2005 1.8G ALTIS or NEW PERSONA?, can't decide=.="

TSjonas.hoh
post Mar 10 2012, 10:36 PM, updated 14y ago

I plan to buy either one because in price terms they are similar.
TSjonas.hoh
post Mar 10 2012, 10:49 PM

as far as i can say toyota has reliability even if it has 7 years and they don't depreciate as much. I don't intend to mod the car, perhaps keeping it to factory condition. If i were to own altis i'd consider having it for a longer period of time. well of course i know the risk of having a second hand car, but those can be settled by cautious observation as well as sending to mechanic to check.

for persona, i do know that proton has improved quite a lot comparing to previous designs but i highly doubt it would last long. even though the quality is somewhat okay for me. But then again it is a new car we're talking about so the indecisiveness kicks in
TSjonas.hoh
post Mar 10 2012, 10:55 PM

QUOTE(nash9701 @ Mar 10 2012, 10:51 PM)
wait for the new proton car launch..

(^__^)
any idea when? biggrin.gif
TSjonas.hoh
post Mar 10 2012, 10:58 PM

QUOTE(shiyau @ Mar 10 2012, 10:40 PM)
are you planning to mod your car? if you plan to mod then I'd go for Altis.. biggrin.gif
what kind of modifications do you suggest?

Added on March 10, 2012, 11:01 pm
QUOTE(shiyau @ Mar 10 2012, 10:57 PM)
if you do not intend to mod that car and plan to keep it as stock as possible, I'm suggesting you to go for persona. new car, got free service from Proton. Old car no matter BMW Ferrari or what, you still have to touch up quite a lot of wear and tear parts.. Timing belts, suspension, overhaul perhaps, bla bla bla too many for me to write
so that means even if i plan to mod the car i'd have to touch up a lot right? tongue.gif

This post has been edited by jonas.hoh: Mar 10 2012, 11:01 PM
TSjonas.hoh
post Mar 10 2012, 11:18 PM

QUOTE(zeone @ Mar 10 2012, 11:05 PM)
7-year old car & NEW car @same price?
I'd take a NEW car anytime!
NEW car = NEW car! Get it?

OLD car = anything can happen to it anytime!! Gotta b prepared for the WORST! Lots of xtra $$$$ gonna go... doh.gif
well there is something called preventive maintenance. as long as you follow that you shouldn't be facing any car problems.

and for NEW proton eh, how often do you see a broken down NEW proton, and also how often do you see a broken down toyota? my only reason for proton is actually that it is a virgin car(new) tongue.gif

This post has been edited by jonas.hoh: Mar 10 2012, 11:23 PM
TSjonas.hoh
post Mar 10 2012, 11:54 PM

has anyone own an altis before? i want to know it terms of build quality, ride comfort as well as NVH. i am not really worried about maintenance as i am a mechanical engineer myself. so i do know about those things to a certain extent. just more concerned about the worth(as in the feeling of a good car) at the end of the day.

Added on March 10, 2012, 11:56 pm
QUOTE(kahjye @ Mar 10 2012, 11:52 PM)
7 years old car wei.

are u kidding me? lol
what do you suggest?

This post has been edited by jonas.hoh: Mar 10 2012, 11:56 PM
TSjonas.hoh
post Mar 11 2012, 12:04 AM

QUOTE(AlexLee277 @ Mar 11 2012, 12:02 AM)
i suggest toyota altis la~ haha, but if you are looking for a 2nd hand car, make sure dont rush, maybe you can find 1 pristine condition with all the service record at toyota. who know?
agreed
TSjonas.hoh
post Mar 11 2012, 12:21 AM

QUOTE(peter_pj @ Mar 11 2012, 12:16 AM)
I think both are equal.....but I think its stupid to pay so much for something so old. Aren't there newer (and maybe better equipped) second hand cars at that price range.
and those cars would be?
TSjonas.hoh
post Mar 11 2012, 09:01 AM

QUOTE(peter_pj @ Mar 11 2012, 12:44 AM)
I dunno. I'm not the one interested in buying a second hand car. Go do the research and tell us what else is there.
That means you do not have any idea about the market values, then don't go around suggesting that there are other 2nd hand cars that have better or so.
TSjonas.hoh
post Mar 11 2012, 09:08 AM

QUOTE(zeone @ Mar 11 2012, 08:24 AM)
Same like ppl kenot die wan!! rclxm9.gif

Added on March 11, 2012, 8:28 am
Yu'd b surprised @the millions who depend on Proton EVERY DAY for years oledi AND STILL DO!! tongue.gif

Added on March 11, 2012, 8:34 am
Simple reason why...?

