○ Galaxy Nexus V7 ○, latest Google flagship

mark
post Mar 11 2012, 06:26 PM

866 posts

Got my Gnex! TS please add me to the owners list smile.gif

Just got it rooted and now thinking of trying AOKP.

droid13579, great review for the BSE skin! Btw do you know what's the difference between "Screen Skin" and "Case Optimized Screen Skin" ? I'm thinking of getting the BSE but not sure which one to get.
mark
post Mar 11 2012, 11:36 PM

866 posts

QUOTE(droid13579 @ Mar 11 2012, 11:20 PM)
Both have less orange peel, but BSE is protective than XO in terms of scratch protection. As for nail marks... if you hit it hard of course will stay a mark.

But BSE has almost glass feel if compare to XO which quite rubbery even on 3rd day
Thanks for clarifying on the Case Optimised vs Screen Skin biggrin.gif

Hope to achieve the almost glass + "naked" feel. Just ordered 2 pieces (and 1 more piece for my old Nexus One) from BSE. Now gotta put my Gnex aside first until I get the SP. Just realised one tiny tiny tiny scratch on my screen!
mark
post Mar 13 2012, 12:34 AM

866 posts

QUOTE(Molotov Cocktail @ Mar 12 2012, 11:34 PM)
really can test on ic? i test it didn't produce any sound, is my nfc not working? until now (2 month already) i havent test the nfc coz dont have any card to test, can anybody suggest how can i test the nfc? i fear my nfc not working
I tried and so far my phone makes a sound with: Visa card with the "wave" symbol and MyKad. Can download NFC reader app and see the content also (although the content is encrypted I think, so you'll see mostly junk)

You also need to sure NFC is on. Go to Settings --> More --> NFC (Yes)

If the NFC is grayed out and cannot be enabled, then there might be a problem...
mark
post Mar 13 2012, 01:47 PM

866 posts

QUOTE(monked @ Mar 13 2012, 01:43 PM)
getting my Gnex 2mrw biggrin.gif anything i need to check? is there any code to check on the screen vibrate whatsoever?
To check vibrate, just press on the [back][home][tasks] buttons, it will vibrate.

Check NFC, try to use touch and go on the back of the phone, screen switched on, try to hear it make a sound.

If possible, check the screen also. Otherwise go home and try to check it as soon as possible:
http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1394358
mark
post Mar 13 2012, 02:24 PM

866 posts

QUOTE(droid13579 @ Mar 13 2012, 01:56 PM)
If you crazy like me, I will do this.
Software check
Test camera with record 5 minutes of video, to check pink tints.
Test camera with snap a picture make sure no fuzziness.
Test camera with single motion panorama mode to check fuzziness and function.
Go to settings > Check your phone version > Should be 4.0.1 yakjuxw,I9250... if it's not is used set.
Go to settings > Sound > Set volume to max to check any speaker defects
Screen, go to contacts>Check any greenish tint and dead pixel because they have white background.
Make phone call, check ear-piece sound quality any echos.
Test software android keyboard any crashes
Test android beam by using Nexus S or Galaxy Nexus or scan your IC.'
Check got any stupid application include or not, should be all google application only.

Now physical check
Check screen no micro-scratch, scuffs, dirt and lint. And GALAXY NEXUS SP should never peel off before.
Check Volume Rocker got any loosen or "hard to click defects"
Check On/Off Button got screen awake, any loosen and hard to click defects
Test digitizer any not responsive touch on all areas.
Check FFC got any dirt inside?
Check BSI Camera got any dirt inside.
Check got dents at sides also scratches.
Check battery cover wording samsung and google got peel off or not and any cracks.
Check battery is it 50% if 0% ask them switch new phone because people mess with it.

... I'm crazy
Wow... if I'm trying to sell you something... I think I will go insane.... hahahahahaha
mark
post Mar 14 2012, 08:52 PM

866 posts

QUOTE(gurpreetsingh @ Mar 14 2012, 05:00 PM)
that means to keep updates coming I need to check every apps?
I m not sure if I dont on my viber I can get call or not.
same goes with yahoo/gmail/talk.
I will test these individually and see how it goes.
There seems to be a lot of confusion regarding running apps, multitasking, background tasks and such.

When you launch an Android app, the task is active/running. You use the app, play with the app, etc.

When you exit back to the home screen (or go to a different app), the app is stopped. This means that the app is frozen and will not run/take up battery/etc. It also means the Android OS can freely kill that task if the Android OS needs more memory for other things (i.e. you opened up a really heavy game, you haven't gone back to that app in a while, etc).

So how does multitasking work? How does your app check for email in the background? This is done by something called services. Services run in the background, you don't really see it anywhere on your screen. Even when you quit your app, it still has a service running in the background. It checks your mail even if you're not in the app, it checks for new messages when you're not in the app. If you're busy downloading something using your browser, and you go to a different app, your download still continues, because the browser is running it's own download service in the background.

An example to this would be WhatsApp. If you don't open the app, how does it check for new messages for you? It runs the WhatsApp background service to check for messages for you. You don't have to open the app to keep checking for new messages, it already runs by itself in the background. The Android OS takes care of what services to run, kill, etc automatically for you. That's why if you use a manual task killer (you shouldn't, btw), after a few minutes you'll notice the WhatsApp service running again.

This, of course, does not apply to ALL apps. It depends on whether the app developer has made such a feature available or not. Let's take Draw Something as another example. It doesn't have a background service, therefore it doesn't notify you if you have new drawings to guess.

tl;dr, to answer your question, you don't have to open viber/yahoo/gmail/gtalk to get notifications. The notification part of these apps are running in the background and are checking for new messages for you.

Also, regarding the ICS tasks button, all the tasks listed there are "frozen" apps... the apps themselves aren't running and aren't taking any CPU resources.

For better understanding, you can also read up on the Android Activity Lifecycle, but it's more technical and more for programmers: http://developer.android.com/reference/and...tivityLifecycle
mark
post Mar 15 2012, 11:53 PM

866 posts

QUOTE(Boy96 @ Mar 15 2012, 06:06 PM)
So I went to Lost World of Tambun today, and they gave me a RFID tag.

So i went crazy tapping my phone to the rfid tag. I download a nfc app, but I dunno how it works..

I was wondering, can it be used to unlock hotel doors? Like tap a hotel card, then save it on the phone, and use the phone to unlock the doors, no need to use the card, can or not?
QUOTE(springfall @ Mar 15 2012, 07:36 PM)
^ great idea...
1-load 1000 in touch n go...
2-tap nfc on nexus and save the data.
3- use nexus on tolls, and touch n go holiday in the cupboard..
4- when nexus finis money, tap n save again!!!
= govt. budget decress, lesser money get to suck from us, YAY!!!
QUOTE(springfall @ Mar 15 2012, 08:18 PM)
hmm. so we can't clone tNgo cards but can we like use our phones to enter offices? like the pass cards..
ask the IT guy code the cards? anyidea?
Hotel doors and access cards, I don't think they use NFC technology. I tried scanning my access cards and seems like nothing happen.

As for TnG... I don't think they're that stupid hahaha. The balance is probably stored on the server... and your TnG card probably stores the serial no only or something.

0.0498sec    0.80    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 09:36 PM