Sony XPERIA S™ Official Thread | V2, the first Xperia™ Smartphone from Sony

limyusiong
post Mar 9 2012, 01:11 PM

2,815 posts

plan to switch from note to XPS...may i knw wat de AP set pricing now?

most probably getting a white set...reason to change phone is to pair with my SONY HDTV ...wahahha
limyusiong
post Mar 9 2012, 07:55 PM

2,815 posts

QUOTE(yeelin04 @ Mar 9 2012, 01:15 PM)
r u selling your note?  drool.gif
yes, u wanna buy my note ah? i used it bout 5 months since it launch.

QUOTE(harryfoo @ Mar 9 2012, 01:25 PM)
Don't buy Note lar, a lot of Ah Bengs using that.
halo sir, i am not ah BENG!

phone history? check my sign....

Btw, getting mine white set later....but a bit tired after work, lazy drive to KK le....if nt, tml lol..
limyusiong
post Mar 9 2012, 08:55 PM

2,815 posts

QUOTE(benny888 @ Mar 9 2012, 08:03 PM)
The guy who commented Note users are Ah Beng is insulting all Note users. I am one of the Note user and I must say is now my favorite smartphone.  He must be one of those highly intelligent, well cultured  and sophisticated gentleman to throw such rude remarks
Uncle benny, no need bother him la...i am a mxxxxxxx post in top FMCG company le...doesnt feel myself is ah beng at all lo..

QUOTE(yeelin04 @ Mar 9 2012, 08:17 PM)
what color?
i bought it during launch...tat time onli black...white set is later on one...
limyusiong
post Mar 9 2012, 09:25 PM

2,815 posts

QUOTE(china_dude 02 @ Mar 9 2012, 09:16 PM)
ohmy.gif
sorry then, go n get a new set la...plenty stock nw...

QUOTE(twhong_91 @ Mar 9 2012, 09:22 PM)
Im gonna buy this phone. thumbs up.
getting my white set later...CONFIRMED....
limyusiong
post Mar 9 2012, 09:47 PM

2,815 posts

QUOTE(yeelin04 @ Mar 9 2012, 09:34 PM)
y buy AP set?  doh.gif
y cannot?too be frank, i never encounter any phone faulty being AP or Ori set...coz normally i change phone quit fast...if got faulty, hardly will deal with hardware defect....oh ya, i4 used for a yr, home button issue, change 1 to 1...

QUOTE(harryfoo @ Mar 9 2012, 09:39 PM)
It's based on my observation. No offense.
abang, a lot of iphone user also ah beng....wat phone u using?

Added on March 9, 2012, 9:48 pm
QUOTE(silencer @ Mar 9 2012, 09:45 PM)
I guess I am the so called ah beng too... As a cxx of a multi million dollar company...haih

This post has been edited by limyusiong: Mar 9 2012, 09:48 PM
limyusiong
post Mar 10 2012, 10:53 AM

2,815 posts

ori 1899...ap set yst price still 1799....those said 1770 actually no ready stock one...called a few also tak da stock...
limyusiong
post Mar 10 2012, 05:33 PM

2,815 posts

Quality control...

Charging my white...later I c gt yellowish or not yeah...
limyusiong
post Mar 10 2012, 05:53 PM

2,815 posts

oh no..1st problem encounter for XPS...it cant detect my unifi wifi...where else my mac, pc, ipad, 4s boleh...i remember this also happen during my xperia arc previously...anyone can help?
limyusiong
post Mar 10 2012, 06:17 PM

2,815 posts

QUOTE(cruzzmz @ Mar 10 2012, 05:56 PM)
try changing ur wireless security to WEP ...
U mean change at my router setting there?

after log in change which setting ha?

This post has been edited by limyusiong: Mar 10 2012, 06:35 PM
limyusiong
post Mar 11 2012, 12:54 AM

2,815 posts

Charging take very long le...and battery life was super sux! Jus nw I charge to 49%... Then unplug to play around...went out supper play a bit also...came bak home left 12%....all happen within 3 hrs!!! This is nt acceptable at all! Even worst than my previous 5' note!!!

