Planted Aquarium V8

kurangak
post Mar 26 2012, 09:54 AM

certified /k addict
1,170 posts

QUOTE(applebee @ Mar 26 2012, 02:06 AM)
i just noticed that my rcs only tank got a lot of planaria and fast moving white insect (<1mm size).

how to get rid of them? I do not want to put No-Planaria. Can I put in 10 neon tetra or guppy to eat them?

no wonder my tank now got no snail... now only know they were cleared by planaria. Next planaria food will be my rcs, right?
fast moving white insect is copepods i think... but do planaria really eat snail? shocking.gif shocking.gif
kurangak
post Mar 26 2012, 03:20 PM

certified /k addict
1,170 posts

cladophora as foreground..nais!! (i wonder why i cant post youtube vid here...hmmm... hmm.gif )

Added on March 26, 2012, 3:25 pm
QUOTE(usermode @ Mar 26 2012, 01:41 PM)
im going there tonight after work. where did they put those snails? so i can straight way tell the guy to take em for me (just for the sake of saving them even my tank have nerite as well.. :S)
they keep above their plant tank where they keep plants for sell...d one facing the counter...

btw...anybody hav any experience dealing with hydra before? how u eradicate them? will dwarf gourami eats them?

This post has been edited by kurangak: Mar 26 2012, 05:18 PM
kurangak
post Mar 27 2012, 12:56 AM

certified /k addict
1,170 posts

QUOTE(LuQEE @ Mar 27 2012, 12:03 AM)
err got something thats been bugging my mind:

pc liquid cooling set + aquarium = moderate tank temperature reduce? = alternative chiller solution?  hmm.gif
any comments?

should the liquid cooling hose connected with my filter intake & outake hose or should i just dump the cooling piece(the one which should be attached to processor) into the tank itself?  rclxub.gif

ull be getting ur ambient room temp...if ur room is 28-29 deg celcius then ur aquarium will be ard that temp too... unless u put the radiator part inside a fridge / coleman ice container filled with ice... but then itll be too cold pulak...n most pc liquid cooling set is made out of copper... copper can seeps thru water n kill ur shrimp... just my thought...

kurangak
post Mar 27 2012, 10:20 AM

certified /k addict
1,170 posts

my 'poor man's aquarium chiller' idea..sorry for the uber lousy mspaint skills... sweat.gif hehe...

the principle is like this....
1. chiller box is any box that can keep ice for long period of time (coleman, polystyrene fish box etc.)
2. coolant runs from a chiller box thru pipe, goes to aquarium, chilling the water n then back into cooler box
3. coolant is pumped by a small aquarium pump , controlled by an electronic temperature controller ( so you can set the max n min temp you want for your aquarium; water pump will run accordingly, thus no overchilling of aquarium)
4. chiller box is filled with water n ice contained in plastic bottle (so ice can last longer, no overflowing of liquid in chiller box cause by melting of ice n when ice totally melts, just dump it back into freezer)

any idea/suggestions/comment/bashing ? tongue.gif

kurangak
post Mar 27 2012, 07:25 PM

certified /k addict
1,170 posts

QUOTE(ZeneticX @ Mar 27 2012, 04:32 PM)
whats a good replacement for seachem excel? my seller ran out of stock
API CO2 BOOSTER also contain glutaraldehyde, same active ingredient found in seachem excel.
kurangak
post Mar 28 2012, 01:55 AM

certified /k addict
1,170 posts

QUOTE(usermode @ Mar 27 2012, 11:34 PM)
i think about around 10-12 more or less.
hope that they still selling some tomorrow..planned to go today but my schedule is so tight >_<

btw anybody/anywhere selling java fern narrow/needle ka ?

edit:- one of my otocinclus is having quite a large tummy...is that normal? other otocinclus hav round stomach too but not as large as his/hers
it looks something like this. i supplement them with hikari algae wafer, 1/8 of the big wafer every 2 days coz they wiped out my algae from my tank clean. is it gravid or bloated?

This post has been edited by kurangak: Mar 28 2012, 02:19 AM
kurangak
post Mar 28 2012, 10:11 AM

certified /k addict
1,170 posts

QUOTE(calvin_ng @ Mar 28 2012, 09:07 AM)
Your otto is fine... his tummy is full = healthy otto
good to know that coz that single otto is the only one having extra prosperous belly....

btw this is my noob tank...glosso is spreading slowly but at least no more vertical growth...moss looks like a teen's pubes...small sprout here n there lol....

any comment/scaping idea ,shifus?

