totally_skint
post Aug 30 2012, 09:16 PM

1,185 posts

QUOTE(buyoq @ Aug 30 2012, 08:32 PM)
http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/ws/eBayISAPI.dll...ME:L:OU:MY:3160
RM27.14 . Took about 5 days for it to arrive here in my office in PJ smile.gif
Wow! 5 days from UK?
I ordered a USB-TTL adapter from China over two weeks ago and still yet to arrive (supposedly by airmail).
buyoq
post Aug 30 2012, 11:05 PM

hat ni sebulan...........
1,305 posts

QUOTE(totally_skint @ Aug 30 2012, 09:16 PM)
Wow! 5 days from UK?
I ordered a USB-TTL adapter from China over two weeks ago and still yet to arrive (supposedly by airmail).
yep it surprised me too !
sent via royal mail airmail.
loonsave
post Aug 31 2012, 10:20 AM

1,635 posts

QUOTE(skywardsword @ Aug 30 2012, 12:11 AM)
serious ? no amp rating on the power adapter... cheap china made stuff also got Amp rating leh... dont scare me lah. Whether can maintain 5v during the current draw is another story bout china made power brick.
I just found it. It's 5V, 1000mA.
skywardsword
post Aug 31 2012, 10:31 AM

680 posts

QUOTE(loonsave @ Aug 31 2012, 10:20 AM)
I just found it. It's 5V, 1000mA.
14 ringgit more then just the adapter alone. I guess can swallow. Plus can bump the 111 rasp pi to above 150 and save 20 bucks on shipping. not so bad I count.
loonsave
post Aug 31 2012, 12:01 PM

1,635 posts

QUOTE(skywardsword @ Aug 31 2012, 10:31 AM)
14 ringgit more then just the adapter alone. I guess can swallow. Plus can bump the 111 rasp pi to above 150 and save 20 bucks on shipping. not so bad I count.
Can't really test it as I haven't receive my Pi. I can't wait to test the CEC. Just wonder where to check do my tv support CEC.
skywardsword
post Aug 31 2012, 12:08 PM

680 posts

QUOTE(loonsave @ Aug 31 2012, 12:01 PM)
Can't really test it as I haven't receive my Pi. I can't wait to test the CEC. Just wonder where to check do my tv support CEC.
From what I read in some place, Sony TV's CEC works only with its own device. Others not so clear.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Consumer_Elec...ics_Control#CEC

I have sony tv and yet to try out the cec as I using some pre-complied xbmc and dont have cec support yet.

If it works, it will be like BIG GREAT PRESENT!
edex
post Sep 1 2012, 12:44 PM

203 posts

How fast element 14 deliver your pi? Just order lastnight. Need to add 0.70 cent diode to make it rm150

This post has been edited by edex: Sep 1 2012, 12:45 PM
skywardsword
post Sep 1 2012, 05:01 PM

680 posts

QUOTE(edex @ Sep 1 2012, 12:44 PM)
How fast element 14 deliver your pi? Just order lastnight. Need to add 0.70 cent diode to make it rm150
Last I heard 3-4 weeks. But could be faster as the Pi are hot commodity and being made in high volume now in China factories. I reckon it would be 3 weeks or less.

what else did you buy? got buy the gertboard?
CocoMonGo
post Sep 2 2012, 10:03 AM

Ooo Finally
551 posts

can anybody recommend any other USB nano wifi that can be used with Rasp+RaspBMC or equivalent?

saw this on element14 (MICRONEXT - MN-WD552B - DONGLE, USB, 802.11N, NANO SIZE with some great instructions here on how to install. but the adaptor is RM73!

So i found this on dealextreme.com Ultra-Mini Nano USB 2.0 802.11n which according to some reviewers uses the Realtek RTL8192CU chipset, while the element14 Micronext dongle uses the Realtek RTL8188CUS. The RTL8192CU can use a 2x2 antenna and only cost ~RM30. brows.gif brows.gif

FYI there are some USB 1A adaptors also on sale in dealextreme.com for only USD3-5. Although I think they have issue with passing current on the 2 data connectors - solvable by bending the two connectors out of shape.
skywardsword
post Sep 2 2012, 11:27 AM

680 posts

http://elinux.org/RPi_VerifiedPeripherals#Working_USB_Hubs

"
Edimax
EW-7811Un USB ID 7392:7811, RTL8192CU, driver blob download via Element14, works with WPA2-AES-CCMP (howto) (B) - Alternative driver download link that works with Raspian

"

Could work... but a guess. Also if using wifi buy a bigger power brick? 1A probably not enough leh.

Just a guess, I using the cables.
tanseehua
post Sep 2 2012, 07:23 PM

519 posts

QUOTE(edex @ Sep 1 2012, 12:44 PM)
rclxms.gif rclxms.gif haha, a RM0.70 diode, save u 20 bucks or shipping fee.........nice
edex
post Sep 2 2012, 07:32 PM

203 posts

what u guys do with ur pi? i'm planning to install openelec.

btw, typically how many amp usb port at lcd tv have? is it enough to power pi?
skywardsword
post Sep 2 2012, 07:37 PM

680 posts

QUOTE(edex @ Sep 2 2012, 07:32 PM)
what u guys do with ur pi? i'm planning to install openelec.

btw, typically how many amp usb port at lcd tv have? is it enough to power pi?
What tv you use?

as I dont have a micro usb cable(sad) I cant try on my tv. I use a dedicated htc phone charger rated for 1000mA since sometimes I use it as a torrent server without tv screen on.

http://elinux.org/RPi_Hardware_Basic_Setup
"

You can use a range of other power sources (assuming they are able to provide enough current ~700mA):
Computer USB Port or powered USB hub (will depend on power output)
Special wall warts with USB ports
Mobile Phone Backup Battery (will depend on power output) (in theory - needs confirmation)
Modern TV with built-in USB (for example, it has been shown to work with the Sony KDL-40HX723 and KDL-55NX813)
"

Anyone else notice this? Element14 Singapore just received stock for 1824 Raspb. Pi OMG
http://my.element14.com/raspberry-pi/raspb...el-b/dp/2081185

Also what is with this upgraded 512mb Rasp Pi????

