University Multimedia University Thread V4, ....Inquire, Inspire and Innovate

thpace
post May 12 2012, 12:41 AM

Rising Star
1,210 posts

i will see this year what SRC will do again... Hope not some excuse given we are unable to bla bla bla
thpace
post May 13 2012, 08:45 PM

Rising Star
1,210 posts

QUOTE(vigesh @ May 12 2012, 08:19 PM)
guys ...im about to enter MMU melaka at the nex intake ...im gonna do foundation in engineering so i wud like to ask u guys ...jus wanna knw abt the lifestyle of melaka ..is it fun ? is it nice ?? i knw its unrelevant to tis thread but i dunno wer else to ask dis tq
Melaka is a small state withing a year you can mostly explore most of melaka ad. I been living in melaka for the past 23 years. Dah jelak tongue.gif

BTW, who hera doing postgrad? i planning to do postgrad Master in eng, any experience here?
thpace
post May 13 2012, 09:04 PM

Rising Star
1,210 posts

QUOTE(Mr5019 @ May 12 2012, 07:56 PM)
Greeting to all Senior, today i just check my application status via MMU website,for my surprise MMU offer me the course i do not apply for which is Foundation In Managment!!  rclxub.gif My First 3 choice is Foundation in Life science,Foundation In Engineering and Foundation in Law...are MMU do the mistake or what? Can i transfer to Foundation in Life Science after Orientation week? Thanks for the reply!!!!
how was your result? Do remember that university reserve the right to change your choices if they think you are not suited. Could be technical error or something else

The best is to call up MMU and ask about it. If necessary, proceed with the appeal

Added on May 13, 2012, 9:13 pm
QUOTE(Human Nature @ May 13 2012, 08:58 PM)
What do you want to know? and you intend to do by-rsearch (MEngSc) of by-coursework (MEng)?

There is a Tea Session on postgraduate opportunity with final year students this coming Tuesday right?
yup planning on going. I thought mmu only offer master by research for engineering (MEng Sc), I also planing to do MBA part time if i can coup. But seem Melaka campus is already out. BTW i mechanical, so going into electronics field abit of an alien nation for me

So any experience that is valuable? like becoming RO or part time tutor. Most mmu tutor are doing their master it seem

This post has been edited by thpace: May 13 2012, 09:15 PM
thpace
post May 13 2012, 09:39 PM

Rising Star
1,210 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ May 13 2012, 09:24 PM)
Most candidates are doing the by-research route. FET offers MEng too (Master of Engineering in Advanced Manufacturing Management) but not many candidates are doing it recently.

There is no longer Tutor post, has been replaced by Assistant Lecturer. Yes, all Assistant Lecturers are doing Masters, either at MMU or at other universities. Doing master is a requirement for the post.

Another way is to be RO/RA/GRA but this depends on availability of project/funding. The title and scope of course is tied to the project/funding, thus you are not able to propose your own topics and cannot choose supervisor.

You will go crazy if you plan to do MBA concurrently.
if by research we can suggest topic or meet lecturer regarding their topic ? What the different becoming and RO and doing master by research?

MBA is for later consideration. So far that in planing already. Well a few of my senior i consulted, it best to do master b4 u start work. Once start work you will too busy and the mode to study no longer there

This post has been edited by thpace: May 13 2012, 09:40 PM
thpace
post May 13 2012, 10:13 PM

Rising Star
1,210 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ May 13 2012, 09:53 PM)
By research, you can propose your own topic and propose your own supervisor subject to his/her agreement. Some lecturers already have their own topics which you may be interested too. I assume you will meet up with him/her to discuss and draft the proposal before submitting the application to IPS. Usually no issue unless that topic is really not suitable and/or the proposed supervisor is not eligible to supervise postgraduate (due to expertise, qualification, quota, etc).

RO-ship is a actually post, and your will be doing master by research too.

Many people like to point out that working life is busy thus unable to do masters. My opinion is that, you are busy because you are doing masters. Working life is just working hours and after that you can go home, chillax. But doing masters, you are actually thinking and researching all the time, even after office hours.
Thanks for the info. By becoming RO usually the topic and the funding is provided and once the research is done, u get your master, am i right?

