How to remove pen mark on leather sofa, Help.....

TStiensong
post Mar 4 2012, 11:04 PM, updated 14y ago

2,237 posts

hi,

i feel sad when i notice my leather sofa has a pen mark today...i havent start to use it yet....i just invited a contractor to sit on it while writing a invoice few days ago....so sad...havent used it already kena a very serious problems..i already consulted a lot of furniture shops and all of them said nothing i can do...no solution but to accept it.....haiz....sad....

Anyone has magic solution? Ur help is precious....thanks...
prop99
post Mar 4 2012, 11:19 PM

332 posts

Sorry to hear about this. If it is not obvious, just live with it. But if you need to try any remover, I would suggest the following:
1. try wet cloth with water
2. try soft and light soap
3. cream cleaner
4. try soft eraser for pencil not the ones for ink. try erasing gently.
If still don't work no point going to abrasive cleaners. Will damage the coating and leather.

TStiensong
post Mar 4 2012, 11:31 PM

2,237 posts

Already try:

a) wet cloth with water
b) foam type leather cleaner

no miracle....will try soap and 风油 tomorrow...i also want to live for it but it is white leather sofa...omg...if really no miracle, have to accept it

prop99
post Mar 4 2012, 11:35 PM

332 posts

QUOTE(tiensong @ Mar 4 2012, 11:31 PM)
Already try:

a) wet cloth with water

no miracle....will try soap and 风油 tomorrow...i also want to live for it but it is white leather sofa...omg...if really no miracle, have to accept it
Ball point pen or fountain pen ink?
TStiensong
post Mar 4 2012, 11:42 PM

2,237 posts

should be ball point
tehtmc
post Mar 5 2012, 12:01 AM

Validating
1,333 posts

QUOTE(tiensong @ Mar 4 2012, 11:42 PM)
should be ball point
Use propyl alcohol, like you do for removing permanent marker pen stains.
weikee
post Mar 5 2012, 09:47 AM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(tehtmc @ Mar 5 2012, 12:01 AM)
Use propyl alcohol, like you do for removing permanent marker pen stains.
This may cause one portion of the leather look dull. Or like being sand off. It all depend what type of leather too.
TStiensong
post Mar 5 2012, 10:19 AM

2,237 posts

i think i have to live on it.....i have tried
a) minyak angin (contain 16% metanol)
b) whiteboard permanent ink cleaner
c) tharpentin 叻水

All above cant work....

Added on March 5, 2012, 10:19 ami think i have to live on it.....i have tried
a) minyak angin (contain 16% metanol)
b) whiteboard permanent ink cleaner
c) tharpentin 叻水

All above cant work....

This post has been edited by tiensong: Mar 5 2012, 10:19 AM
weikee
post Mar 5 2012, 10:23 AM

12,019 posts

The extreme is thinner, but it may damage the leather.

Very likely the ink have go into the skin pores
Fresh n White
post Mar 5 2012, 10:27 AM

18 posts

Try use a bleaching agent. Put a touch on the spot, wait about a minute and u should be able to remove it
Jo_da48
post Mar 5 2012, 10:39 AM

1,529 posts

QUOTE(tiensong @ Mar 4 2012, 11:31 PM)
Already try:

a) wet cloth with water

Try use back similar pen and write on top and clean up again...?

prop99
post Mar 5 2012, 10:42 AM

332 posts

did you try the soft eraser?
TStiensong
post Mar 5 2012, 10:44 AM

2,237 posts

QUOTE(Jo_da48 @ Mar 5 2012, 10:39 AM)
Try use back similar pen and write on top and clean up again...?
this method is a bit risky...write again will darker it......if can't clean up again then.......

Added on March 5, 2012, 10:45 am
QUOTE(prop99 @ Mar 5 2012, 10:42 AM)
did you try the soft eraser?
pencil eraser?

Added on March 5, 2012, 10:46 am
QUOTE(Fresh n White @ Mar 5 2012, 10:27 AM)
Try use a bleaching agent. Put a touch on the spot, wait about a minute and u should be able to remove it
Can you name me a product of bleaching agent?

This post has been edited by tiensong: Mar 5 2012, 10:46 AM
tehtmc
post Mar 5 2012, 11:30 AM

Validating
1,333 posts

Bleaching agent would likely render everything white, including the colour(dye) of the leather.
Eraser removes ink marks by abrasive action which would affect your leather.
You need a solvent which can dissolve the ink but does not affect the colour of the leather.
You can try out using alcohol on an area of leather which is hidden to see if it affects the leather.
TStiensong
post Mar 5 2012, 11:35 AM

2,237 posts

QUOTE(tehtmc @ Mar 5 2012, 11:30 AM)
Bleaching agent would likely render everything white, including the colour(dye) of the leather.
Eraser removes ink marks by abrasive action which would affect your leather.
You need a solvent which can dissolve the ink but does not affect the colour of the leather.
You can try out using alcohol on an area of leather which is hidden to see if it affects the  leather.
I agree with you...but I noticed that the ink may absorbed into leather which no matter what I used, it still the same..

anyway, can you name a product of alcohol so that I can buy it at hardware shop...

prop99
post Mar 5 2012, 02:13 PM

332 posts

QUOTE(tiensong @ Mar 5 2012, 10:44 AM)

pencil eraser?

Only use pencil eraser. The rest are too abrasive. However if the ink had absorbed into the leather, then just live with it lar........
CSS
post Mar 5 2012, 04:23 PM

475 posts

Have you tried:

AMWAY Leather & Vinyl Cleaner

or

AMWAY L.O.C. Multi Purpose Cleaner?

I find the LOC can remove most stains, not trying to promote but it does work =)

tomjason
post Mar 5 2012, 04:27 PM

866 posts

QUOTE(tiensong @ Mar 4 2012, 11:04 PM)
hi,

i feel sad when i notice my leather sofa has a pen mark today...i havent start to use it yet....i just invited a contractor to sit on it while writing a invoice few days ago....so sad...havent used it already kena a very serious problems..i already consulted a lot of furniture shops and all of them said nothing i can do...no solution but to accept it.....haiz....sad....

Anyone has magic solution? Ur help is precious....thanks...
i think i got the magic solution. the furniture shop gave me free ( a few product to polish, remove maker,ink ) while i bought my leather sofa. i cant remember the brand, have to check. i think for maker/ink cannot 100% remove the stain.

TStiensong
post Mar 5 2012, 04:37 PM

2,237 posts

QUOTE(CSS @ Mar 5 2012, 04:23 PM)
Have you tried:

AMWAY Leather & Vinyl Cleaner

or

AMWAY L.O.C. Multi Purpose Cleaner?

I find the LOC can remove most stains, not trying to promote but it does work =)
AMWAY L.O.C. Multi Purpose Cleaner? Seems like I have........my wife bought before...let me check tonight..thanks

Added on March 5, 2012, 4:40 pm
QUOTE(tomjason @ Mar 5 2012, 04:27 PM)
i think i got the magic solution. the furniture shop gave me free ( a few product to polish, remove maker,ink ) while i bought my leather sofa. i cant remember the brand, have to check. i think for maker/ink cannot 100% remove the stain.
I heard there is a colour pen to torch up leather sofa.....

thanks for your info

This post has been edited by tiensong: Mar 5 2012, 04:40 PM
popice2u
post Mar 5 2012, 07:24 PM

1,337 posts

go and try using melamine sponge....

0.0242sec    1.15    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 09:16 PM