Sound quality not satisfactory, Proton Saga 2nd Gen

TShamswat
post Mar 14 2012, 08:01 AM, updated 14y ago

iFanatic
758 posts

Hello Lyn Sifus,

I need some explanation and ways to solve a problem here.

I'm having a 2nd generation Proton Saga (Aeroback) type and last December, i decided to restore the car back and sending it to painting and all.

After getting it back, i've stripped everything in the interior, cleaned it, replace any faulty items and fixed it back.

One of the things ive managed to restore completely is the audio. All the speaker wires, HU and speakers have been replaced.

HU - Kenwood MP-246

Rear speakers - Kenwood 6x9

Front door speakers - Kenwood 6 inch

Crossovers and tweeters - Kenwood

The problem is i'm not getting any bass even if i set my settings to high (high bass) but the treble seems fine.

All the cables that i've replaced are tested with my computer speakers (Edifier c3) and performance wise, it was quite good because i was using thick cables.

So, what could be the problem here ? rclxub.gif Please advice sifu's.

inoitu
post Mar 14 2012, 08:14 AM

1,526 posts

Is the phasing of the speakers correctly done?
TShamswat
post Mar 14 2012, 08:19 AM

iFanatic
758 posts

QUOTE(inoitu @ Mar 14 2012, 08:14 AM)
Is the phasing of the speakers correctly done?
Yes. Everything is right.
Quazacolt
post Mar 14 2012, 09:24 AM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

no subwoofers? dont expect too much
newtoapple
post Mar 14 2012, 09:26 AM

56 posts

Yep...where is your subwoofer?
howiechoo
post Mar 14 2012, 09:27 AM

Sincerely providing good music since 2004
1,919 posts

thick wire wont help u on the bass.......unless u use single strand that thinnner than hair previously...

if you were using kenwood component, you can try reverse phase on 1 side of the mid bass and see if the bass increase, if so, then you got wrong phase.....check properly your positive and negative wiring..

if wiring are done right, then check your speaker install, spk should be install firmly on the door

This post has been edited by howiechoo: Mar 14 2012, 09:29 AM
zennn
post Mar 16 2012, 11:32 AM

can try adding an amp, and also can try to enclose the 6x9. where is it mounted? if its on the rear parcel shelf, then try replacing the flimsy cardboard with some thicker mdf wood..

This post has been edited by zennn: Mar 16 2012, 11:33 AM
cheelam
post Mar 16 2012, 06:13 PM

QUOTE(howiechoo @ Mar 14 2012, 09:27 AM)
thick wire wont help u on the bass.......unless u use single strand that thinnner than hair previously...

if you were using kenwood component, you can try reverse phase on 1 side of the mid bass and see if the bass increase, if so, then you got wrong phase.....check properly your positive and negative wiring..

if wiring are done right, then check your speaker install, spk should be install firmly on the door
Agree with that! Phasing & proper speaker installation is very important for getting bass.

jtdc
post Mar 17 2012, 11:32 AM

245 posts

Thanks for the posts.

If I don't have a subwoofer and no amp, but already have component speakers and tweeters at front...

Is there recommended speakers to replace my rear OEM ones to get better bass?

I'm not going SPL here (boom boom), but rather SQ that is within reasonable reach (ie. the rear door panels would not vibrate or sound crashy due to bass). I never play loud, but I do appreciate fuller low frequencies which should be provided by the bass c/o subwoofers. However I don't intend to spend on amp and subwoofer (that requires space) if possible. Not really to save cost, but to maintain the stock look and space.

So I figured, maybe your recommended rear speakers can handle the bass, then tune to have the bass go out there? Is this possible? Sorry for the noobness, it was just an idea that went thru my noob ice head.

This post has been edited by jtdc: Mar 17 2012, 11:34 AM
will92
post Mar 17 2012, 04:04 PM

162 posts

QUOTE(jtdc @ Mar 17 2012, 11:32 AM)
Thanks for the posts.

If I don't have a subwoofer and no amp, but already have component speakers and tweeters at front...

I'm not going SPL here (boom boom), but rather SQ that is within reasonable reach (ie. the rear door panels would not vibrate or sound crashy due to bass).  I never play loud, but I do appreciate fuller low frequencies which should be provided by the bass c/o subwoofers.  However I don't intend to spend on amp and subwoofer (that requires space) if possible.  Not really to save cost, but to maintain the stock look and space.

So I figured, maybe your recommended rear speakers can handle the bass, then tune to have the bass go out there?  Is this possible?  Sorry for the noobness, it was just an idea that went thru my noob ice head.
Good hu and tuning may help ~ after changed my stock hu and tuned by howie~ my cap ayam "hertz" component sounded better compared to last time~ especially when it comes to vocal~
cheelam
post Mar 17 2012, 07:31 PM

QUOTE(jtdc @ Mar 17 2012, 11:32 AM)
Thanks for the posts.

I'm not going SPL here (boom boom), but rather SQ that is within reasonable reach (ie. the rear door panels would not vibrate or sound crashy due to bass).  I never play loud, but I do appreciate fuller low frequencies which should be provided by the bass c/o subwoofers.  However I don't intend to spend on amp and subwoofer (that requires space) if possible.  Not really to save cost, but to maintain the stock look and space.

So I figured, maybe your recommended rear speakers can handle the bass, then tune to have the bass go out there?  Is this possible?  Sorry for the noobness, it was just an idea that went thru my noob ice head.
Suggest you to get a pair of 2-way or mid-bass 6" speaker to replace your OEM rear ones which has insufficient bass output.
It's good to have appropriate infrastructure & installation before tuning service is conducted.

Below are some recommendations for your reference smile.gif

Alpine SPS-600
2-way 6 inch speaker

Stellar SD-6WF3
Mid bass 6" speaker

Or you'd choose a compact subwoofer to be placed under car seat that could maintain your car capacity while obtaining better bass.
Aura 10 inch compact Subwoofer

Hope this helps!
jtdc
post Mar 17 2012, 09:52 PM

245 posts

thanks cheelam for the inputs, i research whenever i have idle time.
TShamswat
post Mar 18 2012, 07:50 PM

iFanatic
758 posts

@cheelam, thank you. I've changed all my speakers and it seems that my 6x9's are faulty thus it cant produce any bass.
cheelam
post Mar 19 2012, 12:06 PM

QUOTE(jtdc @ Mar 17 2012, 09:52 PM)
thanks cheelam for the inputs, i research whenever i have idle time.
QUOTE(hamswat @ Mar 18 2012, 07:50 PM)
@cheelam, thank you. I've changed all my speakers and it seems that my 6x9's are faulty thus it cant produce any bass.
welcomed~ have fun with ICE

0.0194sec    0.73    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 04:40 AM