SAMSUNG GALAXY NOTE™ | V9, Phone? Tablet? It's Note!!!

entaro
post Mar 30 2012, 11:31 AM

486 posts

QUOTE(benny888 @ Mar 30 2012, 10:45 AM)
NO lah ! Just because you hear some users complaining doesn't make it it a common issue. Both my SME and AP sets do not have such issues. Banding does occur but is slight and that is due to the nature of the SuperAmoled. Dark scenes being pixelated is definitely an unacceptable issue

Added on March 30, 2012, 10:46 am
Mine is exactly the same - at least it looks the same to me ; one is local SME while the other is AP ( UK set )
You have to view the dark scene in a slightly dark environment... all the note I tested have the same issue....
entaro
post Mar 30 2012, 05:23 PM

486 posts

QUOTE(benny888 @ Mar 30 2012, 11:46 AM)
I tested mine in a completely dark room - don't see any pixelated issues. It does not affect all users only some users. And frankly if you can only see such in a dark rom, you either accept it or you can go claim warranty. If me I will accept it as 99  % of the time I don't view my Note in a completely dark room
If you have Real Steel... try to view the movie opening few minutes and you will see the problem... anyway, you are right, I accept it as I don't watch much movie on the note... only on Ipad wink.gif
entaro
post Mar 31 2012, 12:26 AM

486 posts

Any car holder to recommend or should buy the ori one...

http://www.ebay.com/itm/VEHICLE-CAR-MOUNT-...#ht_11740wt_905
entaro
post Mar 31 2012, 06:23 PM

486 posts

QUOTE(antu_biskut @ Mar 31 2012, 03:59 AM)

i just use this vehicle dock kit..

edit:omg y my pic so big??  blink.gif
Where you got this and how much?

entaro
post Apr 1 2012, 10:14 AM

486 posts

is there an offline google map for malaysia / singapore to download?
entaro
post Apr 2 2012, 08:47 PM

486 posts

QUOTE(benny888 @ Apr 1 2012, 10:08 AM)
In my small town Batu Pahat, when I go out to those kopitiam cafe I noticed many Note users and majority are GIRLS !!! And all young girls in their mid twenties

Added on April 1, 2012, 10:12 am
Could be your telco line . Never have issues with whatsapp and gmail. I don't use seesmic. All my other apps needing 3G - eg Tweetcaster, Friendcaster, Google Reader, Currents work very well on my 3G ( previous Digi and present maxis ) but  sucks on Celcom
has always been same on official stock roms to all the GB cook roms and present ICS roms
Batu pahat is not a small town anymore.. so many high rise the last I went 2 years ago.. the singaporean must have spent a lot there wink.gif

It is my father's kampung wink.gif

Added on April 2, 2012, 8:49 pm
QUOTE(wayneraul @ Apr 1 2012, 09:29 AM)
Not bad, the girl.. drool.gif
But too long.. and she babble too much...smile.gif

This post has been edited by entaro: Apr 2 2012, 08:49 PM
entaro
post Apr 2 2012, 08:49 PM

486 posts

QUOTE(s2000c @ Apr 1 2012, 10:17 AM)
sygic...
google map la...

Added on April 2, 2012, 8:52 pm
QUOTE(wayneraul @ Apr 1 2012, 10:17 AM)
offline google map means we have to pre-install the whole malaysia map inside our phone?
Yes.. IOS has one apps that do this I believe parkour lab... so I thought maybe android has one as well... we can pre-cache but ma fan lo... you guys on ICS should really try the ownhere google map 6.5, extremely smooth and voice navigation works perfect...

This post has been edited by entaro: Apr 2 2012, 08:52 PM
entaro
post Apr 3 2012, 01:39 PM

486 posts

QUOTE(Superman7 @ Apr 1 2012, 10:22 PM)
hmm.gif
I think the software part is still a problem.
Hopefully the much hype ICS could help to improve the camera performance.
Confirm improve even on the ICS leak version...
entaro
post Apr 3 2012, 01:40 PM

486 posts

QUOTE(ogiveyakuza @ Apr 1 2012, 11:02 PM)
Old is Gold, dats y we need to appreciate uncle benny...