This post has been edited by kurangak: Mar 28 2012, 10:18 AM
kurangak
post Mar 29 2012, 01:25 PM

certified /k addict
1,170 posts

QUOTE(LuQEE @ Mar 29 2012, 11:04 AM)
can help me name the plants used in this pic?

looking the name for the middle foreground plant and the fern like type plant.
is that downoi clumps?  shocking.gif
thanx

nice....

This post has been edited by kurangak: Mar 29 2012, 01:33 PM
kurangak
post Mar 29 2012, 02:11 PM

certified /k addict
1,170 posts

QUOTE(ZeneticX @ Mar 29 2012, 02:03 PM)
i heard for certain plants have to be careful hmm.gif otherwise they will die
some plant. like anubias n fern, you need to tie to a driftwood n cannot plant it normally, or the rhizome part will rot n ur plant will die...

most plant, just plant it normally....

btw, hav anybody bought a pl-l lamp holder before? i cant seem to find it anywhere...

edit:- my single leopard cory loves to hide nowadays...last time (before his partner die) he used to go out in the open during daytime, should i buy him a companion?

This post has been edited by kurangak: Mar 29 2012, 02:25 PM
kurangak
post Mar 29 2012, 02:28 PM

certified /k addict
1,170 posts

QUOTE(ZeneticX @ Mar 29 2012, 02:23 PM)
im gonna have anubias nana, narrow fern and flame moss

only moss i plan to tie to the wood. the others plant on soil
then u need to tie it (anubias n fern) to driftwood...someone (in other forum) told me it is ok to plant the roots into substrate, PROVIDED if ur substrate is made of gravel, n u make sure ur plant's rhizome is not buried....but then...it is better to be safe than sorry... smile.gif

anybody selling cryp. nurii sp pahang? tongue.gif
kurangak
post Mar 29 2012, 02:46 PM

certified /k addict
1,170 posts

QUOTE(sisaiko @ Mar 29 2012, 02:38 PM)
crypt nurii is not cheap btw huhu
ya boss... that's what i heard too ... sumore it is a very challenging plant.... if only i got 4x4 n a long holiday... i want to go to backwaters in Pahang jungle n hunt all those brightly red crypts they hav there...lol...

Added on March 29, 2012, 2:48 pm
QUOTE(ZeneticX @ Mar 29 2012, 02:41 PM)
oh damm tht means i need to do damm a lot of tying?

i cant tie all those plants on the driftwood alone. it sure will look weird and boring
you can plant it on a driftwood, n half buried ur dw in substrate....

This post has been edited by kurangak: Mar 29 2012, 02:49 PM
kurangak
post Mar 29 2012, 03:23 PM

certified /k addict
1,170 posts

QUOTE(ZeneticX @ Mar 29 2012, 02:58 PM)
meaning? i not sure how large is my driftwood yet. but looking at my tank size, its not goin to be big i supposed
actually i still can plant them to the soil, provided i dun bury the rhizome?
if u do like that...most likely ur fern would always be dislodged n floats in ur aquarium...the rhizome need something to clings on to...
kurangak
post Mar 29 2012, 04:50 PM

certified /k addict
1,170 posts

QUOTE(LuQEE @ Mar 29 2012, 04:48 PM)
Looking to buy used and cheap 2ft ligthing. prefer in good condition and with 4 bulbs built in.
cant afford buying new ones at the moment doh.gif
pm me the details and pic if possible  nod.gif

DIY!! tongue.gif
kurangak
post Mar 29 2012, 04:52 PM

certified /k addict
1,170 posts

QUOTE(ZeneticX @ Mar 29 2012, 03:34 PM)
i guess i need to use my creativity tomorrow. haven't received my stuffs yet
my only concern now is how large is the driftwood and where to plant the narrow ferns. moss decided to tie on wood. the nanas i will try to figure a way between the rocks and beside. narrow fern plan to use as background but duno what or where to tie them
if i attach the narrow fern to the driftwood i need to bury tht part of the wood or just leave it as it is?
up to u... me, i bury half of my dw in substrate (to anchor it in one place n to make it looks better) its the rhizome u need to take care....
kurangak
post Mar 29 2012, 11:05 PM

certified /k addict
1,170 posts

QUOTE(cute_miao @ Mar 29 2012, 10:37 PM)
Mine 30.3 =.='''

Added on March 29, 2012, 10:41 pmNEED HELP  icon_question.gif

Tank hike up to 30.3 celcius....i was wondering beside shiiler, how to reduce it? directly put ice then put anti-chlorine? any1 tried this??

My mini riccia, i could see some hairy/silky algae i guess...how to control it beside using manually? any fish to KO it?

DW moss, also have a level of dust (brownish). what is that, n how to overcome it?

