142 Pages « < 16 17 18 19 20 > » Bottom

Raspberry Pi, Rm100 computer that beats iPhone4S

mintgadget
post Aug 16 2012, 04:37 PM

328 posts

Tried both openelec and the latest raspbmc and failed playback on 1080p DTS being pulled from my Synology box. Unless you output your DTS audio thru an amp, doubt the pi can cope. Non DTS works perfectly.
dyap38
post Aug 16 2012, 05:09 PM

21 posts

Just ordered my Pi.. Can't wait till it arrives..

http://eternalhobbyist.com/rasp-getting-my-pi-soon/
skywardsword
post Aug 17 2012, 12:11 PM

680 posts

So I already have one rasp pi. Thinking about getting another to tinker with for programming, robotics, electronic fun.

Previously, I just went to local cell phone shop to buy a cell phone charger, htc one. Cost me like 60bucks, I know I got the "ripoff" price, and the sd card also very expensive.

Now, since getting my second one, I heard from forumer previously can just get usb hub to power it. So search in Garage sales for ngbh user and went into his usb hub thread, got sell one 7port usb2.0 hub with adapter. less then 40 shipped, i also want to buy micro usb cable from him since I dont have spare, I wonder how much and if he have it.

totally_skint
post Aug 17 2012, 04:26 PM

1,185 posts

QUOTE(skywardsword @ Aug 17 2012, 12:11 PM)
Previously, I just went to local cell phone shop to buy a cell phone charger, htc one. Cost me like 60bucks, I know I got the "ripoff" price, and the sd card also very expensive.
That's why I always tell my friends NOT to buy memory cards from handphone shops.
However you have to be careful buying cheap chargers.

Check out this post.
Cheap charger
skywardsword
post Aug 18 2012, 09:08 AM

680 posts

QUOTE(totally_skint @ Aug 17 2012, 04:26 PM)
That's why I always tell my friends NOT to buy memory cards from handphone shops.
However you have to be careful buying cheap chargers.

Check out this post.
Cheap charger
speaking of which, I need to get a new digital multimeter, a fine tip soldering iron, solder wire, solder removal(braided), Gertboard via element14 , another 2 pi case+ 2 pi.

That should bump me up to free shipping I hope!

I tried measuring my pi's voltage at the 2 point on the pcb as specified by some guide, but due to my multimeter being inaccurate, it measured less voltage I think. but pi is working fine for months now.

This post has been edited by skywardsword: Aug 18 2012, 09:09 AM
totally_skint
post Aug 18 2012, 09:59 AM

1,185 posts

QUOTE(skywardsword @ Aug 18 2012, 09:08 AM)
speaking of which, I need to get a new digital multimeter, a fine tip soldering iron, solder wire, solder removal(braided), Gertboard via element14 , another 2 pi case+ 2 pi.

That should bump me up to free shipping I hope!
I tried measuring my pi's voltage at the 2 point on the pcb as specified by some guide, but due to my multimeter being inaccurate, it measured less voltage I think. but pi is working fine for months now.
You hope?
You've way exceeded. biggrin.gif

What project are you planning to do?
skywardsword
post Aug 18 2012, 10:06 AM

680 posts

I am thinking about a simple mechanical physical actuation device. Like a simple device to pull a plug. That type of thing, just to start thing.

But I just notice, element14 Singapore cannot ship to Malaysia ... so sad... I might have to beg my Uncle to have it shipped to his place then somehow bring it back to JB.
loonsave
post Aug 18 2012, 10:39 AM

1,635 posts

Guys, want to check that what include in the package? Only the Pi itself or it come with those HDMI/usb/power cable?
skywardsword
post Aug 18 2012, 10:55 AM

680 posts

only the pi, aseembled pcb board, with its circuitry(it is a functional computer but require certain amount of diy to get it set up, as for software development on it, it is being handled by some proffessional as well as highly skilled hobbyist, opensource stuff, I like these people as they really do good stuff and shares). (dont even have case, have to buy separately now. yet to see a bundle with all those included)

Will hvae to bring your own, hdmi, micro-usb cable connected to your own usb 5v, 1amp power brick.