Added on April 1, 2012, 11:04 pmbtw, where to get clear sp, but not too sticky besides sgp...?
+1 , he is the man... smile.gif
entaro
post Apr 3 2012, 01:42 PM

486 posts

QUOTE(Superman7 @ Apr 1 2012, 11:37 PM)
icic..
I'll probably give it a try in the near future.
Currently wanna experiment the battery life based on my usage.
This morning got up at 7am with the battery 100% and by 9.30pm the battery is below 10%.
Usage is mostly internet browsing, Navi for approx 35mins, email, playing Air Attack HD, Draw Something..
Draw something.. sucks juice... A LOT...
entaro
post Apr 3 2012, 01:56 PM

486 posts

QUOTE(Cynox @ Apr 3 2012, 10:30 AM)
i can sense a Note fetish...lol.  Ever since i got the lovely SGP Leather case, love it even more.  laugh.gif

btw, dun know whether this happen to you - occasionally i see people holding BIG hand phone on their hand in coffee shop or restaurant. I was thinking "walao... that hand phone so big!!".  Then when i go nearer to check - it is actually our lovely Note...lol.   Just wondering why it actually feel just okay in our hands but looks so gigantic in other users' hands.  It happens to me few times.  tongue.gif
I have the exact same feeling... wink.gif

Added on April 3, 2012, 2:59 pm
QUOTE(Red Tsubasa @ Apr 3 2012, 10:40 AM)
Some one ask me in the lift .... wow what phone is that ....

I'm Proudly said ... ' It's SAMSUNG GALAXY NOTE'  wub.gif
And after that they wil say wow it's a huge phone.. how is it?

and I will say can't leave without it... it is THAT good...lol...

Added on April 3, 2012, 3:01 pm
QUOTE(Red Tsubasa @ Apr 3 2012, 11:18 AM)
not this 1 lar !!

this 1

RTL Patch as flashable zip: http://ma-kistim.ch/Downloads/RTL_Patch_LC1.zip
HOTFIX for installing newest SamsungApps, Flashplayer and Google Maps 6.5.0 as flashable zip: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...postcount=9243
HOTFIX for Banding-issue solved: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...postcount=9282
XDA link not working...

Added on April 3, 2012, 3:05 pm
QUOTE(Superman7 @ Apr 3 2012, 01:44 PM)
if you don't keep it running in the background (exit the app), I think it's OK.
Of course, if you don't run it it won't suck any juice but when you are playing it... whoommm. your batt life goes down the drain wink.gif

This post has been edited by entaro: Apr 3 2012, 03:05 PM
entaro
post Apr 3 2012, 08:51 PM

486 posts

QUOTE(sarf2k4 @ Apr 3 2012, 05:10 PM)
any solution to problem cant add contacts?

it says "The process android.process.acore has stopped unexpectedly. Please try again"

help please
Clear data for contact...

Added on April 3, 2012, 8:52 pm
QUOTE(Superman7 @ Apr 3 2012, 07:36 PM)
Manage to clock 22h 21m 21 sec on my Note today.
Started with 85% and now it's 8%.

Usage for the day: Draw Something, SMS, Internet browsing, Gmail, Whatsapp, Bluetooth Streaming (50mins), light calls..

What do you think?
Using Stock ROM LC2.
It's excellent...

This post has been edited by entaro: Apr 3 2012, 08:52 PM
entaro
post Apr 3 2012, 09:01 PM

486 posts

QUOTE(benny888 @ Apr 3 2012, 08:06 PM)
Four hours on Midnote latest ICE rom ver 3.0 ; no major issues. If you read the XDA forum, don't know why several users got so much problem - probably is their flashing methods
This is the best ICS rom with Samsung apps

This rom is now on 1.4 Ghz unlike previous limited to 1.2 Ghz
It is on latest kernel LP5 and baseband LP5
USB OTG cable works very well now: it can be detected at /mnt/sdcard/usbstorage/usbdriveA

