Games All Things Gran Turismo™ | V9, Claim your GT5 Academy cars!

Joey Christensen
post May 7 2012, 11:07 PM

Purgamentum init, exit purgamentum
3,651 posts

I just got a Silvia from GT Academy 2012. Apparently, they are giving free cars away if you obtained all Gold Trophies from the sessions available. One for Leaf, one for Silvia.

Malaysia is currently sitting at ranking #27.
Joey Christensen
post May 8 2012, 11:14 AM

3,651 posts

The last session on the Silvia is a challenge. I can overtake the second car but to overtake the first car is almost impossible for me. Anyone here managed to overtake the first car? The track is Nurburgring.
Joey Christensen
post May 8 2012, 12:09 PM

3,651 posts

QUOTE(evoHahn @ May 8 2012, 11:26 AM)
i think most of us here pass both AI cars. imho, Round 1 & 2 are pretty easy to beat.
Really that easy? Yeah, it's pretty easy to get all Gold trophies for Round 1 & 2. I guess we need to wait until Round 3 is unlocked. There's a count down timer for it. Sigh...

I guess I'm not that hardworking in GT5. Better to set my par low-as long as I get all Gold trophies, it'll be good enough. Shaving time is better to leave it to the regular GT drivers.
Joey Christensen
post May 8 2012, 01:02 PM

3,651 posts

QUOTE(evoHahn @ May 8 2012, 12:24 PM)
on that particular test, you have to be patient in the early part, just follow the yellow silvia because once you drive on the grass > no traction > bye bye car.

Just before the second to last corner (right hand corner), pull out of the yellow silvia's slipstream, downshift and just tap lightly on the brake. Then staying on the right side of the road, pass the red silvia on the inside. This can be done without changing gears or braking hard.
I managed to cut the yellow Silvia from the inside right corner but I could only draft on the red Silvia and the track ends. By the way, I had it going on default setting.

QUOTE(cute_boboi @ May 8 2012, 12:49 PM)
Look at Japan  ohmy.gif  every household has PS3 ???
Step on accelerator from start, do not release or brake. Use drafting to follow behind it from start. Just barge through on the right side, when taking one the right corner. You'll know this corner, as if you do not release/brake, you'll go off-course. If done well, you can use the #2 car on left without DQ.

For car #1, keep drafting it. I remember also on one of the right-corner, use same technique.
I think I won by >1.5 seconds of gold.
Japan is currently ranking #1. I saw Malaysia had a 6.9% but it dropped to 5.4% (if I remembered correctly)after 3 or 4 days thereafter (as of yesterday).

Eh, what happens after the period ends? I hope they will just leave it for us to have fun driving around. It's a waste if after the challenge ends, we are unable to play soon after.
Joey Christensen
post May 12 2012, 04:27 PM

3,651 posts

QUOTE(evoHahn @ May 12 2012, 11:24 AM)
i found this variant intro this morning
It was there after one or two weeks after it was available in PSN, right? Anyway, not really that "colourful". In my humble opinion, they could have done it better.
Joey Christensen
post May 19 2012, 05:43 PM

3,651 posts

GT Academy 2012 Round 3 is open! Get your self a SKYLINE GT-R V.spec II (GT Academy) '94 if you get all Gold trophies.

Had to re-try a few times for the second De La Sarthe circuit. Nurburgring 24h was not as hard because I just need to overtake 2 cars and pass the finishing line. Good luck everyone! Round 3 and Round 4 is open! Go! Go! Go!

Get your self a 350Z (GT Academy) '08 is you bagged all Gold trophies for Round 4. LOLZ!

Next round will be open in 205:17:00.

This post has been edited by Joey Christensen: May 19 2012, 05:48 PM
Joey Christensen
post May 19 2012, 06:10 PM

3,651 posts

Here's the Malaysia standing:

Average Gold Ranking: #27 @ 4,091
Total Gold Ranking: #25 @Avg. 7.0

Meaning to say in total of 20 Gold trophies up for grabs, an average Malaysian obtained 7 out of 20?

LOLZ! Gran Turismo doesn't have the flag for Taiwan. It only featured "TW" to represents the country instead of its flag. LOLOLOLOLOLZ!
Joey Christensen
post May 27 2012, 04:07 PM

3,651 posts

Thanks for the heads up regarding the updates. Took approximately 20 minutes to get it downloaded yesterday's evening.
Joey Christensen
post May 31 2012, 12:43 AM

3,651 posts

QUOTE(evoHahn @ May 28 2012, 05:40 PM)
GT Accademy Round 5 & 6 is UP
Crikey! Thanks for the heads up. Going for Gold trophies tomorrow! Last round was 350Z. Hmmm...what's for the Round 5 and 6. Hope it's a Nissan GT Academy 2012 GT-R.
Joey Christensen
post Jun 2 2012, 11:50 AM

3,651 posts

Obtained all Gold trophies for GT Academy. Mt. Aso is such a bad arse with elevated corners littered in the first few corners. Grrr...Had to try quite a number of time to get that bloody Gold.
Joey Christensen
post Jun 3 2012, 10:16 PM

3,651 posts

QUOTE(syncnsky @ Jun 2 2012, 06:47 PM)
Do you mean you can gold other track in 1st trial?  notworthy.gif , it is hard to drive when when not familiar with track...

Anyone racing tonight... most probably I will be racing alone. shakehead.gif
Yeah, I nailed that Nurbergring before settling Gold for Mt. Aso.
Joey Christensen
post Jun 5 2012, 12:14 PM

3,651 posts

QUOTE(Invince_Z @ Jun 5 2012, 02:03 AM)
fuh...malaysia ranking in GT Academy is bad. i doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif with 7.9 average gold out of 7K driver? y cant everyone gold all test liao  sad.gif
Actually there's 2 rankings available.

i. Total Gold trophies obtained.
ii. Total Average Gold trophies per driver.