Order code: 2191863

RASPBRRY-MODB-512M
RASPBERRY-PI
SBC, RASPBERRY PI, MODEL B, 512MB
Core Sub-Architecture:ARM; Features:Linux Operating System, SD Card Solt;
More Details
Please Call Price
For: 1 Each
1+ RM141.96

Added on September 2, 2012, 10:34 pm
QUOTE(skywardsword @ Sep 2 2012, 07:37 PM)
What tv you use?

as I dont have a micro usb cable(sad) I cant try on my tv. I use a dedicated htc phone charger rated for 1000mA since sometimes I use it as a torrent server without tv screen on.

http://elinux.org/RPi_Hardware_Basic_Setup
"

You can use a range of other power sources (assuming they are able to provide enough current ~700mA):
Computer USB Port or powered USB hub (will depend on power output)
Special wall warts with USB ports
Mobile Phone Backup Battery (will depend on power output) (in theory - needs confirmation)
Modern TV with built-in USB (for example, it has been shown to work with the Sony KDL-40HX723 and KDL-55NX813)
"
Anyone else notice this? Element14 Singapore just received stock for 1824 Raspb. Pi OMG
http://my.element14.com/raspberry-pi/raspb...el-b/dp/2081185

RASPBRRY-MODB-512M
RASPBERRY-PI
More Details
Please Call  Price
1+ RM141.96
So while searching rasp pi forum for the supposedly model "c"? I found post on odroid-x

Probably a korean company and they got sell some accessories that probably works with the Pi too... check it out if you looking. price seems to be ok... 5v2A adapter is like 9usd???

1.4ghz quad-core 1gb ram among its spec... got me thinking... but its 129usd

http://www.hardkernel.com/renewal_2011/pro...e=G133999328931

This post has been edited by skywardsword: Sep 2 2012, 10:34 PM
totally_skint
post Sep 3 2012, 12:13 AM

1,185 posts

QUOTE(skywardsword @ Sep 2 2012, 07:37 PM)

RASPBRRY-MODB-512M
RASPBERRY-PI
More Details
Please Call  Price
1+ RM141.96
Item gone AWOL.
May be an error?
nyem
post Sep 3 2012, 01:34 AM

751 posts

QUOTE(totally_skint @ Sep 3 2012, 12:13 AM)
Item gone AWOL.
May be an error?
No product details but you can add it to your basket. Aussie site also has the same product and no stock: http://au.element14.com/raspberry-pi/raspb...el-b/dp/2081185
CocoMonGo
post Sep 3 2012, 10:52 AM

Ooo Finally
551 posts

we are not the only one.

http://www.element14.com/community/message/59548

but curiously what could we do with the extra RAM?
skywardsword
post Sep 3 2012, 11:00 AM

680 posts

QUOTE(CocoMonGo @ Sep 3 2012, 10:52 AM)
we are not the only one.

http://www.element14.com/community/message/59548

but curiously what could we do with the extra RAM?
works great if you use it for HD TV plus serving streams to other devices, file servers ect ect and torrents and plus you program on it.(probably stretching a bit... to multi-task essentially)

Honestly though, if you buy 10 raspberry pi... for 1200rm... i am quite certain it will do better then the 999rm netbook...Then again... the better is kind of subjective...since i dont have it... haha
loonsave
post Sep 3 2012, 11:36 AM

1,635 posts

stock in for the model-B in SG. Hopefully they will process my order and ship it out soon.
skywardsword
post Sep 3 2012, 11:57 AM

680 posts

QUOTE(loonsave @ Sep 3 2012, 11:36 AM)
stock in for the model-B in SG. Hopefully they will process my order and ship it out soon.
yes like i mention last night... over 1800 pieces of pi

Have fun soon....I think the 18XX probably does not include the ones that was back ordered.

Added on September 3, 2012, 12:00 pm
QUOTE(skywardsword @ Sep 3 2012, 11:57 AM)
yes like i mention last night... over 1824 pieces of pi

Have fun soon....I think the 1824 probably does not include the ones that was back ordered.
now stock is at 1772.... thats like 52 pi in less then 12hrs!!!

This post has been edited by skywardsword: Sep 3 2012, 12:00 PM
loonsave
post Sep 3 2012, 12:11 PM

1,635 posts

QUOTE(skywardsword @ Sep 3 2012, 11:57 AM)
yes like i mention last night... over 1800 pieces of pi

Have fun soon....I think the 18XX probably does not include the ones that was back ordered.

Added on September 3, 2012, 12:00 pm

now stock is at 1772.... thats like 52 pi in less then 12hrs!!!
It make me so tempted to get 1 more board. tongue.gif

Gonna go to Jalan Pasar to get heat sink.

142 Pages « < 18 19 20 21 22 > » Top

0.0321sec    0.74    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 10:16 PM