wanna ask warranty impact from modding new car

TSyamasce
post Mar 7 2012, 10:42 AM, updated 14y ago

346 posts

hey guys/mod sifu,
i plan to mod my upcoming new altis but not sure if those mods will void the warranty...any advice is welcomed too biggrin.gif

below are the things i wan to do:
1. change front grill and fix bodykits (since front and rear got sensors will this void warranty?not sure if they need remove those sensors from original body and do some rewiring)
2. fix front strut, rear antiroll and torsion bars
3. change headlamp, fog lamp and cabin bulbs to led type
4. fix door scuff/sill plates (need do wiring)
5. change door handles to illuminated type (need do wiring)
6. change air/oil filter to performance type
7. fix fog lamp cover with built-in led drl (need do wiring)
8. fix rear bumper smoked led reflector with brake light (need do wiring)

thanks in advance
kahjye
post Mar 7 2012, 10:59 AM

4,494 posts

i believe anything that involves wiring will void the warranty.

TSyamasce
post Mar 7 2012, 11:02 AM

346 posts

QUOTE(kahjye @ Mar 7 2012, 10:59 AM)
i believe anything that involves wiring will void the warranty.
yea tat's wat i thought...but duno if got plug n play type on both ends...use some kind of connector onli

This post has been edited by yamasce: Mar 7 2012, 11:03 AM
calvin_ng
post Mar 7 2012, 11:07 AM

TeamCity | HCC | Insighters
1,583 posts

1. change front grill and fix bodykits (since front and rear got sensors will this void warranty?not sure if they need remove those sensors from original body and do some rewiring)
-Depend on car manufacturer usually bodykits will not void warranty but render paint warranty to exclude the bodykits section

-Should not void any warranty unless involve cutting body structure and parts (Usually this parts is plug and play)

-Headlamp change to HID (No issue with car manufacturer but got issue with police/jpj)
-Foglamp no issue
- LED cabin light no issue as this item is plug and play

-No issue (if got problem bring back to acc. shop instead of your manufacturer)

-for Drop in usually they close 1 eye but if open POD (it is no no)
- oil filter - if warranty you bring back to authorised service in time should not be issue

Added on March 7, 2012, 11:08 amnote: if by cutting wiring affect other thing make sure you bring back to acc. shop to get it fixed before send back to authorised service...

This post has been edited by calvin_ng: Mar 7 2012, 11:08 AM
dares
post Mar 7 2012, 11:13 AM

834 posts

QUOTE(yamasce @ Mar 7 2012, 10:42 AM)
hey guys/mod sifu,
i plan to mod my upcoming new altis but not sure if those mods will void the warranty...any advice is welcomed too  biggrin.gif

thanks in advance
None of which you mention will void the warranty for the powertrain. If you car have separate warranties for things such as lights, suspensions, chassis etc, some of those might be void eg. Strut bars may void suspension warranty and so on.
TSyamasce
post Mar 7 2012, 11:30 AM

346 posts

QUOTE(calvin_ng @ Mar 7 2012, 11:07 AM)
-Depend on car manufacturer usually bodykits will not void warranty but render paint warranty to exclude the bodykits section

any experience on toyota cars?anyway i plan to get whole set of trd ones...how bout the sensors?need take out 1st then put back right?no need cut de meh?

-Should not void any warranty unless involve cutting body structure and parts (Usually this parts is plug and play)

-Headlamp change to HID (No issue with car manufacturer but got issue with police/jpj)
-Foglamp no issue
- LED cabin light no issue as this item is plug and play

not planning to change to hid...cost a bomb lol..i onli wan change normal bulb type to led onli...or this cannot be done?must change whole headlamp?

-for Drop in usually they close 1 eye but if open POD (it is no no)
- oil filter - if warranty you bring back to authorised service in time should not be issue

for the air filter those simota, knn or utr all got drop in type right?open pod u mean take out existing filter and replace my own?

