Oil & Gas Career v3, Job Oppurtunities & Technical Sharing

hj.pet
post May 12 2012, 03:09 AM

312 posts

QUOTE(kray18 @ May 11 2012, 08:50 PM)
ooo...now having second thought to join...is it worth the risk?once u get to management level u r safe rite? i mean work in office only?
it's totally depend on u. only u can decide either it's worth it or not.
positive energy
post May 12 2012, 08:53 AM

212 posts

QUOTE(noruazumi @ May 12 2012, 01:58 AM)
Across all OPUs?
Think so, according to the memo i received from HSE department of mine OPU.
mangoman
post May 12 2012, 09:12 AM

Retired Member
560 posts

QUOTE(positive energy @ May 12 2012, 09:53 AM)
For us, it didn't put on hold for hot work, but we just need to submit photos for verification before the work starts.
echobrainproject
post May 12 2012, 09:15 AM

4,765 posts

just curious, most of u working in smaller towns n all, are u all attached (married)? if so how you balance takin on a new job in O&G
noruazumi
post May 12 2012, 10:07 AM

509 posts

QUOTE(positive energy @ May 12 2012, 08:53 AM)
QUOTE(mangoman @ May 12 2012, 09:12 AM)
For us, it didn't put on hold for hot work, but we just need to submit photos for verification before the work starts.
I see. It is always a good thing to take precaution. Thanks for the info.
eandi
post May 12 2012, 12:12 PM

105 posts

QUOTE(mhyug @ May 11 2012, 08:40 PM)
guys know any budget hotels in kemaman??ive been searching the net and the results are all showing places out of kemaman(k.t, kerterh, kuantan and such)  rclxub.gif
Homestay hotel..nice & clean hotel with free wifi..

preakzz
post May 12 2012, 03:26 PM

224 posts

QUOTE(thenukid @ May 8 2012, 05:38 PM)
Hi guys.

I'm new to this section of the forum. Either way, I feel that it might benefit me (and future job-seekers) to ask some experienced OnG guys here regarding my situation.

First off, I'm a graduate in Chemical Engineering from a UK university branch campus in Malaysia. My Chemical Engineering degree is a standard 3 year UK degree (so not accredited by BEM). I graduated last year, so I can be considered fresh.

Basically, I was invited to join a Baker Hughes Experience (BHE) sometime last month for the position of Field Engineer (Baker Hughes is an upstream oilfield services company- drilling, completions, well services, flow assurance etc.). The BHE lasted for 2 days. Standard assessment weekend activities: panel interviews, teamwork activities, logic test, mechanical aptitude test, poster presentations, debates etc. During the two days, we met hiring managers and got to socialize with them . All the while they were observing and assessing us.

Finally, before we were allowed to leave, they called us in one by one and informed us of whether or not they will be hiring us. Unfortunately for me, I was rejected. They didn't provide me a reason or basis for rejection, they just said: "We don't have a suitable position for you" and that was that. Those who were hired were immediately assigned departments (coiled tubing, cementing, intelligent production systems, upstream chemicals etc.)

What I'm here to ask (especially addressed to the experienced OnG guys) is what exactly were they looking for during those 2 days? Not to brag or come off as egotistical, but I believe that I performed rather well during the many teamwork activities, presentations, panel interviews and tests. I accept that I may not possess a degree that perfectly suits the job, but other chemical engineers were hired. Also, I did my best to leave a positive impression on the hiring managers and HR personnel that were present.

Can anyone can provide me an insight as to what the OnG sectors look for in their candidates ? Also, how did they manage to assess us and say : "You're right for coiled tubing. You're right for cementing. Etc." based on activities that SEEMINGLY don't test for technical skill sets (presentations, teamwork etc.)?

I'm writing this not because I'm sour and sulky that I didn't get the job, but because I need to know why and how I was rejected. What kind of criteria were they looking for. I believe this is important for me to improve myself and prepare for future interviews.

