Raspberry Pi, Rm100 computer that beats iPhone4S

loonsave
post Sep 13 2012, 10:22 PM

1,635 posts

This is weird. I played mkv from my SD card. The status bar is progressing, but no video at all. And I stream a 720p mp4 via ethernet, pixelated.

I had change the power source with iPad adapter, still feel the same. The last thing I gonna do is change my SD card. Currently I am using a class 4 micro sd with adapter. But I doubt it affect the performance over ethernet?

loonsave
post Sep 13 2012, 10:55 PM

1,635 posts

QUOTE(skywardsword @ Sep 13 2012, 10:48 PM)
Have you mess with the sound setting? turn on DTS/AAC or whats it called.. digital sound receiver to enabled.
(mine is enabled.)
I leave everything to default. Just can't figure out what is the problem.
loonsave
post Sep 13 2012, 11:16 PM

1,635 posts

QUOTE(skywardsword @ Sep 13 2012, 11:03 PM)
They say if you dont enable the DTS/ digital sound receiver. that will force the pi to decode the sound stream, causing lag when you switch between 720p file and 1080p files.

If by any chance yours is disable... you can try it just to see?
But I think the class 4 sd card might be suspicious? how many gb and the brand?

They say should avoid lousy brand.
DTS enabled. It's a sandisk 32GB class 4 micro sd. Maybe I should get a class 6 SD card and try it out. If still having the same issue, I don't know what should I do... sad.gif
loonsave
post Sep 14 2012, 08:44 AM

1,635 posts

QUOTE(skywardsword @ Sep 13 2012, 11:36 PM)
how many different file you try? all the same?
I tried few 1080p mkv. All not work. While 720p mp4 it can stream flawlessly sometimes.
loonsave
post Sep 15 2012, 03:45 PM

1,635 posts

QUOTE(skywardsword @ Sep 14 2012, 05:26 PM)
From this list http://elinux.org/RPi_VerifiedPeripherals

32gb class4 should be ok.

(before you run off to buy another one. maybe install fresh raspbmc with your ipad adapter)
I am tempted to get a 64gb SDXC since apparently people get it working.
Further testing, some of the mkv working fine, while some of the mkv only run below 10fps, that's why the screen black. Not sure what way to solve it.
loonsave
post Sep 15 2012, 05:00 PM

1,635 posts

QUOTE(skywardsword @ Sep 15 2012, 04:58 PM)
You can adjust the refresh rate of the xbmc. Under one of the setting>videos

adjust it to the framerates of your videos and try again.
I guess it's a bug. I found someone posted that they have the same issue and developer said that it will fix in RC5.

Finally my CEC working by enable viera-link.
loonsave
post Sep 15 2012, 11:05 PM

1,635 posts

QUOTE(skywardsword @ Sep 15 2012, 10:23 PM)
I have my first pixelated file. Hotaru no Hikari 2  E01 720p HDTV x264 mp4 file

Apparently just a 1280X720 file, Mpeg-4 AVC (part10)(avc1)
Frame rate of 29.970574

Audio is mpeg AAC audio (mp4a)

Subtitle is another srt file i downloaded separately.
The file plays fine on my PC desktop. Seems like on Pi, the moving subject is shrouded in pixelation.

File is only about 900mb in size and is on the class 6 sandisk microSD card.
Mine only happened on mkv. Don't know what is the caused. Tried on OpenElec, it still the same.
loonsave
post Sep 16 2012, 09:55 PM

1,635 posts

QUOTE(tanseehua @ Sep 16 2012, 01:38 PM)
To all Sifu here,

Raspbmx can play .rmvb and .mpg??? I try it yesterday night, it seem is play the audio only and not run the video ya...........y leh???

Added on September 16, 2012, 7:46 pmthe CEC is support is really shock me.............nice, i can use my LG TV remote to control XBMC, nice
Not sure about .rmvb. But I think .mpg require a mpeg2 license.
loonsave
post Sep 19 2012, 06:25 PM

1,635 posts

Anyone experience the CEC not working sometimes after boot up? Mine sometimes not recognize the CEC after boot up and require restart.
loonsave
post Sep 19 2012, 09:54 PM

1,635 posts

QUOTE(skywardsword @ Sep 19 2012, 09:15 PM)

Raspbmc development say CEC is currently broken... dont know the details other then some buttons not working as intended.

I restarted my Raspbmc couple of time. No problem so far. Sony TV remote works each time.