Added on March 7, 2012, 11:08 amnote: if by cutting wiring affect other thing make sure you bring back to acc. shop to get it fixed before send back to authorised service...
QUOTE(dares @ Mar 7 2012, 11:13 AM)
None of which you mention will void the warranty for the powertrain. If you car have separate warranties for things such as lights, suspensions, chassis etc, some of those might be void eg. Strut bars may void suspension warranty and so on.
for toyota cars how?new altis warranty package is whole car or some parts onli?
azbro
post Mar 7 2012, 11:49 AM

4,403 posts

hey guys/mod sifu,
i plan to mod my upcoming new altis but not sure if those mods will void the warranty...any advice is welcomed too  biggrin.gif

thanks in advance

1) Seriously, just ask the salesman to fit the bodykits for you. He have appointed bodyfit shops that wont void the warraty. But you can't choose what pattern you want as they are all the same.
2) Front strut and torsion bar should be OK, I dun think rear anti roll bar will void any warranty
3) AFAIK, I asked oledi Toyota salesman, plug and plug in allowed. But if it involves any cutting of wires, the whole electrical system will void warranty.
4) Same as No.3
5) Same as No.3
6) Drop in is OK. But they will not service that. You have to clean in yourself
7) Same as No.3
8) Same as No.3

So in the end I ask salesman...why all cannot do wan....so how?
Replied.....do it after warranty over smile.gif
TSyamasce
post Mar 7 2012, 11:55 AM

346 posts

QUOTE(azbro @ Mar 7 2012, 11:49 AM)
1) Seriously, just ask the salesman to fit the bodykits for you. He have appointed bodyfit shops that wont void the warraty. But you can't choose what pattern you want as they are all the same.
2) Front strut and torsion bar should be OK, I dun think rear anti roll bar will void any warranty
3) AFAIK, I asked oledi Toyota salesman, plug and plug in allowed. But if it involves any cutting of wires, the whole electrical system will void warranty.
4) Same as No.3
5) Same as No.3
6) Drop in is OK. But they will not service that. You have to clean in yourself
7) Same as No.3
8) Same as No.3

So in the end I ask salesman...why all cannot do wan....so how?
Replied.....do it after warranty over smile.gif
lol obviously after warranty can do watever u wan..u wan overhaul or turn whole car upside down also can haha...but now i'm getting worried coz got different info...1 said won't void another said will void...hmm

anyway the bodykit i wan 2 fix trd from toyota one...but hv 2 get from thailand coz here dun hv lol...so this consider ok or not?

This post has been edited by yamasce: Mar 7 2012, 11:56 AM
Jim.tan
post Mar 7 2012, 11:56 AM

63 posts

hey guys/mod sifu,

thanks in advance
As long as no wire cuttin is fine wink.gif

TSyamasce
post Mar 7 2012, 11:58 AM

346 posts

QUOTE(Jim.tan @ Mar 7 2012, 11:56 AM)
As long as no wire cuttin is fine wink.gif
i heard from SA before he mentioned even if connect some kind of jumper without cutting the existing wire also cannot lolz...but not sure if those parts i wan 2 mod got plug n play connector type...if dun hv then hv 2 abandon most of my mod project liao cry.gif

This post has been edited by yamasce: Mar 7 2012, 11:59 AM
Jim.tan
post Mar 7 2012, 12:28 PM

63 posts

QUOTE(yamasce @ Mar 7 2012, 11:58 AM)
i heard from SA before he mentioned even if connect some kind of jumper without cutting the existing wire also cannot lolz...but not sure if those parts i wan 2 mod got plug n play connector type...if dun hv then hv 2 abandon most of my mod project liao  cry.gif
Nah, if really something happen to your car. Remove the mod wink.gif then they won't know right? So can claim warranty loL
TSyamasce
post Mar 7 2012, 12:41 PM

346 posts

QUOTE(Jim.tan @ Mar 7 2012, 12:28 PM)
Nah, if really something happen to your car. Remove the mod wink.gif then they won't know right? So can claim warranty loL
lol...so marfan ler...then everytime b4 service i hv 2 dismantle then fix back after tat meh...then might cause more problem lo like tat
HanzoRacing
post Mar 7 2012, 01:34 PM