Let me try a few cycle charge n observe! Another thing, battery was cover up n screw! Mean I can't even can buy another spare battery!!! Gosh!
limyusiong
post Mar 11 2012, 01:14 AM

2,815 posts

QUOTE(yeelin04 @ Mar 11 2012, 01:00 AM)
Didnt u research the phone before you buy? all these while in this thread ppl know that the battery is nondetachable  laugh.gif

how can u compare a samseng phone with sony. samseng note is a tab + phone. xperia s is not even a tablet, it is only a smartphone.  shakehead.gif
Sorry I din do research when bought it...first time encounter Sony phone battery is non detachable...never experience with any sony phone before?

Wat ru talking bout? Both also smartphone as far as I knw...for me, logically 5' screen should consume more battery when comparing with 4' ma...but this xps mcm byk eat battery..

An expert, wat model of phone u use b4?

QUOTE(cracksys @ Mar 11 2012, 01:05 AM)
battery can be remove actually  brows.gif
Fren, ru sure ah? Mean if I wanna change to spare battery, I have to remove de screw is it?
limyusiong
post Mar 11 2012, 01:15 AM

2,815 posts

QUOTE(SpikeTwo @ Mar 11 2012, 01:09 AM)
how much they are selling in saberkas?
btw,. i have already warned that china_dude this is not kopitiam. if he keeps on going like this, he will be reported.

Added on March 11, 2012, 1:12 amthe battery can be removed. as long as you remove the batt cover with phillip driver. but it might void the warranty...unless, there's no warranty sticker there?  brows.gif the charging, well the adapter only feeds 850+mA right? i read that sony fast charger is not out yet. but where is the fast charging technology promised? i tot it was with the phone, not the charger.  doh.gif

so no reports of our local user regarding the yellowish dots or full screen yellowish? that's good!  rclxms.gif but i still have to go down to the shop to test it myself before i buy. hehe
Fren u mean every time if I wanna use spare battery and rotate battery I have to unscrew it? U think is it very practical?
limyusiong
post Mar 11 2012, 01:21 AM

2,815 posts

QUOTE(SpikeTwo @ Mar 11 2012, 01:17 AM)
you point the question to the wrong person man. you should ask SONY!

but, as long as it can be swapped out with larger capacity batt, its ok for me. i do not practice rotating batts. either replace with large capacity or feed it with mobile powerpack 11kmaH!

and let's hope future sony firmware updates + ICS can cure the batt drain. anything that can be solved by software i dont worry that much tho.
I knw...but jus nw u r saying battery can remove...I also knw by removing screw, it can be done...but I am referring to practically la...

Yes, power bank is another alternative lo....firmware update ah, Sony always very slow one...but I did come across some beta ics ord out...but haven gt time try it out...
limyusiong
post Mar 11 2012, 01:32 AM

2,815 posts

But note screen also running 800x1280 with 5.3" screen le...but battery capacity is 1750 vs 2500 la...if battery really can't tahan, then I might jump ship very fast lol...
limyusiong
post Mar 11 2012, 02:13 AM

2,815 posts

QUOTE(yeelin04 @ Mar 11 2012, 01:54 AM)
Of cos u never experience before, because this is the 1st SONY phone + it is nondetachable battery.

iphone 4 + Xperia S (1st batch before AP set start selling.)

u can ask anyone here, they know i got the XS way before the launching date was announced  whistling.gif

Phone? Tablet? It's GALAXY Note! - Digi advertise this so i tell this lah...
Wah wah wah, geng lol...First batch user!

