Bump Topic Add Reply RSS Feed New Topic New Poll

> List of tax free good to be brought into Malaysia, includes dutiable and prohibited items

corleone74
post Sep 14 2014, 01:39 PM

3,665 posts

QUOTE(NightFelix @ Aug 21 2014, 01:54 PM)
Almost dead as there is no SiFu around here.
Yes. If declare as Electronic, so there will be 10%.
anyone knows, how about a couple of bedlinen (bedsheets) and one set curtains bringing in from singapore and items were bought like 3 months ago? normally i just drive thru the green lane, they seldom check.
NightFelix
post Sep 14 2014, 05:08 PM

Samsung Exynos
17,467 posts

QUOTE(corleone74 @ Sep 14 2014, 01:39 PM)
anyone knows, how about a couple of bedlinen (bedsheets) and one set curtains bringing in from singapore and items were bought like 3 months ago? normally i just drive thru the green lane, they seldom check.
I think normally if you drive thru and act as personal using shouldn't be a problem.
corleone74
post Sep 14 2014, 05:14 PM

3,665 posts

QUOTE(NightFelix @ Sep 14 2014, 05:08 PM)
I think normally if you drive thru and act as personal using shouldn't be a problem.
how about if i don't unpack the curtains.. it's still in the IKEApacking.. tongue.gif anyway it's 14bucks day curtain. cheap, eh?

NightFelix
post Sep 14 2014, 05:18 PM

Samsung Exynos
17,467 posts

QUOTE(corleone74 @ Sep 14 2014, 05:14 PM)
how about if i don't unpack the curtains.. it's still in the IKEApacking..  tongue.gif  anyway it's 14bucks day curtain. cheap, eh?
Unpacking is a better way to avoid Customs suspicious.

Anyway, I have no experience of driving cross border between SG/MY. So can't give you much idea how to by-pass it. laugh.gif
corleone74
post Sep 14 2014, 05:20 PM

3,665 posts

QUOTE(NightFelix @ Sep 14 2014, 05:18 PM)
Unpacking is a better way to avoid Customs suspicious.

Anyway, I have no experience of driving cross border between SG/MY. So can't give you much idea how to by-pass it. laugh.gif
haha i seldom bring stuff over. it'll be embarassing if i kena pull over and "encik, ini kena bayar tax tau!"
i know my friend kena for some electric juicing machine or something. thanks for ur tips anyway.
NightFelix
post Sep 14 2014, 05:25 PM

Samsung Exynos
17,467 posts

QUOTE(corleone74 @ Sep 14 2014, 05:20 PM)
haha i seldom bring stuff over. it'll be embarassing if i kena pull over and "encik, ini kena bayar tax tau!"
i know my friend kena for some electric juicing machine or something. thanks for ur tips anyway.
electronics are highly draw customs suspicious. that is why. even they really wanted to tax you, should be around 10% if not mistaken. Just them the receipt 14bucks = 1.40$ only. lol sweat.gif not sure how MY/SG border Customs tax people if without the receipt/invoice. laugh.gif
corleone74
post Sep 14 2014, 05:28 PM

3,665 posts

QUOTE(NightFelix @ Sep 14 2014, 05:25 PM)
electronics are highly draw customs suspicious. that is why. even they really wanted to tax you, should be around 10% if not mistaken. Just them the receipt 14bucks = 1.40$ only. lol sweat.gif not sure how MY/SG border Customs tax people if without the receipt/invoice. laugh.gif
based on what i read the tax is 30% but yes, not really expensive. if no receipt my guess is they should be check against their own price list,
NightFelix
post Sep 14 2014, 05:32 PM

Samsung Exynos
17,467 posts

QUOTE(corleone74 @ Sep 14 2014, 05:28 PM)
based on what i read the tax is 30% but yes, not really expensive. if no receipt my guess is they should be check against their own price list,
double check if the Customs website tariff code for the Import tax AND Sales tax.

Meanwhile, if way better to bring your own receipt if not they charge based on their own assume price list.
dylan.chua87
post Feb 11 2015, 11:19 AM

23 posts

Can I check what is the duty for hair wax from overseas?
huikit2001
post Apr 1 2015, 09:38 PM

35 posts

Wrist watches is non-dutiable goods, but are they charged with GST if brought over from overseas to Malaysia?
SUSchokia
post Apr 3 2015, 10:49 AM

Chartered Member
3,617 posts

QUOTE(huikit2001 @ Apr 1 2015, 09:38 PM)
Wrist watches is non-dutiable goods, but are they charged with GST if brought over from overseas to Malaysia?
I bought sony smartband talk, should i declare as

1. wrist watch = Non Dutiable but GSTable

2. sports & fitness = ? Duty but GSTable?

3. Mobile phone accessories = Dutiable and GSTable

icon_question.gif
n8210
post Jun 27 2016, 02:47 PM

2,678 posts

The link below is dead. Can get it updated? First time reading, not yet see what the link links to.

QUOTE(ikki9394 @ Mar 3 2012, 04:16 AM)
I've seen a lot ppl been asking what can we import and its non-dutiable... Here I found this list hope can help some people straight away rather than post and wait for people answering.