15 posts

hey guys/mod sifu,

thanks in advance
Coming from someone who sell parts online, the answer is if u do all the things above (except no 3), u can kiss ur warranty goodbye. wink.gif

U touching some of the electronics n wiring of ur car.
TSyamasce
post Mar 7 2012, 01:58 PM

346 posts

QUOTE(HanzoRacing @ Mar 7 2012, 01:34 PM)
Coming from someone who sell parts online, the answer is if u do all the things above (except no 3), u can kiss ur warranty goodbye. wink.gif

U touching some of the electronics n wiring of ur car.
wow really?even strut bar?any reason for voiding warranty?
calvin_ng
post Mar 7 2012, 02:05 PM

1,583 posts

strut wont void warranty laaa

as I know installing bodykits they will not touch your wiring (Including reverse sensor) no reason to unless your sensor is located way below laaa

You cannot change your main light (Headlight) to LED unless you are referring to the small parking light laaa (No warranty void) plug and play maaa

Drop in filter wont void warranty but throttle body cleaning not included pay saparately every 20,000km to clean the throttle body... drop in can cause the throttle body very dirty and your engine will vibrate after some time...
HanzoRacing
post Mar 7 2012, 02:52 PM

15 posts

QUOTE(yamasce @ Mar 7 2012, 01:58 PM)
wow really?even strut bar?any reason for voiding warranty?
I did ask before on my Toyota car. Of coz u can put strut bars and still can send for service but provided if u faced a problem on say in ur car body, and if they found it is caused by strut bar then u can kiss ur warranty goodbye.

The same theory goes for aftermarket parts like air filters n so on. Putting third party engine oil or service outside meaning goodbye to ur warranty too. wink.gif

At best pls check with ur manufacturer. Different manufacturer has different methods to void ur warranty.

This post has been edited by HanzoRacing: Mar 7 2012, 02:58 PM
TSyamasce
post Mar 7 2012, 03:14 PM

346 posts

QUOTE(calvin_ng @ Mar 7 2012, 02:05 PM)
strut wont void warranty laaa

as I know installing bodykits they will not touch your wiring (Including reverse sensor) no reason to unless your sensor is located way below laaa

You cannot change your main light (Headlight) to LED unless you are referring to the small parking light laaa (No warranty void) plug and play maaa

Drop in filter wont void warranty but throttle body cleaning not included pay saparately every 20,000km to clean the throttle body... drop in can cause the throttle body very dirty and your engine will vibrate after some time...
so if i hantam angel eye/projector in surely void warranty liao?how bout juz changing the bulb to performance type instead of the whole headlight?

throttle body cleaning not done by toyota service center when the time comes de meh?

QUOTE(HanzoRacing @ Mar 7 2012, 02:52 PM)
I did ask before on my Toyota car. Of coz u can put strut bars and still can send for service but provided if u faced a problem on say in ur car body, and if they found it is caused by strut bar then u can kiss ur warranty goodbye.

The same theory goes for aftermarket parts like air filters n so on. Putting third party engine oil or service outside meaning goodbye to ur warranty too. wink.gif

At best pls check with ur manufacturer. Different manufacturer has different methods to void ur warranty.
manufacturer is toyota lol...i mentioned altis at the beginning...anyway wat u mean is if i do all those mods and send for normal service without any issues they won't void ur warranty..if got problems and send for repair or service then found out due to my mods...consider void warranty...am i right?

lets say done all mods and send for normal service everytime due...but after 1 of the service visits got issues due to technician fault...will this consider void warranty as well?logically speaking they will point fingers 2 my mods and free themselves from any wrongdoings la...

