Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
RSS feedBump TopicClosed TopicStart new topicStart Poll

Outline · [ Standard ] · Linear+

> HD4870 bottleneck with my SYSTEM?

THE ZUL
post Mar 1 2012, 04:40 AM


The Mercurial Ben Arfa
*****
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 815

Joined: May 2006
From: Osaka,Japan


Dual Core 2.7 ghz
HD4870 512 mb
2GB ram ddr (800mhz)
CM PSU 500W

does my system bottleneck with GC?
shud i upgrade CPU or ram to 4GB ddr3 1333 mhz?

i heard gc might BE bottleneck too at low res since i use LCD 17" lol

This post has been edited by THE ZUL: Mar 1 2012, 04:41 AM
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Cable707
post Mar 1 2012, 04:51 AM


:Noooobies:
*******
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 5,032

Joined: Sep 2011
From: Putrajaya,Kuala Lumpur
more details of ur spec..?

User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
tech3910
post Mar 1 2012, 06:27 AM


Anonymous
*******
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 5,644

Joined: Feb 2008
From: Heaven to HELL


dual core of what?

the are a huge different between dual sandy bridge core & dual pentium core.

This post has been edited by tech3910: Mar 1 2012, 06:51 AM
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
THE ZUL
post Mar 1 2012, 06:47 AM


The Mercurial Ben Arfa
*****
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 815

Joined: May 2006
From: Osaka,Japan


QUOTE(tech3910 @ Mar 1 2012, 06:27 AM)
dual core of what?

the is a hige different between dual sandy bridge core & dual pentium core.
*
dual core e5400
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
tech3910
post Mar 1 2012, 06:50 AM


Anonymous
*******
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 5,644

Joined: Feb 2008
From: Heaven to HELL


QUOTE(THE ZUL @ Mar 1 2012, 06:47 AM)
dual core e5400
*
this 1 not bad.
& u could always OC.
this processor is meant to OC.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
cracksys
post Mar 1 2012, 06:59 AM


I'm a Vault Dweller!!
*******
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 3,239

Joined: Jun 2006
From: Bikini Abyss


QUOTE(THE ZUL @ Mar 1 2012, 04:40 AM)
Dual Core 2.7 ghz
HD4870 512 mb
2GB ram ddr (800mhz)
CM PSU 500W

does my system bottleneck with GC?
shud i upgrade CPU or ram to 4GB ddr3 1333 mhz?

i heard gc might BE bottleneck too  at low res since i use LCD 17" lol
*

just get a latest FPS game demo.

put everything on high and observe the framerate.

then;

if lowering the graphic detail = framerate increase, your graphic card needs an upgrade.
if lowering the graphic detail = framerate similar with the highest detail, your CPU needs an upgrade

BAM!
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
THE ZUL
post Mar 1 2012, 07:17 AM


The Mercurial Ben Arfa
*****
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 815

Joined: May 2006
From: Osaka,Japan


i read at forum, should get quad cpu at least for the hd4870.
if use dual core proc, can perform around 60% from the graphic card sad.gif
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
eremitic
post Mar 1 2012, 08:02 AM


Getting Started
**
Group: Junior Member
Posts: 248

Joined: Feb 2009
From: Johor Bahru / Malacca


QUOTE(THE ZUL @ Mar 1 2012, 07:17 AM)
i read at forum, should get quad cpu at least for the hd4870.
if use dual core proc, can perform around 60% from the graphic card sad.gif
*
no need quad core....., if based on sandy bridge one, even dual core is capable to fully utilize 4870 in most situation (some game are cpu bound)

like pentium g620 or i3 2100 (dual core 4 thread)
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Boldnut
post Mar 1 2012, 10:38 AM


Regular
******
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 1,644

Joined: Nov 2010
QUOTE(THE ZUL @ Mar 1 2012, 04:40 AM)
Dual Core 2.7 ghz
HD4870 512 mb
2GB ram ddr (800mhz)
CM PSU 500W

does my system bottleneck with GC?
shud i upgrade CPU or ram to 4GB ddr3 1333 mhz?

