○ Galaxy Nexus V7 ○, latest Google flagship

FuNks
post Mar 14 2012, 07:25 AM

F z N
2,812 posts

QUOTE(rifles @ Mar 13 2012, 11:21 PM)
i only put coins/flash drive same pocket with my phone ..
I'd only keep one pocket for nexus. And dump every other thing into other pocket. tongue.gif

Added on March 14, 2012, 7:32 am
QUOTE(DarkSilver @ Mar 14 2012, 01:32 AM)
Liquid ICS ROM doesn't need Google Apps to be flashed.

Steps:
1.) Download Liquid ICS ROM and Liquid ROM "Extra" zip files into the phone.
2.) Boot into CWM.
3.) Wipe...
4.) Flash Liquid ICS ROM and then flash the "Extra" too.
5.) Reboot. Done.
What kernel are you using thou.

Added on March 14, 2012, 7:33 am
QUOTE(Koki @ Mar 14 2012, 01:10 AM)
Reporting a deadly issue of deep sleep hanging on CNA 1.5 + CNA kernel. Stay away!

Another question for you guys - anyone knows how to read the signal in dBm?
The higher the better? Lol
Deep sleep isn't good? I got 88% deep sleep

This post has been edited by FuNks: Mar 14 2012, 07:33 AM
FuNks
post Mar 14 2012, 10:44 AM

F z N
2,812 posts

QUOTE(cruxidex @ Mar 14 2012, 09:34 AM)
AP set from directD is now RM1499~ going cheaper and cheaper each month whistling.gif
source : lelong.com.my
Wtfomg. But if I sell sme set can sell higher maybe.
I wonder how they earn.
FuNks
post Mar 14 2012, 10:55 AM

F z N
2,812 posts

QUOTE(XeactorZ @ Mar 14 2012, 08:12 AM)
wait what ??? battery so cheap with 3.8k mAh

http://t.co/6G5fXWTU
No nfc
FuNks
post Mar 14 2012, 01:01 PM

F z N
2,812 posts

Anyone realize the promo apps are gone? FML! sad.gif
FuNks
post Mar 14 2012, 03:57 PM

F z N
2,812 posts

QUOTE(xxdooyo @ Mar 14 2012, 03:52 PM)
Has anyone ever get 4 hours screen on time? People has been reporting great battery life over at franco kernel xda thread. I'm now using aokp m4 and franco r66. Batt life during idle is great, 8 hours and only 6% drop. But, when the screen is on, the drain is too much. I never even achieved 3 hours screen time. By the way,I don't use franco app with the kernel. Wonder if his app has any effect on batt life
Try Franco m1.
FuNks
post Mar 14 2012, 04:59 PM

F z N
2,812 posts

QUOTE(stormaker @ Mar 14 2012, 04:11 PM)
yes bro, those apps running on the background should be listed under "Running" apps. If its running, it should be there, but it might show the name of the service/process, not necessary the app name that u can recognize easily. Some apps will need u to enable them manually so that it run on background such as Light Flow, but some are auto such as Yahoo Mail (not sure) .... etc ... Correct me if im wrong.
There's more internal running apps background that doesn't show in settings. I tried 3Rd app and anti virus. Showed alot other apps running.
FuNks
post Mar 14 2012, 04:59 PM

F z N
2,812 posts

QUOTE(TheLaptopDudeGuy @ Mar 14 2012, 04:55 PM)
I think it must be cuz of the new quads. But personally i am also quite surprised how fast gnex lose value
which is the best quad now?hmmm
FuNks
post Mar 14 2012, 05:35 PM

F z N
2,812 posts

QUOTE(gurpreetsingh @ Mar 14 2012, 05:00 PM)
that means to keep updates coming I need to check every apps?
I m not sure if I dont on my viber I can get call or not.
same goes with yahoo/gmail/talk.
I will test these individually and see how it goes.
Not quite. But I also lazy to cancel background sometimes. How good if once we cancel in task, they are gone for good.
FuNks
post Mar 14 2012, 06:38 PM

F z N
2,812 posts

QUOTE(Fallenangelz @ Mar 14 2012, 05:36 PM)
jz clear ram and disable background sync. den they will hibernate d.
How to do that?doh.gif
FuNks
post Mar 14 2012, 09:59 PM

F z N
2,812 posts

QUOTE(mark @ Mar 14 2012, 08:52 PM)
There seems to be a lot of confusion regarding running apps, multitasking, background tasks and such.

When you launch an Android app, the task is active/running. You use the app, play with the app, etc.

When you exit back to the home screen (or go to a different app), the app is stopped. This means that the app is frozen and will not run/take up battery/etc. It also means the Android OS can freely kill that task if the Android OS needs more memory for other things (i.e. you opened up a really heavy game, you haven't gone back to that app in a while, etc).

So how does multitasking work? How does your app check for email in the background? This is done by something called services. Services run in the background, you don't really see it anywhere on your screen. Even when you quit your app, it still has a service running in the background. It checks your mail even if you're not in the app, it checks for new messages when you're not in the app. If you're busy downloading something using your browser, and you go to a different app, your download still continues, because the browser is running it's own download service in the background.