This post has been edited by yamasce: Mar 7 2012, 03:16 PM
dares
post Mar 7 2012, 03:24 PM

834 posts

QUOTE(yamasce @ Mar 7 2012, 03:14 PM)
lets say done all mods and send for normal service everytime due...but after 1 of the service visits got issues due to technician fault...will this consider void warranty as well?logically speaking they will point fingers 2 my mods and free themselves from any wrongdoings la...
If they want, they can say anything including blaming your mods. Think about it, they will even try to void your engine warranty if you don't use their lube.

Don't think so much, rule of thumb is, whatever part you mod, assume it will void the warranty for that part. Just boils down to whether you can live with that and your luck. If you wanna worry about warranty, don't mod.
TSyamasce
post Mar 7 2012, 03:43 PM

346 posts

QUOTE(dares @ Mar 7 2012, 03:24 PM)
If they want, they can say anything including blaming your mods. Think about it, they will even try to void your engine warranty if you don't use their lube.

Don't think so much, rule of thumb is, whatever part you mod, assume it will void the warranty for that part. Just boils down to whether you can live with that and your luck. If you wanna worry about warranty, don't mod.
how bout both also wan?mod nicely and warranty still claimable tongue.gif

Added on March 7, 2012, 11:18 pmso wat do others think?i think half said no void..half said void..1/2 said depends on situation..to mod or not to mod guys?worth the risk of causing potential problems to the original setup? hmm.gif

This post has been edited by yamasce: Mar 7 2012, 11:18 PM
azbro
post Mar 8 2012, 11:02 PM

4,403 posts

QUOTE(yamasce @ Mar 7 2012, 03:43 PM)
how bout both also wan?mod nicely and warranty still claimable   tongue.gif

Added on March 7, 2012, 11:18 pmso wat do others think?i think half said no void..half said void..1/2 said depends on situation..to mod or not to mod guys?worth the risk of causing potential problems to the original setup?  hmm.gif
Go ask the Toyota salesman, or just go to any Toyota SC and ask the technical advisor there.

So far for me (vios) mine was void one time because I fix grounding cable that was touching a thin aluminium aircon hose. The aircon hose was damage due to vibration by the poorly secured grounding cables. So no warranty for the aircon hose only. The rest still warranty. But even so, after the change the aircon hose, they have me 3 month warranty for that part that was changed by them. During that time, I took out most of the grounding cables to avoid from happening again.

I also mod the rear lights wiring, horn, added a hidden security switch in the dashboard. But I can't say whether it void warranty because nothing happened to the electrical system.

But just to add to the horror stories...have you even heard of cars, even Vios and new Camry cought fire? Yes, a few times in the news paper. If they investigate and found out that you had been tempering with the electrical system by adding spot lights, amps, DVD player, additional security system, mods to the engine electrical system....then you are fvcked.

This post has been edited by azbro: Mar 8 2012, 11:07 PM
tyenfei
post Mar 9 2012, 12:04 AM

A Ku La Ma Tata
2,230 posts

Car service center can get 1001 reason to void your warranty if they want to .. they can even say your service log record not good. Not follow exactly mileage to service .

Heavy modding sure direct void warranty as specially when touch of wiring/ cut wiring.
TSyamasce
post Mar 9 2012, 01:21 AM

346 posts

QUOTE(azbro @ Mar 8 2012, 11:02 PM)
Go ask the Toyota salesman, or just go to any Toyota SC and ask the technical advisor there.

So far for me (vios) mine was void one time because I fix grounding cable that was touching a thin aluminium aircon hose. The aircon hose was damage due to vibration by the poorly secured grounding cables. So no warranty for the aircon hose only. The rest still warranty. But even so, after the change the aircon hose, they have me 3 month warranty for that part that was changed by them. During that time, I took out most of the grounding cables to avoid from happening again.

I also mod the rear lights wiring, horn, added a hidden security switch in the dashboard. But I can't say whether it void warranty because nothing happened to the electrical system.

But just to add to the horror stories...have you even heard of cars, even Vios and new Camry cought fire? Yes, a few times in the news paper. If they investigate and found out that you had been tempering with the electrical system by adding spot lights, amps, DVD player, additional security system, mods to the engine electrical system....then you are fvcked.
QUOTE(tyenfei @ Mar 9 2012, 12:04 AM)
Car service center can get 1001 reason to void your warranty if they want to .. they can even say your service log record not good. Not follow exactly mileage to service .