Will also need a SDcard.
Monitor/TV-via hdmi or component(component is shit though)
Keyboard, mouse, ethernet cable.

Hardware wise, as a start, i think thats it.

You might not need a usb hub, but if you need power might as well get a powered usb hub with 2amp powerbrick so you could run it that way.

I run my Pi via ssh, so I dont have my hdmi, keyboard and mouse connected.

When I get into the hobby work, probably I would have myself a dedicated workstation area.

Visit

http://www.raspberrypi.org/

browse around the site for the pertinent information and the community.

This post has been edited by skywardsword: Aug 18 2012, 11:02 AM
totally_skint
post Aug 18 2012, 12:24 PM

1,185 posts

QUOTE(skywardsword @ Aug 18 2012, 10:06 AM)
I am thinking about a simple mechanical physical actuation device. Like a simple device to pull a plug. That type of thing, just  to start thing.

But I just notice, element14 Singapore cannot ship to Malaysia ... so sad... I might have to beg my Uncle to have it shipped to his place then somehow bring it back to JB.
Try ordering from Element14 Malaysia
But if you live in JB then the Uncle Courier Service can work too. tongue.gif

Damn! The Gertboard is even more expensive than the Pi.
Maybe you can build one yourself?
Or how about using Arduino Shields on the Pi?
loonsave
post Aug 18 2012, 03:03 PM

1,635 posts

QUOTE(skywardsword @ Aug 18 2012, 10:55 AM)
Thanks for your information. It helps a lot.
skywardsword
post Aug 20 2012, 12:26 PM

680 posts

so I tried the latest raspbian with xbmc. But cannot install transmission due to some error.

I followed the following thread.

http://www.raspberrypi.org/phpBB3/viewtopic.php?f=66&t=12455

anyone else have the same problem?

edit: seems like i cannot install transmission in headless form, via

sudo apt-get install transmission-cli transmission-daemon transmission-common

I can do transmission-gtk

after which I need to log into startx and start up a session of transmssion via the interface, then I can log in via the transmission remote GUI to add torrent from my win 7 pc.

This post has been edited by skywardsword: Aug 21 2012, 02:14 PM
tanseehua
post Aug 21 2012, 04:23 PM

519 posts

Good News for those who those wanna order Raspberry Pi, Element14 price for Raspberry Pi is lower down from RM125 to RM111 now............
To enjoy free postage u need to order RM150 or above (below RM150 order will be charge RM20 shipping).

Purchase suggestion to achieve RM150.

1. Raspberry Pi, PCB Model B RM111

2. MULTICOMP - MC-RP001-CLR - ENCLOSURE, RASPBERRY PI RM31.93

3. Pro Signal 2 meter HDMI cable RM9.92

Total will be RM152.85

This is the suggestion i feel very good, hope this will help for those who wanna order from element14
skywardsword
post Aug 21 2012, 04:56 PM

680 posts

QUOTE(tanseehua @ Aug 21 2012, 04:23 PM)
Good News for those who those wanna order Raspberry Pi, Element14 price for Raspberry Pi is lower down from RM125 to RM111 now............
To enjoy free postage u need to order RM150 or above (below RM150 order will be charge RM20 shipping).

Total will be RM152.85

This is the suggestion i feel very good, hope this will help for those who wanna order from element14
Thanks so much for bringing in the good news!!!!

I am going to get a 2nd one very soon!!! Anyhow, the usb hub from ngbh seems to be out of stock... anyone else know of reliable garage sales seller with ideal 1-2amp powered usb hub?

I manage to get xbmc to work and it played Hunter X hunter 720p mkv file without any problem, unlike a certain netbook from acer aod270. so damn jerky and get bluescreen so often!!

Opensource and Linux FOREVER!

tanseehua
post Aug 21 2012, 05:28 PM

519 posts

QUOTE(skywardsword @ Aug 17 2012, 12:11 PM)
So I already have one rasp pi. Thinking about getting another to tinker with for programming, robotics, electronic fun.

