How to start a travel agency in Malaysia?, any tips?

TSericwen
post Mar 6 2012, 01:03 PM, updated 14y ago

357 posts

Hi everyone,

Like to check on this one for my friend.

a) Do I need to open a sdn bhd for a travel agency? Can it be an enterprise instead (aka sole prop)?
b) After register a company at ROC, do I need to apply any travel agency license?
c) Are there any fees which I need to pay?

Any tips on this one? Thanks.
babychai
post Mar 6 2012, 03:31 PM

I go to work because my name is not in Forbes list
779 posts

yea...u hv to get MATTA membership
yearly fees shd be around RM250 yearly and then they will send u the certificate.

i think u hv to become IATA membership as well if u wanna get ticket from them. they r the major ticket supplier. pls refer to http://www.iata.org/Pages/default.aspx

This post has been edited by babychai: Mar 6 2012, 03:37 PM
TSericwen
post Mar 20 2012, 04:36 PM

357 posts

QUOTE(babychai @ Mar 6 2012, 03:31 PM)
yea...u hv to get MATTA membership
yearly fees shd be around RM250 yearly and then they will send u the certificate.

i think u hv to become IATA membership as well if u wanna get ticket from them. they r the major ticket supplier. pls refer to http://www.iata.org/Pages/default.aspx
thanks so much smile.gif

wiggleman888
post Mar 20 2012, 05:51 PM

50 posts

this kind of biznes is very price competitive, moreover ppl nowadays prefer to do their own planning. u sure u wanna do it?
kevinchlee
post Sep 18 2012, 06:02 PM

479 posts

hav to register sdn bhd ? and paid up capitol of RM100k in order to start travel business izit
Irfan2397
post Sep 19 2012, 07:57 AM

Please dont stalk me!!!
1,693 posts

You need to register sdn bhd,apply license from Kementerian Pelancongan but now what i heard that is,They will only approve the license if the Director have experience and background in the Travel Industry,Btw if interested to join as partner,I got one friend that is setting up a travel agent company smile.gif,Pm me for the contact number
mcwood
post Dec 13 2012, 03:03 PM

QUOTE(Irfan2397 @ Sep 19 2012, 07:57 AM)
You need to register sdn bhd,apply license from Kementerian Pelancongan but now what i heard that is,They will only approve the license if the Director have experience and background in the Travel Industry,Btw if interested to join as partner,I got one friend that is setting up a travel agent company smile.gif,Pm me for the contact number
how about travel franchise? e.g: http://franchise.sutra.my/index.html
simonheng82
post Dec 17 2013, 11:16 AM

177 posts

To register a travel agency or tour operating business in Malaysia is not that complicated, the basic requirement is to setup a sdn bhd and having sufficient paid up capital (i.e. RM50,000 for inbound operator in rural area).

I have just recently got my application approved, now i am setting up premise and waiting to attend the TTMC course, cant wait to start the business ASAP:)

For the general guideline in setting up a travel agency in Malaysia, you can check out this guide:

http://www.how-to-start-a-travel-agency.com

Hope this helps:)

Simon
foxboro
post Dec 17 2013, 11:33 AM

65 posts

QUOTE(Irfan2397 @ Sep 19 2012, 07:57 AM)
Have you had your shake for todayyyyyyn thumbup.gif
patnam
post Jan 26 2015, 03:39 PM

178 posts

my sister's bf offer me a job that cannot refuse, that is start a travel agency business.
Just need an advise whether I should accept the offer as if I take it, I will have a big responsibility for any matters of this business...
casper_iam
post Sep 10 2015, 08:25 PM

Need comments from the experts

a) how much capital require to start a travel agency (inbound,outbound,ticketing)
b) Registration with IATA is complicated ? and what are the requirements
c) what are the profit margins
d) what are the operating costs (including any hidden cost)
e) what is the average revenue if you are base KL
casper_iam
post Sep 17 2015, 01:44 PM

QUOTE(casper_iam @ Sep 10 2015, 08:25 PM)
Need comments from the experts

a)  how much capital require to start a travel agency (inbound,outbound,ticketing)
b)  Registration with IATA is complicated ? and what are the requirements
c)  what are the profit margins
d)  what are the operating costs (including any hidden cost)
e)  what is the average revenue  if you are base KL
Someone can please help on the above
casper_iam
post Sep 17 2015, 01:44 PM

Someone can please help on the above
askvbesttours
post Oct 10 2015, 04:00 PM

QUOTE(casper_iam @ Sep 17 2015, 01:44 PM)
Someone can please help on the abovespo
payd off kapital better is 150k
the profite depanz of ur price, contact,service
simple to say 1 van pesiaraan can make minima10 k if ur not lazy on pick season can go until 15k
u all so have to plan the job n must have a other travel agent or tranpoter contact to back up
not very hard job but bi responbility
cool2.gif cool2.gif cool2.gif cool2.gif cool2.gif

cx2531
post Oct 20 2015, 06:33 PM

568 posts

any agency finding part time? maybe bring those visitor go around kl, melaka?

emmamasita
post Jan 12 2018, 11:11 AM

QUOTE(simonheng82 @ Dec 17 2013, 11:16 AM)
To register a travel agency or tour operating business in Malaysia is not that complicated, the basic requirement is to setup a sdn bhd and having sufficient paid up capital (i.e. RM50,000 for inbound operator in rural area).

I have just recently got my application approved, now i am setting up premise and waiting to attend the TTMC course, cant wait to start the business ASAP:)

For the general guideline in setting up a travel agency in Malaysia, you can check out this guide:

http://www.how-to-start-a-travel-agency.com

Hope this helps:)

Simon
can someone give me the valid link because the link provided are not found

This post has been edited by emmamasita: Jan 12 2018, 11:15 AM
POYOZER
post Jan 13 2018, 10:37 PM

Traveler
3,653 posts

One of the business that going to die soon. Too many competitors and nowadays people can simply do online. Easy to compare prices too.
shadow_walker
post Jan 16 2018, 10:15 AM

1,288 posts

QUOTE(POYOZER @ Jan 13 2018, 10:37 PM)
One of the business that going to die soon. Too many competitors and nowadays people can simply do online. Easy to compare prices too.
market is getting small fast..now mostly depend on old people who dun want the hassle of planning the travel. everything got people manage..haha

youth nowadays all plan and buy themselves

0.0229sec    0.74    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 05:26 AM