142 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

Raspberry Pi, Rm100 computer that beats iPhone4S

kailoonthedog
post Mar 3 2012, 11:20 PM

I have no super cow power~~~
2,470 posts

It's arm architecture , there's no need for you to care about the underlying architecture unless you're a geek , it works the same as ordinary pc , just boot and install
post Mar 3 2012, 11:58 PM

912 posts

any ideas what can we do with it?
i m pretty interested, can boot linux in it?
maybe can make a freeNAS or openWRT with it?

This post has been edited by 881118: Mar 3 2012, 11:58 PM
kailoonthedog
post Mar 3 2012, 11:59 PM

2,470 posts

It's open source , you can pretty much do whatever you want with it smile.gif , of course every hardware has limitation LOL
usetad
post Mar 4 2012, 06:41 AM

14 posts

QUOTE(SnoWFisH @ Mar 2 2012, 06:10 PM)
Wow, great. I'm can't even get into the preorder stage...
Finally we have a cheaper alternative to the beagleboard to play with.
http://malaysia.rs-online.com/web/generalD...?id=raspberrypi

you also can go here to get the rpi. but seem like take a lot of time, because we need them to contact us first if there are stock.
but this is the Malaysian branch of RS Components, so maybe easier if we got some problem with the hardware.

the price is MYR125.00 as for now (4/3/2012) at RS Components website, is it right conversion from USD/£?
kopitiam
post Mar 4 2012, 04:26 PM

cookie monster
4,477 posts

waiting for stock to arrive. going to make it into youtube karaoke machine laugh.gif
TSgeneral_odin
post Mar 4 2012, 09:40 PM

no work, no money
904 posts

QUOTE(usetad @ Mar 4 2012, 06:41 AM)

you also can go here to get the rpi. but seem like take a lot of time, because we need them to contact us first if there are stock.
but this is the Malaysian branch of RS Components, so maybe easier if we got some problem with the hardware.

the price is MYR125.00 as for now (4/3/2012) at RS Components website, is it right conversion from USD/£?
nice... shall mount it inside my pc... dual pc in 1 case ! woots

Added on March 4, 2012, 9:40 pm
QUOTE(usetad @ Mar 4 2012, 06:41 AM)

nice... shall mount it inside my pc... dual pc in 1 case ! woots

This post has been edited by general_odin: Mar 4 2012, 09:40 PM
stan001
post Mar 5 2012, 01:22 AM

623 posts

QUOTE(general_odin @ Mar 2 2012, 10:42 AM)
haha, yeah i think we should gather people to do bulk order... but its only available in uk at the moment and its sold out within the first 2 hours after being made available to the market

integrate into our homes and fire up ios5... "Jarvis, let there be light" hahaha
If you are doing a bulk order, pls count me in..

I'm still running my Soekris ( http://soekris.com/products/net5501.html ) on Debian as my home linux for many years doing OpenVPN & stats ( munin pulling stats via SNMP ) on Unifi router bandwidth monitoring on a 4Gb CF card..

Screnshot of my UNIFI stats on soekris/munin

If this support Debian, I can easily port it over my soekris to this computer..

Now just need to find a nice casing for this little powerful computer...

Have not read the docs, I think installing the linux OS would be just writing a raw linux partition to the SDcard via SDcard reader mounted on a linux...

This post has been edited by stan001: Mar 5 2012, 01:33 AM
cain
post Mar 5 2012, 08:12 AM

User is delinquent
676 posts

Also RM125 from http://my.element14.com/raspberry-pi/raspb...tt=raspberry+pi

kailoonthedog
post Mar 5 2012, 09:46 AM

2,470 posts

I see there's model B Plus
ltwvince
post Mar 5 2012, 11:24 AM

734 posts

It can run Debian and I saw a youbube video guide to install Debian onto it.
CocoMonGo
post Mar 5 2012, 04:45 PM

Ooo Finally
551 posts

if making bulk orders do count me in.
do you think this can be made into an intrusion protection system? will sit inline between the internet and my router. maybe can even have another one made into a dedicated firewall
gunjack
post Mar 5 2012, 05:44 PM

390 posts

i also want it...pretty cool meh
stan001
post Mar 5 2012, 07:05 PM

623 posts

QUOTE(CocoMonGo @ Mar 5 2012, 04:45 PM)
if making bulk orders do count me in.
do you think this can be made into an intrusion protection system? will sit inline between the internet and my router. maybe can even have another one made into a dedicated firewall
For linux IPS & f/w, using soekris would be more appropriate cos it got 2 or 4 gigabit ethernet network ports..

Raspberry only got 1 network port ...

CocoMonGo
post Mar 5 2012, 07:59 PM

Ooo Finally
551 posts

QUOTE(stan001 @ Mar 5 2012, 07:05 PM)
For linux IPS & f/w, using soekris would be more appropriate cos it got 2 or 4 gigabit ethernet network ports..

Raspberry only got 1 network port ...
i checked the soekris ... wah mahal la. $35 vs $150
sweemeng
post Mar 5 2012, 10:13 PM

organic code generator
879 posts

Offtopic,
I found beagle bone is more cool, more expensive though, is for those are are familiar with arduino, but want more power

http://beagleboard.org/bone

One more thing, not all distro are supported, you need to wait for them to compile for ARM, that you probably already know

This post has been edited by sweemeng: Mar 5 2012, 10:38 PM
jason83
post Mar 5 2012, 11:17 PM

890 posts

QUOTE(kailoonthedog @ Mar 3 2012, 11:20 PM)
It's arm architecture , there's no need for you to care about the underlying architecture unless you're a geek , it works the same as ordinary pc , just boot and install
I don't think you can install windows on an ARM machine...
kailoonthedog
post Mar 5 2012, 11:22 PM

2,470 posts

QUOTE(jason83 @ Mar 5 2012, 11:17 PM)
I don't think you can install windows on an ARM machine...
I never say it can install windows on it , but recompilation of windows onto ARM environment make it possible , but still there's space constraint(sd card small size) , and recently windows is making ARM cpu Windows because most of the tablet nowadays using ARM cpu
FlameReaper
post Mar 6 2012, 12:30 AM

I lari portable on my dude
558 posts

QUOTE(jason83 @ Mar 3 2012, 01:37 AM)
By the way if we get this, how to install OS onto it?
IIRC there are articles saying it currently is compatible with Debian and Arch Linux. I don't know about Arch but there should be a little detail on instructions for Debian, like someone said earlier in this thread there's even a youtube vid showing it. Sad Ubuntu ARM can't go into it, I'd prefer it for a quick setup.
rattan
post Mar 6 2012, 01:06 AM

Droid
Trade Dispute
3,379 posts

I cant wait to get one of this...
kailoonthedog
post Mar 6 2012, 03:59 AM

2,470 posts

Well linux distro all develop under C language so it's portable , we just need to compile it under ARM architecture to make it works , the thing is size constraint because raspberry using only SD card but mostly linux distro OS uses small space

142 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0350sec    0.21    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th March 2024 - 05:28 PM