Heavy modding sure direct void warranty as specially when touch of wiring/ cut wiring.
i know cut or make a jumper will void warranty but not plug n play type...will this also cause the car to brun?
azbro
post Mar 9 2012, 11:14 AM

4,403 posts

QUOTE(yamasce @ Mar 9 2012, 01:21 AM)
i know cut or make a jumper will void warranty but not plug n play type...will this also cause the car to brun?
I asked the Toyota saleman, Plug and play no void warranty....but as they say, they will find 1001 reasons to void your warranty if the worst happens...even if it doesn't relate to the part installed.

BUT, thing is what abt after the warranty period over and your ECU kong because of manufacturing defects etc? And it cost is a lot?...do you claim back?.....of course....but this happened to a 3008 owner, the Pug ECU died after the warranty and Nasim offered to replace it FOC....but so happens that owner fitted an after market Plug and Play DVD player...Nasim found that out and didn't bother anymore.
ECU can kong bro....many case even for Toyota...ever heard of the Avanza that kong ECU because UMWSC said that cockroach pissed on the PCB?...that one famous story in AW bro...they simply put the blame on cockroach just to void the warranty
http://forum.autoworld.com.my/index.php?showtopic=73514&st=0

Anyway, my advice, don't do any electrical mods during the warranty period.....But if you do and add DRL, DVD player, additional Rear brake Blinkers, BM horn, Voltage Stabilizers, etc....just pray your car is OK or the problem not related to you mods.......one more thing is abt after market Sport Rims...Toyota and Honda cars the bearings are worst...many times I see City, Vios come back to shop to refit original rims because the bearings got broken. My Vios 3 bearing broke. just take note. But adding Bodykits should be a problem unless that guy simply damage the car by drilling holes everyewhere

This post has been edited by azbro: Mar 9 2012, 11:25 AM
TSyamasce
post Mar 9 2012, 11:43 AM

346 posts

QUOTE(azbro @ Mar 9 2012, 11:14 AM)
I asked the Toyota saleman, Plug and play no void warranty....but as they say, they will find 1001 reasons to void your warranty if the worst happens...even if it doesn't relate to the part installed.

BUT, thing is what abt after the warranty period over and your ECU kong because of manufacturing defects etc? And it cost is a lot?...do you claim back?.....of course....but this happened to a 3008 owner, the Pug ECU died after the warranty and Nasim offered to replace it FOC....but so happens that owner fitted an after market Plug and Play DVD player...Nasim found that out and didn't bother anymore.
ECU can kong bro....many case even for Toyota...ever heard of the Avanza that kong ECU because UMWSC said that cockroach pissed on the PCB?...that one famous story in AW bro...they simply put the blame on cockroach just to void the warranty
http://forum.autoworld.com.my/index.php?showtopic=73514&st=0

Anyway, my advice, don't do any electrical mods during the warranty period.....But if you do and add DRL, DVD player, additional Rear brake Blinkers, BM horn, Voltage Stabilizers, etc....just pray your car is OK or the problem not related to you mods.......one more thing is abt after market Sport Rims...Toyota and Honda cars the bearings are worst...many times I see City, Vios come back to shop to refit original rims because the bearings got broken. My Vios 3 bearing broke. just take note. But adding Bodykits should be a problem unless that guy simply damage the car by drilling holes everyewhere
1st bolded reason is acceptable...but 2nd one is really wadafuk case...cockroach pissedon ecu?did they ever find a real cockroach inside or juz put a fake 1 n voila...snap picture n show as prove...for me i will definitely screw them upside down left right front back...shit no wonder warranty given is onli 3 yrs unlike kimchi 5 yrs...

so i can't change the rim n tyre of my preference without having bearing issue?oh man...juz when i plan 2 change tat...damn...this cannot tat cannot i think i might reconsider my altis...seems like quality has downgraded over the years...my mum's unser...10+ yrs until now no problem lolz...still going strong like new...i think even better than 2day's new generation cars...

