post Mar 8 2012, 01:10 PM

u no say?
1,196 posts

Shell got a new FPSO project I heard. nod.gif
Dagger69
post Mar 12 2012, 09:38 AM

u no say?
1,196 posts

QUOTE(tokok_tambah @ Mar 12 2012, 01:04 AM)
are you guys in this thread have a high cgpa?  hmm.gif
Why?
Dagger69
post Mar 12 2012, 01:03 PM

u no say?
1,196 posts

QUOTE(tokok_tambah @ Mar 12 2012, 12:01 PM)
because two of my friends got the job easily in oil and gas. they certainly have pointer above 3.0. btw we sent resume together. maybe their filter someone who has better academic and my resume is not attract the HR
Normally thats the case in Malaysia. Good result means higher chance to secure an interview but not the job. To determine whether you will get the job or not depends on your interview.

But companies like SLB do consider people with lower cgpa(as in second class upper/lower) to attend their interview/assessment. They really love people who are street smart and able to handle pressure.

And yes, results do play a big role in landing your first job as you dont have any working experience.

This post has been edited by Dagger69: Mar 12 2012, 01:05 PM
Dagger69
post Mar 14 2012, 02:00 PM

u no say?
1,196 posts

QUOTE(azraeil @ Mar 14 2012, 01:24 PM)
Someone is looking for fresh graduate engineers for working in O&G in singapore

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2265299
Seems legit. JGC.

This post has been edited by Dagger69: Mar 14 2012, 02:02 PM
Dagger69
post Mar 15 2012, 08:30 AM

u no say?
1,196 posts

QUOTE(preakzz @ Mar 13 2012, 08:38 PM)
I think senior PE is if u hv 8-10 yrs experience, no?

http://www.mmcog.com/career/senior-project-engineer
Btw, before I go back at home with no internet,  cry.gif I received a job offer from Geoservices yesterday. Mudlogger. I think SLB must've passed my application which I have failed during the field exposure back in Labuan. Based on what I've read from v1-v2, it's a job to avoid. So..... should I really avoid it?
My freind's friend got the job as mudlogger(Geoservices). Maybe its the same position they offered you?
Dagger69
post Mar 16 2012, 10:13 AM

u no say?
1,196 posts

QUOTE(mhyug @ Mar 15 2012, 07:19 PM)
geoservices is under slb right if im not mistaken...slb i wonder if they will take so-so ones like me... hmm.gif
Yes it is under SLB. But i think the pay scale is diff.
Dagger69
post Mar 19 2012, 10:28 AM

u no say?
1,196 posts

QUOTE(davidssk @ Mar 19 2012, 09:42 AM)
Yes. Money maybe is an important issue. However, I am more concerning on the my final goal.
Maybe it is too earlier to say that. I wan to become design engineer in future.
My plan is to work at site to gain more practical experience, because i think that site experience may directly help u in the design.
Like what GoodyGod said, if you really interested to gain site knowledge and be a design engineer, join vendor/fabricator. Get to know how they fabricate the equipments and the platform surely will help you once you join consulting line such as technip/aker/ranhill.
Dagger69
post Mar 20 2012, 02:13 PM

u no say?
1,196 posts

QUOTE(echobrainproject @ Mar 20 2012, 02:06 PM)
Thats what I feel. Oil and gas is exciting but alot of hard work and that i totally understand. But at 2.3k im thinking because of the long hours+offshore travelling when a stable office engineering job in kl, 5 days a week, can offer me 2.8k to above 3+k with benefits.
If I accept it itll be simply because of the job, not the pay.
Kencana is famous for their lower pay rate but people gained valuable experiences there. Its up to individual i guess. Some prefer experience at the early stage, some prefer money. Yea they are merging but I cant tell you if things gonna get better or still the same.

This post has been edited by Dagger69: Mar 20 2012, 02:15 PM
Dagger69
post Mar 21 2012, 08:12 AM

u no say?
1,196 posts

QUOTE(yss88 @ Mar 21 2012, 02:20 AM)
Hi guys, I am new to this forum and need a consultation or advice on my career. First, let me introduce my background, I am enrolled in Bachelor degree( E&E), and going to graduate soon in this year.

My situation is that i have job offers from ONG( halliburton-maintenance engineer) and also semicon (product engineer). It seems  like very good but i having a hard time to decide which job/ field should i go.

For ONG, if i was offer with field engineer, definitely i will choose it. So, i need some advice from you guys/senior/sifu here.

I really appreciate your advices, opinions, sharings.
What is the job scope of a product engineer in a semicon industry and how about its career advancement?
Dagger69
post Mar 28 2012, 01:02 PM

u no say?
1,196 posts

QUOTE(rafa9389 @ Mar 28 2012, 12:44 PM)
Anybody knows how to apply for internship with Halliburton since i cant find it on their website
Err..i applied once for Halliburton internship and that time got vacancy. So i applied through here http://jobs.halliburton.com/my/kuala-lumpur-jobs.

Ttook damn long for them to respond, like more than 7 months. Half way thru my internship only they find me. =.=

My advice to you, call the HQ straight and enquire about this and whether you can have the HR email or not.

