Samsung Galaxy S II Official Thread V29, Welcome Ice Cream Sandwich!

liquidvamp
post Mar 19 2012, 10:05 PM

★★★★
774 posts

QUOTE(fwhoam @ Mar 19 2012, 10:03 PM)
alright. downloading.. now after i have this file, i just need to follow the steps on the 1st page?
any chance that my phone will spoil? unsure.gif
liquidvamp
post Mar 19 2012, 10:10 PM

★★★★
774 posts

QUOTE(fwhoam @ Mar 19 2012, 10:08 PM)
if u just follow the steps, i think there will be no prblem. good luck  laugh.gif

Added on March 19, 2012, 10:09 pm

multi csc package
*scared* lol. here goes. tongue.gif

how can i know if my phone is rooted or not?
liquidvamp
post Mar 19 2012, 10:19 PM

★★★★
774 posts

QUOTE(snigapoe @ Mar 19 2012, 10:12 PM)
check for super user or cwm apps
or you can go download TB
upon launching you will know
or es file explorer, if can go to root then is rooted
before that, there will be dialog ask for root access
QUOTE(fwhoam @ Mar 19 2012, 10:12 PM)
u will have superuser icon in ur app drawer.
QUOTE(Positron @ Mar 19 2012, 10:15 PM)
There will be a superuser icon and you can download apps which needed superuser permissions for example titanium backup pro, screencast, and of course setcpu..
okies. rooting doesnt make my apps dissapear right?
after rooting, there will be a superuser app in my app drawer and i should download TB for backing up my files right?

sorry sifus for these noob questions. notworthy.gif
liquidvamp
post Mar 19 2012, 10:24 PM

★★★★
774 posts

QUOTE(snigapoe @ Mar 19 2012, 10:22 PM)
yes you can dl TB if you wanted to backup your app
but if you require to batch restore recommand to upgrade to paid version
QUOTE(fwhoam @ Mar 19 2012, 10:22 PM)
rooting give u superuser, and will not remove ur apps.
after root can straight go to market and download titanium. thumbup.gif
alright! now only it's clear to me. haha xD
anyways, sifu², whenever i open kies (after reinstalling the driver), it says "The device is not supported by Kies 2.0". what happened? rclxub.gif it was fine last week.
liquidvamp
post Mar 19 2012, 10:29 PM

★★★★
774 posts

QUOTE(fwhoam @ Mar 19 2012, 10:27 PM)
never encounter that problem before. try restart ur kies.
restarted, still the same thing. what's the use of kies anyway? XD
liquidvamp
post Mar 19 2012, 10:40 PM

★★★★
774 posts

QUOTE(fwhoam @ Mar 19 2012, 10:36 PM)
try update latest version of kies.
kies is used to update official firmware.
but many people prefer odin than kies.
okies. thanks alot for the explainations! biggrin.gif

QUOTE(n8210 @ Mar 19 2012, 10:38 PM)
so many videos in youtube that explains everything. watch there better than ask here. really!!
alrighty. i'll try to youtube too. thanks!

again, sorry for the noobness. notworthy.gif dont marah me aaa >.<
liquidvamp
post Mar 20 2012, 01:04 PM

★★★★
774 posts

QUOTE(Positron @ Mar 20 2012, 12:56 PM)
Everybody just relax, S3 will be out before Olympics, but reach here after Olympics, but before the end of the world , which is 20 December 2012.. So just do other things like custom ROM on the S2 while waiting for it..

drool.gif
sauce? tongue.gif
liquidvamp
post Mar 20 2012, 06:10 PM

★★★★
774 posts

QUOTE(blackchides @ Mar 20 2012, 05:40 PM)
Anyone tried using the phone in GSM mode (EDGE) only; turning on 3G only when you need it?

How significantly does it improve battery life?
i tried turning on the 3G/HSDPA when i need it, it improves battery life quite good la biggrin.gif
liquidvamp
post Mar 21 2012, 04:25 PM

★★★★
774 posts

QUOTE(hashinclude @ Mar 21 2012, 04:15 PM)
How to do this exporting to .vcf? I also need to transfer some of my contacts that is not in the simcard but in my old nokia slider phone.  Is there a fast way to extract the data from that phone to the S2?
i exported all of my contacts in my old nokia N86 to my S2 via bluetooth. haha XD

EDIT: *transfer. not export. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by liquidvamp: Mar 21 2012, 04:26 PM

0.0386sec    0.27    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 04:39 PM