Oil & Gas Career v3, Job Oppurtunities & Technical Sharing

abgkik
post May 21 2012, 04:20 PM

2,143 posts

QUOTE(mhyug @ May 21 2012, 01:54 PM)
oil workers ive met thus far all said same thing along the lines "ong is 24/7" you work and work and work.
even I've finished my annual leave, still have 40 days leave due to replacement leave.. fuhhh.. if resign, with 3 months notice, only need to work 1 month.. hmm.gif

but I'm happy...
abgkik
post May 21 2012, 09:04 PM

2,143 posts

QUOTE(noruazumi @ May 21 2012, 05:30 PM)
Convert to cash la bro!  tongue.gif
Cannot... Have asked before.. When involve money, normally HR try to avoid..

Added on May 21, 2012, 9:29 pm
QUOTE(thunderaj @ May 21 2012, 06:29 PM)
Which company do you work.?
Most of the company limited the annual leave carry forward less than 10 days a year.
We can carry forward the whole year annual leave.. and can carry fwd till end of march for last 2 years annual leave.. My colleague has 61 annual days.. Crazy right??? But we are too busy.. icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by abgkik: May 21 2012, 09:29 PM
abgkik
post May 23 2012, 05:22 AM

2,143 posts

QUOTE(Frenzy0412 @ May 22 2012, 02:01 PM)
i got interview from sbm. anyone can tell me bout sbm? like benefit, working environment and etc..
May I know you are applying for which position?
In term of benefit, SBM has what others MNC company have such as medical coverage, medical leave, annual leave and contractual 1 month bonus at end of the year. Performance bonus is about 3-4 months every year.
Working environment very systematic as SBM is one of pioneer in the FPSO industry. However, it is not benefit well for fresh graduate as your scope of work is not multitasking. For engineering department, mostly you will only station in the office. This place is good for hard work multitasking experience guy who want to cool down a little bit. wink.gif

This post has been edited by abgkik: May 23 2012, 05:22 AM
abgkik
post May 24 2012, 09:36 AM

2,143 posts

QUOTE(Frenzy0412 @ May 23 2012, 11:12 AM)
i apply for mechanical engineer.i just got a few years experience in small company.
Not multitasking means i cannot grow well / train well in this company?
But i should glad rite if i landed in MNC company compared to small company...
In SBM, they will assign you to take care only on one package... forever.. ha ha ha biggrin.gif you will grow well, but specialize only in one package, or two..
Example: as you are mechanical engineer, maybe they will ask you to care on Deck Crane (Max 25 tonnes).. so that will be your baby maybe for 4-5 years..
as example of others FPSO company, as Engineer, you may involve in Superstructure, helideck, tandem mooring system, turret mooring system, spread mooring sytem, mechanical handling equipment (included crane), topside and module structure, scantling, fender system, HVAC, laboratary, Foam system, fire water system, davit and many things.. if you specialize in any 3-5 package with min 5 years experience, i salute you as a good engineer, not yet senior.. notworthy.gif
abgkik
post May 24 2012, 03:12 PM

2,143 posts

QUOTE(SupremeLahh7 @ May 24 2012, 02:19 PM)
hello,ive been thinking about this for a long time,can a QS works with O&G companies?and if can,what type of work will they do?thanks in advance
can.. similar scope of work.. go to the place that require fabrication work.. biggrin.gif
abgkik
post May 24 2012, 06:57 PM

2,143 posts

QUOTE(GaussSeidel @ May 24 2012, 03:34 PM)
Facilities onboard is superb (PS3 in every bunk/room) while the food is marvellous.

Is it come with LCD tv? hmm.gif

abgkik
post May 25 2012, 06:48 AM

2,143 posts

QUOTE(Frenzy0412 @ May 24 2012, 10:13 PM)
huh?that sounds boring. i wan become senior fast fast... sad.gif
Senior at SBM.. Min 10 years experience.. wink.gif

abgkik
post May 25 2012, 10:00 PM

2,143 posts

QUOTE(feekle @ May 25 2012, 09:04 PM)
OVERKILL...lol
5 figure salary bro.. smile.gif
abgkik
post May 25 2012, 10:28 PM

2,143 posts

QUOTE(jagadis @ May 25 2012, 10:03 PM)
Anyone know any place that actually hires fresh graduates?
I've been trying to find around and have been looking closely at the oil and gas industry. It's fairly tough to find a company that hires a fresh graduate. I'm not really worried about the pay. I like the field itself.
I'm in my final semester by the way and will be completing in 3 months. Was thinking of starting the whole interview process now so I won't have to be a unemployed graduate and be a burden to my parent for a few months after I'm done.
Please go to all walk in interview that hire fresh graduate.. Don't lazy..

abgkik
post May 26 2012, 10:30 AM

2,143 posts

QUOTE(luqqy @ May 26 2012, 04:46 AM)

And i think Petrofac is hiring fresh grads, i've sent my CV twice, and they also called me twice but too bad i didn't manage to answer their calls  rclxub.gif
Call them back.. I'm sure they will notice you when you mention your name to their HR..
abgkik
post May 28 2012, 12:30 PM

2,143 posts

QUOTE(natasha88 @ May 28 2012, 12:29 AM)
Yes I'm a fresh grad and the position for the interview is graduate trainee engineer.For petronas its static equipment engineer.
You should go for Murphy oil interview so that you can have better picture on working environment that you will encounter later.. Murphy Oil (PSC) and Petronas (Client)..
Decide what you want to be in next 5 years, in challenging work environment and more exposure (Murphy Oil), or less challenging environment (Petronas).. biggrin.gif

that is my 50cent opinion..