There are MORE Protons on the road than Toyotas!!
More true for Altis!!! doh.gif

Added on March 11, 2012, 8:37 am
True. Agreed.
Anything can happen to even a new Merz/BMW or even a Lambo...haha! rclxm9.gif
I know the reliability issue of proton as i own one. and 3 years after the purchase problems came in because they used cheapskate parts. speaking from experience, as i do own a proton, i had to literally change the entire innards of the car. and why would you buy a car that breaks down frequently? it's like you know that it is gonna be problematic but still go on with the plan. seriously there are many people out there who drives a toyota. yes the parts for toyota might cost more but also speaking from experience, the part last much longer.

Having that said if i were to get a worthy 2nd hand car with generous boot space and performance what do you suggest. for a 50k budget. i don't mind going cheaper btw

Added on March 11, 2012, 9:10 am
QUOTE(littlefire @ Mar 11 2012, 09:02 AM)
Well.. Spec wise.. Persona still cant match Altis.. Why... Safety, Space & Comfort already loss to Altis...

Safety : TRC (Tration Crontrol for 1.8G)
Space &  Comfort : Everyone know Altis is better...

Buying 2nd car also is a gamble, but is better to bring a reputable mechanic to inspect it.. Toyota does have his problem, but durability wise still better.. Ask the owner / car seller to give u the service manual for peace of mine and remember to use only recommendation oil & filter.. If not mistaken Altis is using 5W-30 & YZZE1 filter..

Tips: If parts spoils, direct go to spare part shop and order.. Confirm cheaper to service compare to those official blood sucking service center..
Agreed.

This post has been edited by jonas.hoh: Mar 11 2012, 09:10 AM
TSjonas.hoh
post Mar 11 2012, 02:26 PM

i've done some research, and the next best thing i can get for is maybe 2006-2007 vios, 2007 honda city, 2008 nissan sentra.. damn i am spoilt with more choice.

i do agree that a car is only a machine that's why i want to know what is the best worth for me. anyway thank you everyone for the opinions. haha you guys are just awesome

Added on March 11, 2012, 2:31 pm
QUOTE(iSpace @ Mar 11 2012, 02:19 PM)
Old altis kinda ugly plus its old car.
many unknown things happened to the car and you will never know.

Better go for new persona. even its Proton. but comparing these 2. Persona wins.

Why not go for J Vios like me. New car.. kinda cheap.. petrol consumption low.. 2nd value high... unless you want drive the car more than 7years then..
well i(my dad) already have a j vios. and it's giving me headache. with all the dust problem. but i think it's quite good aside from the dust problem.

This post has been edited by jonas.hoh: Mar 11 2012, 02:31 PM
TSjonas.hoh
post Mar 11 2012, 02:46 PM

QUOTE(shiyau @ Mar 11 2012, 02:45 PM)
old altis kinda ugly? you haven't seen those with pretty bodykits with good sport rims drool.gif

Btw, which spec wise does persona wins an Altis?
btw shiyau how much do you need to mod the whole car?
TSjonas.hoh
post Mar 11 2012, 02:56 PM

QUOTE(shiyau @ Mar 11 2012, 02:48 PM)
depends on you. see you wanna mod till what extent.. lol
given a choice for you to buy new persona and those choices of 2nd hand car what would you choose? i reckoned i can get a vios or city should be good enough actually. then i can mod kau kau
TSjonas.hoh
post Mar 11 2012, 09:23 PM

QUOTE(MR_alien @ Mar 11 2012, 08:58 PM)
for certain/many ppl...toyota = god car...it will NEVER broke down
but what they really dn't know/misconception is that proton and T, H are using the same stuff from the same supplier
all are bosch, denso also...all those part are not from proton
and they also dn't know...T nowadays are not as godly as T last time already
even hilux also all plastic already