Malaysia is slightly below average. It could mean that Malaysian do play games but on a casual/leisurely level.
Joey Christensen
post Jun 6 2012, 11:42 AM

3,651 posts

I'm not hardcore in GT5 or GT Academy but I can score all Gold trophies for it. Yeah, some of it need a few tries before getting that Gold but it's not as hard as to throw your controller away. Hahaha! Maybe most of them are casual racers where all they care is to join in a race and it doesn't matter to them if they get Gold, Silver, or even Bronze.

Joey Christensen
post Jun 12 2012, 02:54 AM

3,651 posts

QUOTE(zerigemok @ Jun 11 2012, 03:50 PM)
now that you have nothing more to do, come play GT academy round 8-5  brows.gif Tuned 370z in motegi east course
I nailed a Bronze trophy for Malaysia in this track: Motegi Twin course.

Total Gold: 38

Total Silver: 1 (Round 8-4) The track where I need to overtake 5 cars in total. I overtook 4 cars only. Sigh...The problem is the up-hill slope + cones. Difference time of a mere 0:00:238 Arghhhhhhhhhhh!

Total Bronze: 1 (Round 8-5) I guess I need a few more runs on Motegi Twin. I think the 370Z is a bit slippery on the back. Almost every corners I need to adjust the "wriggles" on the back of the car. LOLZ! Really funny car.

I'll upload the pictures tomorrow morning. It's already late night/early morning.

This post has been edited by Joey Christensen: Jun 12 2012, 02:57 AM
Joey Christensen
post Jun 12 2012, 07:54 PM

3,651 posts

QUOTE(cute_boboi @ Jun 12 2012, 12:27 PM)
8-4 You don't need to overtake all cars. I'm in 3rd and also Gold it.
My tips: Traction Off, ABS=1, Steering=7, the rest default.
From start, max all the way, overtake white car, and try keep as right as possible to the pit-lane backwall.
Brake when in middle of red line, turn sharp right, straight accelerate. Bear in mind, the car will slide easily, throttle control to get the launch effect without red-tyres.
The car will easily go uphill, then immediate turn left smoothly also. Don't drift. Sometimes can get good line, and right after the uphill before the right corner, should be following very close to the blue car (draft it).
Turn right and immediate overtake blue car, then draft red car partially (may not need to do this also) and overtake on the long straight.
Immediate brake on straight line (follow driving aid).
Turn smoothly and should be following directly behind yellow car. Sometimes you may able to overtake it.
Just drive smoothly on the S-corner, power out from the last curve, and Gold.  thumbup.gif
I was in 2nd place and yet I only can get a Silver out from it.

I lost it how i launched my self through the up-hill slope. The first white car is easy to over take. My experience...

i. Overtook white car (first car) on the left.
ii. Cut near to the left cones and hopefully not getting slippery and proceed cut to the right, near the cones.
iii. Based on my best time record, once I'm on the flat I'll draft a quick few seconds on the blue car (second car).
iv. Turn right over take the blue car + red car (I didn't bother to draft the red car. LOLZ!)
v. Hit brakes a bit late on the straight, tap that yellow car from the right (turn in right corner) I did slightly bump onto the yellow car side but not DQ.
vi. Overtook yellow car but couldn't overtake the last car. It's pretty much near the finishing line after I nailed that yellow car. I thought I got Gold and I got really pissed off with a ~!@#$%^&* 0:00:238! Damn it! I nearly threw my controller. NEARLY!

Eh, how come you in 3rd place but managed to get Gold? I tried a few times and even on 3rd place, I only can get Silver. Anyway, to summarise the whole ordeal, I had trouble getting up the hill with the left-right small corners. If I can nailed that on a consistent manner, I think I can get Gold for this challenge.

I left my data cable in the office, since I was off day today I couldn't upload the pics. Going to do it tomorrow. Haha! Time to go for dinner!

This post has been edited by Joey Christensen: Jun 12 2012, 07:57 PM
Joey Christensen
post Jun 13 2012, 12:01 AM

3,651 posts

QUOTE(evoHahn @ Jun 12 2012, 08:45 PM)
golded round 7 & 8. phewww
Nice going! I still two trophies away. Maybe I'll try it in these few days time.
Joey Christensen
post Jun 13 2012, 03:47 PM

3,651 posts

Almost forgot about posting pictures. Anyway, my small contribution to Malaysia in ranking. Hahaha! Sorry about the lousy pictures.

Joey Christensen
post Jun 14 2012, 04:09 AM

3,651 posts

My best for 8-4 is still off. This time I'm more upset because I cut down until 0:00:081. I swear to God I nearly kneel in front of the TV. I even tried setting the ABS and Traction Control parameters. I tried so many hours. Almost 2 hours++. I'm going to bed.

This post has been edited by Joey Christensen: Jun 14 2012, 04:10 AM
Joey Christensen
post Jun 24 2012, 01:32 PM

3,651 posts

I think I'm going to forgo the two Gold in Round 8-4 and Round 8-5. It's good enough for me to get 38 Golds personally for myself and for Malaysia as well. Yeah, working life saps the energy from you and drain you from going rounds after rounds.
Joey Christensen
post Jun 24 2012, 05:28 PM

3,651 posts

QUOTE(evoHahn @ Jun 24 2012, 03:08 PM)
This is a good 8-5 tutorial
Maybe I'll give it a try tonight or maybe not. Anyway, thanks for the heads up.

0.0488sec    0.38    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 11:01 AM