Please do share your thoughts. Any insights the senior OnG guys can provide will be beneficial for future job-seekers. Thank you all !

BHE is like FEP in SLB I think. I failed that too. Haha. Poor me. Resume been passed down to Gesoserv I think I'm done with SLB. Don't think they'd consider me even if I applied again. No response in application for Smith too. Anyone from Gyrodata here? wink.gif
weekeng911
post May 12 2012, 04:49 PM

36 posts

QUOTE(preakzz @ May 12 2012, 03:26 PM)
BHE is like FEP in SLB I think. I failed that too. Haha. Poor me. Resume been passed down to Gesoserv I think I'm done with SLB. Don't think they'd consider me even if I applied again. No response in application for Smith too. Anyone from Gyrodata here? wink.gif
same case as mine. not to brag bout myself, i too performed quite well if not outstanding in relative to other candidates who 1st of all speak poor english, not contributing much during the group activity yet passed the stage. i still keep my humility and not being overly confident or trying to be in the centre of attention.
and i cant even pass the 1st round whereby 10/15 did.

do those people prefer average or slightly above average people rather than good performers ???

Added on May 12, 2012, 5:15 pm
QUOTE(hj.pet @ May 10 2012, 08:50 PM)
ermmm. y did u emphasize on the presentation and english speaking part? r u saying dat having a good presentation and perfect communication in english make u the perfect candidate for their vacancies? i think u got it wrong there. it takes more than those two things to be hired i believe. how do u solve problem, teamwork, leadership, determination, loyalty, etc plays an important role too is it? yes i do believe that balance in our traits play the most important role in getting hired during any interview. just my two cents here.
of cz i know those qualities that u mentioned. being good in english is just a part of it. problem is, during the group activity, i came out with brilliant ideas and of cz, i do not purposely show off and act like a leader. all of 4 team members harmonize pretty well. during the group discussion, all of the members voted me when ask "who do want to be the leader" as well as "which 2 people do u want to work with in the next project".

like i said, im not braggin on myself, its of no point. the problem is, those qualities uve mentioned, out of 10 ppl, i think 9 also dont possess. theoritically yes, people seek those qualities during hiring, but in this world, the good people, the pretty/handsome, the successful people are like 1/100. i mean if people can passed those rounds being weak in english in the 1st place, (even taking out the note when he forget his lines in self introduction), being passive or not enthusiastic during group activity, do not exhibit confidence and passion, why dun i pass as well.

in fact, 10/15 people made it to the 2nd stage and me as the minority 5 didnt. come on, even if im not that good or average, i dont think im that bad to become the 1st 5 people who failed. unless those 10 who made it are the powerful candidtes with great leadership, determination, loyalty, wudeva u named it but they dont.

wudeva u might say to rebuke me, i still insist on this. i still maintain to keep humility while not trying to hog the limelight.
and can u ever explain why a guy with 2.8 pointer managed to get the interview and the job while a 3.9 pointer whos excellent in curicullum as well cant even f***in get the interview. its not some rare or exceptional cases of this happen, my 4 friends whose pointer are 3.5+ cant fkin get the interview during the on campus interview.

and also about the slb interview, my previous friends who interview for slb said the exact thing. she's already got petronas but went slb interview for "fun"/ to experience it... therefore, during the session, she's being quite passive and didnt talk much but she pass the round. she didnt expect it. while her 2 malay friends (my coursemate as well, whom we all know to be great performers because we are with each other for 3 years, we know who is good and who's not) cant even got thru the 1st round same like my case.

kindly leave me a reason why!! im not trying to whine or whut, i jz wanted to address my flaw and improve. do we have to self handicapped ourselves in order to be recruited ???