An example to this would be WhatsApp. If you don't open the app, how does it check for new messages for you? It runs the WhatsApp background service to check for messages for you. You don't have to open the app to keep checking for new messages, it already runs by itself in the background. The Android OS takes care of what services to run, kill, etc automatically for you. That's why if you use a manual task killer (you shouldn't, btw), after a few minutes you'll notice the WhatsApp service running again.

This, of course, does not apply to ALL apps. It depends on whether the app developer has made such a feature available or not. Let's take Draw Something as another example. It doesn't have a background service, therefore it doesn't notify you if you have new drawings to guess.

tl;dr, to answer your question, you don't have to open viber/yahoo/gmail/gtalk to get notifications. The notification part of these apps are running in the background and are checking for new messages for you.

Also, regarding the ICS tasks button, all the tasks listed there are "frozen" apps... the apps themselves aren't running and aren't taking any CPU resources.

For better understanding, you can also read up on the Android Activity Lifecycle, but it's more technical and more for programmers: http://developer.android.com/reference/and...tivityLifecycle
Thanks for the acknowledgment!
FuNks
post Mar 14 2012, 10:22 PM

F z N
2,812 posts

QUOTE(Koki @ Mar 14 2012, 10:06 PM)
Not me. I have a problem sometimes (I only discovered it'll happen at > midnight under cold air conditioned room) that it can't detect the 2nd touch at the area ngam ngam on top of the nav bar
Phone allergic to cold.
FuNks
post Mar 14 2012, 10:32 PM

F z N
2,812 posts

QUOTE(Molotov Cocktail @ Mar 14 2012, 10:24 PM)
what i mean is when i don't open it it still running in the background, how to fix it? why it need to run in background when i dont even open it on that day, seem happening too with shadowgun, been sucking my battery after install it
well, at least you bought it. i missed the promo, now everything back to normal price.
FML99.
._.
FuNks
post Mar 14 2012, 10:41 PM

F z N
2,812 posts

does anyone know how to create new folder in sd card? sad.gif

This post has been edited by FuNks: Mar 14 2012, 10:41 PM
FuNks
post Mar 14 2012, 10:49 PM

F z N
2,812 posts

QUOTE(chkhoo76 @ Mar 14 2012, 10:47 PM)
Install "ASTRO" & choose button "ADD" to create a new folder
only astro? hmm.gif
FuNks
post Mar 14 2012, 10:53 PM

F z N
2,812 posts

QUOTE(Harddisk @ Mar 14 2012, 10:49 PM)
Tested that, it's the app's problem.

Try this, seems to work fine.

https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?...e=search_result
i tried and had 10, well, i only have 10 fingers. biggrin.gif
FuNks
post Mar 14 2012, 10:57 PM

F z N
2,812 posts

QUOTE(Harddisk @ Mar 14 2012, 10:54 PM)
Nope, I tried that app initially. It works exactly as he recorded. Then I try another touch tester, it works just fine.

This is the case where user jumped the gun, without doing research. I even did 4 fingers cross by, no mixing of touches. I think the digitizer no GNex is really good.

Try out the app for yourself. Link provided above.

Added on March 14, 2012, 10:55 pm
Use your tongue, I'm sure it register.  tongue.gif
FML man, i just tried using my tongue, and it dint counted.
maximum only can have 10 on nexus.
or mine defected?!!!

TRY PLEASE cry.gif
FuNks
post Mar 14 2012, 11:09 PM

F z N
2,812 posts

QUOTE(droid13579 @ Mar 14 2012, 11:05 PM)
Capacitive touch screens isn't able to detect your slimy tongue lol!
Try ask your parents or any HUMAN with fingers~
im not trolling leh.
i tried with 9 fingers + tongue = 10.
if 10fingers + tongue = still 10 !!

maximum multi touch on nexus = only 10 ! more den enough thou whistling.gif
FuNks
post Mar 14 2012, 11:22 PM

F z N
2,812 posts

QUOTE(droid13579 @ Mar 14 2012, 11:20 PM)
Playing Twister?
got this game app in market? drool.gif

Added on March 14, 2012, 11:24 pmsetting up playstation one game on android.
hopefully can play digimon world on android. doh.gif

This post has been edited by FuNks: Mar 14 2012, 11:24 PM
FuNks
post Mar 14 2012, 11:53 PM

F z N
2,812 posts

QUOTE(Harddisk @ Mar 14 2012, 11:47 PM)
I'll try that tomorrow in office. I got > 10 capacitive styli in office. tongue.gif
i was very serious with the tongue, i really did that.
sweat.gif sweat.gif sweat.gif

Added on March 14, 2012, 11:54 pmAnyone bought psx4droid or FPse?
digimon working, but no sound. sad.gif

This post has been edited by FuNks: Mar 14 2012, 11:54 PM
FuNks
post Mar 15 2012, 12:02 AM

F z N
2,812 posts

Lool. tongue.gif
This

14 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Top