Almost the same as by research, the diff is that you may choose your topic or suggest. How about the funding mayb have to self sponsor? whistling.gif

This post has been edited by thpace: May 13 2012, 10:14 PM
thpace
post May 13 2012, 11:32 PM

Rising Star
1,210 posts

hemm become assistant lecturer and in same time do master look like not bad. At least some of the pay can go into funding hmm.gif

alright, will attedn the talk and see the option available. BTW u doing master?
thpace
post May 14 2012, 12:07 AM

Rising Star
1,210 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ May 13 2012, 11:50 PM)
as far as i know, no assistant lecturer ever hv to use his/her salary to fund their master lol. but have to teach and do admin work la. yeah, i suggest you to go. there might be other lecturers looking for potential students / recruitment.

dont ask bout me la  tongue.gif
y canot tell pulak? hmm.gif hmm.gif
so secretive...Dont tell me, u a lecturer spy or a lecturer himself rolleyes.gif rolleyes.gif

QUOTE(vk9545 @ May 13 2012, 11:59 PM)
Omg realy..but 350 is like for pmr use..spm also they let 570 to be used..in uni 570 cnt b used? Wat is this?
570 can be programmed and various thing such as matrices, quadratic equation solution etc etc. Of course once u work u can just use, university train u to learn and use the fundamental in case u no calculator. How?, u want tell your boss "'bos, i dunno count coz no calculator?'' wink.gif

This post has been edited by thpace: May 14 2012, 12:09 AM
thpace
post May 14 2012, 12:13 AM

Rising Star
1,210 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ May 14 2012, 12:08 AM)
MMU so small, everybadi know everybadi lol  cool2.gif
laugh.gif true, if u FET it even smaller brows.gif brows.gif

Mission: stalk Human Nature liao
Objective: To know the individula behind the username
Programme Outcome:*To be determined*
Learning Outcome: *To be determined*

Hemm, not bad outcome based education rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by thpace: May 14 2012, 12:13 AM
thpace
post May 14 2012, 12:19 AM

Rising Star
1,210 posts

as a student or as a lecturer?? brows.gif brows.gif

wuuhuu kena counter-stalk. Must sent Representative liao whistling.gif
even u get to pinpoint me, u will be surprise i am a gal
thpace
post May 14 2012, 12:24 AM

Rising Star
1,210 posts

u know i wat batch meh? woo self information leaking. Start misinformation plan
thpace
post May 14 2012, 12:29 AM

Rising Star
1,210 posts

engineering confirm ban 570. other i dunno. I think all ban because senang for invigilator also since sometime can share exam venue with other students
thpace
post May 14 2012, 12:37 AM

Rising Star
1,210 posts

570MS is not allowed. Most of us got 570MS only

just bring into exam hall, if kena rampas mean canot lo.

Added on May 14, 2012, 12:39 am
QUOTE(Human Nature @ May 14 2012, 12:33 AM)
haha dun need to have so big reaction. later you get scared and cancel your mmu plan  brows.gif
final year mah, asking about masters dy
sweat.gif accidentally leaked own information

This post has been edited by thpace: May 14 2012, 12:39 AM
thpace
post May 14 2012, 12:46 AM

Rising Star
1,210 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ May 14 2012, 12:44 AM)
lol if kena rampas gg la unless got spare calculator or abacus
wuuhuu.. find stresses using abacus.2 hour exam also not enough smile.gif
thpace
post May 20 2012, 07:09 PM

Rising Star
1,210 posts

QUOTE(kailoonthedog @ May 17 2012, 04:37 PM)
I also senior , but not a helpful senior
1 year ad consider senior brows.gif

QUOTE(Therenho @ May 18 2012, 07:29 PM)
Are there any SRC member here? Got question need to ask.
the old prez have grad ad, no one to argue ad about src

QUOTE(vk9545 @ May 20 2012, 11:32 AM)
Ixora is an apartment bro..so all 8 room mates share same bathroom.
.It is compulsory to atend orientation..tats where u get info abt ptptn ,subject registering and others..if u missed it wil b hard for u to go around and ask every1..

Added on May 20, 2012, 11:33 am
Thanks and how abt the shoes?? Do we need any track suits?
why would u wear track suit in campus? hmm.gif

QUOTE(NXaqua @ May 20 2012, 01:34 PM)
Hi Human Nature,

I be sending my daughter for the June intake as she have been accepted by MMU Melaka.