This post has been edited by weekeng911: May 12 2012, 05:15 PM
preakzz
post May 12 2012, 05:15 PM

224 posts

QUOTE(weekeng911 @ May 12 2012, 04:49 PM)
same case as mine. not to brag bout myself, i too performed quite well if not outstanding in relative to other candidates who 1st of all speak poor english, not contributing much during the group activity yet passed the stage. i still keep my humility and not being overly confident or trying to be in the centre of attention.

do those people prefer average or slightly above average people rather than good performers ???
I passed all until FEP where there are only two candidates for one post as FET. I believe he's better than me. Haha. He speak english very well, hard to understand to me sometimes, american accent. Good guy, cool guy. I don't ask question as much as he did. Umm...I'm a girl, so I guess he looks tougher. Oh man, this is sooo last year.

No rezeki ma.... What to do. smile.gif
heavenhell
post May 12 2012, 07:06 PM

649 posts

QUOTE(weekeng911 @ May 12 2012, 04:49 PM)

of cz i know those qualities that u mentioned. being good in english is just a part of it. problem is, during the group activity, i came out with brilliant ideas and of cz, i do not purposely show off and act like a leader. all of 4 team members harmonize pretty well. during the group discussion, all of the members voted me when ask "who do want to be the leader" as well as "which 2 people do u want to work with in the next project".

like i said, im not braggin on myself, its of no point. the problem is, those qualities uve mentioned, out of 10 ppl, i think 9 also dont possess. theoritically yes, people seek those qualities during hiring, but in this world, the good people, the pretty/handsome, the successful people are like 1/100. i mean if  people can passed those rounds being weak in english in the 1st place, (even taking out the note when he forget his lines in self introduction), being passive or not enthusiastic during group activity, do not exhibit confidence and passion, why dun i pass as well.

in fact, 10/15 people made it to the 2nd stage and me as the minority 5 didnt. come on, even if im not that good or average, i dont think im that bad to become the 1st 5 people who failed. unless those 10 who made it are the powerful candidtes with great leadership, determination, loyalty, wudeva u named it but they dont.

wudeva u might say to rebuke me, i still insist on this. i still maintain to keep humility while not trying to hog the limelight.
and can u ever explain why a guy with 2.8 pointer managed to get the interview and the job while a 3.9 pointer whos excellent in curicullum as well cant even f***in get the interview. its not some rare or exceptional cases of this happen, my 4 friends whose pointer are 3.5+ cant fkin get the interview during the on campus interview.

and also about the slb interview, my previous friends who interview for slb said the exact thing. she's already got petronas but went slb interview for "fun"/ to experience it... therefore, during the session, she's being quite passive and didnt talk much but she pass the round. she didnt expect it. while her 2 malay friends (my coursemate as well, whom we all know to be great performers because we are with each other for 3 years, we know who is good and who's not) cant even got thru the 1st round same like my case.
kindly leave me a reason why!! im not trying to whine or whut, i jz wanted to address my flaw and improve. do we have to self handicapped ourselves in order to be recruited ???
I understand your frustration but just let it go, i see you keep on mentioning a few times/posts that you perform better and still fail in the first round of interview. Like you said you are not bragging on how good you are , but right after that, you keep on mentioning that others performed badly, cant speak good english etc .Like others mentioned so many times, cgpa is not all the employers are looking at, you need to perform during interview or write a good resume/cover letter, and of course a little bit of luck.There are still lots of companies out there , try again and you might be the lucky one next time. Look forward and try again, no point looking at the past and getting frustrated by it , as it wont change a thing. Just my opinion anyway.
kray18
post May 12 2012, 07:13 PM

14 posts

QUOTE(heavenhell @ May 12 2012, 07:06 PM)
I understand your frustration but just let it go, i see you keep on mentioning a few times/posts that you perform better and still fail in the first round of interview. Like you said you are not bragging on how good you are , but right after that, you keep on mentioning that others performed badly, cant speak good english etc .Like others mentioned so many times, cgpa is not all the employers are looking at, you need to perform during interview or write a good resume/cover letter, and of course a little bit of luck.There are still lots of companies out there , try again and you might be the lucky one next time. Look forward and try again, no point looking at the past and getting frustrated by it , as it wont change a thing. Just my opinion anyway.
agreed.well said rclxms.gif
ldhong
post May 12 2012, 07:19 PM