Well I used i4, note ,4s and now this xps...I just give comment base on my experience... For me, all is called smart phone...tablet is tablet...phone is phone...iTu saja I knw...
limyusiong
post Mar 11 2012, 12:58 PM

2,815 posts

[quote=jloi,Mar 11 2012, 09:46 AM]
All smartphone also drain battery like hell de la with 3G + none stop using. I use iphong 4S b4 and it drain like mtfk compare to my SE Xperia Neo.

Samsung yes last longer because of 2500 mah battery eventhough is 5.3 inch. Sony Xperia S is 4.3 inch with 1750 mah. U wan me tell u how calculate battery consumption? Alot factor affect it.

So solution? go buy yaobao battery if u need extra battery badly.

Btw i tod Xperia S was a fast charging devices?

[/quote]

Yes fren I got u...I do have i4, 4s and note...no doubt iPhone battery drain very fast..but with their USB charge, it can be recharge in short period of time...I realize for Sony USB charge, it charge very slow.... I Duno whether xps is fast charging devices...at least when u try USB charge yst, it does not..

I am not first day using phone...I knw a lot of factor consider in...I always switch btw edge and 3G, low brightness, off gps and those unnecessary...but battery still drain fast...

I observing how the usage for full charge by today and share around here...

[quote=exkaizen,Mar 11 2012, 09:50 AM]
yup.. saw ppl complaining xps battery drain fast... other phone with similar battery capacity also drain similar... current phone require a few cycle of charging and discharging before it last longer... haih...

Ppl complaining unremoval battery... its like only sony do that but other phone done that...

no xpendable storage... ppl complaining like sony only do that... but what about iphone and nexus series?? hiahs...

[/quote]

I not complaining here...is I jus share out my point of view after getting it..I change phone very frequent and trying around all brands and model...and this is first time I encounter Sony practice un removable battery...which personally I don't like it...again, I said personally, which is my own preference...

[quote=exkaizen,Mar 11 2012, 09:55 AM]
Yes sony always very slow one... for hardware they slow implementor thus they attract user on design n camera... for firmware... yes they slow but not as slow as moto/htc & the firmware update slow but stable not like samseng... heard they even have update for their tablet but in the end the wifi broken... need to wait another update...

Based on Arc xperience... they deliver their promises:
- provide unlocked bootloader
- deliver scheduled updates
- no major bug
- deep integration in FB

[/quote]

I do have arc before as well..again same issue I encounter it, battery drain fast...I do agree with u, I bought coz of de design...slim, curve...nice...again, fw update was slow...internal memory a bit leggy and I jump ship again...

Added on March 11, 2012, 10:00 am
seems u bought a phone without research first... you also compare apple with durians... T.T how leee... sweat.gif

[/quote]

Yes,as I said I change phone very frequent...I din do any research before...for me review is review, I prefer own personal preference...again, I comparing with diff type of smartphone....again, I am not complaining...I am giving general personal experience on the model..

By de way,which one I comparing apple with durians?

Added on March 11, 2012, 10:01 am
samseng use the so call amoLED which consume less battery...  Sony using LCD only..  sweat.gif

[/quote]

Thx for highlighting it...I admit I Duno both will consume battery different way...

Overall, I jus giving my PERSONAL experience base on what I am using it...I am not COMPLAINING as I always aware no phone is perfect...u can jus choose whatever model tat u like base on ur personal preference....for some ppl, design is priority, some prefer camera quality, some battery life, etc etc....as a forum, I jus provide my personal experience n share around...and let reader to obtain info and decide by them self...I am not bias on any brand or any model.

Lastly, I give super comment on xps screen....superb screen they have it...bravia engine is really not joking...

I will update battery life accordingly...tq

This post has been edited by limyusiong: Mar 11 2012, 01:05 PM
limyusiong
post Mar 11 2012, 01:23 PM

2,815 posts

QUOTE(loonsave @ Mar 11 2012, 01:08 PM)
Your post not organize. The quote tag doesn't function well.

Appreciate with your comments. Different user experience different performance from a same phone model. This is the input that we need. Hope you can give more information after a few life cycle of battery charge.

