USJ1: 200 cars damaged in floods, Condo car park

cherroy
post Mar 9 2012, 03:07 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(lesboutons @ Mar 9 2012, 03:04 PM)
i think the owners should probably go after the developer
Soon after property is handed over to the buyer, JMB is borned afterwards.
And developers hold no responsibility in this kind of stuff, although JMB also consist of developer as one of the committee member.
Developers only liable for the property quality and warranty issue.
AVFAN
post Mar 9 2012, 03:08 PM

24,454 posts

QUOTE(katijar @ Mar 9 2012, 02:51 PM)
what u expect them to say? "#@$#@$#@$#@@!!!" ?
just watched this:
http://thestaronline.tv/View.aspx?vid=8076&cid=1

no all residents were @#$%^&, some very calm...

like i thought, mentioned, "i'm just a security guard", "water in 10-15min", "car owners need to to claim own insurance". etc...

take note:
..the stream is right behind the condo
..lifts and telcom equipment area submerged
TSkatijar
post Mar 9 2012, 03:11 PM

2,294 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Mar 9 2012, 03:08 PM)
just watched this:
http://thestaronline.tv/View.aspx?vid=8076&cid=1

no all residents were @#$%^&, some very calm...

like i thought, mentioned, "i'm just a security guard", "water in 10-15min", "car owners need to to claim own insurance". etc...

take note:
..the stream is right behind the condo
..lifts and telcom equipment area submerged
i saw the video. it looks like a very small stream which is not even qualified to be named... but who knows ...
puchongite
post Mar 9 2012, 03:16 PM

33,636 posts

Apparently this is not the first time building got flooded. 居安不思危, that's human nature.
rumahmurah
post Mar 9 2012, 04:35 PM

267 posts

A highrise condo inundated after heavy rainfall.

Just have to move on.

Immediate steps have to be taken to upgrade the tributary to prevent recurrence of the flood. Or as an alternative, instal Intercom for all the condo units to warn residents of impending floods. See which of the two is more feasible.

My 2 sen.

SKfolk
post Mar 9 2012, 04:43 PM

928 posts

QUOTE(puchongite @ Mar 9 2012, 12:00 PM)
Yeah flood can happen to multilevel buildings but this kind of thing can be avoided if the security people patrol the place properly and are fully alert when it rains.
You mean every time rain , they have to ask all the cars to drive out? Then the guards and owners are always busy and u have to know when all go out in a same time, if everyone will be stuck or not in the car park?how about if the owners are not at home? Sure the price of this property drops like hell.After repairing the cars, all the cars cannot pakai and they would come out a lot of problem from time to time. And slowly all metal will get rusted inside all the pipes and engine and also all will get rusted. This not the only spot, I think I won't buy 2nd car in future as this is not the only flood spot, how about in kl city, thousand and thousand of cars some more happened in Kajang , jalan tun arak for the past few months and also imported cars which is from Australia, Japan (tsunami) and etc. peace of mind!

This post has been edited by SKfolk: Mar 9 2012, 04:54 PM
TSkatijar
post Mar 9 2012, 04:48 PM

2,294 posts

i think this was 2nd time. It did not flood at the first time, that's y they thought it was OK... ?
puchongite
post Mar 9 2012, 04:58 PM

33,636 posts

QUOTE(SKfolk @ Mar 9 2012, 04:43 PM)
You mean every time rain , they have to ask all the cars to drive out? Then the guards and owners are always busy and u have to know when all go out in a same time, if everyone will be stuck or not in the car park?how about if the owners are not at home? Sure the price of this property drops like hell.
I worked in a multilevel building before and this is how they do it. They did not trigger for people to drive out the cars everytime it rains, so I do not know exactly what the criteria they use. You have a choice to leave the car in, but they will close the "gate" until such time when it is considered safe. Presumably the "gate" is able to block the water from flooding the basement.

For those people who want to use the car, they will have to drive the car out, damn leceh, but otherwise their cars might get "locked-in" for the night. They have a PA system to announce to the tenants.

Of course if they could nip the problem at it's bud, so much the better. But apparently this particular building in town couldn't get it fixed at it's root cause. So they are practicing this "leceh" thing for years.

This post has been edited by puchongite: Mar 9 2012, 05:15 PM
kochin
post Mar 9 2012, 05:04 PM

I just hope I do!
10,314 posts

it's called a floodgate.