620 posts

QUOTE(jamaluddin4 @ May 4 2012, 03:59 PM)
Yup, 52 wells there. But i'm not sure which one is drilling/ production wells. But there is another satellite platform (ANDP-B), with additional 32 production wells
Angsi was declared as 'khazanah negara'. It has one mother platform ANDRA/ ANDP-A and remote jackets ANDP-B, ANDP-C, ANDP-D, ANDP-E.

I just commisioned well C-13, C-14 at ANDP-C this shutdown with Schlumberger MPFM and Sand Monitoring System.

I am replying this mail at Gorilla II.

Already 12 days at ANDP-C. Waiting to demob tomorrow. biggrin.gif

Hopefully.....
BillySteel
post May 12 2012, 09:18 PM

661 posts

QUOTE(weekeng911 @ May 12 2012, 05:49 PM)

like i said, im not braggin on myself, its of no point. the problem is, those qualities uve mentioned, out of 10 ppl, i think 9 also dont possess. theoritically yes, people seek those qualities during hiring, but in this world, the good people, the pretty/handsome, the successful people are like 1/100. i mean if  people can passed those rounds being weak in english in the 1st place, (even taking out the note when he forget his lines in self introduction), being passive or not enthusiastic during group activity, do not exhibit confidence and passion, why dun i pass as well.

Hard to say.........even I have experienced the same thing and sometimes its baffling really.

But best not to dwell on it for too long and learn to move on.

You do know that educational pointer rarely dictates how one performs in his/her work? and if they wanted field workers I doubt most 3.5's pointer above would be willing to get their hands dirty.

thenukid
post May 12 2012, 11:25 PM

QUOTE(BillySteel @ May 12 2012, 09:18 PM)
Hard to say.........even I have experienced the same thing and sometimes its baffling really.

But best not to dwell on it for too long and learn to move on.

You do know that educational pointer rarely dictates how one performs in his/her work? and if they wanted field workers I doubt most 3.5's pointer above would be willing to get their hands dirty.
Amen to not dwelling on it for too long. It can drive a guy insane. Just try other routes into OnG. If none exist, sorry mate, I suppose you ain't fated to serve the sector. As my friend said: "You're needed elsewhere". I just hope I'm not needed in McD flipping burger patties (No offence to McD's workers) .

Seems like a lot of other people here have been rejected during the final stage selection process. It's common apparently. It's not that I hate them for not hiring me, at least extend the poor bugger the courtesy of telling the rejected candidate what he/she did wrong. But I suppose the HR department of big OnG firms....busy, busy, busy. Ah well, time to soldier on.

As for grades and extra curricular activities, I just have two true stories to tell :

Case A - Female. First Class Honours (Above 70% average) . Various committee roles in clubs and societies. Active in sports, joined numerous tournaments. Out-going, energetic, enthusiastic. Applied to Shell, rejected via e-mail. Not even a proper phone call.

Case B - Male. Second Class Lower (Below 60% average). Committee post in ONE club. Inactive in sports. A very passive and shy guy, very pleasant. Currently working as a Baker Hughes field engineer.

Once again, what are they looking for in the talent they hire ? Maybe some forumers can shed light .
Mooi
post May 13 2012, 01:31 AM

155 posts

I believe the selection can be very subjective.

It depends on a company's needs at that particular moment. It depends on luck. It depends on first impression also (one of the HR executives or managers could happen to be finding fault with the ways you dress/ smile/ walk/ eat or talk, who knows) and the list goes on.

