Oil & Gas Career v3, Job Oppurtunities & Technical Sharing

azraeil
post Apr 24 2012, 11:43 AM

Prince of Ravens
4,286 posts

QUOTE(pokwang @ Apr 23 2012, 11:36 PM)
My understanding is that fee is to join the conference/short course/field trip. Visitors are free to come to the exhibition for the 2nd day only. See here, at least how I see it. I'll be going tomorrow(today?), hopefully can get in.
Then it's a good opportunity to go and visit all the booth and get some info about what the service providers/operators do. I highly recommend it.
azraeil
post Apr 25 2012, 01:33 AM

Prince of Ravens
4,286 posts

Greenfield is considered newly discovered field that has not been developed or in the early stage of development. Brownfield are oil and gas fields that have undergone multiple development phase and probably in the decline stage like Baram, Dulang etc etc.

So for example, Gumusut/Kikeh will be in the Greenfield stages while those Baram Delta fields are considered brownfields.
azraeil
post Apr 29 2012, 02:09 AM

Prince of Ravens
4,286 posts

QUOTE(ldhong @ Apr 28 2012, 05:04 PM)
Just came back from angsi last week and going back to kerteh this 1st May (labour day) again for Angsi mobilization.
Well-tie-in.....

Btw, rumours said that Duyong reservoir can last for many years to come... Is it true???
Duyong is a gas field. Last I heard, it is already in the decline stage. Once a gas field is in decline, it is not easy to increase or maintain production unlike oil field where you can do IOR (Improve Oil Recovery) or EOR/Tertiary recovery.

Most of the gas replacement is via new discovery (exploration) such as those found in Sabah & Sarawak.
azraeil
post Apr 30 2012, 01:17 AM

Prince of Ravens
4,286 posts

QUOTE(zulfadzlis @ Apr 29 2012, 01:23 PM)
Can anyone tell me for how long does petroleum going to last because I don't want to set foot in the wrong field ( I'm still a student & the mass production of hybrid car is like a obvious indicator that petroleum level is declining right ? ). However i like this career after Googling it for like everyday but the current situation worries me .
If we know this, we won't be spending time here at LYN. We'd be one of the oil traders doing billion dollar trades everyday since we know how long the petroleum will last.
azraeil
post May 6 2012, 12:23 PM

Prince of Ravens
4,286 posts

I was hired with a CGPA of 2.997. I got a place with ExxonMobil at the time and also Petronas. Yes, CGPA is important but I wouldn't hire a 4.0 student who cannot interact with people and work in a team.
azraeil
post May 9 2012, 09:05 PM

Prince of Ravens
4,286 posts

QUOTE(pick11 @ May 9 2012, 02:42 PM)
I have exp in fabrication n in consultant,I might say I don't enjoy design so much,so stressful,Im thinking of becoming a PE,more exposure perhaps then just sitting at the office doing calculations..do u guys think company will still hire you as PE even if u have no background in doing projects before?
No. PE is a specific discipline and you need to have either a PE degree or something close to PE like Chem Eng. to be able to be hired as a PE. If you have a Mechanical Eng. maybe you can be trained as a drilling engineer but that is also unlikely.
azraeil
post May 10 2012, 01:55 AM

Prince of Ravens
4,286 posts

QUOTE(hj.pet @ May 9 2012, 06:54 PM)
i have to disagree with this. one of my friend who graduated in electrical eng working for slb as a drilling eng and other friend also graduated in electrical eng working for slb as well testing eng. got other friend who's working also with slb as field eng sand management segment graduated in mech eng. i believe as long as u graduated in eng bground n good enough, those companies will hire u n train u to be either drilling, production, or wireline eng. but maybe to be a reservoir eng, yes u should have either pe or chem eng bground. just my 2 cents.
For one, most drilling engineers works with operators not service providers. SLB is not well known to have a drilling services. They have wireline and well testing services and they only bought Smith about 2 years ago (and that company sells drilling bits)

To be a drilling engineer you need to have fundamental knowledge of

1. Rock mechanics
2. Reservoir engineering data such as reservoir pressure and temperature
3. Some bit of Geology as you'll need to know what kind of reservoir you're drilling into
4. Cementing knowledge
5. Well completion knowledge

So yes, you'll need some engineering background but any engineering background won't do.

I personally have not heard of drilling engineers being provided by services providers such as SLB/Halliburton etc, most drilling engineers if they are not working with the operators are on their own contract or Direct Hire basis on Daily Rate.
azraeil
post May 15 2012, 02:00 AM

Prince of Ravens
4,286 posts

QUOTE(meonkutu11 @ May 14 2012, 02:06 AM)
Wah Joroji Tuah? Drill Supt now?
Ermmmm let's not name names in this thread shall we. He's a friend of mine and I wouldn't think he would appreciate it if he knows people are talking about him in this kind of open thread.
azraeil
post May 15 2012, 10:56 PM

Prince of Ravens
4,286 posts

QUOTE(cyang @ May 15 2012, 04:13 AM)
ya.. I feel the same way as well..
1.8k is the total amount i will get for each month..
not CGG Veritas.. the company that offer me have no office in m'sia.. I think it is not good to disclose the company name..
From what i heard from others, the company seems like paying Asian on a relatively low wages compared with American or Europeans..
Is it alright if I ask for readjustment on the salary?
Shall I address the issue to the person who interview me or the person who send me the offer letter (who I believe is HR personnel)?

p/s : I am just a freshie, no bargaining power sad.gif
Remember that you are being paid 1.8K USD (around 5.5K ringgit) for a 5 week vacation as well. As a freshie, you could also consider the experience you will get as an investment for the future.