SKfolk
post Mar 9 2012, 05:11 PM

928 posts

QUOTE(kochin @ Mar 9 2012, 05:04 PM)
it's called a floodgate.
Difficult to fight against mother nature, you can guarantee with the floodgate, the water won't flow from other direction ? It is not wise to stay at the river bank. And if the river get clogged one day(who can guarantee)it will even worse.
AVFAN
post Mar 9 2012, 05:21 PM

24,454 posts

this case caught the attention of more people because of it's a "rm500 maint per month" condo.

those condos with basement carparks, near sungais/big longkangs should be taking proactive action, shouldn't they?

now, how many do we think will actually do something?? or more likely do nothing?
SKfolk
post Mar 9 2012, 05:29 PM

928 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Mar 9 2012, 05:21 PM)
this case caught the attention of more people because of it's a "rm500 maint per month" condo.

those condos with basement carparks, near sungais/big longkangs should be taking proactive action, shouldn't they?

now, how many do we think will actually do something?? or more likely do nothing?
Rm500 a month better use the money for the repayment of loan for landed property. We take care our assets our own. If u rely on ppl, don blame ppl,u got to listen to them, what can u do?
kh8668
post Mar 9 2012, 05:40 PM

Mamma Mia!
5,488 posts

My cousin owned a unit for own-stayed before, luckily he sold out last two years with 4xxk, what a good deal.
napoli26
post Mar 9 2012, 05:49 PM

kena toto 6/58
2,301 posts

QUOTE(kh8668 @ Mar 9 2012, 05:40 PM)
My cousin owned a unit for own-stayed before, luckily he sold out last two years with 4xxk, what a good deal.
wow, he really lucky then rclxms.gif rclxms.gif
dcwhz83
post Mar 9 2012, 05:57 PM

134 posts

QUOTE(napoli26 @ Mar 9 2012, 05:49 PM)
wow, he really lucky then rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif
apparently the max size of some units are 24xx sq ft... and there are quite many of them... thats why its nearly RM500 maint fee... and u know la... msian when rugi RM400+ they will say RM500... when profit RM500 they will say RM400+...

and this is only about 18 sen maint fee when during VP... now sure now maint fee how much psf...

This post has been edited by dcwhz83: Mar 9 2012, 05:59 PM
zephyrus9999
post Mar 9 2012, 06:29 PM

649 posts

QUOTE(kh8668 @ Mar 9 2012, 05:40 PM)
haha not so lucky. it rose from 280 psf to 350 psft in two years time. now i dont know.

Ppl see these happens, automatically will direct to management team. I heard from reliable source that the water rose in 10-15 minutes, and its far too short time to inform every single residents to move out their cars. And if you all have never been to the condo, the Sungai Penaga is some small bloody mini river (ive seen with my own eyes) directly next to basement parking. And the height is like few meters to the wall.. Too bad the wall has some decoration holes in it or else it can withstand more volume. Regardless, the management should install a PA system next time.
kh8668
post Mar 9 2012, 06:31 PM

Mamma Mia!
5,488 posts

QUOTE(zephyrus9999 @ Mar 9 2012, 06:29 PM)
haha not so lucky. it rose from 280 psf to 350 psft in two years time. now i dont know.

Ppl see these happens, automatically will direct to management team. I heard from reliable source that the water rose in 10-15 minutes, and its far too short time to inform every single residents to move out their cars. And if you all have never been to the condo, the Sungai Penaga is some small bloody mini river (ive seen with my own eyes) directly next to basement parking. And the height is like few meters to the wall.. Too bad the wall has some decoration holes in it or else it can withstand more volume. Regardless, the management should install a PA system next time.
hehe..sold at 312psf
Mikken
post Mar 9 2012, 06:32 PM

#
1,092 posts

I wonder how many of these cars are covered by flood insurance.
SKfolk
post Mar 9 2012, 06:36 PM

928 posts

QUOTE(kh8668 @ Mar 9 2012, 06:31 PM)
hehe..sold at 312psf
I think this must be the idea of the architect who always is the head of the construction team. Architect always wants the aesthetic view don want flat wall( no decoration).and the civil engineer just design the structure accordingly.And the engineer is usually design the structure for the building only and not the surrounding infrastructure.

This post has been edited by SKfolk: Mar 9 2012, 06:40 PM
lesboutons
post Mar 9 2012, 08:53 PM

88 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Mar 9 2012, 03:07 PM)
Soon after property is handed over to the buyer, JMB is borned afterwards.
And developers hold no responsibility in this kind of stuff, although JMB also consist of developer as one of the committee member.
Developers only liable for the property quality and warranty issue.
yeah but the flooding must have been caused by some defect in the drainage? basement car parks should not normally flood. unless there is no defect and it was merely clogged, in which case the jmb should be held responsible.

8 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0468sec    0.33    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 08:25 AM