As we are arriving 2 days early before the registration day,can you recommend any hotel nearby ? Appreciate it very much .

Added on May 20, 2012, 1:50 pmBtw,I have read your FAQ that the cost for Foundation in IT is around RM12K. How can we get the actual cost and the payment is half yearly or one lump sum ?

Thanks again.
The basic will be around RM8K usually for foundation. Will add in additional cost like library fees, IT fees etc etc. Total u can look around 9k for foundation studies.

Payment as in per sem? usually around 3-4k long sem and 2k for short sem (mmu have 2 long sem and 1 short sem). Payment is done near the end of each sem.
Payment can be done through credit card, banker cheque , online banking etc. No cash over RM300 counter as MMU have changed to no receiving large amount of cash over counter

QUOTE(OFTS05 @ May 20 2012, 04:34 PM)
How is MMU's Bachelor of Computer Science ( Software Engineering ) ?
How are the lecturers ? Are they good ? Mind to share your experience in that course ?
A very subjective question. Some might say it bad, might say it good. Anyway, u will meet lecturer who explain well and some who dont. In the end, it up to your own effort to revise what you study.

This post has been edited by thpace: May 20 2012, 07:11 PM
thpace
post May 20 2012, 07:24 PM

Rising Star
1,210 posts

ya meh? guess sudah naik harga liao laugh.gif

Yup, Around 11-12K for foundation in business. Macam degree fees ad sweat.gif
thpace
post May 20 2012, 10:59 PM

Rising Star
1,210 posts

QUOTE(vk9545 @ May 20 2012, 09:24 PM)
Oh 1 outdoor activity..wat is tat activity?
games, actually depends on the orientation committee what they plan
thpace
post May 22 2012, 02:28 AM

Rising Star
1,210 posts

QUOTE(vk9545 @ May 21 2012, 08:16 PM)
I need to ask..do we realy need to buy a personal printer? Is it very necessery?in uni or outside uni hv any printing shops?which is easy? Getting a personal printer or using the printing shops?Any 1 hv a experience?

Added on May 21, 2012, 8:17 pmI need to ask..do we realy need to buy a personal printer? Is it very necessery?in uni or outside uni hv any printing shops?which is easy? Getting a personal printer or using the printing shops?Any 1 hv a experience?
if you are in engineering, i suggest get a printer. Plenty of notes to print. A laser printer is a good investment. My laser printer have serve me well for 3 years

second, a hard copy on paper is a good material for revision. Trust me, read soft copy on PC is just distracting. Mayb i old skool but it works
thpace
post May 22 2012, 12:47 PM

Rising Star
1,210 posts

1) i am too poor to get and ipad, i still use a cheopo nokia

2) 5min reading note, 55min siting down playing games. Notice many times ad

3) Ipad cost RM1.5k let say minimun lah. I can buy 10 laser toner with that and each toner is rated to almost 1500+/- paper. Mean i can print 15000 notes. More than enough to last entire degree course. After 3+ years of using i only use 11k of papers. If you know how to save lah like printing 8 slide in one page. Money into investment, i doubt u would want ipad that last u 4 years. Tat time outdated liao loh
thpace
post May 22 2012, 03:34 PM

Rising Star
1,210 posts

QUOTE(QQHTJ @ May 22 2012, 03:09 PM)
I'm staying at Bandar Kinrara,Puchong.Do you guys think am i convenience to drive to MMU,Cyberjaya everyday? Or staying in hostel? I need opinion smile.gif
Personal opinion, if driving take more than 1.5 hour to reach or could stuck in jam for many hours. I would get an hostel. Diving for one hour, is still bearable for me unless it a long distance trips

imagine class at 8am and u need get up at least 6.30am for you to up and ready. Imagine u have one hour tutorial, u need to drive 1 hour go, 1 hour tutorial and another hour back home. laugh.gif
thpace
post May 22 2012, 08:18 PM

Rising Star
1,210 posts

the only time u will be using the scan function is when frend msg u asking u to send hand written assignment answer to him. whistling.gif whistling.gif

0.0517sec    0.74    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 03:10 PM