Now, since getting my second one, I heard from forumer previously can just get usb hub to power it. So search in Garage sales for ngbh user and went into his usb hub thread, got sell one 7port usb2.0 hub with adapter. less then 40 shipped, i also want to buy micro usb cable from him since I dont have spare, I wonder how much and if he have it.
For the micro USB to USB cable u can get at element14:

1. 1 meter long RM6.46
2. 1.8 meter long RM13.04

For the USB charger element14 also have 3 pin plug and 2 pin plug for selection:

1. 3 pin plug USB charger RM27.34

2. 2 pin plug USB charger RM27.34

Added on August 21, 2012, 5:37 pm
QUOTE(skywardsword @ Aug 21 2012, 04:56 PM)
Thanks so much for bringing in the good news!!!!

I am going to get a 2nd one very soon!!! Anyhow, the usb hub from ngbh seems to be out of stock... anyone else know of reliable garage sales seller with ideal 1-2amp powered usb hub?
I manage to get xbmc to work and it played Hunter X hunter 720p mkv file without any problem, unlike a certain netbook from acer aod270. so damn jerky and get bluescreen so often!!

Opensource and Linux FOREVER!
for USB hub for using with ur Pi, is highly suggest using self Powered type and not draw power from the Pi USB.

I found this on Element14 page, dunno this is suitable for u or not, it come with a 3 pin power plug:

DYNAMODE - USB-H70-1A2.0 - HUB, USB 2.0, 7 PORT,WITH UK AC ADAPTOR price at RM41.36

maybe the price is a bit high for a USB hub.............

suddently i found that i become element 14 salesman now...........pening

This post has been edited by tanseehua: Aug 21 2012, 05:37 PM
skywardsword
post Aug 21 2012, 06:01 PM

680 posts

QUOTE(tanseehua @ Aug 21 2012, 05:28 PM)
For the micro USB to USB cable u can get at element14:

1. 1 meter long RM6.46
2. 1.8 meter long RM13.04

For the USB charger element14 also have 3 pin plug and 2 pin plug for selection:

1. 3 pin plug USB charger RM27.34

2. 2 pin plug USB charger RM27.34

Added on August 21, 2012, 5:37 pm
for USB hub for using with ur Pi, is highly suggest using self Powered type and not draw power from the Pi USB.

I found this on Element14 page, dunno this is suitable for u or not, it come with a 3 pin power plug:

DYNAMODE - USB-H70-1A2.0 - HUB, USB 2.0, 7 PORT,WITH UK AC ADAPTOR  price at RM41.36

maybe the price is a bit high for a USB hub.............

suddently i found that i become element 14 salesman now...........pening
Nice, I was just shopping around while I update my pi. Now my shopping cart up to 540ringgit!!!
What is the amp rating of that usb hub 2 amp?
I probably will get to 550 to get jusco voucher!

You Element14 salesman!
Thanks!

This post has been edited by skywardsword: Aug 21 2012, 06:02 PM
dyap38
post Aug 22 2012, 12:42 PM

21 posts

QUOTE(tanseehua @ Aug 21 2012, 04:23 PM)

Total will be RM152.85

Aiyahh... I ordered the Pi from Element14 a couple of weeks ago for RM125 each. I bought 2. Haven't even arrived to me yet, and they drop price! Not happy...

mad.gif
totally_skint
post Aug 22 2012, 11:53 PM

1,185 posts

Control RasPi GPIO pins from your browser.

http://hackaday.com/2012/08/22/control-raspi-gpio-pins-in-the-browser/
CocoMonGo
post Aug 23 2012, 01:12 PM

Ooo Finally
551 posts

for those who plan to get XBMC running on the Raspberry, is there any detailed instructions to installing and setting it up?

Also is audio output through HDMI or the 3.5mm audio jack?
tanseehua
post Aug 23 2012, 08:23 PM

519 posts

QUOTE(CocoMonGo @ Aug 23 2012, 01:12 PM)
for those who plan to get XBMC running on the Raspberry, is there any detailed instructions to installing and setting it up?

Also is audio output through HDMI or the 3.5mm audio jack?
is in cantonese.........

142 Pages « < 16 17 18 19 20 > » Top

0.0410sec    0.76    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 05:44 PM