimed that the monthly earnings help to support their family? They r their own paymaster wor. Got other interpretation meh?

QUOTE(serenity22 @ Oct 9 2012, 06:47 PM)
What you say makes sense. I have invested also for the past one over year in genneva and based on my earnings of 2-3%p/mth(depending on promo!), i made around 30%p.a. Luckily when BNM raid, the gold is already in my hands so not so 'cham' as those who didnt recv the gold yet.
I took the gold to a goldsmith last weekend and was offered around RM168/gm for my gold wic i bot from genneva at RM200. This is a loss of 16% of my capital if i had sold the gold on the spot.  And my nett gain is 14% if i less out the loss from my earlier 30% gains. So if you have bought from Genneva for over a year, you will not lose $$$

Although i am not so deeply affected by BNM raid and if really worst case- Genneva close down due to no funds and gold already, i do hope that BNM will come out with a final report and subsequently pass all the gold and money frozen to a private liquidator who will distribute proportionately back to the customers who didnt recv their gold or sell back cheques. They may not get back the full amount but then at least better than nothing.

If BNM sits on all that money and gold for years with no conclusive results then only the customers suffer, cos then BNM is just helping Genneva to close their company without any repercussions.

BNM or the governmenti should subsequently come out with an open law/regulation banning all such gold companies from operating. You cannot blame the customers from being angry at BNM, cos since 2009 when they froze the first Genneva S/B and till now no evidence of money laundering or illegal deposit taking(court case still pending!!!???) , and in 2010 the same company open again with diff name - Samudra GV and later 2011 Genneva Malaysia S/B as a syariah compliant company , BNM/MOT/POLIS MSIA has not done a thing about it!!

Infact Tun Mahathir officiated the opening of Genneva Malaysia S/B in 2010, New Premises opening was officiated by FT MCA Youth chairman in 2012  and Rosmah got souvenier (gold bar i heard?) and a cheque of RM100K for BAKTI at the GM Consultant Appreciation dinner early 2012.  The attendance of all these  ruling party dignitaries has given the impression that Genneva management has the approval, support and acceptance of the government!

Someone said that Bank Negara should have given a grace period to the Genneva management to return all the investments. During this grace period Bank Negara can then conduct their investigation and identify the legal loopholes and arm themselves to prosecute the management. Yes i also think this would have been the best instead of raiding on the 1st of the month and taking away even the employees salary cheques'!!! 

Today is the 9th day and BNM has said to gv them 14days...so ........i hope BNM will do the right thing in 5days time!!
i dont think you get what tandunperak is saying. he is saying the 2 percent is from their own money (their own paymaster). You are looking at only the 24 percent return. If genneva gave you 48 percent per year (4 percent per month) and a 50 percent premium mark up, you only look at that 48 percent? do not look see the mark up 50? If you answer say look only at the 48 percent, then you have no idea on what "unsustainable" means.

BNM has given enough warnings to the public, and put it on the watch list. And the buyers may even know it is risky. But they think they can come in and sell before the music stops.
BNM has every right to conduct the raid and investigate. The way you are talking is as if to leave genneva alone. Then what? let it go grow to 200,000 investors, and half lose their money? you said you would not be deeply affected if genneva close down or no gold or no money. So this show awaraness on your part on the musical chair. So let bnm leave genneva alone, and let investors play musical chair and see who are the winnner?

Give grace period before conducting raid? give time for genneva to transfer funds out.

For the syariah bit, the majlis fatwa has come out a resolution saying genneva is not compliant and muslim investors to stay away. This part of claiming syariah compliant might breaking some laws already.

Bank negara laws are quite specific. it does not say no gold trading. trade la watever but no deposit from public without licence, no ponzi.
If genneva can prove that the 2 percent per month comes from legitimate investment, and not from your own rolling money in the same pool and account their every gold transaction, then they can be in the clear.

Back to the question, that sceptics ask. where does the 2 percent comes from? if it is from own buyer rolling, then genneva in trouble.
2 percent comes from hedging? other investments? please prove it. very doubtful. You know why? because many many many companies or scheme say give high returns, but mostly not sustainable. High return just to entice your money.
Dan01
post Oct 10 2012, 02:07 PM

186 posts

The most ridicolous statement from the GM consultants or customers is " I Buy the gold, I do not invest. GM is not an invesment company".

Playing with words. True they "buy". But why for what? buy for the sake of buying? Buy for decorations? Buy gold and get returns not considered investing by them.
Dan01
post Oct 10 2012, 11:32 PM

186 posts

QUOTE(arubin @ Oct 10 2012, 07:09 PM)
BNM just issue a press statement.

Update on joint raids conducted by enforcement agencies on companies suspected of conducting illegal investment schemes using gold
...and the cat is out of the bag. Classic Ponzi, as we predicted. Let's see if the supporters are finally willing to face reality or continue to be in denial.
should paste this at their FB group, see what they say. Most likely still in denial..
Dan01
post Oct 10 2012, 11:55 PM

186 posts

QUOTE(arubin @ Oct 10 2012, 10:44 PM)
The Genneva supporters keep bringing up Public Gold and complaining that BNM is being unfair as that company has also made the watch list but has not been raided.