I anticipated the battery life might drain fast, that's why I get an external battery pack just in case. Last long battery life is essential but it's not crucial to me. If battery life really bother me, I would rather get a normal keypad phone without touch screen. That give us maximum battery life for couple of days.
Sorry use too much of quote, typing with iPad on bed...hehehe...

Battery life is crucial for me...I admit I am degil, if wan battery life, go bak small screen, non touch screen...tat one ca. Last 3 days also can...but human being, we wan more...tq hehehe...

Added on March 11, 2012, 1:27 pm
QUOTE(mode893 @ Mar 11 2012, 01:22 PM)
If battery life is a problem, I would've stopped owning smartphones 4-5 years ago. I have to be as smart as my smartphone, especially if you're a data intensive user like me. I've never had a problem with battery life because:

1) Everytime I find a charger I charge (as recommended by Sony-incerases battery life especially for the first few full charge cycles)
2) I have a car charger that I can plug into which is the first thing I do as soon as I get into my car.
3) I have my detachable USB charging cable plugged into my work computer all the time with a standby charging head plugged in at the power socket so I can USB charge it or detach the cable to use with the charger for quick charge.

Battery problem solved, I NEVER complain about my battery life eventhough all my smartphones would probably last 1/2 day maximum with my user habits  wink.gif Current radio usage for all smartphones is really sinful that it's unpractical and unwise to expect 'good' battery life. Deal with it and be creative.

Btw, Xperia S has fast charging feature right? A 10-minute charge can get you 1 hour of talk time so I guess that;s a start
1) every time I find a charger I charge?? Battery lifespan ma very fast kong?
2) most of time is office base, sometime required some field work move around...yes I do have car charger as well..

xps really has fast charging features? Anyone can confirm on this? Maybe dr first batch user like yeelin and ninja can comment on this?perhaps tonight I also c how long it take to charge fr 0-100%

This post has been edited by limyusiong: Mar 11 2012, 01:27 PM
limyusiong
post Mar 11 2012, 02:15 PM

2,815 posts

QUOTE(mode893 @ Mar 11 2012, 01:31 PM)
Confirm http://www.geeky-gadgets.com/sony-xperia-s...led-02-02-2012/

You need to see how long it charges to 80% because this feature only activated till 80%, then it charges as normal
QUOTE(cracksys @ Mar 11 2012, 01:43 PM)
my third charge. 2 hours to reach 85% from 5%
QUOTE(mode893 @ Mar 11 2012, 01:46 PM)
That's normal. Give it till 5-6 charge cycles for full performance. Make sure you discharge fully before charging fully per cycle
Thx for sharing everyone...as long as fast charge, then it might help me a lot as most of time I base in office...

Ok, wkend almost end...tonnes of work is waiting for u...

Ps: any invisible shield available in market? Normally I don't like to use casing...it make de phone bulky...so most of my phone is naked...but this one white d....better get some protection...
limyusiong
post Mar 11 2012, 08:23 PM

2,815 posts

QUOTE(benny888 @ Mar 11 2012, 08:18 PM)
So you are saying there are 20 million stupid users using the SGS II in the world today !
Uncle Benny is expert of android...please respect him...note thread is well organize and uncle Benny attend most of question there...salute!

Uncle Benny, have u tried xps? Will need ur expert and advice also..
limyusiong
post Mar 11 2012, 08:26 PM

2,815 posts

QUOTE(silencer @ Mar 11 2012, 08:20 PM)
Trust me, only u know the answer. You should test each of the phones yourself. At the end of the day, you are the one whose going to use it. Do not follow some the users here that keep buying and changing handphone like changing their girlfriends
Me? vmad.gif vmad.gif vmad.gif

I strongly disagree on this. I change change to try around and enjoy de fun...and I din change gf very frequent...I knw my gf then marry within 4 yrs...plz correct ur statement and respect ppl

0.0187sec    0.64    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 11:32 AM