Saga 12valve drive shaft, Price for changing it

TSbenbenblue
post Mar 7 2012, 11:55 AM, updated 14y ago

can i know what's the price for changing the drive shaft for my old saga?

Thank you in advance for the info.
Quazacolt
post Mar 7 2012, 11:59 AM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

for both left/right including the CV joints, IINM rm400-500 for recond. ori proton parts much more expensive.

just CV joints alone is maybe 200-300? or even less.
TSbenbenblue
post Mar 7 2012, 12:02 PM

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Mar 7 2012, 11:59 AM)
for both left/right including the CV joints, IINM rm400-500 for recond. ori proton parts much more expensive.

just CV joints alone is maybe 200-300? or even less.
thank you for your info.

Find it very helpful
GoldenHawk
post Mar 7 2012, 01:41 PM

The Forgotten
1,017 posts

The drive-shaft itself cost be about RM150/piece. Installation about RM100 or so. I don't remember exactly - something I did about a year back on my own ride...
TSbenbenblue
post Mar 7 2012, 02:25 PM

QUOTE(GoldenHawk @ Mar 7 2012, 01:41 PM)
The drive-shaft itself cost be about RM150/piece. Installation about RM100 or so. I don't remember exactly - something I did about a year back on my own ride...
oh. . .
thanks alot! rclxms.gif
Quazacolt
post Mar 7 2012, 04:26 PM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(benbenblue @ Mar 7 2012, 12:02 PM)
thank you for your info.

Find it very helpful
also to note, if its just CV joints replacement, labour isnt much. however if whole drive shaft replace, labour may be around/over rm100 as goldenhawk mentioned, also you will need to replace gear box oil, and its oil seals.
Xploit Machine
post Mar 7 2012, 04:31 PM

❤️ 孤独な旅行者 ❤️​
7,268 posts

RM125 for 1 side smile.gif .. original proton with 3 months warranty
the_catacombs
post Mar 10 2012, 03:03 AM

8 stars wooo....
10,975 posts

QUOTE(Xploit Machine @ Mar 7 2012, 04:31 PM)
RM125 for 1 side smile.gif .. original proton with 3 months warranty
thats the CV joint price or the whole driveshaft??..
Xploit Machine
post Mar 10 2012, 11:20 AM

❤️ 孤独な旅行者 ❤️​
7,268 posts

QUOTE(the_catacombs @ Mar 10 2012, 03:03 AM)
thats the CV joint price or the whole driveshaft??..
only driveshaft without CV joint
amad108
post Mar 10 2012, 08:49 PM

too much of something is bad enough
1,008 posts

got it rm100 for each side replacement including labor (for wira n satria, kancil maybe lower a bit), but its not new, its refurbish (diff from recon) the shop is specialist for driveshaft, even all the FR cars send there to refurbish their longshaft.. located at Bukit Kuda Klang..

already change my friend's satria both driveshaft more then 3 years back, my wife kancil year 2006 also both driveshaft almost 2 years right now, and my wira 5 years back n still no problem until now..

This post has been edited by amad108: Mar 10 2012, 08:50 PM
TSbenbenblue
post Mar 20 2012, 12:01 AM

any one got recommendation for workshop to go for low cost repair. . .?
i stay in kepong area. . .
thank for all your help . . .
joefbi
post Mar 23 2012, 10:08 AM

joefbi a.k.a roketx
2,558 posts

generally, will cost around 120-150 for one side complete not including installation.
SUSTham
post Mar 26 2012, 03:27 AM

1,576 posts

QUOTE(amad108 @ Mar 10 2012, 05:49 PM)
got it rm100 for each side replacement including labor (for wira n satria, kancil maybe lower a bit), but its not new, its refurbish (diff from recon) the shop is specialist for driveshaft, even all the FR cars send there to refurbish their longshaft.. located at Bukit Kuda Klang..

already change my friend's satria both driveshaft more then 3 years back, my wife kancil year 2006 also both driveshaft almost 2 years right now, and my wira 5 years back n still no problem until now..
That's quite cheap, if the shafts are that reliable.

(That's just one reason why I don't exactly fancy front wheel
drive cars. The propeller shaft in rear wheel drives will last you
virtually the life of the car, with only the univeral joints
having to be replaced after 10 years or so - maybe $30 for both
front and back, labour perhaps $50 these days.)

Added on March 26, 2012, 3:34 am
QUOTE(benbenblue @ Mar 19 2012, 09:01 PM)
any one got recommendation for workshop to go for low cost repair. . .?
i stay in kepong area. . .
thank for all your help . . .
Not sure about Kepong, but you can call one of my mechanics in
Taman Yulek (or Cheras) and ask. Be aware that he doesn't seem
to answer his phone these days (probably not keen to repair my old
car), and his wife can be quite cocky.

His work is reliable and charges reasonable.

Ah Keong
012-296 3908
03-9130 5128

This post has been edited by Tham: Mar 26 2012, 03:34 AM
amad108
post Mar 26 2012, 10:26 PM

1,008 posts

yup, its reliable bro..
the con for car with longshaft is the weight of longshaft quite heavy n load transfer is lesser compare FF engine..
tokdukun
post Apr 1 2012, 06:29 PM

376 posts

My saga recently changed CV joint, both sides with labour RM400, is that reasonable?
TSbenbenblue
post Apr 10 2012, 12:43 AM

QUOTE(Tham @ Mar 26 2012, 03:27 AM)
That's quite cheap, if the shafts are that reliable.

(That's just one reason why I don't exactly fancy front wheel
drive cars. The propeller shaft in rear wheel drives will last you
virtually the life of the car, with only the univeral joints
having to be replaced after 10 years or so - maybe $30 for both
front and back, labour perhaps $50 these days.)

Added on March 26, 2012, 3:34 am
Not sure about Kepong, but you can call one of my mechanics in
Taman Yulek (or Cheras) and ask. Be aware that he doesn't seem
to answer his phone these days (probably not keen to repair my old
car), and his wife can be quite cocky.

His work is reliable and charges reasonable.
Ah Keong
012-296 3908
03-9130 5128
thank bro for sharing info notworthy.gif
amad108
post Apr 12 2012, 01:40 AM

1,008 posts

QUOTE(tokdukun @ Apr 1 2012, 06:29 PM)
My saga recently changed CV joint, both sides with labour RM400, is that reasonable?
that expensive bro.. shakehead.gif shakehead.gif
Dry Pillow
post Nov 23 2013, 10:13 AM

623 posts

Sorry to bump up old thread.

Question: is cv joint covered by warranty?

Just got my Saga 4 months ago, now its already fried.

0.0209sec    1.19    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 01:30 PM