2005 1.8G ALTIS or NEW PERSONA?, can't decide=.="

shiyau
post Mar 10 2012, 10:40 PM

**KilleRom-no more**
693 posts

are you planning to mod your car? if you plan to mod then I'd go for Altis.. biggrin.gif
shiyau
post Mar 10 2012, 10:57 PM

**KilleRom-no more**
693 posts

QUOTE(jonas.hoh @ Mar 10 2012, 10:49 PM)
as far as i can say toyota has reliability even if it has 7 years and they don't depreciate as much. I don't intend to mod the car, perhaps keeping it to factory condition. If i were to own altis i'd consider having it for a longer period of time. well of course i know the risk of having a second hand car, but those can be settled by cautious observation as well as sending to mechanic to check.

for persona, i do know that proton has improved quite a lot comparing to previous designs but i highly doubt it would last long. even though the quality is somewhat okay for me. But then again it is a new car we're talking about so the indecisiveness kicks in
if you do not intend to mod that car and plan to keep it as stock as possible, I'm suggesting you to go for persona. new car, got free service from Proton. Old car no matter BMW Ferrari or what, you still have to touch up quite a lot of wear and tear parts.. Timing belts, suspension, overhaul perhaps, bla bla bla too many for me to write
shiyau
post Mar 10 2012, 11:05 PM

**KilleRom-no more**
693 posts

QUOTE(jonas.hoh @ Mar 10 2012, 10:58 PM)
what kind of modifications do you suggest?

Added on March 10, 2012, 11:01 pm
so that means even if i plan to mod the car i'd have to touch up a lot right? tongue.gif
those that i mentioned to touch up are actually in mod list.. lol.. for eg: suspension, you'd go for high low soft hard adjustable perhaps.. if you plan to mod that car, of coz you want your car to be in top form condition rite

This post has been edited by shiyau: Mar 10 2012, 11:05 PM
shiyau
post Mar 10 2012, 11:06 PM

**KilleRom-no more**
693 posts

QUOTE(zeone @ Mar 10 2012, 11:05 PM)
7-year old car & NEW car @same price?
I'd take a NEW car anytime!
NEW car = NEW car! Get it?

OLD car = anything can happen to it anytime!! Gotta b prepared for the WORST! Lots of xtra $$$$ gonna go... doh.gif
NEW car = anything can happen to it anytime TOO.. laugh.gif
shiyau
post Mar 11 2012, 02:45 PM

**KilleRom-no more**
693 posts

QUOTE(iSpace @ Mar 11 2012, 02:19 PM)
Old altis kinda ugly plus its old car.
many unknown things happened to the car and you will never know.

Better go for new persona. even its Proton. but comparing these 2. Persona wins.

Why not go for J Vios like me. New car.. kinda cheap.. petrol consumption low.. 2nd value high... unless you want drive the car more than 7years then..
old altis kinda ugly? you haven't seen those with pretty bodykits with good sport rims drool.gif

Btw, which spec wise does persona wins an Altis?
shiyau
post Mar 11 2012, 02:48 PM

**KilleRom-no more**
693 posts

QUOTE(jonas.hoh @ Mar 11 2012, 02:46 PM)
btw shiyau how much do you need to mod the whole car?
depends on you. see you wanna mod till what extent.. lol
shiyau
post Mar 11 2012, 02:59 PM

**KilleRom-no more**
693 posts

go and test drive 1 and feeeeeel it
shiyau
post Mar 11 2012, 06:17 PM

**KilleRom-no more**
693 posts

QUOTE(Jazz6218 @ Mar 11 2012, 06:10 PM)
TS go for the 7 years altis plz,u sure wont REGRET it,u will juz cry out loud after 2-3 more years  laugh.gif

y?becoz u dun hav a big head but still u wan a big helmet, gud luck  wink.gif
what makes you say so?
shiyau
post Mar 11 2012, 06:57 PM

**KilleRom-no more**
693 posts

QUOTE(Jazz6218 @ Mar 11 2012, 06:28 PM)
becoz TS is tight on budget?
becoz altis maintenance is high?if any major breakdown can he afford to repair it?

but still his money his choice
which comment or post of him saying that he's tight on budget?

Added on March 11, 2012, 7:02 pm
QUOTE(jonas.hoh @ Mar 10 2012, 11:54 PM)
has anyone own an altis before? i want to know it terms of build quality, ride comfort as well as NVH. i am not really worried about maintenance as i am a mechanical engineer myself. so i do know about those things to a certain extent. just more concerned about the worth(as in the feeling of a good car) at the end of the day.

Added on March 10, 2012, 11:56 pm
what do you suggest?
This post has been edited by shiyau: Mar 11 2012, 07:02 PM
shiyau
post Mar 12 2012, 02:02 AM

**KilleRom-no more**
693 posts

QUOTE(iSpace @ Mar 11 2012, 09:24 PM)
Im comparing both stock. If u said about bodykits. A 20 years car honda delso with bodykits looks hundred times better than your modified altis
lol.. if you are comparing stock, then it's very subjective according to individuals.. Some fella thinks that Peugeut looks great, but I feel it's fugly (especially Peugeut 207) no offense to owners here.. hahahahaha.. you think that persona wins, i feel that altis looks better.. no one's wrong smile.gif

0.0195sec    0.81    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 07:12 PM