This post has been edited by yamasce: Mar 9 2012, 11:44 AM
azbro
post Mar 9 2012, 12:26 PM

4,403 posts

QUOTE(yamasce @ Mar 9 2012, 11:43 AM)
1st bolded reason is acceptable...but 2nd one is really wadafuk case...cockroach pissedon ecu?did they ever find a real cockroach inside or juz put a fake 1 n voila...snap picture n show as prove...for me i will definitely screw them upside down left right front back...shit no wonder warranty given is onli 3 yrs unlike kimchi 5 yrs...

so i can't change the rim n tyre of my preference without having bearing issue?oh man...juz when i plan 2 change tat...damn...this cannot tat cannot i think i might reconsider my altis...seems like quality has downgraded over the years...my mum's unser...10+ yrs until now no problem lolz...still going strong like new...i think even better than 2day's new generation cars...
Light weight Rims should be OK.
TSyamasce
post Mar 9 2012, 12:31 PM

346 posts

QUOTE(azbro @ Mar 9 2012, 12:26 PM)
Light weight Rims should be OK.
oh really those aluminium type rite?but i heard more expensive than normal ones...
azbro
post Mar 9 2012, 03:32 PM

4,403 posts

QUOTE(yamasce @ Mar 9 2012, 12:31 PM)
oh really those aluminium type rite?but i heard more expensive than normal ones...
Those 2nd hand light weight Japan rims usually cost double or triple that of new Taiwan fake rims.

But Taiwan rims also got light weight ones
turbocharged
post Mar 9 2012, 03:41 PM

250 posts

scare, dont mod.

mod, dont scare.

settle.
TSyamasce
post Mar 9 2012, 03:45 PM

346 posts

QUOTE(turbocharged @ Mar 9 2012, 03:41 PM)
scare, dont mod.

mod, dont scare.

settle.
how bout in the middle?not too scare...not too daring rclxub.gif
turbocharged
post Mar 9 2012, 03:55 PM

250 posts

QUOTE(yamasce @ Mar 9 2012, 03:45 PM)
how bout in the middle?not too scare...not too daring  rclxub.gif
dont touch wiring lo.

sorry to say, put those lights and get warranty void, not worth la

if you say the car can be faster, better handling, ok la, worth la.
or change rim, because you can put better tyre, ok, it make sense.

the LED.......no use one wor....purely cosmetic.....and really got ppl's car got burned due to this.
you heard ppl accident after change rim or suspension? no right?
dares
post Mar 9 2012, 03:56 PM

834 posts

QUOTE(turbocharged @ Mar 9 2012, 03:41 PM)
scare, dont mod.

mod, dont scare.

settle.
+1

That's y I didnt mod tongue.gif
calvin_ng
post Mar 9 2012, 03:59 PM

1,583 posts

+2!!!
TSyamasce
post Mar 9 2012, 04:17 PM

346 posts

QUOTE(turbocharged @ Mar 9 2012, 03:55 PM)
dont touch wiring lo.

sorry to say, put those lights and get warranty void, not worth la

if you say the car can be faster, better handling, ok la, worth la.
or change rim, because you can put better tyre, ok, it make sense.

the LED.......no use one wor....purely cosmetic.....and really got ppl's car got burned due to this.
you heard ppl accident after change rim or suspension? no right?
hmm i think those bolded ones cannot do lo...if change bulb onli ok kua

3. change headlamp, fog lamp and cabin bulbs to performance white light bulb

but those dun hv plug n play type meh?no need tamper with the original wirings lo
paogiv3r
post Apr 13 2012, 04:31 PM

395 posts

i installed a tweeter speaker, they did cut the wire skin (didnt cut the wire cores off) and join with another wire. does that mean my warranty is over? how to help ah in this case, not worth it for a RM68 tweeter for the whole warrenty.

0.0254sec    0.85    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 06:48 AM