If you read about people with 2 years experience getting 2.3/2.5K from Kenchana, they would probably jump at the opportunity that you are getting. You still have a long career ahead of you. You'll be spending 5 weeks in a boat. Most of the 1.8K will be pure saving as you won't have any taxes (overseas company) and you won't be spending any money on the boat. I think you can do your own financial calculation.

Good luck!
azraeil
post May 16 2012, 06:23 PM

Prince of Ravens
4,286 posts

QUOTE(Current Events guy @ May 16 2012, 05:21 AM)
Thank for the extensive list.

I take it that SPE is the most up-to-date and that which you prefer?
SPE is the most active with a lot of conferences and loads of available papers online. The Journal of Petroleum Technology (JPT) a monthly journal provided if you become an SPE member is a must read with all the latest industry news and technology.
azraeil
post May 17 2012, 09:26 AM

Prince of Ravens
4,286 posts

QUOTE(Current Events guy @ May 17 2012, 02:13 AM)
Are you a member? Do companies have a membership for employees or would you think it's good enough to justify an employee paying for it out of his own pocket?
Yes I am a member. My company pays for my membership but others may ask you to pay first and they will reimburse it later.

I do believe that it is worth it even if you pay it on your own. It's 30 bucks if you are in Malaysia.
azraeil
post May 21 2012, 03:14 AM

Prince of Ravens
4,286 posts

Read!!!!!!!!! If you cannot read the threads here, I cannot imagine how you can read your coursework. There is only like 3 version of this thread which is around 6000 posts which is less than a 200 page novel. So hard ahh?
azraeil
post May 30 2012, 12:22 AM

Prince of Ravens
4,286 posts

QUOTE(kebret @ May 29 2012, 12:16 PM)
I think the correct term in malaysia for offshore and onshore  is upstream and downstream, where offshore is Exploration and Production, and onshore is Refining/processing/retail/etc
Oil and Gas can be found offshore and offshore so specifying offshore as upstream is incorrect. Upstream in Oil and Gas industry relates to exploration and production of oil and gas from those fields. Once it leaves the platform via pipeline on to ships or into the gas gathering system then that's where downstream activities starts
azraeil
post May 30 2012, 08:46 PM

Prince of Ravens
4,286 posts

QUOTE(kebret @ May 30 2012, 12:54 PM)
oh..i tot he was talking abt malaysia in particular.
i assume that since i never heard abt malaysia's onshore oil reserve, unlike middle east etc
pardon me
Even in Malaysia, upstream is not related to offshore or onshore. Upstream / Downstrean is a term that defines the line between activities in the Oil & Gas industry

We have an onshore field called Asam Paya by the way but that is beside the point.
azraeil
post May 31 2012, 01:22 AM

Prince of Ravens
4,286 posts

QUOTE(hj.pet @ May 30 2012, 04:06 PM)
asam paya? is it in miri?
Near the Sarawak Brunei border.
azraeil
post May 31 2012, 02:56 PM

Prince of Ravens
4,286 posts

QUOTE(mangoman @ May 31 2012, 02:52 AM)
Only 2 wells and some basic facilities only... currently it is producing 30-40 bbl/day.
I'm sure Petronas has somethig up its sleeve on this field. The 3D seismic survey (which was a b**** to do in the swampland of Asam Paya) I think has been completed, the FDP for that field should be ready soon and maybe Petronas will give it out to another operator, who knows.
azraeil
post May 31 2012, 03:01 PM

Prince of Ravens
4,286 posts

QUOTE(hj.pet @ May 31 2012, 03:55 AM)
talking about onshore field, currently there is one that being drilled in the town of miri rite? under nippon oil? pls correct me if i'm wrong.
That would be Miri Oilfield. We looked at it before but the risk to the population was high because we cannot account for all the well heads that was drilled previously. Some of the wellheads we are not sure if it was P&A properly and some maybe belakang some outhouse somehere and imagine what would happen heh heh heh .... you don't want to be taking a dump near a wellhead smile.gif
azraeil
post Jun 1 2012, 09:51 PM

Prince of Ravens
4,286 posts

QUOTE(hj.pet @ May 31 2012, 03:17 PM)
oh i see. so the field isn't going to be developed is it?
The last time I was looking at it, no. Things may have changed because we left a lot of oil down there. But in terms of Health & Safety, I don't think it is ever going to be possible.

We were looking at possible gas injection program for better oil recovery but if you want to do that, you need to make sure the field is not leaking via any old wellhead anywhere.
azraeil
post Jul 12 2012, 02:19 PM

Prince of Ravens
4,286 posts

Any O&G Company that stops exploration will die one. Exploration is the only way you can quickly replace the reserves that you have produced. Wonder why Malaysia's reserve has been stable for the last 25 years? It's because of exploration. That's why when you read that Malaysia's reserve will only last 25 years yada yada yada ... that only means that if we stop exploration, the reserves replacement ratio will be 0 which is never gonna happen. That is why the president is a bit pissed because most of the money is going to the government instead of being re-invested to find more oil. That's why Subsurface people are in high demand.

Ohh my company has now even lowered their requirement to 5 years experience now, that's how desperate the industry is in trying to get people.
azraeil
post Jul 12 2012, 05:40 PM

Prince of Ravens
4,286 posts

QUOTE(abgkik @ Jul 12 2012, 10:22 AM)
Oil in Malaysia is belong to Malaysia.. Not Petronas  smile.gif
Sorry, based on PDA of 1974, oil belongs to PETRONAS which in turns is fully owned by the government.

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0549sec    0.59    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 08:23 PM