r those simota k&n redline filter safe?, any side effect?

TSJazz6218
post Mar 3 2012, 02:16 AM, updated 14y ago

As title,m considering to install 1 of those,any side effect?like running lean etc notworthy.gif
i4you
post Mar 3 2012, 05:21 AM

k&n
azbro
post Mar 3 2012, 08:04 AM

4,403 posts

You mean open pod or drop in?

If you wanna talk about side effects..

I tried the open pod on my Vios Auto and it lost power at the lower end, not sure I have to do tuning whatever...anyway, went for the drop in type.

And depending on the car, some air filter compartment (for drop in) are seriously difficult to access, so you tend to pay the installer for cleaning everytime
ar188
post Mar 3 2012, 09:03 AM

9,206 posts

need to put heat shield also or.. suck in all the hot air also lose it's engine efficiency afterward/
calvin_ng
post Mar 3 2012, 10:21 AM

TeamCity | HCC | Insighters
1,583 posts

Throttle body easy get dirty

MjMax15
post Mar 3 2012, 10:24 AM

Uncle Scrooge is back!
1,372 posts

for auto gear, definitely got to drop-in mode.
open pod suitable for manual, and more sucking power tongue.gif need some mod for pipe and heatshield.

brand like k&n need their cleaner kit
h4dRi
post Mar 3 2012, 10:39 AM

97 posts

as long as u stay away from those el cheapo stainless steel mesh type filter, u should be okay
farique
post Mar 3 2012, 02:26 PM

8_8
2,147 posts

QUOTE(Jazz6218 @ Mar 3 2012, 02:16 AM)
As title,m considering to install 1 of those,any side effect? like running lean etc  notworthy.gif
what car and what engine?

those high-flowing filter will enhance more air flow into the throttle body thus, the AF sensor will send signal to ECU to increase fuel injection since the air flowing is larger than normal (standard) hence will provide more power. But, this is subjective to the standard ECU settings. If the car is originally runs lean, it'll run richer afterwards which in the matter of fact, fuel consumption will increase. But if the car originally runs rich (I think most pre 2000 engines) it'll run richer which will affect the engine performance hence very bad fuel consumption.

running rich is acceptable but its gonna drain ur fuel sooner. Running lean also acceptable BUT, too lean is not what you want.

Im sorry for babling much.. if Im wrong, someone do correct me. Im just sharing what I know with my little puny knowledge. smile.gif

loads of side effects. Potentially sucking in minute debris which we may think its nothing but think of it as 'sikit-sikit lama-lama jadi bukit'. That minute debris will accumulate in your intake manifold which may results in poor intake velocity and perhaps clogging the AF sensor. Im just saying.. smile.gif

Potentially sucking in water (open pod type). What downside of getting water in engine ah? I forgot liao. Who can help me? laugh.gif

the upside of high-flow filter, easy power gain but at the cost of fuel expense. Beware tho, some engines may need to have a re-tune. Im just saying.. smile.gif

mutiara kata : you gain something at a cost of other things. Nothing is free~ icon_rolleyes.gif
mujinkun
post Mar 3 2012, 04:39 PM

845 posts

Nice comments Bro

I was on my drop in K&N for almost a year, and from my xperience, its got some push forward for Low End torque, but this is absolutely a feeling. Never dyno before.
huakenny
post Mar 3 2012, 05:04 PM

384 posts

im using k&n and works engineering simota filter...so far no problems..

simota works engineering is half of k&n price smile.gif
chrislyv
post Mar 3 2012, 05:22 PM

i use drop in simota stainless steel filter.. so far no problem..
how long? very long & every car...
h4dRi
post Mar 3 2012, 06:22 PM

97 posts

QUOTE(chrislyv @ Mar 3 2012, 05:22 PM)
i use drop in simota stainless steel filter.. so far no problem..
how long? very long & every car...
no thin layer of dust inside airbox ?
finkl1
post Mar 3 2012, 07:23 PM

379 posts

jangan guna blitz...

chrislyv
post Mar 3 2012, 08:32 PM

QUOTE(h4dRi @ Mar 3 2012, 06:22 PM)
no thin layer of dust inside airbox ?
just to share:

- throttle body will get dirty faster.. but i always DIY clean via carb cleaner..
why i use?
- washable
- after few years still usable
- better performance

been using it for many years, car after car..
all my cars use drop in filters..
TSJazz6218
post Mar 3 2012, 10:12 PM

thx for all de advice, actually my main concern is to reduce de fc, so far my car power still consider ok
guess i will stick to de original filter 1st,maybe change it more often laugh.gif
huakenny
post Mar 3 2012, 11:32 PM

384 posts

QUOTE(Jazz6218 @ Mar 3 2012, 10:12 PM)
thx for all de advice, actually my main concern is to reduce de fc, so far my car power still consider ok
guess i will stick to de original filter 1st,maybe change it more often  laugh.gif
use knn la if u no confident with other brands
calvin_ng
post Mar 4 2012, 12:16 AM