i heard gc might BE bottleneck too  at low res since i use LCD 17" lol
*

It will still bottleneck even faster CPU, because of ur low resolution 17"

If u want, the easy way out is to OC ur CPU to 3.6GHz (266FSB x 13.5) ur current is 2.7GHz(200FSB x 13.5)



User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
cracksys
post Mar 1 2012, 10:40 AM


I'm a Vault Dweller!!
*******
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 3,239

Joined: Jun 2006
From: Bikini Abyss


QUOTE(Boldnut @ Mar 1 2012, 10:38 AM)
It will still bottleneck even faster CPU, because of ur low resolution 17"

If u want, the easy way out is to OC ur CPU to 3.6GHz (266FSB x 13.5) ur current is 2.7GHz(200FSB x 13.5)
*

what the fuuking crap are you spewing, dumbass?
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Boldnut
post Mar 1 2012, 11:11 AM


Regular
******
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 1,644

Joined: Nov 2010
QUOTE(cracksys @ Mar 1 2012, 10:40 AM)
what the fuuking crap are you spewing, dumbass?
*

b4 u start insulting people, read properly, I am saying if he is running on low resolution even a faster cpu wont help becos his GPU is on light usage due to low resolution.

I say u dont belong to here. I suggest u stop posting.

This post has been edited by Boldnut: Mar 1 2012, 11:12 AM
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
cracksys
post Mar 1 2012, 11:34 AM


I'm a Vault Dweller!!
*******
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 3,239

Joined: Jun 2006
From: Bikini Abyss


QUOTE(Boldnut @ Mar 1 2012, 11:11 AM)
b4 u start insulting people, read properly, I am saying if he is running on low resolution even a faster cpu wont help becos his GPU is on light usage due to low resolution. 

I say u dont belong to here. I suggest u stop posting.
*

lol. seriously?

you're saying;

he's running on low resolution -> faster CPU won't help -> GPU only doing light work

so, basically he doesn't have any problem? he needs to get better monitor? what bullshit.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Boldnut
post Mar 1 2012, 11:40 AM


Regular
******
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 1,644

Joined: Nov 2010
QUOTE(cracksys @ Mar 1 2012, 11:34 AM)
lol. seriously?

you're saying;

he's running on low resolution -> faster CPU won't help -> GPU only doing light work

so, basically he doesn't have any problem? he needs to get better monitor? what bullshit.
*

because at such resolution it will still bottleneck the gpu, faster cpu it wont help much.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
edministrator
post Mar 1 2012, 11:52 AM


Regular
******
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 1,727

Joined: Nov 2004
From: Soviet Sarawak


QUOTE(THE ZUL @ Mar 1 2012, 04:40 AM)
Dual Core 2.7 ghz
HD4870 512 mb
2GB ram ddr (800mhz)
CM PSU 500W

does my system bottleneck with GC?
shud i upgrade CPU or ram to 4GB ddr3 1333 mhz?

i heard gc might BE bottleneck too  at low res since i use LCD 17" lol
*
at your resolution of 17" resolution (most likely 1280*800 or 1024*768), the CPU is the bottleneck, not the GPU (evidently shown if you google for CPU vs GPU scaling). Adding 2GB to 4GB ram is always an improvement. If you plan to upgrade, I suggest you move to a quad core.

^ The statement above is only applicable for the 17" LCD monitor scenario.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
cracksys
post Mar 1 2012, 11:56 AM


I'm a Vault Dweller!!
*******
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 3,239

Joined: Jun 2006
From: Bikini Abyss


QUOTE(Boldnut @ Mar 1 2012, 11:40 AM)
because at such resolution it will still bottleneck the gpu, faster cpu it wont help much.
*

you have problem expressing your opinion.

i get what you mean, in that kind of resolution, GPU bottleneck MAYBE occurs. still, OP need to do simple experiment as what i posted earlier.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

Bump TopicClosed TopicTopic OptionsStart new topic
 

Switch to:
| Lo-Fi Version
0.0595sec    1.47    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th April 2014 - 02:44 AM