Oil & Gas Career v3, Job Oppurtunities & Technical Sharing

kebret
post Mar 13 2012, 05:59 PM

41 posts

QUOTE(mhyug @ Mar 13 2012, 01:16 PM)
congrtas bro, btw anyone have any experience in maintenance technician in ong??or knows any collogues/friends whom are under this job scope would like some advice on that job. smile.gif
what do you want to ask? i happen to know some
kebret
post Mar 13 2012, 07:44 PM

41 posts

QUOTE(mhyug @ Mar 13 2012, 06:08 PM)
the below tongue.gif
quoted is  the job scope of a general maintenance technician.any advice on the above as to what the person will be doing?in my view(from what i know a bit here and there), the technician will be doing some machine shop tasks, keeping machineries running smooth, alike to the buildings and structures.(does this include oil rigs, refinery, oil/gas terminals, vessels??) performing the ever important breakdown, pre-emptive maintenance jobs and such.
Usually maintenance technicians are separated into different diciplines (mechanical, electrical, electronic, civil, instrument etc) and major maintenance that they are focusing on (or at least in my point of view) are the reactive/breakdown maintenance. predictive/preventive etc are non core maintenance, but still very2 important. Based on your JD, i can assume that the general maintenance technician position will cover electrical and mechanical, which is a lot to cover actually. this is good for personal improvement, I see a lot of electrical technician doing mechanical job proficiently, and vice versa.
And be prepared to be general worker as well, cleaner, chemical labeller (is this right lol), Hope i answer your question
kebret
post Mar 14 2012, 05:26 PM

41 posts

QUOTE(preakzz @ Mar 13 2012, 08:38 PM)
I think senior PE is if u hv 8-10 yrs experience, no?

http://www.mmcog.com/career/senior-project-engineer
Btw, before I go back at home with no internet,  cry.gif I received a job offer from Geoservices yesterday. Mudlogger. I think SLB must've passed my application which I have failed during the field exposure back in Labuan. Based on what I've read from v1-v2, it's a job to avoid. So..... should I really avoid it?
i have a few juniors just joined them...so far they are happy, being sent to singapore for training, and frequent offshore trips.
something to consider eh?

kebret
post Mar 24 2012, 12:29 PM

41 posts

QUOTE(mangoman @ Mar 24 2012, 08:26 AM)
It is not requested by our PM, if you know the ordinance of Sbh/Swk, for a peninsular msian, in order to work in East Msia, you must possess at least a degree and you still need to apply for a working permit.
that is not entirely true, indeed u need a work permit to work in Sarawak, even Sabahan also need to have one to work in Sarawak.
And u dont need degree to work there.
kebret
post May 14 2012, 04:01 PM

41 posts

QUOTE(weekeng911 @ May 13 2012, 04:47 PM)
i guessed some of u still cant understand my post haha. thx 4 ur kind replies. ppl said pointer is not everything, i think this some general truth like we all know. problem is, she cant even get the INTERVIEW to give wudeva impression, showing soft skills n etc.. and she won various quiz, public speaking stuff.
if some1 get pointer 4.0 but cant work in a team, introvert, poor soft skills and english or maybe arrogant, then i understand why he's not hired.
and to others, whatever things u may come up with.. smile, 1st impression, way of walk, way of talk, body language, charisma, humility or wudeva u might say, oh come on, most of us are average people. we dont walk like model or like an old man or talks like a president.
my friend, he's just told me, during the session, nobody want to work with him or vote him as the leader, and he has nth to present during group discussion because all other members talks all and he's just there being cool and all but he passed.
what ? u want tell me that he's humble or has chemistry with interviewer or some sort ?
one part of mooi's words i agree. it dpends on the company's needs at the particular moment.
as for mudlogger in my case, i dont they need people who are enthusiastic, having leadership n etc. since many quitting (tough n boring job), i "personally" would like to think they hire people that wont be able to be hired easily so that they stay quietly and obediently in that position to avoid the hassle of keep recruiting since my friends whos working there told me people keep leaving and he himself might leave soon.
but im not sure.
i take no pleasure in saying hey tis guy is noob, that guy is poor in this or that, i jz wanted to point out the facts.

and to heavenhell, lol my pointer is only 2.7 and of cz they didnt look at the pointer since they just call all the people who applied for interview. they didnt even look at the pointer. u talked as if im degrading others but that's what it is.
when some1 used life quotes, it sounds beautiful and easy, "be urself", "let it go"...
to think of it, the world isnt as easy like 1+1=2. its not how good u r, its how u blend in to camouflage in the weaker majority (sumtimes people consider this as teamwork). being outstanding many times is not useful as ppl might be jealous, backstab/sabo u. and there's conspiracies and hidden agendas all the time.
u watch drama hor also can c how good people eventually turned bad after they themselves being framed and realized how dark the world is. sad sad.gif
i think the real factor is "likeability"
kebret
post May 29 2012, 05:16 PM

41 posts

QUOTE(mhyug @ May 29 2012, 01:47 PM)
offshore for oil found offshore, onshore for oil found onshore smile.gif in simple word both, and where ever you can find oil or to be found.

as for companies thus far ive come to know is one youve mentioned earlier, weatherford(spelling mungkin salah disini hoho) and 1 other wch slipped my mind right now. hmm.gif
I think the correct term in malaysia for offshore and onshore is upstream and downstream, where offshore is Exploration and Production, and onshore is Refining/processing/retail/etc

kebret
post May 30 2012, 05:54 PM

41 posts

QUOTE(azraeil @ May 30 2012, 12:22 AM)
Oil and Gas can be found offshore and offshore so specifying offshore as upstream is incorrect. Upstream in Oil and Gas industry relates to exploration and production of oil and gas from those fields. Once it leaves the platform via pipeline on to ships or into the gas gathering system then that's where downstream activities starts
oh..i tot he was talking abt malaysia in particular.
i assume that since i never heard abt malaysia's onshore oil reserve, unlike middle east etc
pardon me
kebret
post Jun 12 2012, 05:56 PM

41 posts

hi all.
I really need some advice.
I am currently working as technician at one of the oil and gas operator in sarawak.
So currently I am shortlisted for Engineer position in Emerson Process Management, located in Singapore.
My salary will be increased slightly more than double if I am accepted, after conversion of course. I really need second opinion before consider attending their interview, since quite large sum of money will be sacrificed.
Is this a good move?
kebret
post Jul 29 2012, 08:31 PM

41 posts

QUOTE(Stefanov @ Jul 28 2012, 06:54 PM)
I've been through Carigali PTW course.
they are totally strict on safety after these event but
have to see how good this new protocol in place
even with ptw, if the workers din comply or take shortcuts still no use...maybe for a few month only they will follow.
I remember when there were death case in my workplace, the managing director did enforce enhanced zero tolerance rules, now nobody cares ody.

0.0227sec    0.29    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 05:40 AM