TeamCity | HCC | Insighters
1,583 posts

It will save fuel as it improve air flow but anything that improve airflow meaning lower filtration less resistant better flow you cant change that so this have side effect your throttle body will get dirty easy and the sensor too so expect to spend on cleaning it say rm50 to rm100 if you dont clean it your throttle body idle walve will spoil and you need to change the whole throttle body that is super expensive also look out for increase carbon deposits in fuel injector and valve all of this is the side effect but if clean regularly and de-carbonize regularly should not be issue
IkanKelisa
post Jun 30 2016, 01:12 PM

Material: Stainless Steel, Durable Rubber & Nonwoven Fabric
Higher air intake and more dust absorbing than original paper air filter.
Increases Horse and Response Power: 5% - 20%
Fuel Saving: 5% - 15%
Extends engine life span
Unique EPDM frame
1-piece extrusion molded
Light weight and strong
Washable Air Filter
Durable .
Highly Recommended for Street and Racing
100% Original WORKS ENGINEERING Product (Money Back
Guarantee if Found Imitation)
Condition: Brand New Sealed In Box
Manufactured By SIMOTA
Made In Taiwan
Life Time Warranty (1 to 1 Exchange)

*it does state here that more dust absorbing compare to stock paper air filter and prolong engine life. Does this claim true?
naveenkalai7
post Jun 30 2016, 01:38 PM

75 posts

QUOTE(IkanKelisa @ Jun 30 2016, 01:12 PM)
Material: Stainless Steel, Durable Rubber & Nonwoven Fabric
Higher air intake and more dust absorbing than original paper air filter.
Increases Horse and Response Power: 5% - 20%
Fuel Saving: 5% - 15%
Extends engine life span
Unique EPDM frame
1-piece extrusion molded
Light weight and strong
Washable Air Filter
Durable .
Highly Recommended for Street and Racing
100% Original WORKS ENGINEERING Product (Money Back
Guarantee if Found Imitation)
Condition: Brand New Sealed In Box
Manufactured By SIMOTA
Made In Taiwan
Life Time Warranty (1 to 1 Exchange)

*it does state here that more dust absorbing compare to stock paper air filter and prolong engine life. Does this claim true?
im also using WE air filter for saga flx.

that part depends bro because when i service my car, got dust abit.. unable to compare with proton OEM air filter also looked same when i serviced before.. SAME amount of dust ( lebih kurang )

But you will feel the difference if have modified exhaust / intake system.. no air restriction and better acceleration..
littlefire
post Jun 30 2016, 01:54 PM

2,736 posts

I think got many articles on which aftermarket is good..

If not mistaken Apexi score the best in the end.. Both in filtration & BHP gain

http://mkiv.com/techarticles/filters_test/2/index.html
lsm1991
post Jun 30 2016, 01:56 PM

309 posts

@_@ just wana point out that, the dif will usually be insignificant, unless you tune it..... the modern car's ecu should just correct the mixture so you end up with basically no gains...

This post has been edited by lsm1991: Jun 30 2016, 01:57 PM
gold member
post Jun 30 2016, 06:49 PM

114 posts

Prevoiuly has been discussed. Myself using k&n, simply because the original drop in filter cost around 70-90 per piece and can last for about 20k km if i am not wrong. No experience or whatsoever with si-botak (simota), but k&n needs special cleaning and "oiling" kit. Total around 300-400 for whole set, seems like is lifetime warranty. 1 thing about k&n is the mesh must be oiled at few 10ks interval to have optimum result. There are quite a lot of debates and discussion on hp gained. However, these are marketing gimmick, in fact, it is not so easy to gain significant hp with such simple change. Whatever r&d aftermarket filter companies show you are (to me) bullsh*t. They can spend millions to prove the usefulness of thier product, but as a consumer we need to do our unbias homeworks also. I use k&n filter and don't feel any difference. I use it simply because of cost factors i mentioned. Want to see the big diffence? Simply remove air filter and see yourself (do at your own risk!)
lsm1991
post Jun 30 2016, 06:58 PM

309 posts

QUOTE(gold member @ Jun 30 2016, 06:49 PM)
Prevoiuly has been discussed. Myself using k&n, simply because the original drop in filter cost around 70-90 per piece and can last for about 20k km if i am not wrong. No experience or whatsoever with si-botak (simota), but k&n needs special cleaning and "oiling" kit. Total around 300-400 for whole set, seems like is lifetime warranty. 1 thing about k&n is the mesh must be oiled at few 10ks interval to have optimum result. There are quite a lot of debates and discussion on hp gained. However, these are marketing gimmick, in fact, it is not so easy to gain significant hp with such simple change. Whatever r&d aftermarket filter companies show you are (to me) bullsh*t. They can spend millions to prove the usefulness of thier product, but as a consumer we need to do our unbias homeworks also. I use k&n filter and don't feel any difference. I use it simply because of cost factors i mentioned. Want to see the big diffence? Simply remove air filter and see yourself (do at your own risk!)
agreed.....

have friends who have tried several filters, from the blitz sus filters (the ridiculously huge filters that dont really filter anything) to the noisy sonics to the simpler simota open pods. They have told me, no dif what so ever unless it was too restrictive in the 1st place..... (unlikely)

their only advise to me was..... drop in generally > open pod unless an air box+cai is designed

0.0190sec    0.97    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 04:30 PM