G Tower, Level 10
199 Jalan Tun Razak
50400 Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

Tel: +60 3 92066888

This post has been edited by Dagger69: Mar 28 2012, 01:07 PM
Dagger69
post Apr 19 2012, 08:23 AM

u no say?
1,196 posts

Technip giving priority to UTP/USM/UTM?

False!

There are lots of engineers/graduate engineers in Technip Msia graduated from overseas(UK/AUS/US/INDIA) universities and local private and public such as TARC/UNITEN/NOTTINGHAM MSIA/INTI/UniKL/UTP/UM/UTM/USM/KLIUC.

So please, dont spread around things such as this company give higher priority to people from these universities and so on.

Do you know they have like around 2000 people working for Technip in MALAYSIA only? 4 buildings along Jalan Tun Razak are occupied by Technip(including their HQ Technip building)

They are very aggresive nowadays. Many projects flowing in like water.

This post has been edited by Dagger69: Apr 19 2012, 08:31 AM
Dagger69
post Apr 19 2012, 10:53 PM

u no say?
1,196 posts

QUOTE(owen0788 @ Apr 19 2012, 07:00 PM)
i was thinking the same thing. just that i worry that the experience i pick up in cameron will be too much about manufacturing.which will be irrelevant in consultant

Added on April 19, 2012, 7:02 pm

haha..what do u mean with right dept
The flow usually like this.

Vendor/Contractor > Consultant > Client

There is no such thing as joining Cameron means you cant join consultant later. Consultant will be like so freaking happy to have someone who already has knowledge and is experienced on certain equipment/package in OnG, makes their life easier. Dont beleive me you can ask anyone working with as a consultant right now.

You can be an expert in pumps, valves, compressor and etc. People will appreciate you!

But its up to you, really. Yes you can start with Technip no problem, just that you have to do lots of self-learning and seek guidance from your seniors.

Remember, you are a CONSULTANT. You NEED to know your stuffs.

This post has been edited by Dagger69: Apr 19 2012, 10:56 PM
Dagger69
post Apr 24 2012, 02:07 PM

u no say?
1,196 posts

QUOTE(thunderaj @ Apr 24 2012, 02:03 PM)
What KTSB stand for ?
KTSB = Kertih Terminal Sdn Bhd? lol but KSTB stands for Kejuruteraan Samudra Timur Berhad

This post has been edited by Dagger69: Apr 24 2012, 02:15 PM
Dagger69
post Apr 26 2012, 08:37 PM

u no say?
1,196 posts

QUOTE(paradox @ Apr 26 2012, 08:20 PM)
I received call from KSTB for interview as Trainee Management.They said this position like junior engineer. Anyone have been work here? i need to know basic salary for freshie because right now i have 1 year experience. Please help
wait i dont understand. What position you applied for? and 1 year experience in related field?
Dagger69
post Apr 27 2012, 09:27 AM

u no say?
1,196 posts

QUOTE(paradox @ Apr 27 2012, 09:08 AM)
I try to check back my sent mail but i cannot trace any mail that i sent to them. From tele-conversation, they offer me for position Management Trainee. More like Junior Engineer they said. All job description will be explained during the interview. This makes me not sure whether my experience related to the position offered. Right now I work more on managing the project for supplying oil and gas equipment.Will I be eligible to demand for a higher salary? or just accept what they offer.
You see, its hard to determine whether you can demand for a higher salary or not because you dont know what are they offering yet. Just go to the interview first. If they offer you with 20% - 30% increment from your current salary, sound good. Just becareful and dont simply sign the offer letter. They might say the job is more like a Junior Engineer, but on paper you are still a Management Trainee. Maybe you can update us here about the job description later on.
Dagger69
post May 11 2012, 01:07 PM

u no say?
1,196 posts

QUOTE(OOOOPP! @ May 11 2012, 12:58 PM)
My fresh grad friend got offered to work at lumut fabrication yard for RM2.5k. They work 6 days/wk, which is sux.
Yea people have to know this, Kencana doesnt pay as high as others but its a good place to learn and get experience.
Dagger69
post May 22 2012, 08:52 PM

u no say?
1,196 posts

QUOTE(noruazumi @ May 22 2012, 08:45 PM)
I personally don't feel like people here to brag about this and that. Generally, I find people here are quite friendly. If you go to Real World Issue, they are more "hostile". Haha. biggrin.gif

Anyway, newcomers should take this "virtual pressure" as opportunity to learn on how to handle real pressure on the field. It is a good exercise on how to deal with people.
well said, i personally agree with you. Not just Real World, but the Bodybuilding & Strength Training too. Ego too HIGH d. biggrin.gif

Those that been on the field for OnG will know what noruazumi is saying. People normally dont care whether you will butthurt or not.

This post has been edited by Dagger69: May 22 2012, 08:52 PM
Dagger69
post May 25 2012, 11:03 PM

u no say?
1,196 posts

QUOTE(jagadis @ May 25 2012, 10:47 PM)
Starting next week  rclxms.gif
I've got several electronics companies in line but still haven't got any OnG. Any ideas?
Since you are a good son, why dont you work first while searching for jobs in OnG. Make good sense right?

0.0290sec    0.62    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 10:14 AM