Added on March 11, 2012, 9:01 pm
but its a new car
7 year old altis engine might still be great if service accordingly
but the wear and tear part are all worn out already and needed to be change
and the part ain't what u consider cheap ..its quite expensive since its an altis part
they sell the part based on car price
the more expensive your car is..the more expensive the part is...despite the cost producing it is the same(or almost)
for persona...its cheap only...and since under warranty..its free
First of all i am not on a tight budget. secondly i truly believe that your idea of an old car, regardless of whether it is T H or P, there will still be wear and tear. in fact that is being taken into account. The reason i set it to 50k is so that i can allocated for more possibilities. I certainly do not believe in spending a HUGE amount on cars as well, there are better things to invest in. and seriously don't really fall into the trap of FREE warranty and things like that, they do have terms and conditions applied. they can tell you maintenance is free, but the parts ain't free. That's typically how they want people to believe, after all in a way it is a selling point. Neither AM I FIXED into buying the altis, it is just a thought, that's why i put it in such great community to talk about things, as many people have different perspective, in fact i do have some faith in persona as i tested one before, comfort wise it's okay for a person like me, after all i am still young, haha. But one thing, lotus handling isn't much to be boasted about. in fact i am currently driving a wira, and that feels sharper, aside from the motor oil bleeding everywhere once in a while and also drying up quickly, as well as faulty auto transmission(fixed it a million times, no difference) but then again, if proton makes a good car one day, i won't hesitate to support it. in fact, call me slow as i have just only found out the launching of the new car, looks quite promising, thanks for the rich informations, i shall wait and see.
TSjonas.hoh
post Mar 11 2012, 09:28 PM

QUOTE(watonk @ Mar 11 2012, 09:20 PM)
Pretty sure I'm not getting a lemon and i enjoy my ownership with Altis. As usual, the intention was to buy a premium car and keep it forever (like our oldman keeping their Sunny and KE30).

But its true. Not to say the manufacturer reduce the quality and engineered the car to last mere 10 years. But new cars now equipped with much more components, electronics, plus recyclable material (environment friendly) which couldn't last as long. Plus the way we drive now different; lots of highspeed, thousands of hours stuck in jam, both contribute to rapid wear and tear.

Ask any Altis owners. yes we do enjoy the car and its comfortable (though too much body roll and fail handling). But to maintain its pristine, like new, tip-top, cost money. Absorbers and suspension bushings/rubbers change after 5 years, cooling coil after 7 years etc is normal for any cars. And sometimes, we not really speak about it to preserve the brand image, for whathever reason... icon_rolleyes.gif
this is brilliant. and of course nobody wants to buy a lemon car. if i walk into a showroom and found faults in the car, i shall not hesitate to walk away.

Added on March 11, 2012, 9:31 pm
QUOTE(blursquid @ Mar 11 2012, 06:53 PM)
Hmm....weird case, maybe you both got a lemon car cz as far as i know Toyota, Honda & Perodua is problem free and almost indestructible not to mention the face factor you get driving a Japanese car comparing to Proton bcz buying Proton is basically buying problem one....it comes as free gift together with your car and chicks hate proton. Proton = cheap so get the 7 years old Altis and forget about the new Persona  nod.gif  nod.gif  nod.gif
driving performance wise it's no problem. not lemon at all. just want get more worth for the money we pay for. who doesn't want that.

This post has been edited by jonas.hoh: Mar 11 2012, 09:31 PM
TSjonas.hoh
post Mar 11 2012, 10:49 PM

QUOTE(danabu @ Mar 11 2012, 10:23 PM)
+1

My 3yrs old more then 100k not much problem. Any problem claim, never face any problem where SC refuse to replace the new parts. Never heard :Proton is like that: from the SC that I used to go. Proton has been improving, it is true.

Maybe those that they are arrogant, but now I would say not bad. In fact, some japs services are worst as some sharing from my friends.

Well again, what ever car, please send to authorize SC at least during warrantty period.
totally agree on sc. that's how my beloved avanza kill itself. my dad sent to outside, within months the car started giving problems
TSjonas.hoh
post Mar 11 2012, 11:07 PM

QUOTE(dadurtyz @ Mar 11 2012, 11:02 PM)
lol, dont so arrogant, i own campro yet it deliver sufficient power and reliable if take care well
what car and what year is it? just curious.
TSjonas.hoh
post Mar 11 2012, 11:27 PM

QUOTE(dadurtyz @ Mar 11 2012, 11:23 PM)
proton persona year 2010, my friend own manual gen2 1st model 2005, already 7years engine still good, and u still saw lot gen-2 1st gen still on the road. that the proved
that's why there is a consideration for persona. but of course i would get the manual one. more reliable in a way. and easy to maintain

0.0247sec    0.88    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 07:43 PM