My keyboard on the otherhand..... started to have problem after CEC was enabled. Keyboard would become undetected... requiring me to replug it.
For a quick solution, I just turn off the tv and on again. tongue.gif
And I can't add my workgroup folder in music while I can do it at video.
loonsave
post Sep 21 2012, 11:00 PM

1,635 posts

QUOTE(skywardsword @ Sep 21 2012, 09:44 AM)
Dont worry lah... should be very fast replenish.
Some Code stolen from Raspbmc by Xbian--- http://www.raspbmc.com/
Story on main page.

Added on September 21, 2012, 12:06 pmAnyhow knows if I can use this.

http://www.amazon.com/Anker%C2%AE-10000mAh...4/ref=de_a_smtd

Plugged into Pi and at the same time have it charged. Much like a plugged in laptop, battery is kept top up. Then when the socket power gets tripped or loses tnb power, the battery will continue taking over like a Un-interrupted power supply?(UPS)
Add a 15inch monitor and half a laptop would result. Then it will have cost like $800RM+
Mind to enlight why you need an external battery act as UPS?
loonsave
post Sep 22 2012, 09:42 AM

1,635 posts

QUOTE(totally_skint @ Sep 22 2012, 01:54 AM)
How to connect 15" monitor?
RasPi got no VGA output. 15" monitor got no HDMI
Why build a half laptop? A full 2nd hand laptop would be cheaper.
I don't think anyone anywhere can yet claim 24x7x365 yet. biggrin.gif
Haha, maybe 99.9% uptime.
loonsave
post Sep 22 2012, 12:01 PM

1,635 posts

The powered usb hub is useless. It only able to power up the Pi, but seems not enough juice to power up the network. sad.gif

Added on September 22, 2012, 12:01 pm
QUOTE(stan001 @ Sep 22 2012, 10:48 AM)
Finally got my Pi & case.. ordered on Tue from E14, Pi arrived on Thu, case arrived on Fri..

[attachmentid=3062361]
I think I will DIY the casing since I want to add heat sink for it.

This post has been edited by loonsave: Sep 22 2012, 12:01 PM
loonsave
post Sep 25 2012, 09:41 PM

1,635 posts

QUOTE(viruz019 @ Sep 25 2012, 08:28 PM)
Any idea where to get one of this?

and what OS is it capable of running? O.O
You can get from element14. But currently they are running out of stock.

http://my.element14.com/raspberry-pi/raspb...el-b/dp/2081185

There are few distro build base on the Pi, you can find it in the official website.

http://www.raspberrypi.org/

====================================================

I mentioned that the raspbmc unable to stream some mkv files from my server. And I hosted all my media files in another server, it work miraculously. Nice quality biggrin.gif
loonsave
post Oct 10 2012, 07:58 PM

1,635 posts

QUOTE(skywardsword @ Oct 10 2012, 12:08 AM)
It seems like not just xbian user is having problems. even raspbmc latest rc5 is like ... problem.
Not really sure what is the problem with RC5. I can't flash my SD card with the tool they provide. And now my SD card sort like bricked, able to detect but cannot format.
loonsave
post Oct 10 2012, 09:02 PM

1,635 posts

QUOTE(skywardsword @ Oct 10 2012, 08:19 PM)
damn scary.... just yesterday, I reinstalled xbian 0.8-0.81 X 3 times. Raspbmc RC5- I tried one time. but it got stuck in a loop updating... so I turn it off and re-did another xbian 0.8-0.81.
(you use the raspbmc tool to revert back?)

Now I have transmission running, with openssh, plus the xbmc. Interesting thing I noted, in the past for Raspbmc, even if my tv's hdmi isnt plug in, if I do reboot. I can still usually just plug in the pi's hdmi to tv and get it to work... like hot plugging.
But for xbian, if the hdmi is not connected... it will not push out the signal if I hot plug it. If it is connected and booted up, then disconnected. Then reconnecting would be fine though, minor thing.

And also, booting the xbian up = tv will power up by itself and to the correct input too... quite neat.

Downloaded one piece yibis 566 720p mkv. plays fine, no lag what so ever.  (upload and download speed limit is out of wack... I put in 50 down and 8 up... it will shoot up to 60++ and 10 up...)

Added on October 10, 2012, 8:21 pm
aiya, just place order lah.  They are quite fast one lah. usually batch come like 1-2000+++ sell out in 3+ weeks.
Yeah, I am looking for another card reader to try it out again. I can't restore the SD card now. Maybe I should try with ubuntu liveCD.

Better don't place order now, if UK stock up same time as SG, it will ship from SG instead of UK and it take longer time to arrive.

--------------------------------

Finally updated to RC5. But the libcec kinda broken with my viera. It don't have play/pause/stop button for me to choose. Any idea that I can map the button myself?

This post has been edited by loonsave: Oct 13 2012, 01:06 AM

0.0685sec    0.49    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 10:00 AM