Added on May 28, 2012, 12:41 pm
QUOTE(yehlai @ May 28 2012, 10:12 AM)
Hi sifu, need some insights..
What is the job and responsible of Project Planner in Aker solution? 
Is it schedule the production plan for drilling equipment and systems ?
I believe its depend on which project plan that you need to handle.. If the project up to engineering delivery, so you gonna plan up to there only.. If your project is EPCC, you gonna plan up to last C.. smile.gif

there is no different on planner work scope.. except the project..

This post has been edited by abgkik: May 28 2012, 12:41 PM
abgkik
post May 28 2012, 03:28 PM

2,143 posts

QUOTE(maninyellow @ May 28 2012, 01:34 PM)
Hi,i've been following this thread since V1, there are few doubts i would like to seek answer from honorable experienced master/sifus in OnG field,

1. I'm very much into flow assurance (FA). However, most of the companies wanted experienced flow assurance engineer. People i met from Intecsea started with graduate process engineer in RWP before becoming exp FA eng. Any chances i might skip the grad process engineer and get started as graduate FA engineer ?. Currently I'm working in one of the OnG operator (downstream) as process engineer with Chemical Engineering background.

2. Being an FA engineer, i understand that i need to well versed in several FA software such as OLGA, Pipesim, PVTsim and so on. Besides those mentioned software, any specific knowledge/ experience i should know about to become an competent FA engineer? I'm in a consideration to take Master in Petroleum Engineering at UTP. Does that Master paper able to help me to increase value in the future? to become an exp/competent FA engineer?

would appreciate any feedback from lowyat forumners....
1. 2 in 1.. Process Engineer + FA eng
2. I'm not sure bout Master degree paper value, but competent in several FA software with certificate will help.. icon_rolleyes.gif
abgkik
post May 28 2012, 04:08 PM

2,143 posts

QUOTE(uhhwilliam @ May 28 2012, 03:51 PM)
Which company am I eligible to apply to as a fresh graduate in B.Tech. Petroleum Geoscience? Am I eligible to apply for overseas company? thank you. smile.gif
Try Petroleum Geoscience Services at Menara Dion, KL.. Google it...
abgkik
post May 28 2012, 10:25 PM

2,143 posts

QUOTE(yehlai @ May 28 2012, 06:04 PM)
Just received a call from Baker Huges and Aker Solutions..
Short listed for Baker but still waiting reply from Aker (not yet shortlisted, but might be schedule far a interview next week).

Which should i go for?
Project Planner in Aker Solutions or Logistics Supervisor in Baker Huges?

I always want to move to the upstream in Oil and Gas, and I don't mind the pay for now, as long as the job can let me learn more about upstream knowledge.

Can sifu and senior please give me some advice and insights please  notworthy.gif

Thank you!
Project planner exposé to whole project.. Logistic is not..

abgkik
post May 29 2012, 03:34 PM

2,143 posts

QUOTE(mhyug @ May 29 2012, 01:47 PM)
as for companies thus far ive come to know is one youve mentioned earlier, weatherford(spelling mungkin salah disini hoho) and 1 other wch slipped my mind right now. hmm.gif
I thought UMW also providing this services?
abgkik
post Jun 1 2012, 06:53 PM

2,143 posts

QUOTE(kockroach @ Jun 1 2012, 11:31 AM)
Dear all, can I know what is the job scope and prospect of a package engineer.

Thank you
Package engineer is engineer in charge of package start upon RFQ, till to delivery..

If u are package engineer with knowledge and experience, your prospect will be good..
If u are package engineer with middleman mindset, your prospect is not good..
abgkik
post Jun 2 2012, 02:05 AM

2,143 posts

QUOTE(mhyug @ Jun 2 2012, 01:58 AM)
what are the odds of the cooks on a rig going on strike lol.

sounds funny but it happened and poor guys on the rig had to resort to maggie mee's for food.
Seriously? hmm.gif

Added on June 2, 2012, 2:13 am
QUOTE(beckham89 @ Jun 1 2012, 10:21 AM)
ya..what the job scope of service project engineer?Is it can go to offshore?
Project engineer normally will not require to go offshore.. Yes for Service engineer for equipment offshore.

This post has been edited by abgkik: Jun 2 2012, 02:13 AM
abgkik
post Jun 2 2012, 02:27 AM

2,143 posts

QUOTE(mhyug @ Jun 2 2012, 02:20 AM)
yup, happened during middle of this week. not sure if i can openly say wch rig tho biggrin.gif
Why on strike? Not getting salary or leave application is rejected? Pity to workers on board..
abgkik
post Jun 3 2012, 05:25 PM

2,143 posts

QUOTE(beckham89 @ Jun 3 2012, 05:12 PM)
I not understand..So?Is it can go to offshore to service the equipemt?But what you mean not require to go offshore?
Is it mean..the offshore equipment will bring back and service?
Service Engineer and Project Service Engineer are two different Job Description.
Project Service Engineer=Project engineer, please check job description of project engineer and you will know that they are not require to go offshore.
Servise Engineer is like hands on type of person who need to service, testing and commisioning the equipment. So if the equipment is at offshore, they will be required at offshore.
Unless Job Description of Project Service Engineer that you mentioned cover both of above JD, so they need to be offshore later.
abgkik
post Jun 4 2012, 10:01 AM

2,143 posts

QUOTE(camel_active @ Jun 3 2012, 09:57 PM)
at last, after 1 year trying to get in this industry, finally i'm one of the O & G family members. smile.gif
Congratulations.. Which company if you dun mind?

Added on June 4, 2012, 10:07 am
QUOTE(beckham89 @ Jun 3 2012, 10:55 PM)
Just wonder why so interest to join in Oil and Gas industry..Is it the pay?Or?
Good pay.. High Responsibilities.. High Expertise require...

This post has been edited by abgkik: Jun 4 2012, 10:07 AM

6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0480sec    0.80    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 06:23 PM