Out of curiousity, I decided to look at their website.

http://www.publicgold.com.my/v1/index.php

Now unless I am reading the website incorrectly, it looks like their MO is completely different from Genneva. It does not look like any discretionary payments like 'hibah' are being paid out. Also, it is pretty obvious that their sale price is rather higher than their purchase price which allows them to profit from the difference - just like how currency exchange works. Also, their sale price does look to be above worldwide market rates despite what they claim so they do already make a profit from each sale by itself.

There might be something fishy going on after all. I'm guessing there's a reason why BNM placed them on their watch list. Even so, at least the business model looks sustainable.

But what do you folks think? What might they be doing that is suspicious?
Public gold sell and trade gold the same way as uob bank or maybank does. Got a buy n sell price. You buy and keep. Sell when gold price higher. They make money from minting their own gold from scrap gold. No dividend nonsense. Why buy from them and not uob? Their selling point is same quality 999 but no international brand so it is cheaper and closer to spot price.

They get on the watch list, I think has something to do with their pawn or pajak gadai facility which goes under some financial regulations that they might breach.
Dan01
post Oct 11 2012, 12:47 AM

186 posts

QUOTE(sHsIkuA @ Oct 11 2012, 12:00 AM)
It's hard to sympathize with them when you read comment like this

this fella can learn a thing a two about accounting systems. balance by paper and calculator izzit..

bank daily shortage by millions?? so got a window for someone to siphone the daily million shortage before it gets balance la?

Dan01
post Oct 11 2012, 11:04 AM

186 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Oct 11 2012, 11:00 AM)
Why is that no ppl hear the alarm when Genneva 2 coming out?
Alarm bell sound got drown by potential $$ and convincing talk by consultants.
Dan01
post Oct 11 2012, 12:18 PM

186 posts

QUOTE(arubin @ Oct 11 2012, 10:46 AM)
She seemed like quite a rational person actually. I don't mean when she's talking about Genneva. Look at her background. She founded her own company that organizes seminars.

How on earth did she get caught up in this so deeply? Boggles the mind. rclxub.gif
Trainers at seminars give training and keep repeating the same thing from the training material. I would say background matches the penchant for repetitive talks.
Dan01
post Oct 11 2012, 01:27 PM

186 posts

QUOTE(KentPhan @ Oct 11 2012, 01:14 PM)
Thanks for the clearification. True, I seldom read other than Chinese newspaper.

However, I still say, they have not done the good work as EPF and PIDM. Both have advertised their message regularly in Chinese newspaper. BNM has to ensure their alerts are penetrating all levels.
BNM did their part in advertising and put on their website for the alert list. How many buyers who knows this but choose to ignore, or ask their consultant and listening to them instead.

And how many did not listen to their friends or family who says very risky..

Local gold bullion price are freely available but still wanna buy at higher price.

Added on October 11, 2012, 1:28 pm
QUOTE(KentPhan @ Oct 11 2012, 01:14 PM)
Thanks for the clearification. True, I seldom read other than Chinese newspaper.

However, I still say, they have not done the good work as EPF and PIDM. Both have advertised their message regularly in Chinese newspaper. BNM has to ensure their alerts are penetrating all levels.
BNM did their part in advertising and put on their website for the alert list. How many buyers who knows this but choose to ignore, or ask their consultant and listening to them instead.

And how many did not listen to their friends or family who says very risky..

Local gold bullion price are freely available but still wanna buy at higher price.

This post has been edited by Dan01: Oct 11 2012, 01:28 PM
Dan01
post Oct 11 2012, 02:02 PM

186 posts

QUOTE(prophetjul @ Oct 11 2012, 01:51 PM)
ITS a LOOONIe BIN for badly DELUDED Gen JUNKIes.........
we should post some sense in the page.

Dan01
post Oct 11 2012, 05:56 PM

186 posts

QUOTE(zoff @ Oct 11 2012, 05:49 PM)
I expect them to be charged in court very soon. This time the prosecutor should ask the judge to deny bail on the following grounds:

They are out on bail on genneva 1 charges and they still continue to commit the same offences.
They may abscond as they have great resources
They may use their freedom to hide assets and and move them out of the country.

If bail is allowed, it should be set at 50 million rgt  each as the charges involved sums of billions.
white collar 'crime' sure can get bail. murder and drugs only cant. bail set according to precendence of other ppl accuse of similar offence.

Added on October 11, 2012, 6:05 pm
QUOTE(wb4j @ Oct 11 2012, 04:43 PM)
To be fair to the investors, most of them were referred by their relatives and families. Many of us would let our guard down.

What's more, the co. is blessed by our former PM and current PM's wife. How could this be wrong? I would have been one of the 60k investors if someone close have me approached.
Alarms bells of high return 2 percent per month wont be loud enough? What about the pay premium 25 above market?
How about the history of the same song of too high return for whatever convincing or fantastic plan business plan which always collasped?

Can someone closed to you, make you ignore those red flaqs..

This post has been edited by Dan01: Oct 11 2012, 06:05 PM

0.0235sec    0.23    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 01:04 AM