Sifu, please suggest any ikan / medic to settle it...tq ya!  notworthy.gif
suggestion :-
instead of putting ice, why not freeze water in a bottle, n then put it into aquarium...at least the ice will last longer (since no direct contact with aqua water) n no water spilling, coz when ice melts, itll increase your water level. n u can use the water bottle again n again. n there is no need for antichlorine... downside is it is just plain ugly.

n by adding ice, i believe you need to keep a constant watch on your water temp... you dont want aquarium water to drop too low... tongue.gif

brownish dust, i just pat my moss during water change, n suck all the sediments that come out of it with hose...dunno if got permanent / better solution for this... cfus please advise

This post has been edited by kurangak: Mar 29 2012, 11:12 PM
kurangak
post Apr 2 2012, 02:13 AM

certified /k addict
1,170 posts

QUOTE(kkwjustin @ Apr 2 2012, 02:09 AM)
Guys, where can i find 36 watts pl ballast? Wanna diy. Got old lighting case but no ballast no nothing. Case was from an old T5 lighting which died on me.
i believe any electrical shop carry this item... ace hardware oso got... but mostly MIC one la... >_<

edit :- u asking abt electronic ballast rite?

This post has been edited by kurangak: Apr 2 2012, 02:14 AM
kurangak
post Apr 2 2012, 02:48 AM

certified /k addict
1,170 posts

QUOTE(kkwjustin @ Apr 2 2012, 02:20 AM)
Izit? because i have an extra tube that looks like this

Its the e- ballast right that's used to power this thing up..
yup...can use e-ballast ...

This post has been edited by kurangak: Apr 2 2012, 02:55 AM
kurangak
post Apr 3 2012, 12:38 PM

certified /k addict
1,170 posts

QUOTE(kimimaro_kun @ Apr 3 2012, 09:05 AM)
notworthy.gif huhu.. seriously, this hobby need PATIENT.
almost rage last night  doh.gif  tongue.gif

my tank last night

this morning

Please comment
notworthy.gif

p/s please ignore the africana soil. that is my cheapskate side, try to use the balance from before.
doh.gif

glosso!! tongue.gif

in my limited exp, you need to plant the glosso deeper into the soil. coz last time i plant like that, the glosso grows towards light.

how i plant it, i trim the root of individual runner, then using tweezer, grab the end of the root, and then pull it deep into soil, leaving only a lil bit of leaf exposed to light. only after then it trails n stop growing vertically.

this plant is very slow grower for low tech plant. im using 2x11w light, abt 8hrs per day with carbon supplement from flourish excel. the plant grow so slow it is a pain to watch.. after i dose essence k n lush (bought from Sisaiko-san... very nice guy! ), then only i can see the growth accelerated...A BIT!!

just my humble opinion btw...

Added on April 3, 2012, 12:42 pm
QUOTE(cute_miao @ Apr 3 2012, 11:13 AM)
wht is the diff:-

1. brighty K
2. green brighty special lights
3. green brighty special shade

Do i need to buy all? I plan to buy STEP 2 now. roughly how much is the damage in the current market?

DO i still need to get iron bottom then?

i wonder what will happen, if:

i buy a new tank, korek the soil in my old tank...put 5element in new tank n put soil, tanam, n direct transfer all fish n plant go there w/o cycle.

what will be the impact? (p/s: im using cannister)
i believe brighty k is for potassium supplement, same like bw essence k
special light is for all those red plants that need high light and extra supplement of iron to make it red
special shade is for low to medium light plant, like crypts, anubias , fern etc....

correct me if im wrong cfus...

Added on April 3, 2012, 12:44 pm
QUOTE(beawolf64 @ Apr 3 2012, 11:47 AM)
sorry for my noob question...im newbie on this....can suggest me a common snail that can work as a leftover cleaner?cheap2 one is ok..no fancy2 one...for my channa tank...any suggestion and where i can get it?thanks
assassin snail is also a leftover cleaner i think (saw them eat my leftover algae wafer d other day) plus, they hunt ramshorn snail in your tank...and they looks beautiful IMHO...just that they really love to dig into your soil during the day (mine tends to dislodge my stem plants >_<)

This post has been edited by kurangak: Apr 3 2012, 12:53 PM
kurangak
post Apr 3 2012, 01:20 PM

certified /k addict
1,170 posts

btw any cfus here can help me register in MAC forum ka? coz i dont have official email, only gmail (n that is my 'official' email >_< )
kurangak
post Apr 3 2012, 03:11 PM

certified /k addict
1,170 posts

theres another solution... install A/C in your house... u'll be happy, your aquarium also will be happy...biggrin.gif

9 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0597sec    0.68    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 06:48 PM