This post has been edited by Mooi: May 13 2012, 01:36 AM
ch_teo
post May 13 2012, 04:18 PM

809 posts

sometimes, the superior needs someone who can follow instructions and mingle well with others as a team. or perhaps the chemistry with the one who will hire you.
and many other reasons.

i was rejected by a norwegian company though i passed excellently 2 tests. no reasons were given though have asked the HR. except my evaluation results.

This post has been edited by ch_teo: May 13 2012, 04:22 PM
weekeng911
post May 13 2012, 04:47 PM

36 posts

i guessed some of u still cant understand my post haha. thx 4 ur kind replies. ppl said pointer is not everything, i think this some general truth like we all know. problem is, she cant even get the INTERVIEW to give wudeva impression, showing soft skills n etc.. and she won various quiz, public speaking stuff.
if some1 get pointer 4.0 but cant work in a team, introvert, poor soft skills and english or maybe arrogant, then i understand why he's not hired.
and to others, whatever things u may come up with.. smile, 1st impression, way of walk, way of talk, body language, charisma, humility or wudeva u might say, oh come on, most of us are average people. we dont walk like model or like an old man or talks like a president.
my friend, he's just told me, during the session, nobody want to work with him or vote him as the leader, and he has nth to present during group discussion because all other members talks all and he's just there being cool and all but he passed.
what ? u want tell me that he's humble or has chemistry with interviewer or some sort ?
one part of mooi's words i agree. it dpends on the company's needs at the particular moment.
as for mudlogger in my case, i dont they need people who are enthusiastic, having leadership n etc. since many quitting (tough n boring job), i "personally" would like to think they hire people that wont be able to be hired easily so that they stay quietly and obediently in that position to avoid the hassle of keep recruiting since my friends whos working there told me people keep leaving and he himself might leave soon.
but im not sure.
i take no pleasure in saying hey tis guy is noob, that guy is poor in this or that, i jz wanted to point out the facts.

and to heavenhell, lol my pointer is only 2.7 and of cz they didnt look at the pointer since they just call all the people who applied for interview. they didnt even look at the pointer. u talked as if im degrading others but that's what it is.
when some1 used life quotes, it sounds beautiful and easy, "be urself", "let it go"...
to think of it, the world isnt as easy like 1+1=2. its not how good u r, its how u blend in to camouflage in the weaker majority (sumtimes people consider this as teamwork). being outstanding many times is not useful as ppl might be jealous, backstab/sabo u. and there's conspiracies and hidden agendas all the time.
u watch drama hor also can c how good people eventually turned bad after they themselves being framed and realized how dark the world is. sad sad.gif
forrest
post May 13 2012, 10:56 PM

1,045 posts

QUOTE(ldhong @ May 12 2012, 07:19 PM)
Angsi was declared as 'khazanah negara'. It has one mother platform ANDRA/ ANDP-A and remote jackets ANDP-B, ANDP-C, ANDP-D, ANDP-E.

I just commisioned well C-13, C-14 at ANDP-C this shutdown with Schlumberger MPFM and Sand Monitoring System.

I am replying this mail at Gorilla II.

Already 12 days at ANDP-C. Waiting to demob tomorrow.  biggrin.gif

Hopefully.....
So fast demob? Joroji ask to do so?
meonkutu11
post May 14 2012, 07:06 AM

1,597 posts

QUOTE(forrest @ May 13 2012, 10:56 PM)
Wah Joroji Tuah? Drill Supt now?
ldhong
post May 14 2012, 11:02 AM

620 posts

QUOTE(forrest @ May 13 2012, 10:56 PM)
QUOTE(meonkutu11 @ May 14 2012, 07:06 AM)
Wah Joroji Tuah? Drill Supt now?
Who is Joroji... I dont report to him>>>> I dont like to stay long offshore....Already demob yest from Gorilla II...Second chopper rclxm9.gif

117 Pages « < 40 41 42 43 44 > » Top

0.0328sec    0.96    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 11:35 AM