[attachmentid=2771493][attachmentid=2771495]

Our user here jjamain has posted a summary of the steps at XDA to flash this rom which I reproduced here:

1. STARTING BASE MUST BE GINGERBREAD WITH FULL ROOT
2. Mobile Odin
Open file...= MIDNOTE2.1_BASE.tar. http://69.46.67.99/mexicet/MIDNOTE2.1_BASE.tar
Kernel= zimage. Extract "midone3-kernel.tar" to get the zimage file. http://69.46.67.99/mexicet/midone3-kernel.tar
Enable everoot, inject superuser, inject mobile Odin, wipe data and cache are CHECKED
Press Flash Firmware
Answer "yes" on md5 verify

3. After the flash, you will be in CWM recovery. Select reboot
4. ONLY FIRST TIME you will see statusbar only
5. Long press power button, then select "reboot". You will have FRESH MidNote2.1.
6. Run Mobile Odin and make sure it has root permission
7. Reboot into CWM Recovery
8. Flash "MIDNOTE3.0.zip". http://69.46.67.99/mexicet/MIDNOTE3.0.zip . DON'T DO ANY WIPE IN THIS STEP, SIMPLY REBOOT
9. Now you are in MIDNOTE3.0 WITH FULL GAPPS INCLUDED
10. Reboot recovery using CWM manager (not 3 combo button)
11. Do a FULL WIPE DATA / FACTORY RESET, then wipe cache (NO Dalvik), then reboot
12. Check time option to "auto", then CHECK BOTH GOOGLE LOCATIONS option to "ON"
13. DO NOT ENTER YOUR GOOGLE ACCOUNT name and password in this step, finish your setup
14. Now select "APEX LAUNCHER"
15. Open Market and install "Maps", set GPS "off"
16. Open Maps, answer "ignore" if wants to check positions settings
17. LOCATE YOUR POSITION (wifi or 3G data must be ON)
Sui la I will try it out... downloading 3.0 now..

This post has been edited by entaro: Apr 3 2012, 09:02 PM
entaro
post Apr 4 2012, 01:02 PM

486 posts

Finally downloaded all the files!

Benny, is the easiest way to go back to GB rooted from Criskelo ICS rom is via PC Odin using STOCK ODEX PRE ROOTED ROMs from this thread : http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1535025 ?

entaro
post Apr 4 2012, 11:54 PM

486 posts

QUOTE(Scorch6 @ Apr 4 2012, 10:02 PM)
Hi sifus...got a question to ask here for my friend who is using a note.
Recently I found out that she is able to use the Navigation app from Google which I always thought it is not available in this region. Why is this so?
And another issue came up where her phone has been eating her data non stop. Had 3G watchdog installed but it exceeded the 3Gb limit. She whatsapp,email and probably surf a little so some app must be draining her data the moment she turn it on. How do I pin point which process to shut down? Any ideas will be much appreciated.
I'm using it as well... the 6.5 version is quite good actually... google ownhere google map, XDA has a thread dedicated to it...
entaro
post Apr 5 2012, 11:27 PM

486 posts

Anyone play chess here? If yes, please install chess time and send me a game request my nick is entaro, play for fun ler...

thanks.
entaro
post Apr 5 2012, 11:56 PM

486 posts

QUOTE(peterscm @ Apr 5 2012, 12:17 PM)
Just got new add-on (toy) for my Note.

Now chagring the unit. Will do more testing and report back later.
Nice nice... I ordered mine last week from ebay... still waiting for the shipment, I presume it can only charge the batt once?... is it bulky when slip on?
entaro
post Apr 6 2012, 12:22 AM

486 posts

QUOTE(Zeekgreymon @ Apr 5 2012, 11:33 PM)
Greetings ! planning to get Gnote in the future. really great features especially the size of the screen, bt may i ask u guys 1 question? does it look weird when make or take a call with that big phone?
I don't feel weird at all, I feel kinda cool actually wink.gif

0.0376sec    0.71    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 02:15 PM