NON-DUTIABLE GOODS:

Non-dutiable goods include:

Fountain Pen.
Cigarette Lighters (except of plastic).
Printed books, newspapers, magazines and journals.
Perfumes.
Cosmetics (except face powder) and skin-care products like lipsticks, eye shadows, moisturizing cream, skin tonics.
Manicure products like nail polisher and nail varnish.
Carpets of jute.
Portable radio equipped with recorder and sound reproducers (weighing not more than 10 kg., with handles / straps and AC/DC powered).
Pocket watches, wrist watches and table / wall clocks.
Photo cameras, camera flashbulbs, camera flashbulb equipments and film rolls.
Cinematographic cameras, projectors, sound recorders and sound reproducers, for films of less than 16 mm width including cameras for double 8 mm film.
Video cameras /  television cameras
Pocket calculators.
Shillings / Gold bar.
Computer.
Fishing equipments (e.g. Fishing rods, Fish hooks etc.)
Golf clubs (complete).
Racquets (Tennis, Badminton and the like)
All sorts of balls except golf balls.
All musical instruments (excluding upright piano)
Leather shoes
Leather bags including wallets and leather hand bags 
Video tapes (empty or recorded)

*The Customs will screen private video tapes brought in.

DUTIABLE GOODS:

Under the prevailing Customs Duties Order, visitors must pay customs duties on all dutiable goods at the rate of 30% ad valorem provided that the goods are imported on or with the person entering Malaysia or are in the baggage of such person and intended for non-commercial use. In the case of alcoholic beverages, tyres, spirits, tobacco, cigarettes and motor vehicles, the rate of duty will be the prevailing rate at the time of importation. The goods are:

Talc and face powder.
Hair care products (for example hair cream, shampoo, hair color).
Sound recorders and reproducers including record players and tape decks.
Radio broadcast receivers including those incorporating sound recorders or reproducers for motor vehicles.
Radio broadcast receivers incorporating sound recorders and reproducers.
Radio broadcast receivers not incorporating sound recorders and reproducers and only mains operated.
Ballpoint pen made of plastic.
Carpets.
Products made from cloth.
Typewriter.
Original and fake jewelries.
Glass products.
Telephone.
Electric iron.
Television, spare parts and antenna
Loud Speaker.
Turntables.
Video Cassette Recorder
Amplifier.
Slide Projector
Table Fan.
Sewing Machine (domestic).
Fire extinguisher (portable).
Electric lamp and accessory.
Hair dryer
Vacuum cleaner
Food Blender and Mixer.
Floor wax
Electric Rice Cooker.
Electric Kettle and Electric Water Heater.
Vinyl Gramophone Record
Shavers and razor blades.
Kitchen knives.
Lamp shades.
Playing cards.
Fruits (fresh and preserved)
Chocolate
Ginseng.
Calendar
Car Accessories.
Golf Balls.

PROHIBITION / RESTRICTION OF IMPORT:

The goods described below are prohibited from entering Malaysia:

Any article bearing the imprint or reproduction of any currency note, bank note or coin whichare current or have at any time been issued or current in any country.
Indecent or obscene print, painting, photograph, book, card, lithographic or other engraving, film, video tape, laser disc, colour slides, computer diskettes and any other media (including unprocessed films) or any other indecent or obscene articles.
Any emblem or device in circumstances which raise a reasonable presumption that such emblem or device was intended or was likely to be used in a manner prejudicial to the interest of Malaysia or to promote or foster a purpose prejudicial to or incompatible with peace, welfare or good order in Malaysia.
All genus of Piranha.
Turtle eggs.
Cocoa pods, rambutan fruits, pulasan, longan and nam-nam from the Philippines and Indonesia.
Intoxicating liquors containing any lead or compound of lead or more than 3.46 milligrams per litre, whether in the form of copper or any compound of copper.
Daggers and flick knives.
Broadcast receivers capable of receiving radio communication within the ranges (68 - 87) MHz and (108 - 174) MHz except those designed to receive meteorological broadcasts at sport frequencies.
Sodium Arsenite
Cloth bearing the imprint or reproduction of any verses of the Quran:

Source: http://www.customs.gov.my/index.php/en/com...oints?showall=1
Amber.G
post Dec 20 2016, 11:48 AM

The link is dead, any sifu can update it please?
iruka
post Dec 20 2016, 11:51 AM

42 posts

I'm considering buying two table lamps from overseas and have them sent to me in Malaysia. Does anyone know if there will be any problems with customs? Thanks.
Ramzie
post Mar 10 2017, 04:04 PM

Can I bring my PlayStation 3 to Malaysia?
vanpersie91
post Mar 10 2017, 04:07 PM

Regular-ly posting shits and stuffs
1,478 posts

I tried to check here for list of item taxable or non taxable...but seems no proper lists

sweat.gif

http://www.customs.gov.my/ms/pg/Pages/pg_ell.aspx
retardedgamerz
post May 25 2017, 01:58 PM

125 posts

QUOTE(Ramzie @ Mar 10 2017, 04:04 PM)
Can I bring my PlayStation 3 to Malaysia?
yes you can..by handheld or what?

QUOTE(vanpersie91 @ Mar 10 2017, 04:07 PM)
I tried to check here for list of item taxable or non taxable...but seems no proper lists

sweat.gif

http://www.customs.gov.my/ms/pg/Pages/pg_ell.aspx
there's new PDK 2017..check that for more info
ChamXE
post Oct 30 2017, 06:23 PM

What about this https://www.ebay.com/itm/Unlocked-Sony-Eric...011?#vi-content
Anyone know estimate how much tax will this get?
kweil
post Oct 30 2017, 06:37 PM

230 posts

QUOTE(ChamXE @ Oct 30 2017, 06:23 PM)
What about this https://www.ebay.com/itm/Unlocked-Sony-Eric...011?#vi-content
Anyone know estimate how much tax will this get?
Search HS Code in google.. Then check tax rate at http://tariff.customs.gov.my/
ChamXE
post Nov 6 2017, 04:31 AM

QUOTE(kweil @ Oct 30 2017, 06:37 PM)
Search HS Code in google.. Then check tax rate at http://tariff.customs.gov.my/
Ok thanks.

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0153sec    0.53    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 08:13 PM