OCBC housing Loan, better than other bank?pls debate

chiew
post Mar 20 2012, 01:23 PM

202 posts

Recently OCBC Msia upgraded their internet banking system. I noticed some changes in the statement.

Previously, the outstanding amount takes into consideration the advance payment. For e.g. with 100K balance initially, if I make advance payment of 10K, the outstanding balance will be 90K.

However, now with the same scenario, the outstanding balance will remain as 100K.

I wonder if this will affect the daily-rest interest calculation? Can any OCBC banker here shred some light?

Thanks!
chiew
post Mar 26 2012, 01:27 PM

202 posts

what is the "accured profits/interest" mean? it seems to increasing day by day, but with no effect to outstanding balance.

any OCBC banker here can help?
chiew
post Jul 6 2012, 10:24 AM

202 posts

QUOTE(kok_pun @ Jul 6 2012, 01:32 AM)
it is the accumulated interest to be charged on your account during the first day of the following month. because interest is calculated daily, you will see the change in amount everyday. try to pump additional Rm5000 one day and on the next day you will see lower interest being added to the "accrued interest" amount
got it! thanks smile.gif

prefer the previous presentation of the account where the actual outstanding balance was shown.

now i have to do some arithmetic to get the amount correctly hmm.gif
chiew
post Jul 28 2012, 03:05 PM

202 posts

QUOTE(thoseeyes @ Jul 28 2012, 12:39 PM)
Hi Guys,

Thanks for the replies.

I did talked to OCBC and mentioned I was to specifically use the extra payment I make monthly to deduct principal. But the answer I get is it cannot be done because the system will automatically capture in the advance payment structure. Unless I pay large amount and call them to inform the large payment is for partial repayment.

That is why I'm confuse why should I pay more every month.

Please share
I'm also taking OCBC loan. Whenever you pay extra, it will be automatically treated as "advance instalment" and cannot be withdrawn.
This is like you pay in advance for the monthly instalment in the future.

Don't worry though, because this extra payment will immediately save you interest. You can check your daily interest to confirm this.

Another type is "capital repayment", this can only be done through cheque deposit or over the branch counter. This will also immediately save you interest, but you can withdraw this by giving OCBC 3-day notice (minimum withdrawal amount 5k, and increments of 1k for my case).

Either way, you save the same amount of interest nod.gif

Just a note, in online statement, your outstanding balance = total balance - accrued interest

chiew
post Jul 28 2012, 07:40 PM

202 posts

QUOTE(1282009 @ Jul 28 2012, 07:31 PM)
"Another type is "capital repayment", this can only be done through cheque deposit or over the branch counter. "

Can that be done via online fund transfer?
The information I got is no, online fund transfer will be automatically treated as "advance instalment".

chiew
post Jul 28 2012, 10:19 PM

202 posts

QUOTE(1282009 @ Jul 28 2012, 07:47 PM)
Really leceh like that ..
ya, withdrawal also lecel, have to do it over counter....

that's the compromise we have to deal with semi-flexi package..... smile.gif

This post has been edited by chiew: Jul 28 2012, 10:21 PM
chiew
post Jul 29 2012, 11:39 PM

202 posts

just out of curiousity, would the daily interest in a leap year be divided by 365 or 366?

This post has been edited by chiew: Jul 29 2012, 11:43 PM
chiew
post Jul 30 2012, 10:49 PM

202 posts

from my daily interest, it seems like it is divided by 365. but i wish i'm wrong tongue.gif
chiew
post Aug 1 2012, 04:35 PM

202 posts

QUOTE(yunalesca @ Aug 1 2012, 02:32 PM)
how come ocbc don't give monthly statement? not even online version.

every month i have to guess how much is the interest paid, etc.
you can see the monthly statement and daily transaction with internet banking.

you probably have to email them to add your loan account to your internet banking.

chiew
post Aug 14 2012, 10:44 AM

202 posts

QUOTE(kiddyinvestor @ Aug 13 2012, 11:44 PM)
So if I wish to pay more than the monthly installment under the semi flexi type, is the extra payment I made goes to the principal n he ce reduce my loan interest or it treated as advance payment for the following month? Do I need to give notice via letter or call then to do that?
it will be treated as advanced payment if you don't give any notice to OCBC.
nevertheless, it will immediately save you interest too.

the only difference with principal reduction (aka capital repayment) is that you cannot withdraw the extra payment you made.

if you want to withdraw in the future, you have to do capital repayment by:
i. over the counter; or
ii. cheque deposit (by specifying "capital repayment" at the back of the cheque and the cheque deposit form).
chiew
post Jul 17 2013, 12:21 PM

202 posts

Wondering if it is possible to top up loan for a OC-obtained house that has not been issued strata tittle?
chiew
post Aug 20 2013, 07:12 PM

202 posts

QUOTE(kyle_kl @ Aug 19 2013, 05:26 PM)
Where to check the daily interest transaction in internet banking? I only found the monthly interest but not daily. tq.
for daily interest, you have to do ur own calculation.
the accrued interest will increase daily, u need to calculate the difference to get the daily interest.
chiew
post Aug 21 2013, 05:45 PM

202 posts

QUOTE(kyle_kl @ Aug 20 2013, 11:41 PM)
ok thanks....
1 more question if you don't mind  tongue.gif
i see this from my monthly statement:

Prncpl - Auto Split 633.69
Interest Payment Spl  859.31

is it mean the 1493 installment i pay, 633.69 pay for principle and 859.31 pay for interest portion?
i check each month and i found the interest portion become bigger  cry.gif
yes, you are right about the principal and interest split.

if you make installment every month, the daily interest should get lesser.
but monthly interest could be higher if u have 31 days for the current month, but 30 days for the previous month. smile.gif

0.0188sec    0.46    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 12:10 AM